tice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure 1 boxes 132,139,138 127,125,147 15,18,17, 126,134,128, and figure 2 box 147 need to be labelled descriptively with text. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN117621862 in view of 2025/0206145.
CN1176218162 discloses electric drive system comprising fist inverter, first machine, second inverter, second machine that generate synchronized pulsed torque commands for first and second machine, see abstract and #2,3,6,7. CN117621862 lacks disclosing control with stored non transitory memory. 2025 /0206146 discloses control system, see 120. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the drive system of CN117621862 with controller of 2025/0206145 for improved control.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN117621862 in view of 2025/0206146 and Gillespie et al (2017/0174097).CN 117621862 and 2025/0206146 as disclosed above lack loss profile. Gillespey et al discloses loss profile , see fig 4 #402. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the drive system of CN117621862 with controller of 2025/0206146 with loss profile of Gillespey et al for improved control.
Claim(s) 2-8 and 10-15,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN117621862 , 2025/0206146 and Gillespey et la as applied to claims 1,9,16 above, and further in view of Islam (2023 /0253911) and Srinivasan (11077759 ) both cited by Applicant .
CN117621862 , 2025 /0206146 and Gillespey et al as disclosed above lack different torque values and ranges , and adjusting frequency and amplitude. Islam discloses different torque and second value less than first range , see abstract and Srinivasan discloses adjusting frequency an amplitude and duty cycle, see abstract . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the drive system of CN117621862 , 2025/0206146 and Gillespey et al with different torque and adjusting frequency of Srinivasan for improved control and for greater efficiency and high-level operation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Islam (12328088) .
Islam discloses electric drive system comprising a fist inverter “ in the embodiment shown in fig 2 , the system controller sends commands 150 to dedicated motor controller 1 (120a) and motor controller 2 (120b) and corresponding inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) . Inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) makeup one ore more power converters, coupled to motor 1 (140a) and motor 2(140b) , “ col 6 lines 25-29 , a first electric machine “ in embodiment shown in fig 2 , the system controller sends commands 150 to dedicated motor controller 1 (120a) and motor controller 2 (120b) and corresponding inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) . Inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) makeup one or more power converters coupled to motor 1(140a) and motor 2(140b)” col 6 lines 25-29. , a second inverter “ in embodiment shown in fig 2 system controller sends commands 150 to dedicated motor controller 1 (120a) and motor controller 2 (120b) and corresponding inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) . Inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2(130b) makeup one or more power converts coupled to motor 1(140a) and motor 2 (140b) “ , col 6 lines 25-29., a second electric machine “ in embodiment shown in fig 2 system controller sends commands 150 to dedicated motor controller 1 (120a) and motor controller 2 (120b) and corresponding inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2(130b). Inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) makeup one or more power converters coupled to motor 1(140a) and motor 2 (140b)”, col 6 liens 25-29. , one or more controller including executable instructions in non-transitory memory that cause the one or more controllers to generated synchronized pulses torque commands for the first electric machine and second electric machine , “ a controller for controlling multiple electric machine system used in a vehicle , the multiple electric machine system including a fist electric machine and second electric machine , the controller configured to receive one or more inputs relating to multiple electric machine system and in response to the one or more inputs relating to multiple electric machine system and in response to the oner or more inputs , cause the first electric machine and second electric machine to operate in a pulsed operating mode in which torque outputs of fist electric machine and second electric machine alternate between a first torque output level and second torque output level that is lower than the first torque output level , the second out torque level being zero, and wherein a timing of pulsing the first electric machine is coordinated to be out of phase with pulsing of second electric machine by first phase delay to cause vibration generated by pulsing of the first and second electric machine to be out of phase at a target location in vehicle by second phase delay so as to minimize noise, vibration and harshness induced by multiple electric machine system at the target location in vehicle , claim 23. In some embodiment system controller 110 includes application programming 122 that is stored in memory and executable on a processor to provide pulsed operation coordination, timing and/or other signal processing of one or more aspects of current/signals to each of the electric motors 140a, 140b, such that the electric motors 140a,140b operate at optimal efficiency and other performance characteristics or parameters , col 6 liens 17-25. “ In this mode , the timing or frequency of the pulsed operation ( e.g. modulation or on/off frequency ) may be configured such that the motors are operated so that on or off periods (or portions thereof ) are out of phase or other complimentary timing configurations . For example, if two motors are being pulsed/operated at a modulation frequency of 10hz, the timing of motor pulsing may be coordinated ( output of phase ) such that the frequencies are additive, i.e. the combination of motos results in an effective fundamental or system frequency of 20Hz on the vehicle body, a frequency that may be less perceptible to the operator “, co l8 lines 3-14.
