Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 12/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected subject matter, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5 and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite as to the phrases “a Group I hydroxide”, “a Group I carbonate” and “a Group I bicarbonate”. Such phrases fail to set forth the intended meaning of “Group I”.
Claim 5 is indefinite in using improper Markush language. The replacement of “chosen” with “selected” will overcome the rejection.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "any additional reducing agent" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 is not directed to any reducing agent. From the claimed language it is not clear which component is a reducing agent.
Claims dependent on the rejected claims are also rejected, since they have all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duffy et al. (US 2016208430).
The claims are draw to A method of producing a solution of polymer-coated metal nanoparticles, the method comprising:
a) mixing a first aqueous alkaline solution with an aqueous polymer solution to form an aqueous alkaline polymer solution; and
b) mixing the aqueous alkaline polymer solution with an aqueous solution of a metal salt to form a solution of polymer-coated metal nanoparticles.
Regarding claim 1, Duffy teaches a method for producing cellulose fibers, in particular cellulose fibers impregnated with metal nanoparticles. See Para [0001]. Duffy teaches Metals including silver, copper, zinc and mercury are known for their antimicrobial properties. In particular, the use of metallic silver as an antibacterial agent has been known for many years. In recent years, a renewed interest has developed in the use of metallic silver as an antimicrobial agent, especially in wound dressings. See Para [0003]. Duffy teaches a method of producing cellulose fibers impregnated with metal nanoparticles, the method comprising: swelling cellulose fibers in an aqueous alkali solution; removing the swollen cellulose fibers from the aqueous alkali solution; mixing the swollen cellulose fibers with an aqueous solution of a metal salt and a polymer solution so as to impregnate the fibers with metal nanoparticles; and removing the swollen cellulose fibers impregnated with metal nanoparticles from the solution. See Para [0011].
Regarding claim 2, Duffy teaches the aqueous alkali solution is a solution of a compound selected from the group consisting of: a Group I hydroxide (e.g. sodium or potassium hydroxide), a Group I carbonate (e.g. Na.sub.2CO.sub.3 or K.sub.2CO.sub.3), a Group I bicarbonate (e.g. NaHCO.sub.3 or KHCO.sub.3), a tetraalkylammonium hydroxide (e.g. tetraethylammonium hydroxide) and mixtures thereof. See Para [0021}.
Regarding claim 3, Duffy teaches Metals including silver, copper, zinc and mercury are known for their antimicrobial properties. See Para [0003].
Regarding claim 4, Duffy teaches that the metal salt may be a nitrate, an acetate, a carbonate, a bicarbonate, a sulphate or mixtures thereof. In some embodiments, the metal salt may be a nitrate, an acetate, a sulphate or mixtures thereof. See Para [0038].
Regarding claim 5, Duffy teaches the polymer may be a polyamide, a polyimide, polyethyleneimine, polyvinyl alcohol, pectin, albumin (bovine serum albumin or egg albumin), gelatin, carrageenan, a gum (such as xanthan, guar, arabic, acacia), cellulose (e.g. hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, methylcellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose etc.), poly (N-vinylpyrrolidone), poly (N-vinylcaprolactone), or mixtures thereof. See Para [0039].
Regarding claim 6, Duffy teaches that poly (N-vinylpyrrolidone), also known as Povidone or Polyvidone. See Para [0039].
Regarding claim 7, Duffy teaches that the polymer is poly (N-vinylpyrrolidone) having an average molecular weight of from 8 to 360 kg/mol, from 30 to 80 kg/mol or from 40 to 60 kg/mol. An average molecular weight of from 40 to 60 kg/mol. See Para [0039]. The claimed molecular weight is within the range of Duffy et al.
Regarding claim 8, Duffy teaches that the polymer is poly (N-vinylpyrrolidone) having an average molecular weight of from 8 to 360 kg/mol, from 30 to 80 kg/mol or from 40 to 60 kg/mol. An average molecular weight of from 40 to 60 kg/mol. See Para [0039]. The claimed molecular weight is within the range of Duffy et al.
Regarding claim 9, Duffy does not teach an additional reducing agent. Furthermore, claim 1 is not directed to any reducing agent. From the claimed language it is not clear, which component is a reducing agent.
Regarding Claim 10, Duffy teaches in some embodiments, the aqueous alkali solution containing the cellulose fibers is incubated at a temperature of from 20° C. to 120° C., from 60° C. to 100° C. or from 80° C. to 90° C. See Para [0029]. Such temperature reads on the claimed temperature.
Regarding claim 11, Duffy teaches in some embodiments, the aqueous alkali solution containing the cellulose fibers is incubated at a temperature of from 20° C. to 120° C., from 60° C. to 100° C. or from 80° C. to 90° C. See Para [0029]. Such temperature, encompasses the claimed range temperature.
/ZOHREH A FAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617