DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,2,4,5,8,9,12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iizuka et al. (JP 2008278632) in view of Nigo et al. (US 20180248419).
Regarding claim 1, Iizuka et al. teaches:
A magnetic core (abstract) comprising:
a back yoke portion (11b, Figs 1-6) having a first upper surface (by 11b, Fig 3A) and a first lower surface (by 11c) aligned in an up-down direction (Fig 3);
a tooth distal end portion (11c) having a second upper surface (by 11i) and a second lower surface (11g,h) aligned in the up-down direction (Fig 3); and
a tooth portion (11a) extending in the up-down direction and having an upper end in contact with the first lower surface and a lower end in contact with the second upper surface,
the tooth portion (11a) constructed to have a winding portion of a conductor (13) wound around the tooth portion as viewed in the up-down direction (Figs 1a,b),
wherein an outer edge of the back yoke portion (11b) viewed in the up-down direction surrounds an outer edge of the tooth distal end portion (11c) viewed in the up-down direction (Fig 3 shows 11c being smaller than 11b),
the outer edge of the tooth distal end portion (11c) viewed in the up-down direction surrounds an outer edge of the tooth portion (11a, Fig 3) viewed in the up-down direction.
Iizuka et al. do not teach the magnetic core has at least one structure of:
(A) one or more first protrusions protruding from the first lower surface, and
(B) one or more second protrusions protruding from the second upper surface.
Nigo et al. teaches an apparatus wherein the magnetic core (2, Fig 1) has at least one structure of:
(A) one or more first protrusions protruding from the first lower surface (see annotated Fig 3 below and also seen in Fig 6 as 241b,d and 241 a,c, 242 a,c), and
(B) one or more second protrusions protruding from the second upper surface (see annotated Fig 3 below and also seen in Fig 6 as 241b,d and 241 a,c, 242a,c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. wherein the magnetic core has at least one structure of:
(A) one or more first protrusions protruding from the first lower surface, and
(B) one or more second protrusions protruding from the second upper surface, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 2/1, Iizuka et al. teaches wherein the first lower surface has a first region overlapping the winding portion as viewed in the up-down direction, the one or more first protrusions include a first portion located in the first region, and a total area of a lower end of the first portion as viewed in the up-down direction is smaller than an area of the first region as viewed in the up-down direction (Fig 3A).
Regarding claim 4/1, Iizuka et al. teaches wherein the tooth portion (11a) has a left side including a left end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction and a right side including a right end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction as viewed in the up-down direction (Fig 3A).
Iizuka et al. do not teach the one or more first protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction.
Nigo et al. teaches that the one or more first protrusions (see annotated Fig 3 above) are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. wherein the one or more first protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 5/1, Iizuka et al. teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the one or more first protrusions include a portion located in a region above the winding portion.
Nigo et al. teaches wherein the one or more first protrusions include a portion located in a region above the winding portion (Figs 1 and 6-better seen in 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. in wherein the one or more first protrusions include a portion located in a region above the winding portion, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 8/1, Iizuka et al. teaches wherein the tooth portion (11a) has a left side including a left end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction and a right side including a right end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction as viewed in the up-down direction (Fig 3A).
Iizuka et al. do not teach the one or more second protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction.
Nigo et al. teaches wherein the one or more second protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction (Figs 1,3 and 6-better seen in 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. in wherein the one or more second protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 9/1, Iizuka et al. teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the one or more second protrusions include a portion located in a region below the winding portion.
Nigo et al. teaches wherein the one or more second protrusions include a portion located in a region below the winding portion (Fig 3 by numeral 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. in wherein the one or more second protrusions include a portion located in a region below the winding portion, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 12/1, Iizuka et al. teaches wherein a length of the first upper surface in a left-right direction is longer than a length of the first lower surface in the left-right direction (Figs 1B, 3A).
Regarding claim 13/1, Iizuka et al. teaches wherein a length of the second upper surface in a left-right direction is longer than a length of the second lower surface in the left-right direction (Figs 1B, 3A).
Regarding claim 14/1, Iizuka et al. teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the first lower surface includes a plurality of the first protrusions, the second upper surface includes a plurality of the second protrusions, the plurality of the first protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, and the plurality of the second protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction.
Nigo et al. teaches wherein the first lower surface includes a plurality of the first protrusions, the second upper surface includes a plurality of the second protrusions, the plurality of the first protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, and the plurality of the second protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction (see annotated Fig 3 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. wherein the first lower surface includes a plurality of the first protrusions, the second upper surface includes a plurality of the second protrusions, the plurality of the first protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, and the plurality of the second protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 15/1, Iizuka et al. teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the tooth portion has a left side including a left end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction and a right side including a right end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction as viewed in the up-down direction, the one or more first protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction, and the one or more second protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction.
Nigo et al. teaches wherein the tooth portion has a left side including a left end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction and a right side including a right end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction as viewed in the up-down direction, the one or more first protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction, and the one or more second protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction (see annotated Fig 3 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. wherein the tooth portion has a left side including a left end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction and a right side including a right end of the tooth portion and extending in the front-rear direction as viewed in the up-down direction, the one or more first protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction, and the one or more second protrusions are in contact with the left side or the right side as viewed in the up-down direction, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 16/1, Iizuka et al. teaches a winding with a magnetic core (Fig 1a) comprising: the magnetic core according to claim 1; and a conductor wound around the tooth portion (Fig 1B).
Regarding claim 17/16, Iizuka et al. teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the first lower surface includes a plurality of the first protrusions, and the plurality of the first protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction.
Nigo et al. teaches wherein the first lower surface includes a plurality of the first protrusions, and the plurality of the first protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction (see annotated Fig 3 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. in wherein the first lower surface includes a plurality of the first protrusions, and the plurality of the first protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 18/17, Iizuka et al. teaches the invention as discussed above, except wherein the second upper surface includes a plurality of the second protrusions, and the plurality of the second protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction.
Nigo et al. teaches wherein the second upper surface includes a plurality of the second protrusions, and the plurality of the second protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction (see annotated Fig 3 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to modify Iizuka et al. in view of Nigo et al. in wherein the second upper surface includes a plurality of the second protrusions, and the plurality of the second protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, as Nigo et al. teaches.
The motivation to do so is that it would provide a winding frame to secure the windings (paras 52-53 of Nigo et al.).
Regarding claim 19/1, Iizuka et al. teaches a rotary electric machine comprising the magnetic core according to claim 1 (abstract).
Regarding claim 20/1, Iizuka et al. teaches a brushless motor comprising the magnetic core according to claim 1 (Iizuka et al. do not mention of any brushes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3,6,7,10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 3/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the first lower surface includes a plurality of the first protrusions, and the plurality of the first protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 6/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the second upper surface has a second region overlapping the winding portion as viewed in the up-down direction, the one or more second protrusions include a second portion located in the second region, and a total area of an upper end of the second portion as viewed in the up-down direction is smaller than an area of the second region as viewed in the up-down direction.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 7/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the second upper surface includes a plurality of the second protrusions, and the plurality of the second protrusions are arranged in the front-rear direction or a left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 10/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the tooth portion includes a front side including a front end of the tooth portion and extending in a left-right direction and a rear side including a rear end of the tooth portion and extending in the left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, and the one or more first protrusions are in contact with the front side or the rear side as viewed in the up-down direction.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 11/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the tooth portion includes a front side including a front end of the tooth portion and extending in a left-right direction and a rear side including a rear end of the tooth portion and extending in the left-right direction as viewed in the up-down direction, and the one or more second protrusions are in contact with the front side or the rear side as viewed in the up-down direction.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834