Claim 9 method for electric drive system comprising generating synchronized pulsed torque command for a fist machine and second machine, where the synchronized pulsed torque commands for the first electric machine having a first frequency, and where the synchronized pulsed torque commands for the second electric machine have the first frequency, “ the controller as received in claim 25, wherein the first electric machine , second electric machine and third electric machine are pulsed at a first frequency and wherein pulsing of the fist electric machine, second electric machine and third electric machine is timed to minimize noise, vibration and harshness at the target location “ claim 26, “ in the examples shown in fig 6A and 6B , motor 1 and motor 2 are individually pulsing at 10Hz( signals 202 and 204respectively ) at equal amplitudes , but the combined waveform 206 has a fundamental of 20Hz ( assuming both motors are identical, same duty cycle , 50:50 torque split )” col 8 lines 52-57 .
Claim 16 an electric dive system fist inverter “ embodiment shown in fig 2 the stem controller sends commands 150 to dedicated motor controller 1 (120a) and motor controller 2 (120b) and corresponding inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) . Inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) makeup one or more power converters coupled to motor 1 (140a) and motor 2 (140b) “ col 6 liens 25-20, a fist electric machine “ in this embodiment the system 10 includes a controller 20 a power supply/sink 50, a power converter 30 and plurality of electric machines ( machine 1 (40a), machine 2 (40b)... machine n (40n) “ col 4 liens 18-22. A second inverter “ in the embodiment shown in fig 2 system controller sends commands 150 to dedicated motor controller 1 (120a) and motor controller 2 (120b) and corresponding inverter 1 (130a) and inverter 2 (130b) Inverter 1 (130a) and Inverter 2 (130b) makeup one or more power converters coupled to motor 1 (140a) and more 2 (140b) “ col 6 liens 25-20, a second electric machine “ in this embodiment the system 10 includes a controller 20 a power supply /sink 50 a power converter 30 and plurality of electric machines machine 1(40a…machine n (40n), col 4 liens 18-22, one or more controller including executable instruction stored in non-transitory memory that cause the one or more controller to generate synchronized pulsed torque commands for the first electric machine and he second electric machine , where the synchronized pulsed torque commands for fist electric machine and second machine are generated based on a loss profile, “ the method evaluated , based on a fiben input , which electric machines or combination of machines are running howe much load hey share and whether one or more of the machines run under torque modulation (pulsing ) to maximize system efficiency. In one embodiment such evaluation or determination may be based on or more of 1 operating speed and demanded torque 2, loss characteristic of individual electric machines and 3 noise, vibration and harshness (NVH0, temperature thermal balance or other characteristics of electric machines co” Col 1 liens 59-col 2 liens 2 . Based on input 24 and one or more lookup tables 34 , a determination is made at step 64 to identify which mode to operate the machine / motors . Exemplary lookup tables 34 include operating mode scenarios for machine /motor characteristic and /or conditions , such as loss data , thermal data, noise, vibration and harshness (NVH)data, efficiency data etc. “ col 7 lines 4-11.
Claim 2 the electric drive system of claim 1 where the synchronized pulsed torque commands alternate between a fist range of torque values and second value, where the second value is less than the first range of torque values , “ a method for controlling a multiple electric machine system in a vehicle, multiple machine system including a fist electric machine and second machine , method comprising receiving one or more inputs relating to multiple machine system and in response to one or more inputs …, wherein in a fist operating mode , in a second operating mode, in a third operating mode, in a fourth operating mode and wherein when the torque output of selected one of the electric machines is pulsed, the torque output of the selected machine alternates between a first torque output level and second torque output level that is lower than the first torque out level the second torque output level being zero, claim 17 , “ a controller for controlling multiple machine system used in a vehicle, the multiple machine system including a fist machine and second machine , the controller configured to receive one or more inputs relating to multiple machine system and in response to the one or more inputs cause the first machine and second machine to perform in pulsed operating mode in which torque outputs of fist machine and second machine alternate between fist torque output level and second torque output level that is lower than fist torque output level , second output torque level being zero and wherein timing of pulsing first machine is coordinate to be output of phase with pulsing of second machine to minimize noise, vibration and harshness induce by multiple machine system at target location in vehicle, claim 23, “ the pulsed power discussed and utilized therein is quite different . Specifically, inverters 130a,130b(or power converter 30 fig 1) are controlled to cyclically switch between producing a high efficiency torque output ( e.g. peak efficiency torque) and no torque in the machine . In an induction motor this results in magnetic flux linked with motor windings effectively dropping to zero “ co l14 lines 16-23.
