DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 11/11/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 11-14, and 20 have been amended. The specification and drawings have been amended. The objections to the specification and the drawings have been withdrawn in light of the instant amendments. This action is made final, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments appear to be directed solely to the amended subject matter which have been considered and addressed as detailed below under Claim Rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: “to open the first switch after receiving the request” is stated twice and should be removed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 11, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasmussen (US 20050278075 A1) in view of Thurk (US 9935495 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Rasmussen teaches a system for selecting between powering a component of a vehicle via a first power source (Fig. 1, generator 150) and a second power source (utility main 158; abstract, “Aspects of the invention are directed to power distribution systems and methods for distributing power from a primary power source and a backup power source to a load”), the system comprising:
a first line configured to be electrically coupled to the first power source (Fig. 1, line going from generator 150 to transfer switch 104) and a second line configured to be electrically coupled to the second power source (line going from utility main 158 to transfer switch 104);
a first switch that selectively electrically couples the first line to the component (Fig. 3, generator switch 180A) and a second switch that selectively electrically couples the second line to the component (utility switch 180B);
a first sensor configured to detect whether the first line is receiving power from the first power source (Fig. 1, "Sensor 112 is coupled to the power line from the generator 150 and is used to monitor output voltage from the generator") and a second sensor configured to detect whether the second line is receiving power from the second power source ("Sensor 114 is coupled to the power line from the utility main 158 and is used to monitor output voltage from the utility main");
a controller configured to receive a request to change from powering the component via the first power source to via the second power source, to open the first switch after receiving the request (par. 52, “Each of the switches may be actuated in one of four ways, through the use of the motor, manual mode by a user, electromechanical trip when the current exceeds a threshold, and shunt trip via a stored energy device in the system”; par. 59, "the use of switches 180A and 180B, under the control of the controller 102 and/or through manual intervention by a user provides increased flexibility in power options using two sources of input power"), (par. 59, "In at least one embodiment of the invention, an interlock scheme is used that allows for both an open transfer and a closed transfer from one input source to another. In the discussion that follows, an open transfer refers to a transfer in which power from the first source is switched off before power from the second source is switched on").
Rasmussen fails to explicitly teach to confirm via the first sensor that the first line is not receiving the power from the first power source after opening the first switch, and to close the second switch only after confirming that the first line is not when the first line is receiving the power from the first power source so as to prevent the component from receiving power from the first power source and the second power source simultaneously. It is only stated that the sensors are used to sense characteristics of the output voltage of the generator and utility main, but not explicitly that these sensors are used to prevent the component receiving power from both of the power sources at the same time. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize that the sensors are most likely used for this function.
Thurk explicitly teaches to confirm via the first sensor that the first line is not receiving the power from the first power source after opening the first switch, and to close the second switch only after confirming that the first line is not when the first line is receiving the power from the first power source so as to prevent the component from receiving power from the first power source and the second power source simultaneously (column 10 line 65, "The interlocking controller 818 connects the plurality of position sensors 802 through 808 to the plurality of electrical switches 810 through 816 in a configuration that prevents the electronic controller 130 from simultaneously connecting the first power source 102 and the second power source 104 to the electrical load 106").
As the sensors are used to prevent simultaneously receiving power from two power sources, one of ordinary skill in the art would assume that the sensors would be used to confirm there is no power coming from one power source before switching to another. Using the sensors in such a way would obviously lead to a safer system. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Rasmussen to use the sensors in the same way as Thurk does.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the system according to claim 1. Rasmussen further teaches the first sensor is a voltage sensor (par. 51, “voltage potential transformers”). Furthermore, Thurk also teaches the first sensor is a voltage sensor (column 10 line 20, “In alternate implementations, the plurality of position sensors 802 through 808 may include other types of sensors to determine the positions of the latching relays 122 through 128, such as, Hall Effect sensors, micro switch sensors, and electrical feedback sensors”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the system according to claim 1. Rasmussen further teaches the first sensor is electrically coupled between the first line and the first switch (Fig. 1, sensor 112 between generator 150 and transfer switch 104).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the system according to 1. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to explicitly teach the component is a heater, and wherein the controller is configured to control operation of the heater based on whether the heater is receiving the power from the first power source or the second power source.
