DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16: “…and a distil end…” should be corrected to “and a distal
Claim 23: “…the folding tongue is in a folded positions…” should be corrected to “…the folding tongue is in a folded position
Appropriate correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the tongue”.
Regarding Claim 5, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the field position” and “the transport position”.
Regarding Claim 16, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the tongue”.
Regarding Claim 17, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the transport wheel hydraulic cylinder”.
Regarding Claim 18, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the hydraulic fluid”.
Regarding Claim 20, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the tongue”.
Claims 2-15,19, and 21-25 are rejected as indefinite as they are dependent upon a rejected parent claim (See above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 16,20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fay II (US 20210298237 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fay II anticipates a towable implement 120 (Fig 1) [that is shiftable between a field configuration for operation in a field and an endwise transport configuration for transporting over a road] (“The agricultural mowing device is configurable in a field position for cutting a crop material in a field and a transport position for transporting the agricultural mowing device.” Para 0009), the implement comprising:
a frame 124 (Fig 1, para 0028);
one or more work mechanisms 130 (Fig 1, para 0028) [supported by the frame and configured to perform work in the field] (“The mowing device 120 may generally include a tongue 122 connected to the agricultural vehicle 110, a trail frame 124 rotatably connected to the tongue 122 about an axis of rotation A1, trail-frame wheels 126, 128, a cutter bar 130, a pair of conditioning rollers 132, a pair of lift actuators 134 operably connected in between the trail frame 124 and the trail-frame wheels 126, 128, a trail-frame actuating mechanism 136 for rotating the trail frame 124 and the cutter bar 130 therewith” para 0026 );
a plurality of field wheels 126,128 (Figs 1 and 2) for supporting the implement 120 (Fig 1) [in the field configuration] (“The trail frame 124 supports the weight of the mowing device 120 in the field position but the trail frame 124 does not support the weight of the mowing device 120 in the transport position. Hence, the trail-frame wheels 126, 128 support the trail frame 124 in the field position but do not support the trail frame 124, or any other component of the mowing device 120, in the transport position (FIG. 5). The trail frame 124 may comprise any desired shape and material.” para 0028 );
a plurality of transport wheels 204,206 (Figs 1-5) [for supporting the implement in the endwise transport configuration] (“The transport frame 202 is rotatable in between a retracted stowed position in the field position wherein the transport frame 202 is located above the trail frame 124 (FIGS. 1-2) and an extended support position in the transport position wherein the transport wheels 204, 206 support the trail frame 124 (FIG. 5).” para 0034 ), wherein,[ in the field configuration, the transport wheels are in a raised position such that a bottom of the transport wheels is higher than a bottom of the field wheels] (“The transport frame 202 is rotatable in between a retracted stowed position in the field position wherein the transport frame 202 is located above the trail frame 124 (FIGS. 1-2) and an extended support position in the transport position wherein the transport wheels 204, 206 support the trail frame 124 (FIG. 5).” Para 0034- See Figs 1-3 where the implement is in a field position and the transport wheels are above the field wheels), wherein,[ in the endwise transport configuration, the transport wheels are in a lowered position such that the bottom of the transport wheels is lower than the bottom of the field wheels] (“The transport frame 202 is rotatable in between a retracted stowed position in the field position wherein the transport frame 202 is located above the trail frame 124 (FIGS. 1-2) and an extended support position in the transport position wherein the transport wheels 204, 206 support the trail frame 124 (FIG. 5).” Para 0034- See also Figs 4 and 5 where the transport wheels 204 and 206 are below the field wheels 126 and 128 )
a folding tongue 122 (Figs 1-5) [pivotably coupled to the frame and shiftable between an unfolded position and a folded position] (“The tongue 122 removably connects to the agricultural vehicle 110. The tongue 122 has a first, proximal end and a second, distal end. The first end of the tongue 122 is connected to the agricultural vehicle 110. The second end of the tongue 122 rotatably mounts the trail frame 124 about the axis of rotation” para 0027-Emphasis added, and “The trail frame 124 is rotatably connected to the tongue 122 via the mounting bracket 138 and the trail frame 124 accordingly rotates about the vertical axis of rotation A1.”, para 0028 and “The longitudinal axis LA of the tongue 122 is not parallel to a forward direction of travel F of the mowing device 120 in the transport position (FIG. 6).”), wherein the tongue 122 (Figs 1-4) [is in the unfolded position when the implement is in the field configuration] (Figs 1-2 show the implement in a field position, wherein the tongue is in an extended position attached to the front agricultural vehicle 110) and [the tongue is in the folded position when the implement is in the endwise transport configuration] (“The tongue defines a longitudinal axis LA along its length (FIG. 6). The longitudinal axis LA of the tongue 122 is not parallel to a forward direction of travel F of the mowing device 120 in the transport position (FIG. 6). Hence, the tongue 122 is positioned at an angle greater than zero relative to the forward direction of travel F, and the center line of the agricultural vehicle 110, in the transport position.” para 0027); and
a hydraulic circuit 136 (Fig 2, para 0032) comprising at least one transport wheel actuator 208,220 (Figs 3 and 4, para 0036) [for shifting the transport wheels between the raised and lowered positions] (“The controller 150 is operably connected to the lift, trail-frame, and transport actuators 134, 146, 148, 220.” para 0037 and “the method 1000 may include the initial steps of locking the transport actuator 220 when the mowing device 120 is being moved in its field and/or transport positions, and unlocking the transport actuator 220 by fully retracting the field swing actuator 146 and fully extending the lift actuators 134. Therefore, in order to engage the transport system 200, the mowing device 120 may be initially positioned in its full field right or left position by the field swing actuator 146 (at step 1004).” , para 0038, see also “The controller 150 may automatically position the mowing device 120 in its transport position or field position upon the user inputting a corresponding command into the user interface. The controller 150 may be a standalone controller or integrated into the existing hardware and/or software of the agricultural vehicle 110 and/or mowing device 120.” para 0037), at least one tongue actuator 136 (Fig 1, para 0032) [for shifting the tongue between the folded and unfolded positions] (“The trail-frame actuating mechanism 136 is operably connected in between the tongue 122 and the trail frame 124.” para 0032 ), and at least one hydraulic control valve 150 (Fig 1) [for controlling hydraulic fluid flow to the transport wheel actuator and the tongue actuator] (“It should be appreciated that the operator may stay within the cab of the agricultural vehicle 110 while the method 1000 is conducted by the controller 150.” para 0038).
