DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 6, 8-9, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, and 8 of copending Application No. 18/438,455 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application’s claims merely broaden the scope of the instant applications claims by not claiming certain claim elements. The applications claims are nearly identical in every other aspect to the copending applications claims. It is the examiners position that broadening the instant applications claims by not claiming certain claim elements of the instant applications claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the instant applications claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163).
Regarding Claim 1, Gundavelli discloses a computing session update method, comprising: sending, by a terminal, a first message to a first function, (see Fig. 2A, step 211b i.e., PDU session modification message sent from UE 102.1 to SMF via AMF & Para’s [0081-0082] i.e., If the UE 102.1 is requesting modification of an existing QoS traffic flow, it can send an N1-PDU Session modification message…Upon obtaining the session modification message, the AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM) context for the UE by communicating an NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212)
wherein the first function is a session management function SMF (see Fig. 2A i.e., SMF 114 & Para’s [0024] & [0081-0082]) or a computing power management function, and the first message is used to request to update at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource in a computing session, (see Fig. 2A step 212 i.e., NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 & steps 213-214 i.e., PDU session modification procedure involves updating a communication resource such as beam resources & Para’s [0081] i.e., AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM )context for the UE by communicating an NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212, & [0082] i.e., At 213, SMF 114 validates that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI value and, upon validating that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI, determines the operating mode and beam resources (i.e., beam resources may be an update of a communication resource), if applicable, associated with the 5QI value & [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2 message Transfer message to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information (i.e., update of a communication resource) to which the 5QI may be mapped).
Regarding Claim 2, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending, by a terminal, a first message to a first function (see Fig. 2A i.e., SMF 114) comprises: sending, by the terminal, the first message to the first function through an access and mobility management function AMF, (see Fig. 2A i.e., AMF 112 & steps 211b, 212 & Para’s [0081-0082])
Regarding Claim 3, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the sending, by a terminal, a first message to a first function, the method further comprises: receiving, by the terminal, a second message that is sent by the first function and that is used to respond to the first message (see Fig. 2A i.e., steps 215-216 & Fig. 2B i.e., 220 & Para’s [0081-0082] i.e., N1-PDU session modification message (i.e., “first message”), [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2Message Transfer’ message (i.e., “second message”) to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information to which the 5QI may be mapped. At 216, AMF 112 sends an N2 PDU session request to CU 34, [0086] i.e., CU 134 sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE 102.1 as shown at 220 that includes RAN parameters (e.g., beam information) & [0087] i.e., the UE 102.1 communicates a PDU session modification command Ack), wherein the second message is used to indicate the first function to update at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session, (see Para [0084] i.e., SMF communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2Message Transfer’ message (i.e., “second message”) to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information to which the 5QI may be mapped & [0086-0087])
Regarding Claim 4, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the receiving, by the terminal, a second message that is sent by the first function and that is used to respond to the first message (see Para’s [0084-0087]) comprises: receiving, by the terminal, the second message that is sent by the first function through an AMF (see Fig. 2A i.e., AMF 112) and that is used to respond to the first message, (see Fig. 2A i.e., step 216 & Para’s [0084] i.e., At 216, AMF 112 sends an N2 PDU session request to CU 134 including a PDU session modification command, [0086] i.e., CU 134 sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE 102.1 as shown at 220 that includes RAN parameters (e.g., beam information) & [0087] i.e., the UE 102.1 communicates a PDU session modification command Ack)
wherein the second message comprises at least one of the following: a protocol data unit PDU session identifier (see Para [0216] i.e., PDU session ID), a computing session identifier, communication resource update information, a communication quality of service QoS rule (see Para [0216] i.e., one or more QoS rules), computing power resource update information, or a computing power QoS rule, (see Para [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2Message Transfer’ message (i.e., “second message”) to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information (i.e., “communication resource update information”) to which the 5QI may be mapped)
wherein the computing power resource update information comprises at least one of the following: a computing resource internet protocol IP address, a storage resource IP address, a computing resource size, or a storage resource size, (Since claim 1 requires an update of at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource in which the updated communication resource was selected for the rejection of claim 1, the claim feature of “wherein the computing power resource update information” is not considered).