However, it is obvious that both Rasmussen and Thurk are applicable to a wide range of components. Rasmussen lists an air conditioning unit as one possible component (par. 13), and Thurk lists “a luminaire, a light fixture, a plurality of light fixtures, lighting, emergency lighting, or any combination thereof. In alternate implementations, the electrical load 106 includes other types of electrical loads” (column 4 line 31) as possible components. While a heater is not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that either of these systems could be used with a heater.
Regarding claim 11, Rasmussen teaches a method for powering a component of a vehicle connectable to a first power source (Fig. 1, generator 150) and a second power source (utility main 158; abstract, “Aspects of the invention are directed to power distribution systems and methods for distributing power from a primary power source and a backup power source to a load”), the method comprising receiving a request to change from power the component via the first power source to via the second power source (par. 59, "the use of switches 180A and 180B, under the control of the controller 102 and/or through manual intervention by a user provides increased flexibility in power options using two sources of input power"):
opening a first switch to decouple the component from the first power source after receiving the request (par. 52, “Each of the switches may be actuated in one of four ways, through the use of the motor, manual mode by a user, electromechanical trip when the current exceeds a threshold, and shunt trip via a stored energy device in the system”);
and preventing, via a controller, a second switch from closing to electrically coupling the component to the second power source when the first side of the first switch is receiving the power from the first power source (par. 59, "In at least one embodiment of the invention, an interlock scheme is used that allows for both an open transfer and a closed transfer from one input source to another. In the discussion that follows, an open transfer refers to a transfer in which power from the first source is switched off before power from the second source is switched on").
Rasmussen fails to explicitly teach determining whether a first side of a first switch is receiving power from the first power source. It is only stated that sensors are used to sense characteristics of the output voltage of the generator and utility main, but not explicitly that these sensors are used to prevent the component receiving power from both of the power sources at the same time. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to recognize that the sensors are most likely used for this function.
Thurk explicitly teaches determining whether a first side of a first switch is receiving power from the first power source (column 10 line 65, "The interlocking controller 818 connects the plurality of position sensors 802 through 808 to the plurality of electrical switches 810 through 816 in a configuration that prevents the electronic controller 130 from simultaneously connecting the first power source 102 and the second power source 104 to the electrical load 106").
As the sensors are used to prevent simultaneously receiving power from two power sources, one of ordinary skill in the art would assume that the sensors would be used to confirm there is no power coming from one power source before switching to another. Using the sensors in such a way would obviously lead to a safer system. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Rasmussen to use the sensors in the same way as Thurk does.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the method according to claim 11. Rasmussen fails to teach receiving a default selection among the first power source and the second power source and, when the default selection is the first power source and the first side of the second switch is determined to not be receiving the power from the second power source, causing the first power source to provide the power to the first switch and electrically coupling the component to the first power source to be powered thereby.
However, Thurk teaches receiving a default selection among the first power source and the second power source and, when the default selection is the first power source and the first side of the second switch is determined to not be receiving the power from the second power source, causing the first power source to provide the power to the first switch and electrically coupling the component to the first power source to be powered thereby (column 6 line 25, “The automatic transfer switch 108 has a first state (for example, a non-transferred state, a normal state, a default state) and a second state (for example, a transferred state, an emergency state)”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk to further incorporate the teachings of Thurk. Having a default selection among multiple power sources is well-known in the art and can be found on many systems.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the method according to claim 15. Rasmussen further teaches the first power source comprises a battery system (par. 9, “The backup power source may be a generator, and the power distribution system may be configured to receive a DC voltage from a battery of the generator”), further comprising monitoring a state of charge of the battery system and, when the state of charge is below a threshold value, causing the first power source to stop providing the power to the first switch and causing the second power source to provide the power to the second switch (par. 9, “The controller may be configured to receive data related to operational status of the generator and to control the first switch and the second switch based on the data. The data related to operational status of the generator may include a fuel level of the generator, and the controller may be configured to determine a run time of the generator based on the fuel level”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the system according to 11. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to explicitly teach the component is a heater, further comprising controlling operation of the heater based on whether the heater is receiving the power from the first power source or the second power source.