Regarding claim 16, Fay II anticipates a towable implement 120 (Fig 1) [that is shiftable between a field configuration for operation in a field and an endwise transport configuration for transporting over a road] (“The agricultural mowing device is configurable in a field position for cutting a crop material in a field and a transport position for transporting the agricultural mowing device.” Para 0009), the implement comprising:
a frame 124 (Fig 1, para 0028);
one or more work mechanisms 130 (Fig 1, para 0028) [supported by the frame and configured to perform work in the field] (“The mowing device 120 may generally include a tongue 122 connected to the agricultural vehicle 110, a trail frame 124 rotatably connected to the tongue 122 about an axis of rotation A1, trail-frame wheels 126, 128, a cutter bar 130, a pair of conditioning rollers 132, a pair of lift actuators 134 operably connected in between the trail frame 124 and the trail-frame wheels 126, 128, a trail-frame actuating mechanism 136 for rotating the trail frame 124 and the cutter bar 130 therewith” para 0026 );
a plurality of field wheels 126,128 (Figs 1 and 2) for supporting the implement 120 (Fig 1) [in the field configuration] (“The trail frame 124 supports the weight of the mowing device 120 in the field position but the trail frame 124 does not support the weight of the mowing device 120 in the transport position. Hence, the trail-frame wheels 126, 128 support the trail frame 124 in the field position but do not support the trail frame 124, or any other component of the mowing device 120, in the transport position (FIG. 5). The trail frame 124 may comprise any desired shape and material.” para 0028 );
a plurality of transport wheels 204,206 (Figs 1-5) [for supporting the implement in the endwise transport configuration] (“The transport frame 202 is rotatable in between a retracted stowed position in the field position wherein the transport frame 202 is located above the trail frame 124 (FIGS. 1-2) and an extended support position in the transport position wherein the transport wheels 204, 206 support the trail frame 124 (FIG. 5).” para 0034 ), wherein the field wheels 126,128 (Figs 1 and 2) and the transport wheels 204,206 (Figs 1-5) [are oriented substantially perpendicular to one another] (Fig 6 show the implement in a transport position wherein the field wheels and the transport wheels are perpendicular to one another, “The transport wheels 204, 206 are parallel to the forward direction of travel F of the mowing device 120 in the transport position. Thus, the transport wheel plane of rotation WPR is not parallel to the transport deployment plane of rotation TPR of the transport frame 202 (FIG. 6). Yet, the transport wheel plane of rotation WPR is parallel to the forward direction of travel F of the mowing device 120 in the transport position, and the transport deployment plane of rotation TPR of the transport frame 202 is parallel to the longitudinal axis LA of the tongue 122 (FIG. 6).” para 0035), wherein,[ in the field configuration, the transport wheels are in a raised position such that a bottom of the transport wheels is higher than a bottom of the field wheels] (“The transport frame 202 is rotatable in between a retracted stowed position in the field position wherein the transport frame 202 is located above the trail frame 124 (FIGS. 1-2) and an extended support position in the transport position wherein the transport wheels 204, 206 support the trail frame 124 (FIG. 5).” Para 0034- See Figs 1-3 where the implement is in a field position and the transport wheels are above the field wheels), wherein,[ in the endwise transport configuration, the transport wheels are in a lowered position such that the bottom of the transport wheels is lower than the bottom of the field wheels] (“The transport frame 202 is rotatable in between a retracted stowed position in the field position wherein the transport frame 202 is located above the trail frame 124 (FIGS. 1-2) and an extended support position in the transport position wherein the transport wheels 204, 206 support the trail frame 124 (FIG. 5).” Para 0034- See also Figs 4 and 5 where the transport wheels 204 and 206 are below the field wheels 126 and 128 )
a folding tongue 122 (Figs 1-6) [for towing of the implement in both the field and endwise transport configurations] (“The tongue 122 removably connects to the agricultural vehicle 110. The tongue 122 has a first, proximal end and a second, distal end. The first end of the tongue 122 is connected to the agricultural vehicle 110. The second end of the tongue 122 rotatably mounts the trail frame 124 about the axis of rotation…The second end of the tongue 122 may rotatably mount the trail frame 124 via any desired mounting bracket 138. The tongue defines a longitudinal axis LA along its length (FIG. 6). The longitudinal axis LA of the tongue 122 is not parallel to a forward direction of travel F of the mowing device 120 in the transport position (FIG. 6). Hence, the tongue 122 is positioned at an angle greater than zero relative to the forward direction of travel F, and the center line of the agricultural vehicle 110, in the transport position.” para 0027 ), wherein the tongue 122 (Fig 1) [includes a proximal end pivotally coupled to the frame] (“The tongue 122 removably connects to the agricultural vehicle 110. The tongue 122 has a first, proximal end and a second, distal end. The first end of the tongue 122 is connected to the agricultural vehicle 110. The second end of the tongue 122 rotatably mounts the trail frame 124 about the axis of rotation” para 0027) [and a distil end configured for attachment to a prime mover] (“The tongue 122 removably connects to the agricultural vehicle 110. The tongue 122 has a first, proximal end and a second, distal end. The first end of the tongue 122 is connected to the agricultural vehicle 110” para 0027 ) , wherein the frame 124 (Fig 1) [includes a first side and a first end that face in substantially perpendicular directions]( “a pair of lift actuators 134 operably connected in between the trail frame 124 and the trail-frame wheels 126, 128” para 0026, trail frame wheels 126 and 128 sit parallel to each other along bar element 140), wherein, in the field configuration (Fig 1), the tongue 122 (Fig 1) [is in an unfolded position with the distal end of the tongue extending outwardly from the first side of the frame] (Fig 1 shows the distal end of the tongue extending away from the first side of the frame 124 ), wherein, in the endwise transport configuration (Figs 5 and 6), the tongue 122 (Figs 5 and 6) [ is in a folded position with the distil end of the tongue extending outwardly from the first end of the frame 124 (Fig 5 and 6)] (Fig 5 shows the tongue 122 extends outwardly and away from a frame 123 element) ; and
