DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s first argument, with regards to the 103 rejections of independent claims 1 and 7, (see Amendment, Page 8, third paragraph) have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant’s second argument, (see Amendment, Page 9, first paragraph), is directed to that “Cherian's disclosure of mapping data to "common object models" to "ensure consistency and reliability between the data used in each subsystem" (Cherian, paragraph [0105]) describes data format standardization, not the distinct operations of data synchronization (aligning data temporally) or data resolution adjustment (adjusting the granularity or sampling rate of data). The as-filed specification describes that "[d]ata pre-processing 602 can execute a data processing task that can involve, but is not limited to, data synchronization, data resolution adjustment, data integrity checking, data communication protocol conversion, and so on." As-Filed Specification, paragraph [0043]. These are distinct data pre-processing operations that are not disclosed in Cherian or Limonta.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Cherian teaches “data synchronization” and “data resolution adjustment”. Examiner submits that Cherian’s disclosure of mapping data to common object models reads on “data synchronization”. Cherian maps data to maintain uniformity and consistency between data sources and data targets, as described in paragraph [0105]. Examiner submits mapping of the data to maintain uniformity and consistency between data sources and data targets reads on “data synchronization”. In addition, Cherian teaches that the regional control module receives and updates status information of each connected local control modules and subsystem controllers. Examiner submits updating the status information, since actions are carried out based on prior state, reads on “data synchronization” as well, as described in at least paragraph [0129] (“FIG. 7 is a flowchart depicting the operational logic of a regional control module. As with the local control module, the regional control module carries out actions based on a prior system state 710. The regional control modules receives information from and updates the status of each connected local control module 720 as well as the network status from SCADA and/or subsystem controllers. Grid measurements within the region of responsibility as well as monitored events are also updated. Armed with the knowledge of the status of the local control modules under supervision, the regional control module requests 740 updates from the enterprise control module including the objective the regional control module should be satisfying.”). It appears that the arguments are attempting to limit the construction of “data synchronization” somehow to a feature that is not being claimed. Applicant is encouraged to recite what Applicant means by “data synchronization” in the claim.
Examiner further submits that Cherian’s disclosure of aggregating data reads on “data resolution adjustment”. Cherian describes the regional control module passing only summary or aggregate information to the enterprise node or parent, as described in paragraph [0100]. Examiner submits that summarizing or aggregating information decreases the resolution of the information, and accordingly, reads on “data resolution adjustment”. It appears that the arguments are attempting to limit the construction of “data resolution adjustment” somehow to a feature that is not being claimed. Applicant is encouraged to recite what Applicant means by “data synchronization” in the claim.
For foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the 103 rejections of the independent claims 1 and 7 are maintained.
Applicant’s argument, with regards to the 103 rejections of claims 4-5 and 10-11, (see Amendment, Page 9, last paragraph that ends in Page 10) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections of the claims 4-5 and 10-11 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument, with regards to the 103 rejections of claim 17, (see Amendment, Page 10, first full paragraph) is directed to that “Sanders supplies data inputs such as electric vehicle charging power but does not teach or suggest synchronizing and resolution-adjusting the heterogeneous system-operation and smart-asset data into the unified output.”
Examiner respectfully submits that in claim 1, Cherian reference teaches “synchronizing and resolution-adjusting the heterogeneous system-operation and smart-asset data into the unified output”, described in at least paragraph [0100] (“According to one embodiment of the present invention non-leaf nodes pass only summary or aggregate information to their parents. Furthermore nodes can have operational restrictions and/or tasks (aka local goals) to take into account of which the parents are not informed. Thus a local control module, acting as a leaf may pass along limited, yet pertinent, information to the regional control mode (intermediate node) which may in-turn pass long further limited or aggregate information to an enterprise node or parent.”), where mapping the data points through the common object models to ensure consistency and summarizing or aggregating the information read on “data synchronization” and “data resolution adjustment,” respectively.