Claim 3 the electric drive system of claim 2 where the synchronized pulsed torque commands or the first machine and second machine have same frequency “ the controller as recited in claim 25 wherein the first machine , second machine and third machine are pulsed at a fist frequency and wherein pulsing of fist machine, second machine and third machine is timed to minimize noise vibration and harshness at target location “ claim m26 , “ in the examples shown in fig 6A and 6B, motor 1 and motor 2 are individually pulsing at 10Hz ( signals 202 and 204 respectively ) at equal amplitudes , but the combined waveform 206 has a fundamental of 20Hz ( assuming both mots are identical, same duty cycle 50:50 torque split )” col 8 liens 52-57, fig 6A and 6B.
Claim 4 the electric drive system of claim 3 where synchronized pulsed torque commands for the fist machine and second machine have different duty cycles , “ in some embodiments the duty cycle for motor 1 may be different than the duty cycle of motor 2 “ col 8 liens 66-67.
Claim 5 the electric drive system of claim 3 where synchronized pulsed torque commands for fist machine and second machine have same duty cycles, “ in the examples shown in fig 6A and 6B, motor 1 and 2 are individually pulsing at 10Hz ( signals 202 and 204) at equal amplitudes , but he combined waveform 206 has a fundamental of 20Hz ( assuming both motors are identical, same duty cycle 50:50 torque splits)” col 8 liens 52-57.
Claim 6 the electric drive system of claim 3 where synchronized torque pulse commands for the first electric machine and second machine include timing of torque pulses for fist machine that overlap timing of torque pulses for second machine “ in another 4-motor system the 4 motors may be split into two groups ( 1/3 or 2/2) where motors within same group pulse in phase with one another but are phased 180 degrees apart for motors in other group “ col 9 liens 49-53. “ In the examples shown in fig 6A and 6B motor 1 and 2 are individually pulsing at 10Hz at equal amplitude but the combine waveform 206 has a fundamental of 20Hz , col 8 liens 52-57.
Claim 7 the electric drive system of claim 3 where synchronized pulsed torque commands for the first and second machine include timing of torque pulses for the first machine that do not overlap timing of torque pulses for second machine , “ the quad-motor configuration 320 of fig 7C may have a phase timing such that the torque pulses are staggered with phase differences of 90 degrees from the prior motors pulse at the fundamental pulsing frequency , thus quadrupling the fundamental frequency “ col 9 liens 42-46. In some embodiments the duty cycle for motor 1 and 2 may be different , col 8 liens 66-67.
Claim 8 the electric drive system of claim 3 where the synchronized pulsed torque commands include pulsed torque commands for the first machine and pulsed torque commands for second machine that synchronize on a pulse event level of pulsed torque commands for fist machine , “ the controller 20 includes application programming 22 that is stored in memory and executable on a processor to provide pulsed operation coordination, timing and /or other signal processing of one or more aspects of current/signals to each of electric machines 40 a, 40b through 40n such that the machines 40a,through 40n operate at optimal efficiency and other performance characteristics or parameters “ col 5 lines 42-50.
Claim 10 the method of claim 9 where the synchronized pulsed torque commands for first machine have a fist magnitude where the synchronized pulsed torque commands for the second machine have a second magnitude where the second magnitude is greater than the fist magnitude “fig 6B illustrates an embodiment where the amplitude of pulses for motor 1 is different from amplitude of motor 2 where the difference in amplitude is shown by dotted lines 207 “ col 8 lines 61-64.
Claim 11 the method of claim 9 where the synchronized pulsed torque commands for the first machine have a first duty cycle and where the synchronized pulsed torque command for the second machine have second duty cycle, the second duty cycle different than the first duty cycle “ in some embodiments the duty cycle for motor 1 may be different than duty cycle of motor 2 “ col 8 liens 66-67.
Claim 12 the method of claim 9 where a timing of synchronized pulsed torque commands for the first machine overlaps timing of synchronized pulsed torque commands for the second machine “ in another 4-motor system , the 4 motors may be split into two groups (1/3or 2/2) where motors within same group pulse in phase with one another but are phased 180 degrees apart from motors in other group “ col 9 liens 49-53. “ In examples shown in fig 6A and 6B, motor 1 and 2 are individually pulsing at 10Hz at equal amplitudes but the combined waveform 206 has a fundamental of 20Hz . Col 1 lines 52-57.
Claim 13 the method of claim 9 where timing of synchronized pulsed torque command for the first machine does not overlap timing of synchronized pulsed torque command for second machine “ the quad motor configuration 320 of fig 7C may have a phase timing such that the torque pulses are staggered with phase differences of 90 degrees from the prior motors pulse at the fundamental pulsing frequency ,thus quadrupling the fundamental frequency “ col 9 liens 42-46, in some embodiments duty cycle for motor 1 maybe different than duty Cyle of motor 2 “ col 8 lines 66-67.
