DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the final office action in response to the applicant’s arguments/remarks filed on September 30, 2025.
Claims 15 and 21 have been amended; claims 3-4, 6, 13, 16, and 20 have been canceled; claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, and 14 have been withdrawn; and new claim 22 has been added.
Claims 1-2, 5, 7-12, 14-15, 17-19, and 21-22 are pending; claims 15, 17-19, and 21-22 have been examined.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
35 USC § 112 rejection:
The amended claim 21 has overcome the 112 rejections, and the 112 rejections have been withdrawn.
35 USC § 101 rejection:
The applicant contends that claims 15, 17-19, and 21 are patent eligible because they do not fall under enumerated groupings of abstract idea. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Claim 15 as a whole is directed toward the abstract idea of receiving payment for a reward, which is a process that may be part of fundamental economic principles or practices, and/or commercial interactions. Therefore, the claim falls under the “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas according to Step 2A Prong 1 (MPEP 2106.04(a)(d)).
The list of examples cited by the applicant, such as Core Wireless Licensing, Enfish, Thales, Visual Memory, and Finjan, claim the improved systems. Specifically, Core Wireless Licensing recites an improved user interface for electronic devices; Enfish recites a particular improvement in the computer’s functionality; Thales recites an improved method of utilizing inertial sensors to determine position and orientation of an object on a moving platform; Visual Memory recites an improved computer memory system; and Finjan recites a behavior-based virus scanning method that is directed to an improvement in functionality. Here, however, the instant claim is directed to the abstract idea of receiving payment for a reward. The processes of receiving payment for a reward is related to fundamental economic principles or practices, and/or commercial interactions, and it falls under the “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.
The applicant contends that claims 15, 17-19, and 21 are patent eligible because they recite a practical application. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The specific set of hardware for receiving payment for rewards is identified as additional elements. The additional elements of a node comprising one or more receivers configured to connect to internet satellites for uninterrupted connection to a linked distributed ledger network, one or more processors, and a memory; a cryptocurrency blockchain; a cold wallet storage; and a linked distributed ledger network of claim 15 perform the steps of receiving payment for a reward. These additional elements in steps of “send … a request; receive a block reward; and store the block reward” are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The additional elements of a solar panel connected to an outside surface of a container, an inverter electronically connected to the solar panel, and wherein the inverter is configured to convert direct current electricity from the solar panel to alternating current electricity are for providing power to the node. The additional element of a cryptocurrency blockchain is the place for performing the mining. The additional element of “wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage configured to store cryptocurrency mined from the node” merely describes the characteristics of the linked distributed ledger network. These additional elements generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Paragraphs [0005], [0044], and [0052] of the specification disclose collecting solar power through solar panels for supplying power to the computing devices that perform mining blocks on a blockchain network. Collecting solar power through solar panels have been used for years. The collected soler power can be provided to all different places that need electricity to perform different functionalities. Providing the collect solar power to perform mining blocks on a blockchain network is only a way to supply power to computing devices, and it does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Regarding Example 41, the examiner would like to point out that claim 15 of the instant application is not similar to Example 41. The claim in Example 41 recites establishing cryptographic communications via an algorithm to encrypt a plaintext into a ciphertext. The combination of additional elements uses the mathematical calculations in a specific manner that sufficiently limits the use of the mathematical concepts to the practical application. Claim 15 of the instant application recites sending a request, receiving a reward, and storing the reward. As discussed by the examiner, collecting solar power through solar panels have been used for years and the collected solar power can be used in different places for performing different functionalities. Using solar power to mine the blocks does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Furthermore, each computing device comprises a receiver/a communicating component designed to receive signals and data from a transmission medium which can be wireless or wired. The wireless communication could be satellite communication. Using a receiver/a component to communicate with other systems/entities is a basic functionality of a computing device. Therefore, merely adding generic computer components to perform the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The applicant further contends that claims 15, 17-19, and 21 are patent eligible under Step 2B because they recite a combination of elements that are significantly more than an abstract idea. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Using the additional elements of a node comprising one or more receivers configured to connect to internet satellites for uninterrupted connection to a linked distributed ledger network, one or more processors, and a memory; a cryptocurrency blockchain; a cold wallet storage; and a linked distributed ledger network to perform the steps of “send … a request; receive a block reward; and store the block reward” amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. A solar panel connected to an outside surface of a container, an inverter electronically connected to the solar panel, and wherein the inverter is configured to convert direct current electricity from the solar panel to alternating current electricity are for providing power to the node, and a cryptocurrency blockchain is the place for performing the mining. The additional element of “wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage configured to store cryptocurrency mined from the node” merely describes the characteristics of the linked distributed ledger network. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components and/or employing the additional elements as tools to implement the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea of receiving payment for a reward. According to the specification, the rewards can be used to offset the cost of a solar power generation system, bills, investments, and the like (see paragraphs [0043] and [0044] of the specification). Receiving rewards and using the rewards to pay various bills are common processes/procedures. Additionally, as discussed by the examiner, collecting solar power through solar panels have been used for years and the collected solar power can be used in different places for performing different functionalities. Using solar power to mine the blocks does not bring in significantly more that the abstract idea. Furthermore, each computing device comprises a receiver/a communicating component designed to receive signals and data from a transmission medium which can be wireless or wired. The wireless communication could be satellite communication. Using a receiver/a component to communicate with other systems/entities is a basic functionality of a computing device. Taking the claim elements separately, these additional elements perform the steps or functions that correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of the elements recited in the claim merely recites the concept of receiving payment for a reward. Solar power is a commonly used resource for all types of equipment/places that need electricity. Additionally, the examiner does not rely on the “well-understood, routine, conventional” rationale in the non-final rejection. Therefore, the Berkheimer Memo has no applicability here.
35 USC § 103 rejection:
The primary reference, Roston, discloses a node comprising: one or more receivers configured to connect to internet satellites for uninterrupted connection to a linked distributed ledger network (see paragraph [0028], “[a] crypto-currency mining device may communicate with any other device, and may be enabled to mine crypto-currency, using any type of internet connection, including, but not limited to, wireless, wired, or satellite”; Fig. 1; and paragraph [0037], “[t]hese transmitters 125 and 135 may be configured to communicate with a receiver 115 attached to the crypto currency mining device 110. In one embodiment, receiver 115 may also be a transceiver. Communication may be done over the internet, using a radio-frequency signal such as Bluetooth or Cellular-Band frequency, using satellite communications, using a wired connection such as a fiber-optic cable, or by any other communication protocol known in the art.” These citations indicate that the mining device comprises a receiver/transceiver that communicates with a blockchain network to perform the mining of the blocks via satellite communication. The mining device must connect to the blockchain network via communication in order to perform mining of blocks.)
The applicant’s amendments have overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection. However, there are new grounds of rejection necessitated by the applicant’s amendments as detailed in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15, 17-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In this instance, claims 15, 17-19, and 21-22 are directed to a system. Therefore, claims 15, 17-19, and 21-22 fall within the four statutory categories of invention.
Claim 15 recites receiving payment for a reward. Specifically, claim 15 recites “[a] solar power generation system comprising: a solar panel, the solar panel connected to an outside surface of a container; an inverter electronically connected to the solar panel, wherein the inverter is configured to convert direct current electricity from the solar panel to alternating current electricity; a node electronically connected to the inverter, the node comprising: one or more receivers configured to connect to internet satellites for uninterrupted connection to a linked distributed ledger network; one or more processors; and a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, are configured to cause the system to: send, to the node, a request to mine a block of a cryptocurrency blockchain, wherein the node is configured to generate transactions for the linked distributed ledger network using energy from the solar panel; receive, from the node, a block reward in response to the request to mine the block of the cryptocurrency blockchain; and store the block reward as a first transaction in a cold wallet storage of the linked distributed ledger network, wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage configured to store cryptocurrency mined from the node,” which falls under the “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in Step 2A Prong One (MPEP 2106.04(a)(d)) because the claim involves the steps of receiving and storing a reward. The underlined portions of claim 15 recite a process that may be part of fundamental economic principles or practices, and/or commercial interactions because they are directed to receiving payment for a reward. More specifically, the underlined claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-underlined claim elements recite additional elements, according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under Step 2A Prong Two (MPEP 2106.04(d)), the non-underlined additional elements of a node comprising one or more receivers configured to connect to internet satellites for uninterrupted connection to a linked distributed ledger network, one or more processors, and a memory; a cryptocurrency blockchain; a cold wallet storage; and a linked distributed ledger network of claim 15 perform the steps of receiving payment for a reward. These additional elements in steps of “send … a request; receive a block reward; and store the block reward” are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The additional element of a solar panel connected to an outside surface of a container, an inverter electronically connected to the solar panel, and wherein the inverter is configured to convert direct current electricity from the solar panel to alternating current electricity are for providing power to the node. The additional element of a cryptocurrency blockchain is the place for performing the