DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–13 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0291038 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 April 2024 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 106 (e.g., [0124]) and 126 (e.g., [0125]). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ELECTROLYTE SOLUTION CONTAINING LINEAR CARBONATE-BASED COMPOUND, LINEAR ESTER-BASED COMPOUND, AND ISOTHIAZOLIDINE-BASED COMPOUND AND LITHIUM SECONDARY BATTERY INCLUDING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 106 is used to describe a cathode tab in paragraph [0124]. However, reference character 106 is not present in the drawings.
Reference character 126 is used to describe an anode tab in paragraph [0124]. However, reference character 126 is not present in the drawings.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–5 and 7–13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 2017/0069935 A1, hereinafter Choi) in view of Zhou et al. (US 2014/0166921 A1, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claims 1–5 and 8–10, Choi discloses an electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery (see electrolyte, [0022]), comprising:
a lithium salt (see electrolyte, [0047]);
an organic solvent comprising a linear carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (see chain carbonate, [0037]) and a linear ester-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 (see ester solvent, [0043]); and
a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 (see sultam-based compound, [0031]):
(see chain carbonate, [0038])
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R2 are each independently a C1-C6 alkyl group (see chain carbonate, [0038]),
(see ester solvent, [0043])
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R3 is a C1-C6 alkyl group, (see ester solvent, [0043])
(see sultam-based compound, [0031])
wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, R5 is a C1-C10 alkyl group, a C2-C10 alkenyl group, or a C2-C10 alkynyl group (see sultam-based compound, [0031]);
wherein the lithium salt comprises LiPF6 (see lithium salt, [0047]);
wherein the lithium salt further comprises a sulfonylimide-based lithium salt represented by Chemical Formula 5 (see lithium salt, [0047]):
(see lithium salt, [0047])
wherein, in Chemical Formula 5, R6 and R7 are each independently fluorine or a C1-C6 fluorine-containing alkyl group (see lithium salt, [0047]).
Choi does not explicitly disclose:
at least one of R1 and R2 is a methyl group;
R4 is a C3-C10 alkyl group;
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R2 are each independently a C1-C3 alkyl group, and at least one of R1 and R2 is a methyl group;
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R3 is a C1-C3 alkyl group, and R4 is a C3-C6 alkyl group;
wherein the organic solvent further comprises a cyclic carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 4:
wherein, in Chemical Formula 4, L is a C2-C5 alkylene group or a C2-C5 alkenylene group;
wherein the linear ester-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 is contained in an amount from 10 vol % to 30 vol % based on a total volume of the organic solvent; and
wherein a ratio of a molar concentration of LiPF6 relative to a molar concentration of the sulfonylimide-based lithium salt represented by Chemical Formula 5 in the electrolyte solution is in a range from 1 to 2.
Zhou discloses an electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery (see organic electrolyte, [0104]), comprising a lithium salt (see LiPF6 and LiTFSI, [0104]); an organic solvent comprising a linear carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and a linear ester-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 (see organic solvent, [0104]); and
(see EMC+DMC, [0104]), and wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R2 are each independently a C1-C6 alkyl group (see EMC+DMC, [0104]), at least one of R1 and R2 is a methyl group (see EMC+DMC, [0104]),
(see EP, [0104]) wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R3 is a C1-C6 alkyl group, and R4 is a C3-C10 alkyl group (see EP, [0104]), wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R2 are each independently a C1-C3 alkyl group, and at least one of R1 and R2 is a methyl group (see EMC+DMC, [0104]); wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R3 is a C1-C3 alkyl group, and R4 is a C3-C6 alkyl group (see EP, [0104]); wherein the organic solvent further comprises a cyclic carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 4 (see EC, [0104]):
(see EC, [0104]) wherein, in Chemical Formula 4, L is a C2-C5 alkylene group or a C2-C5 alkenylene group (see EC, [0104]); and wherein the linear ester-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 is contained in an amount from 10 vol % to 30 vol % based on a total volume of the organic solvent (see EP, [0104]); wherein the lithium salt comprises LiPF6 (see LiPF6 and LiTFSI, [0104]); wherein the lithium salt further comprises a sulfonylimide-based lithium salt represented by Chemical Formula 5 (see LiPF6 and LiTFSI, [0104]):
(see LiPF6 and LiTFSI, [0104]) wherein, in Chemical Formula 5, R6 and R7 are each independently fluorine or a C1-C6 fluorine-containing alkyl group (see LiPF6 and LiTFSI, [0104]); wherein a ratio of a molar concentration of LiPF6 relative to a molar concentration of the sulfonylimide-based lithium salt represented by Chemical Formula 5 in the electrolyte solution is in a range from 1 to 2 (see LiPF6 and LiTFSI, [0104]) to balance the stability and viscosity of the electrolyte solution (see electrolyte, [0077]). Choi and Zhou are analogous because they are directed to electrolyte solutions for lithium secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the electrolyte solution of Choi with the solvents and lithium salts of Zhou in order to balance the stability and viscosity of the electrolyte solution.