a hydraulic circuit 136 (Fig 2, para 0032) comprising at least one transport wheel actuator 208,220 (Figs 3 and 4, para 0036) [for shifting the transport wheels between the raised and lowered positions] (“The controller 150 is operably connected to the lift, trail-frame, and transport actuators 134, 146, 148, 220.” para 0037 and “the method 1000 may include the initial steps of locking the transport actuator 220 when the mowing device 120 is being moved in its field and/or transport positions, and unlocking the transport actuator 220 by fully retracting the field swing actuator 146 and fully extending the lift actuators 134. Therefore, in order to engage the transport system 200, the mowing device 120 may be initially positioned in its full field right or left position by the field swing actuator 146 (at step 1004).” , para 0038, see also “The controller 150 may automatically position the mowing device 120 in its transport position or field position upon the user inputting a corresponding command into the user interface. The controller 150 may be a standalone controller or integrated into the existing hardware and/or software of the agricultural vehicle 110 and/or mowing device 120.” para 0037), at least one tongue actuator 136 (Fig 1, para 0032) [for shifting the tongue between the folded and unfolded positions] (“The trail-frame actuating mechanism 136 is operably connected in between the tongue 122 and the trail frame 124.” para 0032 ), and at least one hydraulic control valve 150 (Fig 1) [for controlling hydraulic fluid flow to the transport wheel actuator and the tongue actuator] (“It should be appreciated that the operator may stay within the cab of the agricultural vehicle 110 while the method 1000 is conducted by the controller 150.” para 0038).
Regarding claim 20, Fay II anticipates a method of operating a towable implement 1000 (Fig 9) having a frame 124 (Fig 1), [a folding tongue 122 (Fig 1) coupled to the frame] (“The second end of the tongue 122 rotatably mounts the trail frame 124 about the axis of rotation.” Para 0027), and a plurality of transport wheels 204,206 (Fig 1, para 0035) coupled to the frame 124 (Fig 1), the method comprising:
[connecting the folding tongue of the implement to a prime mover] (“The tongue 122 removably connects to the agricultural vehicle 110.” para 0027, see also step 1002, “The method 1000 initially includes the step of providing the mowing device 120 with the transport system 200 as described above (at block 1002). The transport hydraulics of the transport system 200 may be prevented from operation until the mowing device 120 is positioned in its full field right or left position and then in its fully lifted position.” para 0038);
[connecting a hydraulic circuit 136 (Fig 1) of the implement to a pressurized hydraulic fluid source of the prime mover 110 (Fig 1) ] (“there is shown a flowchart of a method 1000 for operating an agricultural mowing assembly 100. The method 1000 initially includes the step of providing the mowing device 120 with the transport system 200 as described above (at block 1002). The transport hydraulics of the transport system 200 may be prevented from operation until the mowing device 120 is positioned in its full field right or left position and then in its fully lifted position.” para 0038); and
(c) manually activating a hydraulic controller using a single operator input to thereby cause (i) [the tongue to pivot relative to the frame] (1008 Fig 9, para 0038 ) and (ii) [the transport wheels 204, 206 to raise or lower relative to the frame] (Step 1010, “the transport system 200 may be deployed by rotating the transport frame 202, by the transport actuator 220, from its retracted stowed position into its extended support position (at block 1010; FIG. 4). Thereby, the transport wheels 204, 206 are moved toward the ground, and the transport wheels 204, 206 accordingly lift the trail-frame wheels 126, 128 off the ground.” para 0038).
Regarding claim 21, Fay II anticipates [the single operator input 150 (Fig 1) is provided from a cab of the prime mover 110 (Fig 1)] (“The controller 150 is operably connected to the lift, trail-frame, and transport actuators 134, 146, 148, 220. The controller 150 may also be operably connected to a user interface within the cab of the agricultural vehicle 110. The controller 150 may automatically position the mowing device 120 in its transport position or field position upon the user inputting a corresponding command into the user interface. The controller 150 may be a standalone controller or integrated into the existing hardware and/or software of the agricultural vehicle 110 and/or mowing device 120.” Para 0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,4-5,11-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay II in view of PRÜLL (DE 102020111545 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Fay teaches the hydraulic circuit of claim 1.
Fay does not teach the hydraulic control valve controls hydraulic fluid flow based on the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator and/or the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the tongue actuator.