Regarding Claim 6, Gundavelli discloses a computing session update method, comprising: obtaining, by a session management function SMF, a first message from a terminal, (see Fig. 2A, step 211b i.e., PDU session modification message sent from UE 102.1 to SMF via AMF & Para’s [0024] i.e., SMF & [0081-0082] i.e., If the UE 102.1 is requesting modification of an existing QoS traffic flow, it can send an N1-PDU Session modification message…Upon obtaining the session modification message, the AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM) context for the UE by communicating an NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212)
wherein the first message is used to request to update at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource in a computing session, (see Fig. 2A step 212 i.e., NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 & steps 213-214 i.e., PDU session modification procedure involves updating a communication resource such as beam resources & Para’s [0081] i.e., AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM )context for the UE by communicating an NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212, & [0082] i.e., At 213, SMF 114 validates that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI value and, upon validating that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI, determines the operating mode and beam resources (i.e., beam resources may be an update of a communication resource), if applicable, associated with the 5QI value & [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2 message Transfer message to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information (i.e., update of a communication resource) to which the 5QI may be mapped).
and updating, by the SMF, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message, (see Para’s [0081-0082] i.e., At 213, SMF 114 validates that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI value and, upon validating that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI, determines the operating mode and beam resources (i.e., beam resources may be an update of a communication resource), if applicable, associated with the 5QI value & [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2 message Transfer message to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information (i.e., update of a communication resource) to which the 5QI may be mapped)
Regarding Claim 7, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the obtaining, by an SMF (see Fig. 2A i.e., SMF 114), a first message from a terminal comprises: obtaining, by the SMF, the first message sent by the terminal through an access and mobility management function AMF, (see Fig. 2A i.e., AMF 112 & steps 211b, 212 & Para’s [0081-0082])
Regarding Claim 11, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein after the updating, by the SMF, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message (see Para [0082]), the method further comprises: sending, by the SMF, a second message to the terminal (see Para’s [0084] & [0086-0087]), wherein the second message is used to indicate at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource that are updated by the SMF for the computing session; (see Fig. 2A i.e., steps 215-216 & Fig. 2B i.e., 220 & Para’s [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2Message Transfer’ message (i.e., “second message”) to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information to which the 5QI may be mapped. At 216, AMF 112 sends an N2 PDU session request to CU 34, [0086] i.e., CU 134 sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE 102.1 as shown at 220 that includes RAN parameters (e.g., beam information) & [0087] i.e., the UE 102.1 communicates a PDU session modification command Ack)
wherein the sending, by the SMF, a second message to the terminal comprises: sending, by the SMF, the second message to the terminal through an AMF, (see Para [0084] i.e., SMF communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2Message Transfer’ message (i.e., “second message”) to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information to which the 5QI may be mapped & [0086-0087])
and/or, wherein before the sending, by the SMF, a second message to the terminal, the method further comprises: receiving, by the SMF, computing power resource allocation information sent by a computing power management function.
Regarding Claim 18, Gundavelli discloses a terminal (see Fig. 2A i.e., UE 102.1 & Fig. 6 & Para [0119]), comprising a processor (see Fig. 6 i.e., processor 602 & Para [0120-0121]), a memory (see Fig. 6 i.e., memory elements 604 & Para [0120-0121]), and a program or instructions that is/are stored in the memory (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0123-0128] i.e., Generally, memory element 604 and/or storage 606 being able to store software, instructions (e.g., processor instructions) that are executed to carry out operations in accordance with teachings of the present disclosure) and that may be run on the processor (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0123-0128]), wherein when the program or the instructions is/are executed by the processor, steps of the computing session update method according to claim 1 are implemented, (see Fig. 6 & Para’s [0123-0128] and the rejection of claim 1)
Regarding Claim 19, Gundavelli discloses a network side device (see Fig. 2A i.e., SMF & Fig. 5 & Para [0110] i.e., computing device 500 may be the SMF), comprising a processor (see Fig. 5 i.e., processor 502 & Para [0111-0112]), a memory (see Fig. 5 i.e., memory elements 502 & Para [0113]), and a program or instructions that is/are stored in the memory (see Para [0113] i.e., memory elements 504 configured to store software and/or instructions) and that may be run on the processor (see Para’s [0112] & [0117-0118]), wherein when the program or the instructions is/are executed by the processor (see Fig. 5 & Para’s [0112] & [0117-0118]), steps of the computing session update method according to claim 6 are implemented, (see rejection of claim 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Youn et al. US (2021/0368373).