mining. The additional element of “wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage configured to store cryptocurrency mined from the node” merely describes the characteristics of the linked distributed ledger network. These additional elements generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 15 as a whole, judging from the additional elements individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The non-underlined additional elements above merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claim as a whole fails to recite a practical application of the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under Step 2B (MPEP 2106.05), the additional elements, of using a node comprising one or more receivers configured to connect to internet satellites for uninterrupted connection to a linked distributed ledger network, one or more processors, and a memory; a cryptocurrency blockchain; a cold wallet storage; and a linked distributed ledger network to perform the steps of “send … a request; receive a block reward; and store the block reward,” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. A solar panel connected to an outside surface of a container, an inverter electronically connected to the solar panel, and wherein the inverter is configured to convert direct current electricity from the solar panel to alternating current electricity are for providing power to the node, and a cryptocurrency blockchain is the place for performing the mining. The additional element of “wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage configured to store cryptocurrency mined from the node” merely describes the characteristics of the linked distributed ledger network. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components and/or employing the additional elements as tools to implement the abstract idea cannot provide an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea of receiving payment for a reward. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, these additional elements perform the steps or functions that correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of the elements recited in the claim merely recites the concept of receiving payment for a reward. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 17 recites the additional element of “wherein the container comprises a shelving rack system comprising a plurality of racks located inside the container, wherein at least a portion of the plurality of racks comprise a series of transformers connected to at least a portion of the plurality of nodes, and wherein the node is one of the plurality of nodes.” The additional element describes the characteristics of the container. The additional element generally links the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, which does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Additionally, the additional element/function does not offer significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 18 recites paying a bill. Specifically, claim 18 recites “wherein the memory when executed by the one or more processors are further configured to cause the system to: generate a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a bill and a request to pay the bill using an amount of currency stored in the cold wallet storage; transmit the GUI to a user device; receive, from the user device, an affirmative response to the request to pay the bill using the amount of currency stored in the cold wallet storage; send a retrieval request to the linked distributed ledger network to retrieve the amount of currency from the cold wallet storage; receive the amount of currency from the cold wallet storage; and send a payment to a bill provider of the bill using the amount of currency received from the retrieval request,” which falls under the “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in Step 2A Prong One (MPEP 2106.04(a)(d)) because the claim involves the steps of paying a bill. The underlined portions of claim 18 recite a process that may be part of fundamental economic principles or practices, and/or commercial interactions because they are directed to paying a bill. More specifically, the underlined claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-underlined claim elements recite additional elements, according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under Step 2A Prong Two (MPEP 2106.04(d)), the non-underlined additional elements of a memory, one or more processors, a graphical user interface, a cold wallet storage, a user device, and a linked distributed ledger of claim 18 perform the steps of paying a bill. These additional elements in steps of “generate … to pay bill; transmit …; receive … an affirmative response; send a retrieval request; receive the amount of currency; send a payment to a bill” are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. A graphical user interface is only a software component for providing interaction with a user, and it is used in its ordinary capacity. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 18 as a whole, judging from the additional elements individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The non-underlined additional elements above merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim as a whole fails to recite a practical application of the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under Step 2B (MPEP 2106.05), the additional elements, of using a memory, one or more processors, a graphical user interface, a cold wallet storage, a user device, and a linked distributed ledger to perform the steps of “generate … to pay bill; transmit …; receive … an affirmative response; send a retrieval request; receive the amount of currency; send a payment to a bill,” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea of paying a bill. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, these additional elements perform the steps or functions that correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of the elements recited in the claim merely recites the concept of paying a bill. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 19 discloses the characteristics of a bill, which is an additional element. The additional element is insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element does not pertain to an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology. The additional element does not offer significantly more than the abstract idea, because the additional element merely further recites additional instructions to implement the abstract idea.