Accordingly, the 103 rejections of the claim 17 is maintained
Applicant’s argument, with regards to the 103 rejections of claim 18, (see Amendment, Page 10, first full paragraph) have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 12, 14-16 and 20 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian et al. (US 2012/0029720 A1) (“Cherian”), in view of LIMONTA et al. (US 2023/0088697 A1) (“Limonta”), further in view of XU et al. (CN 117097766 B) (“Xu”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Cherian teaches:
A system, comprising: (Cherian: [0086] “FIG. 4 is a high level functional block diagram of a distributed energy resource network operating system for power production, demand management, topology management, and DER or asset management according to another embodiment of the present invention. A Distributed Energy Resource Network Operating System (DER-NOS) 410 is interposed between a plurality of management applications and a variety of energy producing resources. According to one embodiment of the present invention, the DER-NOS interfaces with a variety of power producing resources using a gateway or interface (local control module) 445. The gateway 445 is an interface that issues commands in the correct order, sequence and format for a particular device. This interface translates standards commands for different classes of equipment, assets, or DER to the unique commands required by different makes and models of equipment. The interface ensures that as far as the smart grid controls 285 are concerned, each device operates in the same manner from manufacturer to manufacturer. This gateway 445 also runs the lowest layer of the multilayered distributed power grid control system. In this example, the DER-NOS consistently interacts with DER such as photovoltaic cells 440, conventional power generation plants 430, mixed fuel generation capabilities 420, renewable generation resources 415 and the like. It is also capable of managing additional assets such as storage devices or load management systems. The DER-NOS has the ability to manage and control a variety of power producing, storing, and consuming resources utilizing a variety of application tools.”)
a cloud distributed integrated node (DIN) composed of one or more servers; and (Cherian: FIG. 2 and FIG. 5) (Cherian: [0074] “The enterprise control module 275 is operable to manage the interaction of several regional control modules 225 and the power producers under their control.”) (Cherian: [0091] “The DER-NOS 410 is linked to a variety of management applications 580 as previously shown in FIG. 4. Each of the plurality of management applications 580 is linked to the DER-NOS 410 by an OPC server 531. The enterprise control module 530 and the regional control module 520 both include OPC client/servers 535 to aid in the communication between the DER-NOS 410 and the plurality of management applications 580. …”) [The enterprise control module 275, as illustrated in FIG. 2, or 530, as illustrated in FIG. 5, reads on “a cloud distributed integrated node (DIN)”. The OPC servers 531 reads on “one or more servers”.]
a plurality of edge DINs, each of the plurality of edge DINs configured to manage a corresponding region of heterogenous energy sources; (Cherian: [0064] “Associated with each substation 125 is a regional control module 225. The regional control module manages power production, distribution, and consumption using available DER within its region. Also associated with each region are industrial loads 260 that would be representative of large commercial enterprises and residential loads 250. According to the present invention, each regional control module using one or more applications is operable to autonomously manage the power distribution and production within its region. Autonomous operation can also be in island mode where the management of grid frequency and voltage are performed at a fast enough rate to accomplish safe grid operations. The present invention dynamically manages various modes of operation of the DER and grid to carry out these functions in addition to managing the power flows.”) (Cherian: [0093] “According to one embodiment of the present invention, the enterprise control module 530 includes a network topology module 532, controls 533 by which to manage the regional control modules 520 and distributed energy resources, a dynamic configuration change handler 535, a regional control module interface handler 536 and an input/output interface manager 538. Regional control modules 520 each include network topology module 532, controls 533 to manage the distributed energy resources within its region, a dynamic configuration change handler 535, a local control module interface handler 525 and an input/output interface manager 538.”) [The regional control modules 225, as illustrated in FIG. 2, or 520, as illustrated in FIG. 5, read on “a plurality of edge DINs. The distributed energy resources within its region “… to manage a corresponding region of heterogenous energy sources”.]
each of the plurality of edge DINs comprising: a processor, configured to: (Cherian: [0182] “As will be appreciated by one skilled in the relevant art, portions of the present invention can be implemented on a conventional or general-purpose computer system such as a main-frame computer, a personal computer (PC), a laptop computer, a notebook computer, a handheld or pocket computer, embedded computer, and/or a server computer. A typical system comprises a central processing unit(s) (CPU) or processor(s) coupled to a random-access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), a keyboard, a printer, a pointing device, a display or video adapter connected to a display device, a removable (mass) storage device (e.g., floppy disk, CD-ROM, CD-R, CD-RW, DVD, or the like), a fixed (mass) storage device (e.g., hard disk), a communication (COMM) port(s) or interface(s), and a network interface card (MC) or controller (e.g., Ethernet). Although not shown separately, a real-time system clock is included with the system in a conventional manner.”)
