DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 4/14/2025 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Papasakellariou (US2019/0223205 A1) IDS submitted by Applicant.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Papasakellariou teaches an apparatus/method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Abstract), comprising:
a memory comprising instructions; one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to (Para. 0057):
receive at least one of a first downlink control information (DCI) of a first type scheduling one or more first physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) or a second DCI of a second type scheduling one or more second PUSCHs (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0132; a PUSCH transmission can be scheduled by a DCI format and therefore have adaptive characteristics in associated parameters; A UE is configured to transmit a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH and the UE has HARQ-ACK information to multiplex in a PUSCH 1010. The UE determines that the first PUSCH is scheduled by a fallback DCI format or by higher layer signaling and that the second PUSCH is scheduled by a non-fallback DCI format or by a DCI format, respectively, 1020. The UE multiplexes the HARQ-ACK information in the second PUSCH); and
process at least one of the one or more first PUSCHs scheduled by the first DCI or the one or more second PUSCHs scheduled by the second DCI, wherein the process of the one or more first PUSCHs comprises multiplex at least one uplink control information (UCI) on a PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs and transmitting the PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0132; A UE is configured to transmit a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH and the UE has HARQ-ACK information to multiplex in a PUSCH 1010. The UE determines that the first PUSCH is scheduled by a fallback DCI format or by higher layer signaling and that the second PUSCH is scheduled by a non-fallback DCI format or by a DCI format, respectively, 1020. The UE multiplexes the HARQ-ACK information in the second PUSCH).
Regarding claims 2 and 19, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to receive the first DCI of the first type and the second DCI of the second type; and the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to process the one or more first PUSCHs scheduled by the first DCI prior to the one or more second PUSCHs scheduled by the second DCI (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0135; Another predetermined rule can be that the UE selects for HARQ-ACK multiplexing a PUSCH transmission scheduled by a non-fallback DCI format over a PUSCH transmission scheduled by a fallback DCI format; i.e. when the first PUSCH has a non-fallback DCI, it is scheduled over/prior to the second PUSCH scheduled by the fallback DCI).
Regarding claims 3, 16, 20, and 30, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein the first DCI comprises a bit to indicate that multiplexing of the at least one UCI with the one or more first PUSCHs is enabled (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0135; In a first approach, at least for non-fallback DCI formats, a DCI format can include a “HARQ-ACK_multiplexing” field of 1 bit indicating whether or not the UE may multiplex HARQ-ACK in an associated PUSCH transmission).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the first DCI indicates that the PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs is scheduled in a first slot; and the multiplex comprises multiplex each UCI scheduled in the first slot on the PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0135; A first embodiment of this disclosure considers a determination of a PUSCH for multiplexing HARQ-ACK from a UE when the UE transmits multiple PUSCH during a same slot).
Regarding claims 5 and 22, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the first DCI indicates that the PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs is scheduled in a first slot; and the multiplex comprises multiplex each UCI scheduled in the first slot that is overlapping with the PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs in a time domain on the PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs (Paras. 0119, 0163-0164, and 0180-0186; There is another need to define prioritization rules and a UE behavior for time-overlapped PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions; If a UE does not detect a DCI format triggering a PUCCH transmission after a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission in a same slot, the UE knows of a possible overlapping when the UE prepares the PUSCH (UE has the minimum PUSCH preparation time available to cancel the PUCCH transmission). The UE can therefore multiplex the HARQ-ACK in the PUSCH and drop the PUCCH regardless of the PUCCH/PUSCH overlapping type (same/different first symbol)).
Regarding claims 6 and 23, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to process the one or more second PUSCHs scheduled by the second DCI subsequent to the processing of the one or more first PUSCHs scheduled by the first DCI (Paras. 0119, 0163-0171, and 0180-0186; If a UE has a configured PUCCH transmission for CSI in a same slot as a PUCCH transmission for HARQ-ACK and a first symbol for the former PUCCH transmission is same or after a first symbol for the latter PUCCH transmission, the UE can multiplex CSI in the latter PUCCH transmission. If the first symbol for the former PUCCH transmission is before the first symbol for the latter PUCCH transmission, CSI can again be multiplexed in the latter PUCCH transmission if there is sufficient time for the UE to cancel (the not yet ongoing) transmission of the former PUCCH).