Claim 21 recites selling a representative solar panel. Specifically, claim 21 recites “wherein the memory when executed by the one or more processors are further configured to cause the system to: generate a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a request to sell a representative solar panel in a metaverse, wherein the representative solar panel is associated with an amount of the energy collected from the solar panel through an inverter to the node, and wherein passive income is collected as payment in response to selling the representative solar panel in the metaverse,” which falls under the “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas in Step 2A Prong One (MPEP 2106.04(a)(d)) because the claim involves the steps of selling a representative solar panel. The underlined portions of claim 21 recite a process that may be part of fundamental economic principles or practices, and/or commercial interactions because they are directed to selling a representative solar panel. More specifically, the underlined claim elements recite abstract ideas while the non-underlined claim elements recite additional elements, according to MPEP 2106.04(a).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under Step 2A Prong Two (MPEP 2106.04(d)), the non-underlined additional elements of a memory, one or more processors, a graphical user interface, a solar panel, a node, and a metaverse of claim 21 perform the steps of selling a representative solar panel. These additional elements are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. A graphical user interface is only a software component for providing interaction with a user, and it is used in its ordinary capacity. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Claim 21 as a whole, judging from the additional elements individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The non-underlined additional elements above merely serve as tools to perform the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim as a whole fails to recite a practical application of the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under Step 2B (MPEP 2106.05), the additional elements, of using a memory, one or more processors, a graphical user interface, a solar panel, a node, and a metaverse to perform the steps of selling a representative solar panel, amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept beyond the abstract idea of selling a representative solar panel. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, these additional elements perform the steps or functions that correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of the elements recited in the claim merely recites the concept of selling a representative solar panel. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 22 recites an additional element of “wherein the solar panel is a plurality of solar shingles configured to convert sunlight into direct current electricity, and wherein when at least one of the plurality of solar shingles becomes malfunctional, a remaining portion of the plurality of solar shingles is configured to continue to convert the sunlight into direct current electricity.” The additional element describes the characteristics of the solar panel. The additional element is insufficient to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because the additional element does not pertain to an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to another technology. The additional element does not offer significantly more than the abstract idea, because the additional element merely further recites the additional instructions to implement the abstract idea.
Therefore, these additional elements/functions of the dependent claims 17-19 and 21-22 are insufficient to render the dependent claims eligible, as detailed above, and these dependent claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roston et al. (US 20220335543 A1) in view of Bernard (WO 2022200829 A1), and further in view of Antonopoulos (“Mastering Bitcoin,” 2014).
Claim 15:
Roston discloses the following:
a solar power generation system comprising: a solar panel, […]; an inverter electronically connected to the solar panel, wherein the inverter is configured to convert direct current electricity from the solar panel to alternating current electricity; a node electronically connected to the inverter, the node comprising: one or more receivers configured to connect to internet satellites for uninterrupted connection to a linked distributed ledger network, one or more processors, and a memory in communication with the one or more processors and storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, are configured to cause the system. (See paragraph [0008], “[b]y embedding this information, users of the crypto-currency will be able to determine under which conditions the crypto-currency was mined, and more specifically, if it was mined using energy generated from a renewable resource such as solar or wind. At energy generating devices like a solar panel … transmitters can be utilized to collect information relating to the production of energy, such as what type of energy is being produced and when, how much is being produced, and the geographical location of the energy generation”; Fig. 1; paragraphs [0027]-[0031], “[i]n general, the power generating device 120 can send power directly to the crypto-currency mining device 110, to the power grid 130, or to both at the same time…. A crypto-currency mining device may communicate with any other device, and may be enabled to mine crypto-currency, using any type of internet connection, including, but not limited to, wireless, wired, or satellite…. A crypto-currency mining device typically comprises a power source, a motherboard, one or multiple graphics processing units (‘GPU’), software modules, and a hard drive”; paragraph [0037], “[t]hese transmitters 125 and 135 may be configured to communicate with a receiver 115 attached to the crypto currency mining device 110. In one embodiment, receiver 115 may also be a transceiver. Communication may be done over the internet, using a radio-frequency signal such as Bluetooth or Cellular-Band frequency, using satellite communications, using a wired connection such as a fiber-optic cable, or by any other communication protocol known in the art”; paragraphs [0042]-[0043]; and paragraph [0049], “[a]s used herein, a power control system is a combination of a grid coupling system and one or more inverters linked to a power generation device, a power storage device, a mining device, and a physical power grid…. An inverter tied to a power generating device and a mining device will be uni-directional.” One of ordinary skill in the art knows that a computing device comprises a memory to store software applications/instructions. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art knows that the primary function of an inverter is to convert direct current into alternating current. The power-generating device could be a solar panel. Furthermore, the mining device communicates via satellite to perform mining of cryptocurrency, and the communication of the mining device is performed via a receiver/transceiver included in the mining device.)
