Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claim(s) 1, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by Xiaofang WO 201483656 A1.
For Claim 1; Xiaofang teaches of a porous separator for a lithium ion secondary battery (pg 1 line 13) which acts as the substrate for a ceramic layer coating on the surface of the separator (pg 2 line 9 through 11), the coating layer having a network structure whose permeability does not compromise the separator (thus being ‘porous’/permeable, pg 3 lines 27-29, pg 4 12-27). And uses coumarin as an additive that is bonded to inorganic particles (page 4 line 8 through 14, page 8 line 11).
For Claim 9; Xiaofang teaches of a lithium-ion battery (an electrochemical device) comprising a positive and negative electrode (cathode and anode respectively), and separator disposed between the two (pg 6, lines 1-4) with the separator fulfilling all the requirements of claim 1, as described in the rejection of claim 1.
For Claim 10; Xiaofang teaches a positive electrode using LiMn2O4 and LiMnO2 as active materials for a battery (pg 15 line 9, 10). While the applicant uses in paragraph [004] of the specifications “cathode” for what could be reasonably identified as the negative electrode and “anode” for what could be identified as the positive electrode based on the applicant referencing the “anode” as “able to provide lithium ions” and from the active materials associated with the terms, for the purposes of interpretation standard use of the terms will be applied and as such Xiaofang’s inclusion of the materials reads on the applicant’s claim.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a) as being anticipated by Xiaofang WO 201483656 A1 as evidence provided by Ohguri, “Detection of OH radicals as the effect of Pt particles in the membrane of polymer electrolyte fuel cells”.
As Ohguri elaborates: coumarin can remove radicals, such as those generated from the cycling of a battery, through the 7-position (as shown in the attached figure below). The chemical composition and its properties are considered inseparable [MPEP 2112.01, In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)] and since the coumarin described by the applicant is not disclosed to have any uniqueness and therefore the prior art teaches the applicants limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaofang WO 201483656 A1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the case of prima facie obviousness on the grounds that the inorganic particles in the applicant’s claim may bond only at positions 3-8 (IUPAC numbering) of a coumarin molecule. This is a limited number of possibilities, so one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to bond the particle at no.4 choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
For Claim 8; Xiaofang teaches a polymer substrate to be used as a separator with a thickness of 10-40 μm (page 11 line 8-9) that is coated with a ceramic layer coating on the surface of the separator on both sides (pg 2 line 9 through 11, 25 through 27). As the applicant’s claimed range overlaps with that of the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exist [In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)]
Claims 4 through 6 are rejected by Xiaofang WO 201483656 A1 in further view of Ohashi JP2013254634A
For Claim 4; Xiaofang teaches an electrochemical device in a battery comprising a porous separator as a porous polymer substrate (pg 1 line 13), and coating on this substrate that after manufacture is porous (pg 3 lines 27-29, pg 4 12-27). This coating layer includes a polymer binder in the UV resin, coumarin being used as an additive in this resin, and the resin binder being chemically bound to inorganic particles to modify the surface of the inorganic particles (pg 2 line 9 through 11, page 4 line 8 through 14, page 8 line 11). Xiaofang does not teach any functional groups attached to the coumarin to adsorb metal ions that may be present in the battery. Ohashi teaches a battery that contains a separator that uses a polymer resin as a binder on a separator. The binder being used has coumarin as an additive to capture radicals produced in the cycle of the battery (Paragraph 11-13). Ohashi teaches adding functional groups on to the coumarin to allow the coumarin to capture metal ions in the battery as it cycles: Ohashi teaches using alkoxy groups, including hydroxyl, aldehyde, carbonyl, ether, and ester groups (paragraph 11, 12) for this purpose. From the applicant’s own disclosure of these functional groups being capable of capturing ions in the battery cycling process through adsorption (paragraphs 0055-57) the selection of functional groups would inherently be able to also adsorb transition metal ions during the charging and discharging process and thus teaches the claim.
For Claim 5; Ohashi teaches of the functional groups being substituted on the coumarin on all available positions, including position 3 (paragraphs 11-13).
Regarding Claim 6, Xiaofang teaches using additives (UV curing resin), such as coumarin, chemically bonded to inorganic particles (page 4 line 8 through 14, page 8 line 11) applied to the separator. Xiaofang teaches these additives in a weight percent range relative to the inorganic particles of 5% to 50% (UV Curing resin pg 3 lines 2 & 3, Embodiments of device page 18-26, page 13 line 4-6). As such, the applicant’s claimed ranges overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists [Precedent set by In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaofang in further view of Lee CN 102770984 A (translation attached).
Xiaofang teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth above, but does not teach the weight ratio for the inorganic particles to the polymer binder being 95:5 to 70:30. Lee teaches a battery that has a separator/clapboard (paragraph 3) that is covered with a binder to affix inorganic particles to it. The binder has a ratio of inorganic particles to the binder by weight in a range between 99:1 and 50:50 (claim 17). Lee teaches that if the concentration of inorganic particles is less than 50:50 with respect to the binder then the aperture and porosity of the coating on the separator will be compromised, Lee also teaches that is the concentration of the inorganic particles are too high (above 99:1) then the quality of the coating will be compromised. As the range taught in the prior art incorporates the applicant’s range, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the weight of the compound based on the total weight of the inorganic particles of Xiaofang by Lee’s teachings in order to obtain the ideal porosity and quality for the coating of the separator as taught by Lee.
Conclusion
/A.J.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722