Regarding Claim 5, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a terminal identifier, a computing service identifier, a PDU session identifier, a computing session identifier, a computing service requirement (see Para [0081] i.e., the UE 102.1 initiates a new QoS flow creation procedure for a traffic flow associated with a particular application that may be associated with any combination of QoS requirements (i.e., “computing service requirement”), such as UL/DL guaranteed flow bit rate, UL/DL maximum flow bit rate, ARP. If the UE 102.1 is requesting a new QoS traffic flow, it can send an N1-PDU session modification message including a new QoS flow identifier (QFI) is to be assigned to the new traffic flow along with any combination of QoS parameters for the new traffic (e.g., MBR values, ARP/ UL/DL information, etc.) contained within the QoS flow descriptions IE to AMF 112)), a computing service quality of experience QoE requirement, a data network name DNN, or single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI;
wherein the computing service requirement comprises at least one of the following: delay information of a computing service, accuracy of the computing service, a computed amount of the computing service (see Para [0081] i.e., QoS parameters may include UL/DL maximum flow bit rate which suggests a “computed amount of the computing service”), a storage requirement, a type of the computing service (see Para’s [0081] i.e., a new QoS creation procedure for a traffic flow associated with a particular application (i.e., “type”) that may be associated with QoS parameters (i.e., computing service requirement is associated with a type of computing service) & [0091-0094]), or an IP address of the computing service;
wherein the computing power resource comprises at least one of the following: a computing resource or a storage resource.
Gundavelli does not disclose the claim feature of wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a PDU session identifier. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Youn et al. US (2021/0368373).
Youn discloses wherein a PDU session modification request (i.e., first message) which is sent to an SMF (see Fig. 13a) comprises at least one of the following: a PDU session identifier (see Para’s [0306-0308] i.e., The UE may initiate the PDU session modification procedure by transmitting an NAS message. The NAS message may include an N1 SM container. The N1 SM container may include a PDU session modification request message, a PDU session ID…The PDU session modification request message may include a PDU session ID).
(Youn suggests the PDU session modification request including the PDU session ID is used for successfully performing a PDU session modification procedure for the UE according to the identified PDU session, (see Fig. 13a & Para’s [0306-0308] & [0317-0320])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the first message such as the PDU session modification request message sent from the UE to the SMF as disclosed in Gundavelli to comprises the PDU session identifier included in the PDU session modification request message sent from the UE to the SMF as disclosed in the teachings of Youn, because the motivation lies in Youn that the PDU session modification request including the PDU session ID is used for successfully performing a PDU session modification procedure for the UE according to the identified PDU session.
4. Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888).
Regarding Claim 8, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 6, but does not disclose wherein the updating, by the SMF, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message comprises: obtaining, by the SMF, at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy based on the first message; and when obtaining the updated communication management policy, determining, by the SMF, updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy, and updating and allocating the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated communication QoS information. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888).
Faccin discloses wherein the updating, by the SMF, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message comprises (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0096-0101] i.e., UE transmits a PDU session modification request to the SMF): obtaining, by the SMF, at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy based on the first message, (see Fig. 4, step 415 i.e., PDU-CAN session modification & Para’s [0098] i.e., The SMF 215-b may then exchange PDU-CAN session modification information 415 with PCF 225-b & [0102] i.e., SMF 215-b may interact with the PCF 225-b to retrieve one or more policies (i.e., “updated communication management policy”) during the PDU CAN session modification communication)
and when obtaining the updated communication management policy (see Fig. 4, step 415 & Para’s [0098] & [0102]), determining, by the SMF, updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy (see Para’s [0098-0099] i.e., At 425, the SMF 215-b may receive a trigger for a QoS update to modify an established PDU session. This process may be triggered, for example, based on QoS parameters, or may be triggered based on locally configured policy),
and updating and allocating the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated communication QoS information (see Para’s [0097] & [0100-0102] i.e., the SMF 215-b may select a new UPF (i.e., “communication resource”) and CN tunnel information).
(Faccin suggests the PDU session modification procedure is performed between the UE and the SMF for successfully modifying the PDU session and for correctly updating QoS information and the communication resource required for the modified PDU session, (see Para’s [0097-0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the updating, by the SMF, of the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message in the PDU session modification procedure as disclosed in Gundavelli to be performed according to the PDU session modification procedure performed between the UE and the SMF as disclosed in Faccin who discloses obtaining, by the SMF, an updated communication management policy based on the first message; and when obtaining the updated communication management policy, determining, by the SMF, updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy, and updating and allocating the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated communication QoS information, because the motivation lies in Faccin that the PDU session modification procedure is performed between the UE and the SMF for successfully modifying the PDU session of the UE and for correctly updating QoS information and the communication resource required for the modified PDU session.
Regarding Claim 9, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 8, but does not disclose wherein when obtaining the updated communication management policy, the determining, by the SMF, updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy, and updating and allocating the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated communication QoS information comprises: when obtaining the updated communication management policy, determining, by the SMF, the updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy; and sending, by the SMF, an updated N4 interface rule to a user plane function UPF, so that the UPF updates the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated N4 interface rule, wherein the updated N4 interface rule is obtained based on the updated communication QoS information. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888).