send, to the node, a request to mine a block of a cryptocurrency blockchain, wherein the node is configured to […] (mine a block) for a linked distributed ledger network using energy from the solar panel. (See paragraph [0008]; paragraphs [0027]-[0031], “[i]n general, the power generating device 120 can send power directly to the crypto-currency mining device 110, to the power grid 130, or to both at the same time…. A crypto-currency mining device typically comprises a power source, a motherboard, one or multiple graphics processing units (‘GPU’), software modules, and a hard drive”; paragraph [0045], “[t]o mine, a crypto-currency mining device will create a candidate block, which will contain the mining information, and the mining device will then try and find parameters that will result in this becoming a valid block on the blockchain. When a crypto-currency mining device completes the mining of a valid block of the crypto-currency, the new valid block can then be transmitted to the network as part of the blockchain”; paragraph [0062], “[s]tep 630, can choose to mine crypto-currency even if the conditions are not suitable, Step 635, or will be required to mine crypto-currency if the conditions are suitable, Step 640”; and paragraph [0063], “[i]f the conditions are met, the receiver will instruct the crypto-currency mining device to mine a crypto-currency. Step 720.”)
receive, from the node, a block reward in response to the request to mine the block of the cryptocurrency blockchain. (See paragraph [0029], “[b]y solving this problem, the crypto-currency mining rig is rewarded with crypto-currency, and a block is added on to the blockchain of the crypto-currency.”)
store the block reward as a first transaction in a […] wallet storage of the linked distributed ledger network. (See Fig. 1; paragraphs [0028]-[0029], “[b]lockchains contain the identifying information of the crypto-currency, such as the ‘wallet’ information that is used to retain ‘ownership’ of the crypto-currency, as well as to sell it…. By solving this problem, the crypto-currency mining rig is rewarded with crypto-currency, and a block is added on to the blockchain of the crypto-currency.” The rewarded crypto-currency should be transferred via a transaction to the wallet.)
wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the […] wallet storage configured to store cryptocurrency minded from the node. (See Fig. 1; paragraphs [0028]-[0029], “[b]lockchains contain the identifying information of the crypto-currency, such as the ‘wallet’ information that is used to retain ‘ownership’ of the crypto-currency, as well as to sell it…. By solving this problem, the crypto-currency mining rig is rewarded with crypto-currency, and a block is added on to the blockchain of the crypto-currency”; and paragraphs [0045]-[0046].)
One of ordinary skill in the art knows that the node, which has mined a block, will generate a coinbase transaction as the first transaction in the block to transfer the mining reward to his/her wallet. The examiner here introduces another reference, Antonopoulos, to disclose wherein the node is configured to generate transactions for a linked distributed ledger network.
Antonopoulos, analogous art of mining a block for reward on a blockchain network, discloses wherein the node is configured to generate transactions for a linked distributed ledger network. (See page 186, “[t]he first transaction added to the block is a special transaction, called a generation transaction or coinbase transaction. This transaction is constructed by Jing’s node and is his reward for the mining effort. Jing’s node creates the generation transaction as a payment to his own wallet: ‘Pay Jing’s address 25.09094928 bitcoin’. The total amount of reward that Jing collects for mining a block is the sum of the coinbase reward (25 new bitcoins) and the transaction fees (0.09094928) from all the transactions included in the block.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Bernard in the Roston system. Moreover, in order to effectively transfer the reward in the Roston system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to generate a transaction with the reward by the miner device, so that the reward can be effectively transferred to the miner’s wallet.
Roston does not explicitly disclose the following:
the solar panel connected to an outside surface of a container;
a cold wallet storage; and
wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage.
However, Bernard, an analogous art of providing solar power to cryptocurrency mining system, discloses the solar panel connected to an outside surface of a container. (See Fig. 1; Fig. 4; and paragraphs [051]-[052], “[v]arious other embodiments include a portable, solar power generation container system, comprising; a shipment container box having a base, four side walls, and a top surface, wherein at least two of the four side walls each include a recess; and a multiple degrees of freedom robotic arm affixed to the top surface of said transportable rigid housing … and at least one solar panel attached to the top surface of said transportable rigid housing … and a blockchain mining system affixed within the interior of the shipment container box.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Bernard in the Roston system. Moreover, in order to improve the flexibility of the Roston system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement a solar-power system in a container to power blockchain mining systems, so that the transportable container with the solar panels can be moved to any places that require more power.