However, it is obvious that both Rasmussen and Thurk are applicable to a wide range of components. Rasmussen lists an air conditioning unit as one possible component (par. 13), and Thurk lists “a luminaire, a light fixture, a plurality of light fixtures, lighting, emergency lighting, or any combination thereof. In alternate implementations, the electrical load 106 includes other types of electrical loads” (column 4 line 31) as possible components. While a heater is not explicitly stated, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that either of these systems could be used with a heater.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasmussen in view of Thurk , and further in view of Jeannard (US 20220126696).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the system according to claim 1. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to explicitly teach a third line configured to be electrically coupled to a ground associated with the first power source and a fourth line configure to be electrically coupled to a ground associated with the second power source, and further comprising a third switch that selectively electrically couples the component to the third line and a fourth switch that selectively electrically couples the component to the fourth line, wherein the controller is configured to control the first switch in conjunction with the third switch and to control the second switch in conjunction with the fourth switch.
However, Jeannard teaches a third line configured to be electrically coupled to a ground associated with the first power source (par. 35 Fig. 1, “The first power supply control arrangement 2 incorporates a switching arrangement which includes a first switch 28 that is connected in series between the first voltage input 3 and the first voltage output 5 and a second switch 29 which is connected in series between the first ground input 4 and the first ground output 6”) and a fourth line configure to be electrically coupled to a ground associated with the second power source (par. 36 Fig. 1, “The second power control arrangement 7 incorporates a switching arrangement which includes a first switch 30 that is connected in series between the second voltage input 8 and the second voltage output 10 and a second switch 31 which is connected in series between the second ground input 9 and the second ground output 11”), and further comprising a third switch that selectively electrically couples the component to the third line (Fig. 1, switch 29) and a fourth switch that selectively electrically couples the component to the fourth line (Fig. 1, switch 31), wherein the controller is configured to control the first switch in conjunction with the third switch and to control the second switch in conjunction with the fourth switch (par. 40 Fig. 1, “The first power control arrangement 2 is configured to operate in the active mode when the switches 28, 29 are closed”; par. 41, “The second power control arrangement 7 is configured to operate in the active mode when the switches 30, 31 are closed”; par. 43, “The control signal controls the selector arrangement 37 to select which of the power control arrangements 2, 7 is to operate in the active mode and which is to operate in the isolated mode”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Jeannard. Doing so would allow the system to use one power source at a time (abstract) and so that there is no interruption when switching between power sources (par. 3).
Claim(s) 5 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasmussen in view of Thurk, and further in view of Liao (US 20240063656).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the system according to claim 1. Rasmussen further teaches the first sensor and the second sensor are electrically coupled upstream of the first switch and the second switch, respectively (Fig. 1, sensors 112 and 114),
Rasmussen fails to teach a third sensor configured to detect whether the first line is receiving power from the first power source downstream of the first switch, and a fourth sensor configured to detect whether the second line is receiving power from the second power source downstream of the second switch. Instead, Rasmussen only teaches a singular sensor (sensor 116) used to monitor output from the transfer switch, which would be unable to detect which power source the power is coming from. However, Rasmussen does teach possibly adding additional redundant sensors (par. 51, “additional redundant sensors may be used to increase reliability of readings from the sensors and to reduce the likelihood of a sensor error resulting in a false indication of a power outage. Further, the use of sensors on both the input and the output of the transfer switch adds redundancy”).
Liao teaches a third sensor configured to detect whether the first line is receiving power from the first power source downstream of the first switch, and a fourth sensor configured to detect whether the second line is receiving power from the second power source downstream of the second switch (par. 25 Fig. 2A, voltage sensors coupled to 120A or 120B; par 31, switches 130 and 131 are switched on or off depending on the voltage detected by the sensors).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Liao in order to safely and quickly switch between power sources (par. 2-9).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the method according to claim 11. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to teach determining whether a second side of the first switch is receiving power from the first power source, and determining whether a second side of the second switch is receiving power from the second power source; and preventing, via the controller, the first switch from closing when the second side of the second switch is receiving the power from the second power source, and preventing, via the controller, the second switch from closing when the second side of the first switch is receiving the power from the first power source.