intake data across the heterogenous energy sources of the corresponding region; execute data pre-processing including data synchronization, data resolution adjustment, …on the intaken data to produce a unified output for processing by the cloud DIN; and transmit the unified output to the cloud DIN; (Cherian: [0100] “According to one embodiment of the present invention non-leaf nodes pass only summary or aggregate information to their parents. Furthermore nodes can have operational restrictions and/or tasks (aka local goals) to take into account of which the parents are not informed. Thus a local control module, acting as a leaf may pass along limited, yet pertinent, information to the regional control mode (intermediate node) which may in-turn pass long further limited or aggregate information to an enterprise node or parent.”) (Cherian: [0105] “The input/output interface manager 538 provides an interface management system to handle remote communications between the enterprise control module 530 and external systems such as SCADA systems and other enterprise applications. Within the regional control module 520, the input/output interface manager 538 handles remote communications with field devices and systems and subsystems 550 and provides the ability to exchange information and control signals with external devices (distributed energy resources, meters, etc). These input/output interface modules 538, the regional control module interface 536, local control module interface 525, and the asset interface handler 515 enable the system to map external data points, devices, and systems to the common object models used within the system to ensure consistency and reliability between the data used in each subsystem.”) [The local control module along with regional energy sources passing along the pertinent information to the regional control module reads on the regional control module “intake data across the heterogenous energy sources”. Mapping the data points through the common object models to ensure consistency and summarizing or aggregating the information read on “execute pre-processing including data synchronization, data resolution adjustment, … on the intaken data to produce a unified output”. The regional control module passing along the summary or aggregate and consistent information to the enterprise control module or the parent node reads on “transmit … to the cloud DIN”.]
wherein the cloud DIN, in response to receipt of the unified output from one or more of the plurality of edge DINs, is configured to issue a command to regulate the heterogenous energy sources of the corresponding region of the one or more of the plurality of edge DINs. (Cherian: [0111] “Having a global goal in hand, targets for various nodes in the system are established recursively down the hierarchy. Root nodes begin with the global goal, and while keeping track of any local goals, provide for each child a set of targets for observables aggregated by that child. Those observables that are continuous in nature utilize a range of acceptable values while discrete observables can utilize a range or a single value.”) [The enterprise control module or the root node based on input from the regional control modules or the children nodes read on “in response to receipt … from one or more of the plurality of edge DINs”. The target reads on “a command”.]
Cherian does not expressly teach: execute data pre-processing including data synchronization, data resolution adjustment, and data integrity checking on the intaken data to produce a unified output for processing by the cloud DIN; wherein the one or more of the plurality of edge DINs directly issues control signals to the heterogenous energy sources within the corresponding region to control the heterogenous energy sources in response to the command.
Limonta teaches:
execute data pre-processing including data synchronization, data resolution adjustment, and data integrity checking on the intaken data to produce a unified output for processing by the cloud DIN. (Limonta: [0004] “According to an example embodiment, a method is provided, the method comprising: receiving, from an intermediate apparatus, a trusted aggregate data object comprising aggregate data object that comprises aggregate data comprising a respective trusted source data object for one or more data source apparatuses mapped to the intermediate apparatus and an intermediate apparatus quote that is descriptive of one or more aspects of a configuration of the intermediate apparatus upon production of the aggregate data, and an intermediate apparatus signature comprising a digital signature derived based on the aggregate data object using a first key assigned to the intermediate apparatus; and verifying, based at least in part on information received in the trusted aggregate data object, integrity of data included in the trusted aggregate data object and integrity of the intermediate apparatus.”) [Verifying reads on “checking”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cherian and Limonta before them, to modify aggregating of information at a node to send to its parent or enterprise node, to incorporate ensuring the integrity of data in addition to ensuring that the data is from trusted sources.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for data being received from the trusted sources and that the data has not been tampered with for security of large amounts of data communicated throughout multiple systems. (Limonta: [0003])
Cherian and Limonta do not expressly teach: wherein the one or more of the plurality of edge DINs directly issues control signals to the heterogenous energy sources within the corresponding region to control the heterogenous energy sources in response to the command.