The combination of Roston and Bernard discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose a cold wallet storage and wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage.
Antonopoulos further discloses a cold wallet storage and wherein the linked distributed ledger network comprises the cold wallet storage. (See page 99, “[a]s long as the user selects a strong passphrase, a paper wallet with BIP0038 encrypted private keys is incredibly secure and a great way to create offline bitcoin storage (also known as ‘cold storage’)”; pages 105-106, “[a]s a ‘cold storage’ mechanism, if the paper wallet keys are generated offline and never stored on a computer system, they are much more secure against hackers, key-loggers and other online computer threats…. Put these paper wallets in a fire-proof safe and ‘send’ bitcoin to their bitcoin address, to implement a simple yet highly effective ‘cold storage’ solution”; and page 239, “[k]eeping bitcoin offline is called cold storage and it is one of the most effective security techniques. A cold storage system is one where the keys are generated on an offline system (one never connected to the Internet) and stored offline either on paper or on digital media, such as a USB memory stick.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Antonopoulos in the Roston system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the security of the stored cryptocurrency in the Roston system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement a cold wallet associated with a blockchain network and to store the cryptocurrency in a cold wallet, so that the cryptocurrency and private key stored in the cold wallet are well secured.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roston et al. (US 20220335543 A1) in view of Bernard (WO 2022200829 A1), and further in view of Antonopoulos (“Mastering Bitcoin,” 2014) and Bit2me Academy (“What is a Mining Rig?” June, 2022).
Claim 17:
Roston in view of Bernard and Antonopoulos discloses the limitations shown above.
Roston discloses a mining device comprising a mining rig. (See paragraph [0029].)
Bernard discloses the container comprising a plurality of nodes (i.e., GPU computers), and wherein the node is one of the plurality of nodes. (See paragraphs [017]-[018], “[i]n various embodiments the energy stored in the external battery storage system or the energy immediately produced by the solar panels may be used to power blockchain mining systems with GPU computers or similar attached”; paragraph [052], “a blockchain mining system affixed within the interior of the shipment container box.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Bernard in the Roston system. Moreover, in order to improve the mining competitiveness of the Roston system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a plurality of mining nodes in a box to perform mining, so that the system can have more opportunities to be rewarded for adding more blocks in the blockchain.
None of Roston, Bernard, and Lee explicitly discloses a shelving rack system comprising a plurality of racks and wherein at least a portion of the plurality of racks comprise a series of transformers connected to at least a portion of the plurality of nodes.
However, Bit2me Academy, an analogous art of mining blocks, discloses the following:
a plurality of nodes for mining. (See the section of GUP under the Types of Mining Rig, “[e]ach GPU acts as a mining node offering enormous power, and that power is multiplied by the GPUs installed in the Rig.”)
a shelving rack system comprising a plurality of racks and wherein at least a portion of the plurality of racks comprises a series of transformers connected to at least a portion of the plurality of nodes. (See pictures under the sections of CPU and FPGA. These pictures disclose a shelving rack system comprising a plurality of racks, and each of the nodes/CPUs/GPUs is connected with one of the transformers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Bit2me Academy in the Roston system as modified. Moreover, in order to organize the mining devices of the Roston system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize a shelving rack system with a plurality of racks to organize the mining devices, so that the mining devices can be easily managed and located.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roston et al. (US 20220335543 A1) in view of Bernard (WO 2022200829 A1), and further in view of Antonopoulos (“Mastering Bitcoin,” 2014), Baiocchi (WO 2022254236 A1), and Nie et al. (CN 110348853 A).
Claim 18:
Roston in view of Bernard and Antonopoulos discloses the limitations shown above.
Roston discloses storing crypto-currency as a reward in a digital wallet. (See Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0028]-[0029].)
Antonopoulos discloses storing crypto-currency in a cold wallet storage; receiving the amount of cryptocurrency from the cold wallet storage; and utilizing the received cryptocurrency. (See page 99, “[a]s long as the user selects a strong passphrase, a paper wallet with BIP0038 encrypted private keys is incredibly secure and a great way to create offline bitcoin storage (also known as ‘cold storage’)”; pages 105-106, “[a]s a ‘cold storage’ mechanism, if the paper wallet keys are generated offline and never stored on a computer system, they are much more secure against hackers, key-loggers and other online computer threats…. Put these paper wallets in a fire-proof safe and ‘send’ bitcoin to their bitcoin address, to implement a simple yet highly effective ‘cold storage’ solution”; page 239, “[k]eeping bitcoin offline is called cold storage and it is one of the most effective security techniques. A cold storage system is one where the keys are generated on an offline system (one never connected to the Internet) and stored offline either on paper or on digital media, such as a USB memory stick”; and page 16.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Antonopoulos in the Roston system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the security of the stored assets in the Roston system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to store the cryptocurrency in a cold wallet, to receive the cryptocurrency from the cold wallet, and to utilize the received cryptocurrency, so that the cryptocurrency and private key stored in the cold wallet are well secured.