Faccin wherein when obtaining the updated communication management policy, the determining, by the SMF, updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy (see Para’s [0098-0099]), and updating and allocating the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated communication QoS information (see Para’s [0098-0100]) comprises: when obtaining the updated communication management policy (see Para’s [0098] & [0102]), determining, by the SMF (see Fig. 4 i.e., SMF 215-b), the updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy (see Para’s [0098-0099] i.e., QoS update & [0102]); and sending, by the SMF, an updated N4 interface rule to a user plane function UPF (see Para [0100] i.e., the SMF 215-b may select a new UPF & [0101] i.e., SMF 215-b may transmit an N4 session establishment request 435 to the new UPF 220-c that was selected at 430. The SMF 215-b may also provide packet detection, enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the new UPF 220-c for this PDU session), so that the UPF updates the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated N4 interface rule (see Para [0101] i.e., The SMF 215-b may also provide packet detection, enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the new UPF 220-c for this PDU session. If CN tunnel information (i.e., may be a communication resource) is allocated by the SMF 215-b, this information may also be provided to the new UPF 220-c. The new UPF 220-c may acknowledge the request by sending an N4 session establishment response 437 to the SMF 215-b. If CN tunnel information (i.e., may be a “communication resource”) is allocated by the new UPF 220-c, the CN tunnel information may be provided to the SMF 215-b), wherein the updated N4 interface rule is obtained based on the updated communication QoS information, (see Para’s [0099] i.e., SMF 215-b may receive a trigger for a QoS update to modify an established PDU session & [0100-0101] i.e., The new UPF may be selected based on a QoS of the PDU session)
(Faccin suggests the new UPF is selected based on a QoS of the PDU session for selecting an optimal UPF that satisfies the QoS of the modified PDU session, (see Para’s [0099-0101])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the updating, by the SMF, of the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message in the PDU session modification procedure as disclosed in Gundavelli to be performed according to the PDU session modification procedure performed between the UE and the SMF as disclosed in Faccin who discloses obtaining an updated communication management policy, and determining, by the SMF, the updated communication QoS information based on the obtained updated communication management policy; and sending, by the SMF, an updated N4 interface rule to a user plane function UPF, so that the UPF updates the communication resource in the computing session based on the updated N4 interface rule, wherein the updated N4 interface rule is obtained based on the updated communication QoS information, because the motivation lies in Faccin that the new UPF is selected based on a QoS of the PDU session for selecting an optimal UPF that satisfies the QoS of the modified PDU session.
5. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0022101).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Gundavelli in view of Faccin discloses the method according to claim 8, including wherein the obtaining at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy (Faccin, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0098] & [0102]) comprises any one of the following: obtaining at least one of the updated computing power management policy or the updated communication management policy that are sent by the PCF (Faccin, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0098] & [0102]), but does not disclose the claim features of sending, by the SMF, a third message to a PCF, and obtaining at least one of the updated computing power management policy or the updated communication management policy that are sent by the PCF and that are in response to the third message, wherein the third message comprises at least one of a communication policy modification request or a computing policy modification request. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0022101).
Wang discloses sending, by the SMF, a third message to a PCF (see Fig. 4 i.e., step 403 & Para [0125] i.e., the SMF performs a SM policy association modification procedure with the PCF. During the SM policy association modification procedure, the SMF sends a SM policy association modification request, Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Update Request to the PCF, at 403)
and obtaining an updated communication management policy that is sent by the PCF and that is in response to the third message, (see Fig. 4 i.e., step 404 & Para [0125] i.e., At 404, the PCF replies the SMF with a SM policy association modification response, Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Update Response)
wherein the third message comprises at least one of a communication policy modification request or a computing policy modification request (see Para [0125] i.e., the SMF performs a SM policy association modification procedure with the PCF. During the SM policy association modification procedure, the SMF sends a SM policy association modification request, Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Update Request to the PCF, at 403).
(Wang suggests the third request message sent from the SMF to the PCF is for obtaining a policy modification (i.e., “updated communication management policy”) response in order for the SMF to allocate the ongoing PDU session with a new PDU session anchor such as a new UPF and for successfully performing the PDU session modification procedure, (see Para [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SMF obtaining the updated communication management policy that are sent by the PCF for performing the PDU session modification procedure as disclosed in Gundavelli in view of Faccin to be performed by sending, by the SMF, a third request message to the PCF and obtaining an updated communication management policy that is sent by the PCF and that is in response to the third request message as disclosed in the teachings of Wang, because the motivation lies in Wang that the third request message sent from the SMF to the PCF is for obtaining a policy modification (i.e., “updated communication management policy”) response in order for the SMF to allocate the ongoing PDU session with a new PDU session anchor such as a new UPF and for successfully performing the PDU session modification procedure.