However, Liao teaches determining whether a second side of the first switch is receiving power from the first power source, and determining whether a second side of the second switch is receiving power from the second power source (par. 25 Fig. 2A, voltage sensors coupled to 120A or 120B); and preventing, via the controller, the first switch from closing when the second side of the second switch is receiving the power from the second power source, and preventing, via the controller, the second switch from closing when the second side of the first switch is receiving the power from the first power source (par 31, switches 130 and 131 are switched on or off depending on the voltage detected by the sensors).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Liao in order to safely and quickly switch between power sources (par. 2-9).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk and Liao teaches the method according to claim 13. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to teach closing the second switch when both the first side and the second side of the first switch are determined to not be receiving the power from the first power source.
However, Liao teaches closing the second switch when both the first side and the second side of the first switch are determined to not be receiving the power from the first power source (par 31, switches 130 and 131 are switched on or off depending on the voltage detected by the sensors).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk and Liao to further incorporate the teachings of Liao in order to safely and quickly switch between power sources (par. 2-9).
Claim(s) 7, 12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasmussen in view of Thurk, and further in view of Piyabongkarn (US 20240239200).
Regarding claim 7, Rasmussen and Thurk fail to teach the first power source is DC power and the second power source is AC power.
However, Piyabongkarn teaches the first power source is DC power (par. 37 Fig. 4, “DC power generated by the power source(s) 204”) and the second power source is AC power (par. 37 Fig. 4, “120 volt AC power source (from the second port 302)”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Piyabongkarn. Doing so would allow Rasmussen in view of Thurk to wider range of charging methods (Piyabongkarn par. 23-24).
Regarding claim 12, Rasmussen fails to explicitly teach method according to claim 11, wherein the first power source is DC power and the second power source is AC power, further comprising closing the second switch when the first side of the first switch is determined to not be receiving the power from the first power source.
However, Thurk teaches closing the second switch when the first side of the first switch is determined to not be receiving the power from the first power source (column 10 line 65, "The interlocking controller 818 connects the plurality of position sensors 802 through 808 to the plurality of electrical switches 810 through 816 in a configuration that prevents the electronic controller 130 from simultaneously connecting the first power source 102 and the second power source 104 to the electrical load 106").
As the sensors are used to prevent simultaneously receiving power from two power sources, one of ordinary skill in the art would assume that the sensors would be used to confirm there is no power coming from one power source before switching to another. Using the sensors in such a way would obviously lead to a safer system. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Rasmussen to use the sensors in the same way as Thurk does.
Piyabongkarn teaches the first power source is DC power (par. 37 Fig. 4, “DC power generated by the power source(s) 204”) and the second power source is AC power (par. 37 Fig. 4, “120 volt AC power source (from the second port 302)”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Piyabongkarn. Doing so would allow Rasmussen in view of Thurk to wider range of charging methods (Piyabongkarn par. 23-24).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches the method according to claim 11. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to teach the first power source is AC power and the second power source is a battery system, whereby a state of charge of the battery system is preserved by defaulting to the component receiving the power from the AC power.
However, Piyabongkarn teaches the first power source is AC power (par. 37 Fig. 4, “120 volt AC power source (from the second port 302)”) and the second power source is a battery system (par. 18, “the power source includes one or more rechargeable batteries”), whereby a state of charge of the battery system is preserved by defaulting to the component receiving the power from the AC power (par. 42, “the switch assembly 324 includes two switches 326 that are normally closed such that the default charging mode is to receive power from the 120 volt chassis power source”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Piyabongkarn. Doing so would allow Rasmussen in view of Thurk to wider range of charging methods (Piyabongkarn par. 23-24).