Xu teaches:
wherein the one or more of the plurality of edge DINs directly issues control signals to the heterogenous energy sources within the corresponding region to control the heterogenous energy sources in response to the command. (Xu: Abstract “The application provides a data monitoring method and a data monitoring device of an energy storage system, which are applied to the data monitoring system. The method comprises the following steps: the cloud platform initiates a message queue telemetry transmission MQTT connection request to an edge device, and the edge device and an energy storage device keep in communication so as to establish MQTT connection with the energy storage system; the cloud platform confirms to establish the MQTT connection under the condition of receiving connection confirmation information from the edge equipment; the cloud platform sends a subscription request to the edge equipment, wherein the subscription request is used for acquiring energy storage data of the energy storage equipment; the cloud platform receives energy storage data sent by edge equipment, wherein the energy storage data are acquired by the edge equipment from the energy storage equipment.”) (Xu: Page 7, paragraph 9 “The cloud platform may send the above-mentioned control instruction for the energy storage device to an edge device in the energy storage system through the MQTT connection, where the edge device may send the control instruction to the energy storage device in the energy storage system when receiving the control instruction, so that the energy storage device may execute a control operation corresponding to the control instruction.”) [The control instruction from the cloud platform to the edge devices reads on “the command”, and the control instructions from the edge devices to the energy storage devices reads on “control signals”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cherian, Limonta and Xu before them, to modify optimizing local energy storage control using cloud service or enterprise system, to incorporate the edge device between the local system and the cloud service or enterprise system.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for the edge device to continue operating the energy storage device, and to continue processing data when communication between the systems is lost. (Xu: Page 11, paragraph 7 “Optionally, the edge device in the energy storage system of the present application may be a data processing device in addition to being a relay device for data transmission (see the description in the above embodiment in detail). The cloud platform can also receive historical data from the edge equipment and update currently stored energy storage data based on the historical data; the historical data comprises new energy storage data and energy storage processing data of the energy storage equipment in the energy storage system. The historical data can be received from the edge device under the condition that the cloud platform and the edge device restore the MQTT connection, the energy storage processing data are generated when the energy storage device executes operation corresponding to a management and control instruction from the edge device before the cloud platform and the edge device restore the MQTT connection, and the new energy storage data are generated or obtained by the energy storage device before the cloud platform and the edge device restore the MQTT connection. In other words, the edge device can temporarily process the energy storage data under the condition of the MQTT connection fault, so as to realize temporary management and control of the energy storage device. Or, the edge device can also execute processing on preset data or execute data processing operation in a preset time period and control operation on the energy storage device, so as to save the time for transmitting data and reduce the data amount required to be processed by the cloud platform.”)
Regarding claim 2, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian further teaches:
a plurality of field distributed integrated nodes (DINs), each of the plurality of field DINs connected to a corresponding one of the heterogenous energy sources and configured to provide the data to a corresponding one of the plurality of edge DINs. (Cherian: FIG. 2) (Cherian: [0105] “The input/output interface manager 538 provides an interface management system to handle remote communications between the enterprise control module 530 and external systems such as SCADA systems and other enterprise applications. Within the regional control module 520, the input/output interface manager 538 handles remote communications with field devices and systems and subsystems 550 and provides the ability to exchange information and control signals with external devices (distributed energy resources, meters, etc). These input/output interface modules 538, the regional control module interface 536, local control module interface 525, and the asset interface handler 515 enable the system to map external data points, devices, and systems to the common object models used within the system to ensure consistency and reliability between the data used in each subsystem.”) [The field devices and systems and subsystems 550 that provide the ability to exchange information and control signals with the distributed energy resources reads on “a plurality of field DINs”. The corresponding regional control module with the input;output interface manager 538 reads on “a corresponding one of the plurality of edge DINs”.]