6. Claims 12, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Puente Pestana et al. US (2022/0247688).
Regarding Claim 12, Gundavelli discloses a computing session update method, comprising: obtaining, by a computing power management function (see Fig. 2 i.e., SMF 114 & Para [0024] i.e., an SMF may be responsible for UE PDU session management, with individual functions/services being supported on a per-session basis in order to facilitate data transfer(s) between a UE and one or more data networks (i.e., the SMF which performs processing such as PDU session management and facilitating data transfer between the UE and the network includes managing “computing power” for performing the processing, and therefore the SMF may a “computing power management function”)), a first message from a terminal, (see Fig. 2A, step 211b i.e., PDU session modification message sent from UE 102.1 to SMF via AMF & Para’s [0024] i.e., SMF & [0081-0082] i.e., If the UE 102.1 is requesting modification of an existing QoS traffic flow, it can send an N1-PDU Session modification message…Upon obtaining the session modification message, the AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM) context for the UE by communicating an NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212)
wherein the first message is used to request to update at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource in a computing session; (see Fig. 2A step 212 i.e., NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 & steps 213-214 i.e., PDU session modification procedure involves updating a communication resource such as beam resources & Para’s [0081] i.e., AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM )context for the UE by communicating an NsmfPDU session UpdateSMContext message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212, & [0082] i.e., At 213, SMF 114 validates that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI value and, upon validating that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI, determines the operating mode and beam resources (i.e., beam resources may be an update of a communication resource), if applicable, associated with the 5QI value & [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2 message Transfer message to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information (i.e., update of a communication resource) to which the 5QI may be mapped).
and updating, by the computing power management function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message, (see Para’s [0081-0082] i.e., At 213, SMF 114 validates that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI value and, upon validating that the UE 102.1 is allowed to access the requested 5QI, determines the operating mode and beam resources (i.e., beam resources may be an update of a communication resource), if applicable, associated with the 5QI value & [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2 message Transfer message to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information (i.e., update of a communication resource) to which the 5QI may be mapped).
Gundavelli does not explicitly disclose the session management function (SMF) is a computing power management function. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Puente Pestana et al. US (2022/0247688).
Puente Pestana discloses a session management function (SMF) is a computing power management function (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0048] i.e., “the computing power resource may include at least one of the following: a computing resource and a storage resource”. Therefore the claimed “computing power” may refer to a “storage resource”). (Puente Pestana, see Fig. 7 & Para’s [0065] & [0067-0068] i.e., the processing circuitry 12 of the SMF node 10 may be configured to control the memory 14 of the SMF node 10 to store any parameters, requests, responses, indications, information, data, notifications, signals (i.e., the SMF processor which controls the memory 14 to store data performs storage resource (i.e., “computing power”) management and therefore the SMF is a “computing power management function”)).
(Puente Pestana suggests the processor of the SMF controls the operation of the SMF node (see Para [0065]) which includes controlling the packet processing in the UPF by establishing, modifying, or deleting PFCP session contexts and provisioning packet detection rules, forwarding action rules, QoS enforcement rules corresponding to a PDU session for efficiently managing the PDU session of the UE (see Para’s [0008] & [0065-0070])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the session management function (SMF) disclosed in Gundavelli to be implemented or configured as the session management function (SMF) which is a computing power management function disclosed in Puente Pestana, because the motivation lies in Puente Pestana that the processor of the SMF controls the operation of the SMF node which includes controlling the packet processing in the UPF by establishing, modifying, or deleting PFCP session contexts and provisioning packet detection rules, forwarding action rules, QoS enforcement rules corresponding to a PDU session for efficiently managing the PDU session of the UE.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein after the updating, by the computing power management function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message, the method further comprises: sending, by the computing power management function, a second message to the terminal (Gundavelli, see Para’s [0084] & [0086-0087]), wherein the second message is used to indicate at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource that are updated by the computing power management function for the computing session, (Gundavelli, see Fig. 2A i.e., steps 215-216 & Fig. 2B i.e., 220 & Para’s [0084] i.e., At 214, SMF 114 initiates a PDU session modification procedure for the UE-triggered use case for the 5QI value and communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2Message Transfer’ message (i.e., “second message”) to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information to which the 5QI may be mapped. At 216, AMF 112 sends an N2 PDU session request to CU 34, [0086] i.e., CU 134 sends a RRC Connection Reconfiguration message to the UE 102.1 as shown at 220 that includes RAN parameters (e.g., beam information) & [0087] i.e., the UE 102.1 communicates a PDU session modification command Ack)
wherein the sending, by the computing power management function, a second message to the terminal comprises: sending, by the computing power management function, the second message to the terminal through an AMF, (Gundavelli, see Para [0084] i.e., SMF communicates a 3GPP ‘Namf Communication N1N2Message Transfer’ message (i.e., “second message”) to AMF at 215 identifying the new QoS flow, the operating mode to which the 5QI value is mapped, and any beam resource information to which the 5QI may be mapped & [0086-0087]) and/or, wherein before the sending, by the computing power management function, a second message to the terminal, the method further comprises: receiving, by the computing power management function, communication resource allocation information sent by an SMF.