Regarding claim 7, modified Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery:
wherein a content of the compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 is in a range from 0.1 wt % to 10 wt % based on a total weight of the electrolyte solution (see sultam-based compound, [0035]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery:
wherein the electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery further comprises an auxiliary additive including at least one selected from the group consisting of a fluorine-containing carbonate-based compound (see FEC, [0041]), a sultone-based compound (see propane sulfone, [0050]), a cyclic sulfate-based compound and a fluorine-containing lithium phosphate-based compound (see lithium difluorophosphate, [0034]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses an electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery:
wherein a weight ratio of the auxiliary additive relative to the compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 in the electrolyte solution is in a range from 0.5 to 10 ([0034], [0035], [0042], [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Choi discloses a lithium secondary battery (30), comprising a cathode (23); an anode (22) facing the cathode (23); and an electrolyte solution (FIG. 1, [0055]), wherein the electrolyte solution (see electrolyte, [0022]) comprises:
a lithium salt (see electrolyte, [0047]);
an organic solvent comprising a linear carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (see chain carbonate, [0037]) and a linear ester-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 (see ester solvent, [0043]); and
a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 (see sultam-based compound, [0031]):
(see chain carbonate, [0038])
wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R2 are each independently a C1-C6 alkyl group (see chain carbonate, [0038]),
(see ester solvent, [0043])
wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R3 is a C1-C6 alkyl group, (see ester solvent, [0043])
(see sultam-based compound, [0031])
wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, R5 is a C1-C10 alkyl group, a C2-C10 alkenyl group, or a C2-C10 alkynyl group (see sultam-based compound, [0031]).
Choi does not explicitly disclose:
at least one of R1 and R2 is a methyl group; and
R4 is a C3-C10 alkyl group.
Zhou discloses an electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery (see organic electrolyte, [0104]), comprising a lithium salt (see LiPF6 and LiTFSI, [0104]); an organic solvent comprising a linear carbonate-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 and a linear ester-based compound represented by Chemical Formula 2 (see organic solvent, [0104]); and
(see EMC+DMC, [0104]), and wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R2 are each independently a C1-C6 alkyl group (see EMC+DMC, [0104]), at least one of R1 and R2 is a methyl group (see EMC+DMC, [0104]),
(see EP, [0104]) wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R3 is a C1-C6 alkyl group, and R4 is a C3-C10 alkyl group (see EP, [0104]), wherein, in Chemical Formula 1, R1 and R2 are each independently a C1-C3 alkyl group, and at least one of R1 and R2 is a methyl group (see EMC+DMC, [0104]); wherein, in Chemical Formula 2, R3 is a C1-C3 alkyl group, and R4 is a C3-C6 alkyl group (see EP, [0104]) to balance the stability and viscosity of the electrolyte solution (see electrolyte, [0077]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the electrolyte solution of Choi with the solvents of Zhou in order to balance the stability and viscosity of the electrolyte solution.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2017/0069935 A1, hereinafter Choi) in view of Zhou (US 2014/0166921 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ihara et al. (JP 2007-172990 A, hereinafter Ihara).
Regarding claim 6, modified Choi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose an electrolyte solution for a lithium secondary battery:
wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, R5 is a C2-C10 alkynyl group.
Ihara discloses an electrolyte solution comprising a compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 (see sultam, [0038])
(see chemical formula 4, [0039]) wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, R5 is a C1-C10 alkyl group, a C2-C10 alkenyl group, or a C2-C10 alkynyl group (see chemical formula 4, [0039]); wherein, in Chemical Formula 3, R5 is a C2-C10 alkynyl group (see chemical formula 4, [0039]) to suppress the decomposition reaction of the electrolytic solution at high temperature (see sultam, [0076]). Choi and Ihara are analogous because they are directed to electrolyte solutions for lithium secondary batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the compound represented by Chemical Formula 3 with the C2-C10 alkynyl group as taught by Ihara in order to suppress the decomposition reaction of the electrolytic solution at high temperature.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725