Claim(s) 8-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasmussen in view of Thurk, and further in view of Cook (US 20040232137).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teach the system according to claim 6. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to teach the heater comprises a first resistive heating element and a second resistive heating element operable simultaneously to generate heat.
However, Cook the heater comprises a first resistive heating element (par. 51 Fig. 1, first resistive heating element 110) and a second resistive heating element (par. 51 Fig. 1, second resistive heating element 120) operable simultaneously to generate heat (par. 51, “coupling the first and second resistive heating elements 110 and 120 in series or in parallel”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Cook. Cook states that “there is a need for an improved universal fuser heating apparatus capable of working over low and high AC line voltage ranges, which does not cause unacceptable flicker problems” (par. 3), and that using two resistive heating elements can help mitigate this problem.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk and Cook teaches the system according to claim 8. Cook further teaches the heater comprises an additional one or more switches operable to select between the first resistive heating element and the second resistive heating element being electrically coupled in series or in parallel, wherein the controller is configured to operate the additional one or more switches based on whether the heater is receiving the power from the first power source or the second power source (par. 5, “structure for coupling the first and second resistive heating elements in series or in parallel in dependence upon whether the fuser heating apparatus will receive an input AC line voltage falling within the at least one low AC line voltage range or the high AC line voltage range”; par 21, switching device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk and Cook to further incorporate the teachings of Cook. Cook states that “there is a need for an improved universal fuser heating apparatus capable of working over low and high AC line voltage ranges, which does not cause unacceptable flicker problems” (par. 3), and that using two resistive heating elements can help mitigate this problem.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk and Cook teaches the system according to claim 9. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to teach the first resistive heating element and the second resistive heating element have different resistances from each other, and the different resistances are selected such that the power provided via the first power source when electrically coupled to the heater is within 20% of the power provided via the second power source when electrically coupled to the heater.
However, Cook teaches the first resistive heating element and the second resistive heating element have different resistances from each other (par 17, "The first resistive heating element generally has a resistance which is lower than that of the second resistive heating element"), and the different resistances are selected such that the power provided via the first power source when electrically coupled to the heater is within 20% of the power provided via the second power source when electrically coupled to the heater (par. 63, “the resistances of the first and second heating elements 110 and 120 are selected such they have a first, low effective resistance, when in parallel with one another, corresponding to the AC line voltage falling within one of the low AC line voltage ranges, see FIGS. 1G and 1H (phantom line), and a second, high effective resistance, when in series with one another, corresponding to the AC line voltage falling within the high AC line voltage range, see FIGS. 1 and 1H (solid line). Consequently, regardless of the AC line voltage provided, high current levels, which might create unacceptable flicker problems, are avoided”).
Although Cook does not explicitly teach the power of the first and second power sources are within 20%, the power levels would have to be similar in order to avoid flickering.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk and Cook to further incorporate the teachings of Cook. Cook states that “there is a need for an improved universal fuser heating apparatus capable of working over low and high AC line voltage ranges, which does not cause unacceptable flicker problems” (par. 3), and that using two resistive heating elements can help mitigate this problem.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk teaches method according to claim 18. Both Rasmussen and Thurk fail to teach the heater comprises a first resistive heating element and a second resistive heating element operable simultaneously to generate heat, and wherein the heater comprises an additional one or more switches operable to select between the first resistive heating element and the second resistive heating element being electrically coupled in series or in parallel, further comprising controlling the additional one or more switches based on whether the heater is receiving the power from the first power source or the second power source.
However, Cook teaches the heater comprises a first resistive heating element (par. 51 Fig. 1, first resistive heating element 110) and a second resistive heating element (par. 51 Fig. 1, second resistive heating element 120) operable simultaneously to generate heat, and wherein the heater comprises an additional one or more switches operable to select between the first resistive heating element and the second resistive heating element being electrically coupled in series or in parallel, further comprising controlling the additional one or more switches based on whether the heater is receiving the power from the first power source or the second power source (par. 5, “structure for coupling the first and second resistive heating elements in series or in parallel in dependence upon whether the fuser heating apparatus will receive an input AC line voltage falling within the at least one low AC line voltage range or the high AC line voltage range”; par 21, switching device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Thurk to incorporate the teachings of Cook. Cook states that “there is a need for an improved universal fuser heating apparatus capable of working over low and high AC line voltage ranges, which does not cause unacceptable flicker problems” (par. 3), and that using two resistive heating elements can help mitigate this problem.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rasmussen in view of Cook and Liao.