PRÜLL teaches the hydraulic control valve 58’ (Fig 6, “The inlet valve device 58' is fluid-actuated depending on a fluid pressure in the inlet line 54
downstream of the inlet valve device 58'.” para 0092) controls hydraulic fluid flow [based on the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator and/or the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the tongue actuator] (“The inlet valve device 58' is fluid-actuated depending on a fluid pressure in the inlet line 54 downstream of the inlet valve device 58'.” para 0092- The control valve is dependent on pressure downstream from the valve in line 54 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the pressure controlled valve of PRÜLL with the hydraulic circuit of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means for the control valve to operate based on a pressure downstream, by having the control valve be based on a pressure of the actuator, the hydraulic system can operate more efficiently and is less likely to fault due to excess fluid or pressure in the actuator.
Regarding claim 4, Fay teaches the hydraulic circuit of claim 1.
Fay does not teach the hydraulic control valve causes the transport wheel actuator and the tongue actuator to operate sequentially.
PRÜLL teaches a hydraulic control valve 52,64 (Fig 6) causes the transport wheel actuator 40 (Fig 6) and the tongue actuator 40 (Fig 6) [to operate sequentially] (“each fluid actuator 40 can be individually operated by means of the fluid valves 64.” Para 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the pressure controlled valve of PRÜLL to sequentially control the hydraulic circuit actuators of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means to more finely control the actuators in a sequential order. By allowing the actuators to operate in a sequential order, the implement controls can be more finely tuned and are less likely to prevent mechanical damage when the actuators operate.
Regarding claim 5, Fay is silent regarding the configuration of the hydraulic circuit control valve.
PRÜLL teaches an equivalent agricultural implement with a hydraulic circuit 44C (Fig 7) control valve 58 (Fig 7) [wherein the valve controls hydraulic fluid flow during shifting of the implement from the field position to the transport position] (“However, when the inlet valve device 58 is energized, a fluid supply or a fluid connection from the fluid inlet 46 to the fluid pressure accumulator 60 can be established. para 0073 and “The inlet valve device 58 of Fig. 5 is electrically actuated depending on a fluid pressure value which can be detected by a fluid pressure sensor 62.” Para 0074).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the hydraulic control valve of PRÜLL with the hydraulic circuit of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means to control the pressure and the actuators of Fay. By controlling the amount of fluid that goes into the actuators, the exact position of the actuator can be set by the user in order to maximize the efficiency of the implement.
Regarding claim 11, Fay teaches the towable implement of claim 1.
Fay does not teach a transport wheel safety valve in fluid flow communication with the transport wheel actuator, wherein the transport wheel safety valve inhibits unrestricted flow of hydraulic fluid out of the transport wheel actuator when the transport wheels are in the lowered position.
PRÜLL teaches an implement with a transport wheel safety valve 70’ (Fig 7) in fluid flow communication with the transport wheel actuator 40’ (Fig 7), [wherein the transport wheel safety valve inhibits unrestricted flow of hydraulic fluid out of the transport wheel actuator when the transport wheels are in the lowered position] (“The safety valve 70' is located in the inlet line 54 downstream of the inlet valve device 58' and upstream of the fluid pressure accumulator 60. The safety valve 70' is designed as a preferably manually operated shut-off valve. In an open position, the safety valve 70' releases the inlet line 54. In the safety position, the safety valve 70' blocks the inlet line 54, e.g. B. to enclose a fluid volume between the safety valve 70' and the annular spaces of the fluid actuators 40' for safe transport with raised shares. para 0100). PRÜLL additionally teaches the safety valve 70’ (Fig 7) [inhibits unrestricted flow of hydraulic fluid out of the transport wheel actuator 40’ (Fig 7) when the transport wheels (equivalent to actuators 40’ in Fig 7) are in the raised position] (“In the safety position, the safety valve 70' blocks the inlet line 54, e.g. B. to enclose a fluid volume between the safety valve 70' and the annular spaces of the fluid actuators 40' for safe transport with raised shares.” Para 100 ). Prull additionally teaches the safety valve 70’ (Fig 7) [is disposed in fluid flow communication between the actuator 40’ (Fig 7) and the control valve 58 (Fig 7, Para 0092)] (Fig 7 shows the safety valve is disposed between the actuator 40’ and the intake valve 58 via fluid line 54 see also para 100). The safety valve 70’ (Fig 7, para 0100) includes a check valve 66 (Fig 7, “This safety position includes a fluid volume downstream of the check valve 66.” para 0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the safety valve of PRÜLL with the implement of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would prevent overpressure from the actuators and prevent damage of the hydraulic lines. By using a safety valve in a hydraulic circuit, the components used are protected from excess pressure and the circuit can operate for longer without the need for overpressure checks.
Regarding claim 12, Fay and PRÜLL fully teach the transport wheel safety valve inhibits unrestricted flow of hydraulic fluid out of the transport wheel actuator when the transport wheels are in the raised position (See modification of Fay in view of PRÜLL in claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 13, Fay and PRÜLL fully teach the transport wheel safety valve is disposed in fluid flow communication between the transport wheel actuator and the hydraulic control valve (See modification of Fay in view of PRÜLL in claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 14, Fay and PRÜLL fully teach the transport wheel safety valve comprises at least one pilot-operated check valve (See modification of Fay in view of PRÜLL in claim 11 above).
Regarding claim 15, Fay teaches the implement of claim 1.
Fay does not explicitly teach the hydraulic circuit comprise a plurality of flow restrictors for restricting the rate of hydraulic fluid flow into and/or out of the transport wheel actuator and/or the tongue actuator.
