DETAILED ACTION
Current Status of 18/437,748
This Office Action is in response to the original claims of 02/09/2024.
Claims 1-2 are examined in this office action.
Priority
Effective filing date is 11/30/2009.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS have been submitted as of 04/28/2026.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner is interpreting claims 1-2 as product by process claims. See MPEP 2113(I).
Objection to Specification
The title is objected. The title contains the phrase “Novel” and should be deleted from the title. See MPEP 606.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over
Schmitt et.al. (US 7,098,331).
Schmitt et.al. teaches the compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7) . Schmitt further teaches citrate salt as pharmaceutical acceptable salt (column 10, line 15-20). Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I).
Although Schmitt teaches the compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7) . Schmitt does not teach mono citrate salt of R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7).
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing pharmaceutical composition.
A person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop mono citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl) pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7) because citrate is pharmaceutical acceptable salt. More over the specification does not treat mono citrate to be different from other pharmaceutical acceptable salt. Therefore it would be prima facia obvious for person skilled in the art to develop (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate from prior art of Schmitt since Schmitt teaches the product (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine(reference claims 5-7) thus teaching claims 1-2.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of obvious-type-nonstatutory double patenting as being obvious over claim 1-7 of U.S. Patent No (US-7098331-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections.
Reference claim 1-7 the compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7) and its pharmaceutical acceptable salt (reference claim 5) . Reference patent further teaches citrate salt as pharmaceutical acceptable salt (column 10, line 15-20). Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I).
Although reference claims teaches the compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 1-7) and its pharmaceutical acceptable salt (reference claim 5) . Reference claims do not teach mono citrate salt of R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7).
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing pharmaceutical composition.
A person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop mono citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl) pyrimidine (reference claims 1-7) because citrate is pharmaceutical acceptable salt. More over the specification does not treat mono citrate to be different from other pharmaceutical acceptable salt. Therefore it would be prima facia obvious for person skilled in the art to develop (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate from reference claims 1-7 since reference claims teaches the product (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine(reference claims 5-7) thus teaching claims 1-2.
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of obvious-type-nonstatutory double patenting as being obvious over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No (US-10421745-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections.
Reference claim 1 the compound mono orate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine. Reference patent further teaches mono-citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine. (column 33-34, example 14-19). Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I).
Although reference claims teaches mono orate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claim 1). Reference claims do not teach mono citrate salt of R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7).
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing pharmaceutical composition.
A person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop mono citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl) pyrimidine (reference claim 1) Reference patent further teaches mono-citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine. (column 33-34, example 14-19). Therefore it would be prima facia obvious for person skilled in the art to develop (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate from reference claims 1 and specification, thus teaching claims 1-2.
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of anticipate-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claim 1-7 of U.S. Patent No (US-8604191-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections
Reference claim 1-7 the compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate same as instant claims 1-2. Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I). Therefore reference claim 1-7 anticipates instant claims 1-2.
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of anticipate-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claim 1-3 of U.S. Patent No (US-9145396-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections
Reference claim 1-3 the compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate same as instant claims 1-2. Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I). Therefore reference claim 1-3 anticipates instant claims 1-2.
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1 and 12-14, of U.S. Patent No (US-9981949-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections
Reference claims 1 and 12-14 method of making compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate(reference claim 14) same as instant claims 1-2. Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I). Therefore reference claims 1 and 12-14 anticipates instant claims 1-2.
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 2-3,22-23 and 42-43 of U.S. Patent No (US-10709707-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections
Reference claims 2-3,22-23 and 42-43 teaches compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate same as instant claims 1-2. Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I). Therefore reference claims 2-3,22-23 and 42-43 anticipates instant claims 1-2.
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-7 U.S. Patent No (US-10919879-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections
Reference claims 1-7 teaches compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate same as instant claims 1-2. Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I). Therefore reference claims 1-7anticipates instant claims 1-2.
Claim 1-2 rejected on the ground of anticipatory-nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-7 U.S. Patent No (US-11542253-B2). Instant claim of 02/09/2024 was used to write this rejections
Reference claims 1 teaches compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate same as instant claims 1-2. Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I). Therefore, reference claims 1 anticipates instant claims 1-2.
Claims 1-2, provisionally rejected on the ground of obviousness-type nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of copending Application No. 18559518.
Reference claim 3 the compound (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine and pharmaceutically acceptable salt . Reference application further teaches mono-citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (paragraph [15]). Instant claims 1-2 are interpreted as a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)" MPEP 2113(I).
Although reference claims teaches pharmaceutical salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claim 1). Reference claims do not teach mono citrate salt of R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (reference claims 5-7).
The level of ordinary skill is an artisan who have sufficient background in developing pharmaceutical composition.
A person skilled in the art would be motivated to develop mono citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl) pyrimidine (reference claim 1) Reference application further teaches mono-citrate salt of (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine (paragraph [15]). . Therefore it would be prima facia obvious for person skilled in the art to develop (R)-5-(E)-2-pyrrolidin-3-ylvinyl)pyrimidine mono citrate from reference claims 3 and specification of copending application, thus teaching claims 1-2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable as written.
US-7714001-B2 not a double patenting because the compound is not the same.
US-8063068 not a double patenting because the compound is not the same.
US-8067443 not a double patenting because the compound is not the same.
US-8633222 not a double patenting because the compound is not the same.
/R.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/JOHN S KENYON/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625