DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in France on 02/10/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR2301250 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “recess” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). “Recess” is not shown in Figure 8B. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Para 0026: The first plastic material is 5 to 15 times more flexible than the second plastic material should be rewritten since all the claims (except claim 13) state that the second plastic material is more flexible than the first plastic.
In Para 0057: screw shaft 3 should be 13
In Para 0061: trim module 3 3 should be 3
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 states that “The trim panel according to claim 1, wherein the first plastic material is 5 to 15 times more flexible than the second plastic material.” This claim contradicts what is stated in claim 1. Claim 1 states that the “second plastic material [is] more flexible than the first plastic material. For the purposes of examination, the Office is interpreting the claim as “the second plastic material is 5 to 15 times more flexible than the first plastic material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 10-12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bicego et al. (WO 2019130033 A).
Re Claim 1, Bicego et al. discloses, a trim panel for a motor vehicle (Abstract) characterized in that it comprises:
- at least one light transmission zone (Fig. 1, 110), made of a first plastic material suitable for a light transmission (Para 0037 – PMMA – polymethyl methacrylate), and
- at least one masking zone (Fig. 1, 120) adjacent to the at least one light transmission zone (as seen in Fig. 3 below) and made at least in part of a second plastic material (Para 0037, 0048 - opaque Polycarbonate / Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene mixture, which is also known by the acronym PC/ABS, or of opaque ABS) more flexible than the first plastic material (PC/ABS is more flexible than PMMA).
Figure 1 of Bicego et al. (WO 2019130033 A)
Re Claim 2, Bicego et al. discloses the second plastic material is opaque to a visible light (Para 0048).
Re Claim 5, Bicego et al. discloses the at least one masking zone is more flexible than the at least one light transmission zone (Para 0048; the Young’s modulus for stiffness for PC/ABS is lower than that of PMMA).
Re Claim 6, Bicego et al. discloses the at least one masking zone is made entirely from the second plastic material (Para 0037, 0048).
Re Claim 7, Bicego et al. discloses the at least one masking zone is formed of at least two layers of materials:
- a first layer made from the first plastic material and located on an at least one outer face of the trim panel (see annotated Fig. 1 above), and
- a second layer made from the second material and located on an at least one inner face of the trim panel (see annotated Fig. 1 above).
Re Claim 8, Bicego et al. discloses the first layer is integral with the first plastic material forming the at least one light transmission zone (see annotated Fig. 1 above).
Re Claim 10, Bicego et al. discloses the at least one masking zone extends around an entire circumference of the at least one light transmission zone (see annotated Fig. 1 above; Para 0050).
Re Claim 11, Bicego et al. discloses the trim panel forms a housing (Fig. 1, 40), at least part of the at least one masking zone forms at least one wall of side walls of the housing, and the at least one light transmission zone forms at least part of a bottom of the housing (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 above).
Re Claim 12, Bicego et al. discloses at least part of the at least one masking zone separates two light transmission zones (as seen in the annotated Fig. 1 above).
Re Claim 14, Bicego et al. a trim module for a motor vehicle characterized in that it comprises a trim panel (Fig. 1, 20), wherein the trim panel further comprises:
- at least one light transmission zone (Fig. 1, 110), made of a first plastic material suitable for a light transmission (Para 0037 – PMMA - polymethyl methacrylate), made at least in part of a second plastic material (Para 0037, 0048 - opaque Polycarbonate / Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene mixture, which is also known by the acronym PC/ABS, or of opaque ABS) more flexible than the first plastic material (PC/ABS is more flexible than PMMA).
Re Claim 15, Bicego et al. discloses a front face (Fig. 1, 10) of a motor vehicle comprising a trim panel, wherein the trim panel further comprises:
- at least one light transmission zone (Fig. 1, 110), made of a first plastic material suitable for a light transmission (Para 0037 – PMMA - polymethyl methacrylate),
- at least one masking zone (Fig. 1, 120) adjacent to the at least one light transmission zone and made at least in part of a second plastic material (Para 0037, 0048 - opaque Polycarbonate / Acrylonitrile-butadiene-styrene mixture, which is also known by the acronym PC/ABS, or of opaque ABS) more flexible than the first plastic material (PC/ABS is more flexible than PMMA).
Re Claim 16, Bicego et al. discloses a motor vehicle comprising a trim panel according to claim 1 (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bicego et al. (WO 2019130033 A) in view of Birner et al. (US 20160059798 A1).
Re Claims 3 and 4, Bicego et al. teaches a trim panel for a motor vehicle characterized in that it comprises: - at least one light transmission zone, made of a first plastic material suitable for a light transmission, and - at least one masking zone adjacent to the at least one light transmission zone and made at least in part of a second plastic material more flexible than the first plastic material.
Re Claim 3, Bicego et al. fails to teach the second plastic material is semi-transparent, and re Claim 4, Bicego et al. fails to teach the second plastic material is translucent, wherein a light transmittance of the second plastic material is lower than the light transmittance of the first plastic material.
However, Birner et al., teaches the second plastic material is semi-transparent (Para 0007, covering may be designed in … partially translucent manner). Birner et al., also teaches that second plastic material is translucent, wherein a light transmittance of the second plastic material is lower than the light transmittance of the first plastic material. (Para 0007, covering may be designed in … a completely translucent … manner). Due to the Application not providing specificity or the difference in definition of the terms, “semi-transparent” and “translucent”, the Office is interpreting them as the same.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the masking zone made of the second plastic material disclosed by Bicego et al. with a semi-transparent or translucent material taught by Birner et al. with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would be more visually or optically-appealing and tidy design when adjacent to a transparent material (Para 0003, 0006).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in Claim 13 (as interpreted by the Office) is the fact that the prior art of record, Bicego et al., has no teaching, motivation or suggestion to use materials that would suffice the flexibility range provided by the application.
The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter in Claim 9 is the inclusion of a recess that reduces the thickness of the first layer and a portion of the second layer is arranged in the recess. Such a limitation, in combination with the rest of the limitations of the claims, are not disclosed or suggested by the prior art of record. The closest prior art of record, Bicego et al., do not teach or suggest a recess in the layer as claimed. There is no suggestion or motivation in the prior art to make such a modification to the device of Bicego et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The cited references below all disclose motor vehicle trim panels.
Feid et al. (DE 10335876 B4) discloses a decorative trim panel arrangement that are formed in one piece. Feid et al. mentions various different coating for the housing and the decorative panel (not exclusive to plastic) but does not mention flexibility.
Schieder et al. (US 11577669 B2) discloses a trim panel for the purpose of different functions and made of a “plastic body”. However, Schieder et al. does not disclose a fully visible or clear light transmission zone.
/JASMINE JAMES THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3612
/VIVEK D KOPPIKAR/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3612
June 5, 2026