PRÜLL teaches the hydraulic circuit comprise a plurality of flow restrictors 64’ (Fig 7) for [restricting the rate of hydraulic fluid flow into and/or out of the transport wheel actuator 40’ (Fig 7) and/or the tongue actuator 40’ (Fig 7)] (“If the (desired) fluid valves 64' are switched to the normal position, a rapid lifting of the (desired) shares 16 can be achieved by the fluid pressure accumulator 60 providing a sufficiently large volume flow for the essentially simultaneous supply to all annular spaces of the (desired) fluid actuators 40'.” para 0098 and para 0099).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the flow restrictors of PRÜLL with the implement of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a way to control the actuators of the implement. By using flow restrictors , the amount of fluid used to actuate the actuators can be controlled and can more easily control the actuator positioning.
Regarding claim 17, Fay teaches the implement of claim 16.
Fay does not explicitly teach the at least one transport wheel actuator comprises a transport hydraulic cylinder, wherein the at least one tongue actuator comprises a tongue hydraulic cylinder, wherein the at least one control valve comprises a first hydraulic control valve for sequentially routing hydraulic fluid to the transport wheel hydraulic cylinder and then to the tongue hydraulic cylinder during shifting of the implement from the field configuration to the endwise transport configuration, wherein the at least one control valve comprises a second hydraulic control valve for sequentially routing hydraulic fluid to the tongue hydraulic cylinder and then to the transport wheel hydraulic cylinder during shifting of the implement from the endwise transport configuration to the field configuration.
PRÜLL teaches at least one transport wheel actuator 40’ (Fig 7) [comprises a transport hydraulic cylinder] (“The fluid pressure accumulator 60 has a volume and storage pressure such that enough fluid can be stored in the fluid pressure accumulator 60 to provide a fluid volume flow that causes the fluid actuators 40 to be actuated in a preferably fast and essentially simultaneous manner for lifting the shares 16. Thus, sufficient volume flow is available in the short term to provide rapid movements of the fluid actuators 40 for lifting the shares 16.” para 0078), wherein the at least one tongue actuator 40’ (Fig 7) [comprises a tongue hydraulic cylinder] (Fig 3 shows the actuator 40 with a cylinder) , [wherein the at least one control valve 58 (Fig 7) comprises a first hydraulic control valve for sequentially routing hydraulic fluid to the transport wheel hydraulic cylinder 40’ (Fig 7) and then to the tongue hydraulic cylinder 40’ (Fig 7) during shifting of the implement from the field configuration to the endwise transport configuration] (“This blocking position can be the normal position or de-energized position of the inlet valve device 58. However, when the inlet valve device 58 is energized, a fluid supply or a fluid connection from the fluid inlet 46 to the fluid pressure accumulator 60 can be established.” para 0073), wherein the at least one control valve comprises a second hydraulic control valve 64’ (Fig 7) [for sequentially routing hydraulic fluid to the tongue hydraulic cylinder 40’ (Fig 7) and then to the transport wheel hydraulic cylinder 40’ (Fig 7) during shifting of the implement from the endwise transport configuration to the field configuration] (“The inlet valve device 58 sets a fluid supply from the fluid inlet 46 to the fluid pressure accumulator 60 depending on a fluid pressure of the fluid inlet line 54 downstream of the inlet valve device 58. The inlet valve device 58 can, for example, be designed as an electrically operated 3/2-way
valve, as shown in Fig. 5.” Para 0072, and “the valve device 52 has several fluid valves 64.
Each fluid valve 64 is assigned to one of several fluid actuators 40. The fluid actuators 40 can therefore be individually supplied with fluid if desired. Each share 16 and each fluid actuator 40 can be individually operated by means of the fluid valves 64. Such a design is particularly suitable for section control applications, where the shares 16 can be moved independently of each other between a raised and a lowered position. In a section control application, the shares can be individually raised and lowered” para 0082 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the valves and cylinders of PRÜLL with the implement of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a way to control the actuators of the implement. By using the valves and cylinders , the amount of fluid used to actuate the actuators can be controlled and can more easily control the actuator positioning.
Regarding claim 18, Fay teaches the hydraulic circuit of claim 16.
Fay does not teach the hydraulic control valve controls hydraulic fluid flow based on the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator and/or the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the tongue actuator.
PRÜLL teaches the hydraulic control valve 58’ (Fig 6, “The inlet valve device 58' is fluid-actuated depending on a fluid pressure in the inlet line 54 downstream of the inlet valve device 58'.” para 0092) controls hydraulic fluid flow [based on the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator and/or the pressure of hydraulic fluid supplied to the tongue actuator] (“The inlet valve device 58' is fluid-actuated depending on a fluid pressure in the inlet line 54 downstream of the inlet valve device 58'.” para 0092- The control valve is dependent on pressure downstream from the valve in line 54 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the pressure controlled valve of PRÜLL with the hydraulic circuit of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means for the control valve to operate based on a pressure downstream, by having the control valve be based on a pressure of the actuator, the hydraulic system can operate more efficiently and is less likely to fault due to excess fluid or pressure in the actuator.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay II in view of PRÜLL in view of SÖDERBERG (WO 2019004900 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Fay and PRÜLL are silent regarding the configuration of the hydraulic control valve.