Regarding claims 7 and 24, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the second DCI indicates that a PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs is scheduled in a first slot; and the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to drop each uplink control information (UCI) scheduled in the first slot that is overlapping with the PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs in a time domain (Paras. 0119, 0163-0164, and 0180-0186; There is another need to define prioritization rules and a UE behavior for time-overlapped PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions; If a UE does not detect a DCI format triggering a PUCCH transmission after a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission in a same slot, the UE knows of a possible overlapping when the UE prepares the PUSCH (UE has the minimum PUSCH preparation time available to cancel the PUCCH transmission). The UE can therefore multiplex the HARQ-ACK in the PUSCH and drop the PUCCH regardless of the PUCCH/PUSCH overlapping type (same/different first symbol)).
Regarding claims 8 and 25, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the second DCI indicates that a PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs is scheduled in a first slot; and the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: multiplex each uplink control information (UCI) scheduled in the first slot that is overlapping with the PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs in a time domain; and transmit the PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs (Paras. 0119, 0163-0164, and 0180-0186; There is another need to define prioritization rules and a UE behavior for time-overlapped PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions; If a UE does not detect a DCI format triggering a PUCCH transmission after a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission in a same slot, the UE knows of a possible overlapping when the UE prepares the PUSCH (UE has the minimum PUSCH preparation time available to cancel the PUCCH transmission). The UE can therefore multiplex the HARQ-ACK in the PUSCH and drop the PUCCH regardless of the PUCCH/PUSCH overlapping type (same/different first symbol)).
Regarding claims 9 and 26, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the second DCI indicates that multiple second PUSCHs are scheduled in a first slot; an uplink control information (UCI) scheduled in the first slot overlaps with the multiple second PUSCHs in a time domain; and the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: multiplex the UCI with each of the multiple second PUSCHs; and transmit the multiple second PUSCHs (Paras. 0119, 0163-0164, and 0180-0186; There is another need to define prioritization rules and a UE behavior for time-overlapped PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions; If a UE does not detect a DCI format triggering a PUCCH transmission after a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission in a same slot, the UE knows of a possible overlapping when the UE prepares the PUSCH (UE has the minimum PUSCH preparation time available to cancel the PUCCH transmission). The UE can therefore multiplex the HARQ-ACK in the PUSCH and drop the PUCCH regardless of the PUCCH/PUSCH overlapping type (same/different first symbol)).
Regarding claims 10 and 27, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: receive a transmission priority threshold value from a network entity; and determine a first quantity of uplink control informations (UCIs) that are scheduled with a priority value that is higher than or equal to the transmission priority threshold value and a second quantity of UCIs that are scheduled with the priority value that is less than the transmission priority threshold value (Paras. 0119, 0163-0175, and 0180-0186; For a PUCCH transmission conveying HARQ-ACK with repetitions over multiple slots and a higher priority for HARQ-ACK than for data, a UE can disregard UL grants resulting to PUSCH transmissions in slots where the UE repeats a PUCCH transmission (the likely cause if a false CRC check as the gNB scheduler would otherwise have no reason to schedule PUSCH since the UE drops the PUSCH transmission)).
Regarding claim 11, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein: the second DCI indicates that a PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs is scheduled in a first slot; and the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: multiplex each UCI of the first quantity of UCIs scheduled in the first slot that is overlapping with the PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs in a time domain; and transmit the PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs (Paras. 0119, 0163-0164, and 0180-0186; There is another need to define prioritization rules and a UE behavior for time-overlapped PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions; If a UE does not detect a DCI format triggering a PUCCH transmission after a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission in a same slot, the UE knows of a possible overlapping when the UE prepares the PUSCH (UE has the minimum PUSCH preparation time available to cancel the PUCCH transmission). The UE can therefore multiplex the HARQ-ACK in the PUSCH and drop the PUCCH regardless of the PUCCH/PUSCH overlapping type (same/different first symbol)).