None of Roston, Bernard, and Antonopoulos explicitly discloses the following:
generate a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a bill and a request to pay the bill using an amount of currency stored in the cold wallet storage;
transmit the GUI to a user device;
receive, from the user device, an affirmative response to the request to pay the bill using the amount of currency stored in the cold wallet storage;
send a retrieval request to the linked distributed ledger network to retrieve the amount of currency from the cold wallet storage; and
send a payment to a bill provider of the bill using the amount of currency received from the retrieval request.
However, Baiocchi, an analogous art of providing solar power for performing mining, discloses the following:
generate a graphical user interface (GUI) comprising a bill and a request to pay the bill using an amount of currency stored in the wallet storage; transmit the GUI to a user device; receive, from the user device (i.e., an EV console), an affirmative response to the request to payment bill using the amount currency stored in the wallet storage. (See Abstract; paragraph [004], “[u]sers registered to the platform will have access to a digital exchange, the ability to transfer cryptocurrencies to other accounts, and pay for any outstanding bills tied to a bank account and or companies that accept cryptocurrencies as payment, at a small cost in the form of transfer fees. This platform will feature an easy-to-use interface that is integrated with the EV’s subsystems, as it is also powered by the presumed lithium-ion battery system within”; and paragraphs [007]-[008], “[r]egarding user interface and security functions, the invention will utilize biometric authentication using facial recognition sensors (203) and or fingerprint sensors (202) to allow the user to access the onboard cryptocurrency wallet. Said sensors will be placed in unobstructed positions on the EV console (201) controls for accessibility. This added security will ensure only the intended user / miner with the registered account can have access to their wallet, while still allowing other users to drive the EV…. This wallet system will store transaction history, private keys, mining addresses, account balances for a multitude of cryptocurrencies, and the accompanying built-in platform will allow access to a cryptocurrency exchange. This enables the EV user all functions to purchase, trade, store, monitor, and mine cryptocurrency while operating, idling, or even while the EV is parked.” These citations indicate that a user can access the system to pay a bill by using the cryptocurrency stored in the wallet via a user graphical interface on an EV console. One of ordinary skill in the art knows that the bill information and some clickables must be included in the user interface in order to allow the user to make a payment online, and that the bill payment is processed/paid based on the user’s response.)
receive an amount currency from the wallet storage. (See paragraph [004], “[u]sers registered to the platform will have access to a digital exchange, the ability to transfer cryptocurrencies to other accounts, and pay for any outstanding bills tied to a bank account and or companies that accept cryptocurrencies as payment, at a small cost in the form of transfer fees”; paragraphs [007]-[008].)
send a payment to a bill provider of the bill using the amount currency from (the wallet storage). (See paragraph [004], “[u]sers registered to the platform will have access to a digital exchange, the ability to transfer cryptocurrencies to other accounts, and pay for any outstanding bills tied to a bank account and or companies that accept cryptocurrencies as payment, at a small cost in the form of transfer fees”; paragraphs [007]-[008].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Baiocchi in the Roston system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the practicality of the Roston system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the ability of allowing a user to pay bills by using the cryptocurrency made from mining, so that the user can effectively manage the account balance and bill payments.
Antonopoulos discloses storing the amount of currency in a cold wallet storage, and Baiocchi discloses paying the bill by using the amount currency from the wallet storage.
Nie, an analogous art of making a payment, discloses the following:
receive a request to pay a bill; receive, from a user, an affirmative response to the request to pay the bill using the amount of currency stored in (a user account of the blockchain); send a retrieval request to the linked distributed ledger network to retrieve the amount of currency from (the user account of the blockchain). (See paragraphs 3-5 under the section of Summary of the Invention, page 5, “[b]eneficiary virtual card generates the first initial information, and first initial information is sent to paying party virtual card…. The paying party virtual card generat