SÖDERBERG teaches an equivalent agricultural implement 2 (Fig 1, “Fig 1 shows an agricultural combination comprising a tractor vehicle 1 , such as a tractor, and an agricultural implement 2,” pg 5 para 5) with a hydraulic circuit where the control valve 317a,317b (Fig 2, “The valves 317a, 317b are numerically controllable, for example by being activated and/or deactivated by means of an external signal, e.g. an electric signal from a control unit.” Pg 6 para 8) [is a pilot-operated pressure relief valve] (“The first valve 317a is operable for retracting the actuator 23 and permits, in an activated state, feeding from the first main duct 312a to the first controllable duct 313a and returning from the second controlled duct 313b to the second main duct 312b via the return duct 316 by opening the check valve 3172a. The check valve 3172a is pilot-controlled based on pressure in the duct between the valve 317a and the check valve 3171 a.” pg 6 para 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the pilot operated pressure relief valve of SÖDERBERG with the hydraulic circuit of Fay and PRÜLL and with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means to prevent overpressure in the hydraulic circuit and cause damage to the circuit. By using a pilot pressure relief valve as the control valve, the hydraulic system can operate at higher pressure and is less likely to become damaged due to excess pressure in the system.
Claim(s) 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay II and PRÜLL in further view of REHNEN (WO2022053425A1).
Regarding claim 6, Fay and PRÜLL teach the implement of claim 5, PRÜLL additionally teaches a first hydraulic control valve 58 (Fig 7) and a second hydraulic control valve multiple 64’ (Fig 7, para 0097), wherein the second hydraulic control valve 64’ (Fig 7) inhibits hydraulic fluid flow to the transport wheel actuator 40’ (Fig 7), and PRÜLL further teaches the hydraulic circuit comprises a first hydraulic fluid supply line 54 (Fig 7, “The valve device 52 connects the fluid actuators 40 optionally to the fluid supply line 54 or the fluid return line 56 .” para 0081) for providing high pressure hydraulic fluid to the first hydraulic control valve and a second hydraulic fluid supply line 56 (Fig 7, “The valve device 52 connects the fluid actuators 40 optionally to the fluid supply line 54 or the fluid return line 56 .” para 0081) for providing high pressure hydraulic fluid to the second hydraulic control valve.
Fay and PRÜLL do not teach the hydraulic control valve inhibits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator until the hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator reaches a first threshold pressure and then permits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator.
Rehnen teaches an equivalent the hydraulic control valve inhibits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator 11 (Fig 3) until the hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator 14 (Fig 3) [reaches a first threshold pressure and then permits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator] (“The offset actuator 14 is preceded by a shut-off valve (not shown) by the actuation of which the offset actuator 14 is held in its stroke position. Alternatively or additionally, a shut-off valve is connected upstream of the adjusting actuator 11. In order to pivot the plow frame 6 back into its original working position after the turning has been completed, the semi-mounted reversible plow 1 is provided to include a reversing control device connected to the locking valve. The reversing control device is designed to activate the offset actuator 14 when reached.” Para 0041- There is a shutoff sequence to prevent extension of one actuator to protect the implement as described in paragraph 0041- the method of Rehnen teaches the actuators actuate at different times based on the pressure of the hydraulic circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the activation method of Rehnen with the hydraulic circuit of Fay/ PRÜLL with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means to prevent damage of the implement while transitioning to or from an extended or retracted position. By using the sequence as taught by Rehnen, the implement has a built in mechanical safety element to prevent the second actuator from moving before the implement is in a safe position and can keep the hydraulic circuit from undo damage as a result.
Regarding claim 7, Fay/ PRÜLL/Rehnen fully teach the hydraulic control valve is a first hydraulic control valve, further comprising a second hydraulic control valve, wherein the second hydraulic control valve inhibits hydraulic fluid flow to the transport wheel actuator until the hydraulic fluid supplied to the tongue actuator reaches a second threshold pressure and then permits hydraulic fluid flow to the transport wheel actuator (See modification of Fay and PRÜLL in claim 6 above).
Regarding claim 8, Fay/ PRÜLL /Rehnen fully teach the hydraulic circuit comprises a first hydraulic fluid supply line for providing high pressure hydraulic fluid to the first hydraulic control valve and a second hydraulic fluid supply line for providing high pressure hydraulic fluid to the second hydraulic control valve (See modification of Fay and PRÜLL in claim 6 above).
Claim(s) 9-10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay II in view of SÖDERBERG.
Regarding claim 9, Fay II teaches the hydraulic circuit 136 (Fig 1).
Fay does not explicitly teach the circuit comprises at least two hydraulic connectors for connecting the hydraulic circuit to a hydraulic system of a prime mover.
SÖDERBERG teaches the circuit comprises at least two hydraulic connectors (Fig 2 shows multiple lines connected to the control valve in order to operate the actuator 23, “The second valve 317b permits, in an activated state, feeding from the first main duct 312a to the second controllable duct 313b and returning from the first controllable duct 313a to the second main duct 312b via the return duct 316 by opening the check valve 3172b. The check valve 3172b is pilot- controlled based on pressure in the duct between the valve 317b and the check valve 3171 b. In the example shown in Fig 2, expansion of the hydraulic actuator 23 is provided by feeding via the first valve 317a.” pg 6 para 10 ) [for connecting the hydraulic circuit 136 (Fig 1 and 2) to a hydraulic system 35,13 (Fig 2) of a prime mover 1 (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the hydraulic circuit schematic of SÖDERBERG with the hydraulic circuit of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means to control the actuators via two or more fluid lines . By using multiple fluid lines, the exact position of the actuator (expansion or contraction) can be set by the user in order to maximize the efficiency of the implement.