Regarding claim 20, Rasmussen teaches a system for heating a vehicle via a first power source (Fig. 1, generator 150) and a second power source (utility main 158; abstract, “Aspects of the invention are directed to power distribution systems and methods for distributing power from a primary power source and a backup power source to a load”), the system comprising:
a first switch that selectively electrically couples the (Fig. 3, generator switch 180A) and a second switch that selectively electrically couples the heater to the second power source (utility switch 180B);
a first sensor configured to detect whether a first side of the first switch is receiving power from the first power source (Fig. 1, "Sensor 112 is coupled to the power line from the generator 150 and is used to monitor output voltage from the generator"), a second sensor configured to detect whether a first side of the second switch is receiving power from the second power source ("Sensor 114 is coupled to the power line from the utility main 158 and is used to monitor output voltage from the utility main");
a controller configured to receive a request to change from powering the heater via the first power source to via the second power source, to open the first switch after receiving the request (par. 52, “Each of the switches may be actuated in one of four ways, through the use of the motor, manual mode by a user, electromechanical trip when the current exceeds a threshold, and shunt trip via a stored energy device in the system”; par. 59, "the use of switches 180A and 180B, under the control of the controller 102 and/or through manual intervention by a user provides increased flexibility in power options using two sources of input power"), and to prevent the second switch from closing when the first side and/or the second side of the first switch is receiving power from the first power source, and to control the at least one additional switch based on which of the first power source and second power source is electrically coupled to the heater (par. 59, "In at least one embodiment of the invention, an interlock scheme is used that allows for both an open transfer and a closed transfer from one input source to another. In the discussion that follows, an open transfer refers to a transfer in which power from the first source is switched off before power from the second source is switched on").
Rasmussen fails to explicitly teach a heater, and fails to teach a first resistive heating element and a second resistive heating element having different resistances and being operable simultaneously to generate heat; at least one additional switch operable to select between the first resistive heating element and the second resistive heating element being in parallel or in series.
However, Cook teaches a heater (Fig. 1, heater 240) having a first resistive heating element (par. 51 Fig. 1, first resistive heating element 110) and a second resistive heating element (par. 51 Fig. 1, second resistive heating element 120) having different resistances (par. 63, “the first and second resistive heating elements 110 and 120 may have different resistances”) and being operable simultaneously to generate heat;
at least one additional switch operable to select between the first resistive heating element and the second resistive heating element being in parallel or in series. (par. 5, “structure for coupling the first and second resistive heating elements in series or in parallel in dependence upon whether the fuser heating apparatus will receive an input AC line voltage falling within the at least one low AC line voltage range or the high AC line voltage range”; par 21, switching device)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Rasmussen to incorporate the teachings of Cook. Cook states that “there is a need for an improved universal fuser heating apparatus capable of working over low and high AC line voltage ranges, which does not cause unacceptable flicker problems” (par. 3), and that using two resistive heating elements can help mitigate this problem.
Both Rasmussen and Cook fail to teach a third sensor configured to detect whether a second side of the first switch is receiving power from the first power source, and a fourth sensor configured to detect whether a second side of the second switch is receiving power from the second power source.
However, Liao teaches a third sensor configured to detect whether a second side of the first switch is receiving power from the first power source, and a fourth sensor configured to detect whether a fourth side of the second switch is receiving power from the second power source (par. 25 Fig. 2A, voltage sensors coupled to 120A or 120B; par 31, switches 130 and 131 are switched on or off depending on the voltage detected by the sensors);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rasmussen in view of Cook to incorporate the teachings of Liao in order to safely and quickly switch between power sources (par. 2-9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.L.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3665 /CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665