Regarding Claim 20, Gundavelli discloses a network side device(see Fig. 2A i.e., SMF & Fig. 5 & Para [0110] i.e., computing device 500 may be the SMF), comprising a processor (see Fig. 5 i.e., processor 502 & Para [0111-0112]), a memory (see Fig. 5 i.e., memory elements 502 & Para [0113]), and a program or instructions that is/are stored in the memory (see Para [0113] i.e., memory elements 504 configured to store software and/or instructions) and that may be run on the processor (see Para’s [0112] & [0117-0118]), wherein when the program or the instructions is/are executed by the processor (see Fig. 5 & Para’s [0112] & [0117-0118]), steps of the computing session update method according to claim 12 are implemented (see rejection of claim 12 with respect to the combination of Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana).
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Puente Pestana et al. US (2022/0247688) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888).
Regarding Claim 13, Gundavelli discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the obtaining, by a computing power management function, a first message from a terminal comprises: obtaining, by the computing power management function, the first message sent by the terminal through an access and mobility management function AMF; (see Fig. 2A i.e., AMF 112 & steps 211b, 212 & Para’s [0081-0082]), but the references combined does not disclose wherein the updating, by the computing power management function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message comprises: obtaining, by the computing power management function, at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy based on the first message; and when obtaining the updated computing power management policy, determining, by the computing power management function, updated computing power QoS information based on the updated computing power management policy, and updating and allocating the computing power resource in the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information; or when obtaining the updated communication management policy, sending, by the computing power management function, the updated communication management policy to an SMF, and obtaining communication resource allocation information sent by the SMF. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888).
Faccin discloses wherein the updating, by the computing power management function, at least one of a computing power resource (see Para [0100] i.e., new UPF selection) or a communication resource (see Para’s [0100-0101]) for the computing session based on the first message (see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0096-0101] i.e., UE transmits a PDU session modification request to the SMF) comprises: obtaining, by the computing power management function, at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy based on the first message; (see Fig. 4, step 415 i.e., PDU-CAN session modification & Para’s [0098] i.e., The SMF 215-b may then exchange PDU-CAN session modification information 415 with PCF 225-b & [0102] i.e., SMF 215-b may interact with the PCF 225-b to retrieve one or more policies (i.e., “updated computing power management policy”) during the PDU CAN session modification communication)
and when obtaining the updated computing power management policy (see Fig. 4, step 415 & Para’s [0098] & [0102]), determining, by the computing power management function (see Fig. 4 i.e., SMF 215-b), updated computing power QoS information based on the updated computing power management policy, (see Para’s [0098-0099] i.e., At 425, the SMF 215-b may receive a trigger for a QoS update (i.e., “updated computing power QoS information”) to modify an established PDU session. This process may be triggered, for example, based on QoS parameters, or may be triggered based on locally configured policy),
and updating and allocating the computing power resource in the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information, (In light of the applicants specification in Para [0048], the “computing power resource” includes at least one of the following: a computing resource and a storage resource. Therefore the “computing power resource” is interpreted as a computing resource. (Faccin, see Para’s [0097], [0099], & [0100-0102] i.e., the SMF 215-b may select a new UPF (i.e., newly selected UPF may be a “computing power resource” or “computing resource”) and CN tunnel information).
(Faccin suggests the PDU session modification procedure is performed between the UE and the SMF for successfully modifying the PDU session and the new UPF is selected based on a QoS of the PDU session for selecting an optimal UPF that satisfies the QoS of the modified PDU session, (see Para’s [0097-0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the updating, by the SMF, of the at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message in the PDU session modification procedure as disclosed in Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana to be performed according to the PDU session modification procedure performed between the UE and the SMF as disclosed in Faccin who discloses obtaining, by the SMF, an updated computing power management policy based on the first message; and when obtaining the updated computing power policy, determining, by the SMF, updated computing power QoS information based on the obtained updated computing power policy, and updating and allocating a computing power resource in the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information, because the motivation lies in Faccin that the PDU session modification procedure is performed between the UE and the SMF for successfully modifying the PDU session and a new UPF is selected based on a QoS of the PDU session for selecting an optimal UPF that satisfies the QoS of the modified PDU session.
8. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Puente Pestana et al. US (2022/0247688), and further in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0022101).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestan, and further in view of Faccin discloses the method according to claim 13, including wherein the obtaining at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy (Faccin, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0098] & [0102]) comprises any one of the following: obtaining at least one of the updated computing power management policy or the updated communication management policy that are sent by the PCF (Faccin, see Fig. 4 & Para’s [0098] & [0102]), but does not disclose the claim features of sending, by the SMF, a fourth message to a PCF, and obtaining at least one of the updated computing power management policy or the updated communication management policy that are sent by the PCF and that are in response to the fourth message, wherein the fourth message comprises at least one of a communication policy modification request or a computing policy modification request. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Wang et al. US (2022/0022101).
Wang discloses sending, by the SMF, a fourth message to a PCF (see Fig. 4 i.e., step 403 & Para [0125] i.e., the SMF performs a SM policy association modification procedure with the PCF. During the SM policy association modification procedure, the SMF sends a SM policy association modification request, Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Update Request to the PCF, at 403)
and obtaining an updated communication management policy that is sent by the PCF and that is in response to the fourth message, (see Fig. 4 i.e., step 404 & Para [0125] i.e., At 404, the PCF replies the SMF with a SM policy association modification response, Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Update Response)
wherein the fourth message comprises at least one of a communication policy modification request or a computing policy modification request (see Para [0125] i.e., the SMF performs a SM policy association modification procedure with the PCF. During the SM policy association modification procedure, the SMF sends a SM policy association modification request, Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Update Request to the PCF, at 403).
(Wang suggests the third request message sent from the SMF to the PCF is for obtaining a policy modification (i.e., “updated communication management policy”) response in order for the SMF to allocate the ongoing PDU session with a new PDU session anchor such as a new UPF and for successfully performing the PDU session modification procedure, (see Para [0125])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the SMF obtaining the updated communication management policy that are sent by the PCF for performing the PDU session modification procedure as disclosed in Gundavelli in view of in view of Puente Pestana, and further in view of Faccin to be performed by sending, by the SMF, a fourth request message to the PCF and obtaining an updated communication management policy that is sent by the PCF and that is in response to the fourth request message as disclosed in the teachings of Wang, because the motivation lies in Wang that the fourth request message sent from the SMF to the PCF is for obtaining a policy modification (i.e., “updated communication management policy”) response in order for the SMF to allocate the ongoing PDU session with a new PDU session anchor such as a new UPF and for successfully performing the PDU session modification procedure.
9. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Puente Pestana et al. US (2022/0247688), and further in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Saghir et al. US (2021/0058769).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Gundavelli in view of in view of Puente Pestana including a computing resource storage node (Gundavelli, see Para [0024] i.e., a UPF which performs packet routing and forwarding operations for user data traffic and a variety of functions including packet inspection, traffic optimization, QoS policy enforcement, and user data traffic handling to/from networks 150 may be a “computing resource storage node” since it manages it manages its storage resources for the performed functions), discloses the method according to claim 13, but does not disclose wherein the determining, by the computing power management function, updated computing power QoS information based on the obtained updated computing power management policy, and updating and allocating the computing power resource in the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information comprises: determining, by the computing power management function, the updated computing power QoS information based on the obtained updated computing power management policy; and sending, by the computing power management function, the updated computing power QoS information to a computing storage resource node, so that the computing storage resource node updates the computing power resource in the computing session based on the updated computing power QoS information. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888).
Faccin discloses wherein the determining, by the computing power management function, updated computing power QoS information based on the obtained updated computing power management policy, and updating and allocating the computing power resource in the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information comprises: determining, by the computing power management function (see Fig. 4 i.e., SMF 215-b), the updated computing power QoS information based on the obtained updated computing power management policy; (see Para’s [0098-0099] i.e., At 425, the SMF 215-b may receive a trigger for a QoS update (i.e., “updated computing power QoS information”) to modify an established PDU session. This process may be triggered, for example, based on QoS parameters, or may be triggered based on locally configured policy & [0100-0102]),
and sending, by the computing power management function, the updated computing power QoS information to a computing storage resource node (see Fig. 4 i.e., new UPF 220-c), so that the computing storage resource node updates the computing power resource in the computing session based on the updated computing power QoS information (see Para’s [0100] i.e., the SMF may select a new UPF & [0101] i.e., the SMF 215-b may transmit an N4 session establishment request 435 to the new UPF 220-c that was selected at 430. The SMF 215-b may also provide packet detection, enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the new UPF 220-c for this PDU session and CN tunnel information (i.e., “updated computing power QoS information”)…The new UPF 220-c may acknowledge the request by sending an N4 session establishment response 437 to the SMF 215-b). In regards to the claim limitation, the feature of “so that the computing storage resource node updates the computing power resource in the computing session based on the updated computing power QoS information”, is a statement of intended use and is therefore not considered limiting to the claim limitation, (i.e., see Outdry Techs. Corp V. Geox Pg.’s 2-3 regarding statement of intended use). Referring to Para [0101] of Faccin, the UPF (i.e., “computing storage resource node”) which receives the N4 session establishment request 435 from the SMF including updated computing power QoS information such as packet detection, enforcement and reporting rules to be installed on the new UPF 220-c for the PDU session, and sends an acknowledgement N4 session establishment response 437, will update computing power resource information of the PDU session based on the signaling exchange.