Regarding claim 10, Fay II [fully teaches a distal end of the tongue 122 (Figs 1 and 2) is configured for connection to a movable hitch of the prime mover 110 (Figs 1 and 2) ] (“The tongue 122 has a first, proximal end and a second, distal end. The first end of the tongue 122 is connected to the agricultural vehicle 110. The second end of the tongue 122 rotatably mounts the trail frame 124 about the axis of rotation.” para 0027) such that the tongue 122 (Figs 1 and 2) [of the implement can be raised and lowered by the movable hitch of the prime mover 110 (Figs 1 and 2)] (“The tongue 122 has a first, proximal end and a second, distal end. The first end of the tongue 122 is connected to the agricultural vehicle 110.” para 0027).
Regarding claim 19, Fay is silent regarding the configuration of the hydraulic control valve.
SÖDERBERG teaches an equivalent agricultural implement 2 (Fig 1, “Fig 1 shows an agricultural combination comprising a tractor vehicle 1 , such as a tractor, and an agricultural implement 2,” pg 5 para 5) with a hydraulic circuit where the control valve 317a,317b (Fig 2, “The valves 317a, 317b are numerically controllable, for example by being activated and/or deactivated by means of an external signal, e.g. an electric signal from a control unit.” Pg 6 para 8) [is a pilot-operated pressure relief valve] (“The first valve 317a is operable for retracting the actuator 23 and permits, in an activated state, feeding from the first main duct 312a to the first controllable duct 313a and returning from the second controlled duct 313b to the second main duct 312b via the return duct 316 by opening the check valve 3172a. The check valve 3172a is pilot-controlled based on pressure in the duct between the valve 317a and the check valve 3171 a.” pg 6 para 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the pilot operated pressure relief valve of SÖDERBERG with the hydraulic circuit of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means to prevent overpressure in the hydraulic circuit and cause damage to the circuit. By using a pilot pressure relief valve as the control valve, the hydraulic system can operate at higher pressure and is less likely to become damaged due to excess pressure in the system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay II and PRÜLL in further view of REHNEN.
Regarding claim 18, Fay teaches the implement of claim 16, PRÜLL additionally teaches a first hydraulic control valve 58 (Fig 7) and a second hydraulic control valve multiple 64’ (Fig 7, para 0097), wherein the second hydraulic control valve 64’ (Fig 7) inhibits hydraulic fluid flow to the transport wheel actuator 40’ (Fig 7), and PRÜLL further teaches the hydraulic circuit comprises a first hydraulic fluid supply line 54 (Fig 7, “The valve device 52 connects the fluid actuators 40 optionally to the fluid supply line 54 or the fluid return line 56 .” para 0081) for providing high pressure hydraulic fluid to the first hydraulic control valve and a second hydraulic fluid supply line 56 (Fig 7, “The valve device 52 connects the fluid actuators 40 optionally to the fluid supply line 54 or the fluid return line 56 .” para 0081) for providing high pressure hydraulic fluid to the second hydraulic control valve.
Fay and PRÜLL do not teach the hydraulic control valve inhibits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator until the hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator reaches a first threshold pressure and then permits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator.
Rehnen teaches an equivalent the hydraulic control valve inhibits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator 11 (Fig 3) until the hydraulic fluid supplied to the transport wheel actuator 14 (Fig 3) [reaches a first threshold pressure and then permits hydraulic fluid flow to the tongue actuator] (“The offset actuator 14 is preceded by a shut-off valve (not shown) by the actuation of which the offset actuator 14 is held in its stroke position. Alternatively or additionally, a shut-off valve is connected upstream of the adjusting actuator 11. In order to pivot the plow frame 6 back into its original working position after the turning has been completed, the semi-mounted reversible plow 1 is provided to include a reversing control device connected to the locking valve. The reversing control device is designed to activate the offset actuator 14 when reached.” Para 0041- There is a shutoff sequence to prevent extension of one actuator to protect the implement as described in paragraph 0041- the method of Rehnen teaches the actuators actuate at different times based on the pressure of the hydraulic circuit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the activation method of Rehnen with the hydraulic circuit of Fay/ PRÜLL with a reasonable expectation of success because it would provide a means to prevent damage of the implement while transitioning to or from an extended or retracted position. By using the sequence as taught by Rehnen, the implement has a built in mechanical safety element to prevent the second actuator from moving before the implement is in a safe position and can keep the hydraulic circuit from undo damage as a result.
Claim(s) 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fay II in view of Barnett (US 20160360691 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Fay II teaches a user interface to control the hydraulic circuit with an input (“The controller 150 may also be operably connected to a user interface within the cab of the agricultural vehicle 110. The controller 150 may automatically position the mowing device 120 in its transport position or field position upon the user inputting a corresponding command into the user interface.” para 0037 ).
Fay II does not explicitly teach the single operator input is selected from one of the following input actions: moving a control lever or handle in a single direction, turning a control knob in a single direction, depressing a single button, flipping a switch in a single direction, touching a single point on a touchscreen, swiping in a single direction on a touchscreen, and providing a single voice command.
Barnett teaches the single operator input is derived from the following input action: flipping a switch 60 (Fig 16, para 0169) [in a single direction] (“In this embodiment there is no mechanical linkage which controls the plunger 44 but instead it is operated by a switch 60 in a control panel 59 manually operable in the tractor cab to supply power from a tractor power supply P to the switch 43. The switch 60 is a two way switch operable between the two modes of hitch steering 61 and transport 62.” para 0169).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the switch mechanism of Barnett with the UI of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for a tactile means for the vehicle user to active the different positions of the implement. By providing a tactile user interface with a physical switch, there is improved awareness from the user to ensure the implement is in the proper state to effectively use the implement.