Regarding claim 12, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to drop each UCI of the second quantity of UCIs scheduled in the first slot that is overlapping with the PUSCH of the one or more second PUSCHs in the time domain (Paras. 0119, 0163-0164, and 0180-0186; There is another need to define prioritization rules and a UE behavior for time-overlapped PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions; If a UE does not detect a DCI format triggering a PUCCH transmission after a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission in a same slot, the UE knows of a possible overlapping when the UE prepares the PUSCH (UE has the minimum PUSCH preparation time available to cancel the PUCCH transmission). The UE can therefore multiplex the HARQ-ACK in the PUSCH and drop the PUCCH regardless of the PUCCH/PUSCH overlapping type (same/different first symbol)).
Regarding claim 13, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the UE to: determine whether there is an overlap between scheduling of an uplink control information (UCI) and the one or more first PUSCHs or the one or more second PUSCHs; and drop the UCI overlapping with the one or more first PUSCHs or the one or more second PUSCHs (Paras. 0119, 0163-0164, and 0180-0186; There is another need to define prioritization rules and a UE behavior for time-overlapped PUSCH or PUCCH transmissions; If a UE does not detect a DCI format triggering a PUCCH transmission after a DCI format scheduling a PUSCH transmission in a same slot, the UE knows of a possible overlapping when the UE prepares the PUSCH (UE has the minimum PUSCH preparation time available to cancel the PUCCH transmission). The UE can therefore multiplex the HARQ-ACK in the PUSCH and drop the PUCCH regardless of the PUCCH/PUSCH overlapping type (same/different first symbol)).
Regarding claim 14, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein the first type comprises a non-fallback DCI format and the second type comprises a fallback DCI format (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0132; a PUSCH transmission can be scheduled by a DCI format and therefore have adaptive characteristics in associated parameters; A UE is configured to transmit a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH and the UE has HARQ-ACK information to multiplex in a PUSCH 1010. The UE determines that the first PUSCH is scheduled by a fallback DCI format or by higher layer signaling and that the second PUSCH is scheduled by a non-fallback DCI format or by a DCI format, respectively, 1020. The UE multiplexes the HARQ-ACK information in the second PUSCH).
Regarding claims 15 and 28, Papasakellariou teaches an apparatus/method for wireless communications at a network entity (Abstract), comprising:
a memory comprising instructions; one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the instructions and cause the network entity to (Para. 0048):
transmit at least one of a first downlink control information (DCI) of a first type scheduling one or more first physical uplink shared channels (PUSCHs) or a second DCI of a second type scheduling one or more second PUSCHs (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0132; a PUSCH transmission can be scheduled by a DCI format and therefore have adaptive characteristics in associated parameters; A UE is configured to transmit a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH and the UE has HARQ-ACK information to multiplex in a PUSCH 1010. The UE determines that the first PUSCH is scheduled by a fallback DCI format or by higher layer signaling and that the second PUSCH is scheduled by a non-fallback DCI format or by a DCI format, respectively, 1020. The UE multiplexes the HARQ-ACK information in the second PUSCH); and
receive at least one of: one or more processed first PUSCHs scheduled by the first DCI or one or more processed second PUSCHs scheduled by the second DCI, wherein the one or more processed first PUSCHs comprises at least one uplink control information (UCI) multiplexed on a PUSCH of the one or more first PUSCHs (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0132; A UE is configured to transmit a first PUSCH and a second PUSCH and the UE has HARQ-ACK information to multiplex in a PUSCH 1010. The UE determines that the first PUSCH is scheduled by a fallback DCI format or by higher layer signaling and that the second PUSCH is scheduled by a non-fallback DCI format or by a DCI format, respectively, 1020. The UE multiplexes the HARQ-ACK information in the second PUSCH).
Regarding claims 16 and 29, Papasakellariou teaches the limitations of the previous claims. Papasakellariou further teaches wherein the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are configured to execute the instructions and cause the network entity to transmit the first DCI of the first type and the second DCI of the second type (Fig. 10; Paras. 0126-0135; Another predetermined rule can be that the UE selects for HARQ-ACK multiplexing a PUSCH transmission scheduled by a non-fallback DCI format over a PUSCH transmission scheduled by a fallback DCI format; i.e. when the first PUSCH has a non-fallback DCI, it is scheduled over/prior to the second PUSCH scheduled by the fallback DCI).
Conclusion
/KENT KRUEGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474