(Faccin suggests the PDU session modification procedure is performed between the UE and the SMF for successfully modifying the PDU session and the new UPF is selected based on a QoS of the PDU session for selecting an optimal UPF that satisfies the QoS of the modified PDU session, (see Para’s [0097-0102])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the updating, by the SMF, of the at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message in the PDU session modification procedure as disclosed in Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana to be performed according to the PDU session modification procedure performed between the UE and the SMF as disclosed in Faccin who discloses determining, by the computing power management function, updated computing power QoS information based on the obtained updated computing power management policy and sending, by the computing power management function, the updated computing power QoS information to a computing storage resource node, because the motivation lies in Faccin that the PDU session modification procedure is performed between the UE and the SMF for successfully modifying the PDU session and the new UPF is selected based on a QoS of the PDU session for selecting an optimal UPF that satisfies the QoS of the modified PDU session.
The combination of Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana, and further in view of Faccin does not explicitly disclose the UPF is a computing storage resource node. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Saghir et al. US (2021/0058769).
Saghir discloses a UPF is a computing storage resource node (see Para [0064] i.e., When SMF 320 detects that UE 305 has become inactive, SMF 320 may notify UPF 335 that UPF 335 does not need to store the configuration information any more, at which point UPF 335 may flush the configuration information (e.g., free up memory, processing, and/or storage resources that were used to monitor and/or intercept traffic based on the configuration (i.e., UPF manages its storage resources and therefore is a “computing storage resource node”)).
(Saghir suggests the UPF may free up memory, processing, and/or storage resources when it is determined that the UE is inactive which results in preventing waste of storage and processing resources, (see Para [0064])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the UPF disclosed in Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana, and further in view of Faccin, to be implemented or configured as the UPF which is a computing storage resource node disclosed in the teachings of Saghir, because the motivation lies in Saghir that the UPF may free up memory, processing, and/or storage resources when it is determined that the UE is inactive which results in preventing waste of storage and processing resources
10. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) in view of Puente Pestana et al. US (2022/0247688), and further in view of Faccin US (2018/0270888), and further in view of Saghir et al. US (2021/0058769) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Baek et al. US (2022/0279319).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana, and further in view of Faccin, and further in view of Saghir discloses the method according to claim 15, including wherein after the sending, by the computing power management function, the updated computing power QoS information to a computing storage resource node (Faccin, see Fig. 4, step 435 & Para [0100]), the method further comprises: obtaining, by the computing power management function, a feedback message sent by the computing storage resource node (see Fig. 4, step 437 & Para [0101] i.e., N4 session establishment response 437), but does not disclose wherein the feedback message comprises at least one of the following: a computing resource internet protocol IP address, a storage resource IP address, a computing resource size, or a storage resource size. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Baek et al. US (2022/0279319).
Baek discloses wherein the feedback message from the UPF to the SMF comprises at least one of the following: a computing resource internet protocol IP address, (see Para [0103] i.e., in order to configure a tunnel endpoint in the UPF 720, the IP address of the UPF 720 (i.e., computing resource IP address) and tunnel ID information may be included in the N4-MBS session establishment response message to be transferred to the SMF 700).
(Baek suggests the N4 session establishment response message (i.e., “feedback message”) includes the IP address of the UPF in order to configure a tunnel endpoint in the UPF (see Para [0103])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the feedback message sent from the UPF to the SMF such as the N4 session establishment response as disclosed in Gundavelli in view of Puente Pestana, and further in view of Faccin, and further in view of Saghir to include the IP address of the UPF based on the teachings of Baek who discloses wherein the N4 session establishment response message from the UPF to the SMF comprises the IP address of the UPF, because the motivation lies in Baek that the N4 session establishment response message includes the IP address of the UPF in order to configure a tunnel endpoint in the UPF.
Conclusion
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461