Claim 14 the method of claim 9 where he synchronized pulsed torque command for the first electric machine and second machine vary according to driver demand torque, “ the method evaluates based on a given input which electric machines or combination of machines are running , how much load they share and whether one or more of machines run under torque modulation to maximize system efficiency. In one embodiment such evaluation or determination my be based on one or more of 1 operating speed and demanded torque 2 loss characteristics of individual machines and 3 noise, vibrion and harshness (NVH) temperature, thermal balance or other characteristics o machines “ col 1 liens 59- col 2 lines 2 .
Claim 15 the method of claim 9 where he synchronized pulsed torque commands for the first machine and second machine vary according to a loss profile for the drive system , “ the method evaluates , based on a given input , which machines or combination of machines are running , how much load they share and whether one or more of machines run under torque modulation to maximize system efficiency. In one embodiment such evaluation or determination may be based on or more of 1 operating speed and demanded torque 2 loss characteristics of individual machines and 3 noise vibration and harshness (NVH), temperature, thermal balance or other characteristic of machine s “ col 1 lines 59-col 2 liens 2 .
Claim 17 the drive system of claim 16 where the loss profile describes a relationship between losses of drive system and torque generated via fist machine and second machine , “ the multiple machine system as recited in claim 1 wherein controller selects between fist second and third operating modes based at least in part on a performance characteristic of first and second machines , the performance characteristic comprising one of projected NVH level associated with the first ,second and third operating modes, thermal balancing and total losses of first and second machines “ claim m5 , “the controller as recited in claim 10 wherein the controller selects between first ,second third and fourth operating modes based at least in part on a performance characteristic of first and second machines , the performance characteristic comprising one of projected NVH levels associated with fist second, third and fourth operating modes, thermal balancing and total losses of first and second machines “ claim 15 , the method evaluates based on a given input , which machines or combination of machines are running , how much load they share and whether one or more of machine run under torque modulation to maximize system efficiency. In an embodiment such evaluation or determination may be based on one or more of 1 operating speed and demanded torque 2 loss characteristics of individual machines and 3 noise , vibration and harshness , temperature , thermal balance of other characteristic of machines “ col 1-line s59-col 2 line 2 .
Claim 18 the electric drive system of claim 16 , where the synchronized pulsed torque commands alternate between fist range of torque values and second torque value, where the second torque value is lower than first range of torque values , “ a method for controlling multiple machine system in vehicle, multiple machine system including fist machine and second machine , comprising receiving one or more inputs relating to multiple machine system and in response to one or more inputs, where in a fist operating mode , in a second operating mode , in a third operating mode , in a fourth operating mode and wherein when torque output of selected one of machines is pulsed , the torque output of selected machine alternates between fist torque output level and second torque output level that is lower than fist torque output level, the second torque output level being zero “ claim 17 , “ controller for controlling a multiple machine system used in a vehicle the multiple machine system including fist machine and second machine , controller configured to receive one or more inputs elating to multiple machine system and in response to one or more inputs , cause the first machine and second machine operate in pulsed operating mode in which torque outs of first machine and second machine alternate between fist torque output level and second torque output level that is lower than the first torque output level , the second output torque level being zero and wherein timing of pulsing fist machine is coordinated to be out of phase with pulsing of second machine to minimize noise, vibration and harshness induced by multiple machine system at the target location in vehicle ‘ cli m23. “ The pulsed power discussed and utilized wherein is quite different. Specifically, inverters 130a 130b (or power converter 30 fig 1) are controlled to cyclically switch between producing a high efficiency torque opt ( peak efficiency torque) and no torque in machine . In an induction motor this results in magnetic flux linked with motor windings effectively dropping to zero “ col 14 liens 16-23.
Claim 19 the drive system of claim 18 where the fist range of torque values are equal constant values or values that have a range that varies by less than five percent of full-scale torque for first machine , “ in the examples shown inf fig 6A and 6B motor 1 and 2 are individually pulsing at 10Hz at equal ampliatios but the combined waveform 206 has a fundamental of 20Hz “ col 8 liens 52-57.
Claim 20 the drive system of claim 16 where magnitudes of synchronized pulsed torque commands are adjusted in response to speeds and torques of fist machine and second machine , “the method evaluates based on given input which electric machines or combination of machines are running , how much load they share and whether one or more of machines run under torque modulation to maximize system efficiency. In one embodiment such evaluation or determination may be based on one or more of 1 operating speed and demanded torque , 2 loss characteristics of individual machines and 3 noise vibration and harshness, temperature , thermal balance other characteristic of machines “ col 1 lines 59-col 2 lines 2 .
/KAREN MASIH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846