Regarding claim 23, Fay fully teaches a method wherein the implement 120 (Fig 9) [is shiftable between a field configuration and an endwise transport configuration] (“In other words, the method 1000 may include the initial steps of locking the transport actuator 220 when the mowing device 120 is being moved in its field and/or transport positions, and unlocking the transport actuator 220 by fully retracting the field swing actuator 146 and fully extending the lift actuators 134... the mowing device 120 may be initially positioned in its full field right or left position by the field swing actuator 146 (at step 1004).” para 0038 ), wherein, when the implement is in the field configuration (See Figs 1-4), the folding tongue 122 (Figs 1-4) [is in an unfolded position and the transport wheels are in a raised position] step 1006 (“For example, the mowing device 120 may be positioned in its full field right position by fully retracting the field swing actuator 146. Then, the mowing device 120 may be raised, by the lift actuators 134, in order to lift or raise the mowing device 120 in a fully elevated position (at block 1006). This fully elevated position provides additional ground clearance that enables the deployment of the transport system 200.” para 0038 ), [wherein, when the implement is in the endwise transport configuration (Figs 5 and 6) , the folding tongue 122 (Figs 5 and 6) is in a folded positions and the transport wheels are in a lowered position (Figs 5 and 6)] (“the transport system 200 may be deployed by rotating the transport frame 202, by the transport actuator 220, from its retracted stowed position into its extended support position (at block 1010; FIG. 4). Thereby, the transport wheels 204, 206 are moved toward the ground, and the transport wheels 204, 206 accordingly lift the trail-frame wheels 126, 128 off the ground.” para 0038 ), further comprising locking the folding tongue 122 (Figs 1-4) [in the unfolded position using a field locking mechanism and locking the folding tongue in the folded position using a transport locking mechanism] (“In other words, the method 1000 may include the initial steps of locking the transport actuator 220 when the mowing device 120 is being moved in its field and/or transport positions, and unlocking the transport actuator 220 by fully retracting the field swing actuator 146 and fully extending the lift actuators 134.” and “This fully elevated position provides additional ground clearance that enables the deployment of the transport system 200. It should be appreciated that the method step 1006 may occur first before the method step 1004. At this point, once the mowing device 120 is oriented in this lockout position, the transport hydraulics of the transport system 200 may be unlocked for allowing the operation thereof.”, para 0038 ).
Regarding claim 24, Fay fully teaches a method further comprising [shifting the field locking mechanism between a tongue locking position and a tongue releasing position] (“Therefore, in order to engage the transport system 200, the mowing device 120 may be initially positioned in its full field right or left position by the field swing actuator 146 (at step 1004). For example, the mowing device 120 may be positioned in its full field right position by fully retracting the field swing actuator 146. Then, the mowing device 120 may be raised, by the lift actuators 134, in order to lift or raise the mowing device 120 in a fully elevated position (at block 1006). This fully elevated position provides additional ground clearance that enables the deployment of the transport system 200. It should be appreciated that the method step 1006 may occur first before the method step 1004. At this point, once the mowing device 120 is oriented in this lockout position, the transport hydraulics of the transport system 200 may be unlocked for allowing the operation thereof” para 0038 ) and shifting the [transport locking mechanism between a transport locking position and a transport releasing position] (“the method 1000 may include the initial steps of locking the transport actuator 220 when the mowing device 120 is being moved in its field and/or transport positions, and unlocking the transport actuator 220 by fully retracting the field swing actuator 146 and fully extending the lift actuators 134.” para 0038 ).
Regarding claim 25, Fay is silent regarding the shifting of the field locking mechanism between the tongue locking position and the tongue releasing position is performed manually, wherein the shifting of the transport locking mechanism between the transport locking position and the transport releasing position is performed manually.
Barnett teaches an equivalent implement (Fig 1, “A hitch arm 19 is attached to the transverse beam 12 by a mounting bracket 20 connected on top of the beam 12. In the embodiment shown the bracket 20 is located at the center of the beam 12, on a center line indicated in FIG. 5 at CL, so that the hitch arm 19 can pivot about a vertical pivot pin 20A to one side (FIG. 1) or the other side (FIG. 2) under control of a cylinder 21.” para 0091 and “The movement caused by the cylinder 37 is arranged so that the hitch remains short of its position shown in FIG. 8 at the end of the frame where a latch element 19L on the hitch arm 19 is arranged to engage a latch element 12L on the beam 12. This halting of the hitch at the short position allows the lift cylinders to be reengaged by moving the hitch with the steering cylinder 21 and also avoids the necessity for ensuring that the hitch and transport wheels reach their target positions exactly at the same time.” para 0142) [wherein the shifting of the field locking mechanism between the tongue 19 (Fig 14) locking position and the tongue releasing position is performed manually, wherein the shifting of the transport locking mechanism between the transport locking position and the transport releasing position is performed manually] (“Disengage the frame latch 19L, 12L. This can be done at the latch manually” para 0149- This is step 2 of reversing the implement from transport mode to field mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the shifting mechanism of Barnett with the implement of Fay with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the user to override the mechanical means and allow an easy way to connect and disconnect the implement from the prime mover. By providing a mechanical means to manually connect and disconnect the implement, the user has improved awareness about the state of the implement and can quickly connect or disconnect the implement in case of emergency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zoske (US 20210392807 A1) teaches a structural tool bar system for an agricultural vehicle.
Toennies (US 20210363731 A1) teaches a hydraulic system for an agricultural system includes a hydraulic circuit and a bi-directional filter disposed on a bi-directional fluid line of the hydraulic circuit. The bi-directional filter includes a check valve fluid line having a check valve configured to block a fluid from flowing through the check valve fluid line in a first direction and to enable the fluid to flow through the check valve fluid line in a second direction.
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611