Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-14, 21) in the reply filed on 6/8/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction requirement between Group I and II appears improper because claim 15 depends directly from claim 1. This is found persuasive. However, the restriction requirement between Group I and Group III are maintained. Hence, claims 1-15 and 21 are examined in this office action.
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 9, 11, 13-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 00/53293 A1 (Dannenmaier).
Regarding claim 1, Dannenmaier discloses an element (see figure 1; page 11, line 11 – page 12, line 21) comprising:
a bundle of hollow membrane tubes (30), the hollow membrane tubes having opposite open ends for passage of a fluid stream therethrough (figure 1);
first and second end caps (support ring 40 + potting adhesive 80) proximate opposite open ends, respectively; first and second seal surfaces (the outer surface of 40+80 can be considered as a "seal surface") provided by the first and second end caps, respectively, the first and second seal surfaces facing outwardly and freely engageable for facilitating a releasable seal;
an intermediate region of the bundle of hollow membranes tubes being externally exposed between the first and second end caps (figure 1);
each of the first and second end caps at least partially formed with an adhesive (potting compound 80), and
wherein at least one of the first and second end caps is a composite end cap comprising the adhesive (80) in combination with a preform (support ring 40), the adhesive filling interstices between the hollow membrane tubes, the preform at least partially surrounding the bundle of hollow membrane tubes and integrally bonded thereto with the adhesive (figure 1).
Regarding claim 2, Dannenmaier discloses that both of the first and second end caps are composite end caps (see page 11, lines 12-26).
Regarding claims 5-7, Dannenmaier discloses that the adhesive (80) for the composite end cap is in the form of an overmold that overmolds the preform to the composite end cap, wherein the preform (40) provides at least part of the outermost radial surface of the composite end cap and the adhesive (80) defines a molded surface overlapping the preform (40) wherein each of the first and second end caps comprises a cut end through the adhesive (80) thereof exposing opposite open ends wherein the preform is cut therethrough and co-planar with the cut end for at least one of the first and second end caps (see figure 1a).
Regarding claim 9, Dannenmaier discloses that the preform comprises a ring portion 40 surrounding the bundle (see figure 1a).
Regarding claim 11, Dannenmaier discloses that the first end cap is an open end cap and the second end cap is a closed end cap, and wherein the bundle (30) of hollow membrane tubes is arranged in a ring (50) defining a central cavity opening into an opening through the open end cap and closed at the closed end cap (see figure 5: clamping means 72 are closing the first cap).
Regarding claim 13, Dannenmaier discloses that the adhesive comprises polyurethane (see page 8, lines 12-13).
Regarding claim 14, Dannenmaier discloses that the support ring is flexible plastic or metal as the support ring (50) has several axially extending bosses (52) that are flexible (see page 14, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 15, Dannenmaier discloses an assembly comprising the element of claim 1 and further comprising in combination a housing (3) with the element removably installed therein forming first and second seals with the first and second seal surfaces, with the housing (3) comprising: a first inlet (13) and a first outlet (15), with a first flow passageway travelling from the first inlet (13) through the hollow membrane tubes (30) and opposite open ends thereof to the first outlet (15); and a second inlet (19) and a second outlet (21), with a second flow passageway through the intermediate region, and operable such that moisture is transferred from the first flow passageway to the second flow passageway, or vice versa depending upon whether the first or second flow passageway has a higher moisture content (see figure 1; page 10, line 13 – page 11, line 10).
Regarding claim 21, Dannenmaier discloses a filter element including a ring (50) of collected hollow fibers (32) having a predetermined length, and end cap assemblies provided at each of the fiber ring (50), each end cap assembly including i) an annular pre-formed peripheral shroud (54) surrounding the ends of the fibers; and ii) adhesive (80) within the shroud and encapsulating the ends of the fibers (see figure 3; page 12, line 25 – page 14, line 9).
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 4,283,284 (Schnell).
Regarding claim 1, Schnell discloses an element (see figures 1-2; col. 4, line 11- col. 5, line 13; col. 5, lines 29-43) comprising:
a bundle of hollow membrane tubes (12), the hollow membrane tubes having opposite open ends for passage of a fluid stream therethrough (figure 1);
first and second end caps (30+ distal ends of 26) proximate opposite open ends, respectively;
first and second seal surfaces (any outer surface of 30 + distal end of 26 is considered as a "seal surface") provided by the first and second end caps, respectively, the first and second seal surfaces facing outwardly and freely engageable for facilitating a releasable seal;
an intermediate region of the bundle of hollow membranes tubes being externally exposed between the first and second end caps (figure 2);
each of the first and second end caps at least partially formed with an adhesive (potting compound 30), and
wherein at least one of the first and second end caps is a composite end cap comprising the adhesive (30) in combination with a preform (distal end of inner sleeve 26 is considered as a pre-form), the adhesive filling interstices between the hollow membrane tubes, the preform at least partially surrounding the bundle of hollow membrane tubes and integrally bonded thereto with the adhesive (see figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Schnell discloses that both of the first and second end caps are composite end caps (see col. 4, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 3, Schnell discloses that the first end cap includes a first annular shroud as the preform, the second end cap includes a second annular shroud as the preform, wherein the first annular shroud and the second annular shroud have different configurations (see figures 2, 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
JK
7/14/26