Regarding claim 3, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian further teaches:
a plurality of aggregator distributed integrated nodes (DINs), each of the aggregator DINs configured to distribute an aggregated control reference to the heterogeneous energy sources for different control objectives. (Cherian: [0112]-[0113] as discussed in claim 1) (Cherian: [0094] “Each local control module 510 includes controls 533 by which to manage distributed energy resources using the asset interface handler 515. The local control module 510 also includes and OPC client 534, a dynamic configuration change handler 535 and an input/output interface manager 538. The local control module 510 interacts directly with the power resources (also known herein as Distributed Energy Resources or DERs) 560 and measurement systems through a custom interface 565. The regional control module 520 interacts with field systems 550 and/or subsystem controllers/applications through its custom interface 555. These three layers of the DER-NOS 410 work together with management applications 580 to dynamically manage and control a distributed power grid.”) [The local control module 510 connected to the DERs read on “a plurality of aggregator DINs”.]
Regarding claim 6, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian further teaches:
wherein the command comprises a reactive power for a photovoltaic panel associated with the one or more of the plurality of edge DINs, wherein the one or more of the plurality of edge DINs adjust the reactive power of the photovoltaic panel in response to the command. (Cherian: [0073] “According to one embodiment of the present invention, the enterprise control module 275 includes the plurality of applications to aid in the management of a distributed power grid. These applications can include, inter alia, data visualization 280, smart grid controls 285 and environment simulation 290. The smart grid controls 285 include capabilities such as active and reactive power flow control, voltage and Voltage Amperage Reactive (VAR) control on feeders or grid interconnection points, intermittency management using various assets to counteract the variability of power generation from renewable generation sources such as wind turbines and solar panels, and optimal dispatch of generation, storage, or controllable loads to meet operations, cost, or emissions criteria.”) (Cherian: [0074] The enterprise control module 275 is operable to manage the interaction of several regional control modules 225 and the power producers under their control. As previously described, each regional control module 225 using applicable applications can dynamically manage the power consumers and power producers within its control. As demand (active power or reactive power) within a certain region managed by a regional control module 225 increases or decreases algorithms within the regional control module act to compensate for power production within its particular region. However, it is recognized by the present invention that power consumer demand in one region may exceed the ability for that region's power producers. The presence of the enterprise control module 275 and its ability to coordinate operations of regional control modules 225 enables this type of situation to be dynamically managed by enabling production from a regional control module to serve another that does not have sufficient local resources or for any other reason. One feature of the present invention is that the enterprise control module 275 using a DER application is tasked to manage and control requests for additional power as well as the availability of excess power producing capacity. In essence, the enterprise control module provides system-level coordination, the regional control module provides regional coordination, and the local control module provides fast control of assets thereby providing smooth control over a large number of assets over different time scales and different geographic reach to meet specific system goals. This ability of the system to coordinate the operation of a dynamic and variable portfolio of DER across a dynamic and variable distribution network to keep the system within its permitted operating limits is a distinguishing feature of this invention.”)
Regarding independent claim 7:
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 8, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 7.
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 2 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 9, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 7.
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 3 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 12, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 7.
The claim recites similar limitations as corresponding claim 6 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 14, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of edge DINs includes a data publisher/subscriber module configured to publish and receive data through a distributed publish/subscribe mechanism. (Cherian: [0054] “OPC ((Object Linking and Embedding) for Process Control) is a software interface standard that allows Windows programs to communicate with industrial hardware devices. OPC is implemented in server/client pairs. The OPC server is a software program that converts the hardware communication protocol used by a Programmable Logic Controller (PLC) (a small industrial computer that controls one or more hardware devices) into the OPC protocol. The OPC client software is any program that needs to connect to the hardware. The OPC client uses the OPC server to get data from or send commands to the hardware. Many interface standards and protocols are available for exchanging information between applications or systems that the present invention utilizes for communicating with various DER, applications, and systems.”)
Regarding claim 15, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Xu further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of edge DINs includes a database configured to serve as a historical data buffer. (Xu: Page 11, paragraph 7 “Optionally, the edge device in the energy storage system of the present application may be a data processing device in addition to being a relay device for data transmission (see the description in the above embodiment in detail). The cloud platform can also receive historical data from the edge equipment and update currently stored energy storage data based on the historical data; the historical data comprises new energy storage data and energy storage processing data of the energy storage equipment in the energy storage system. The historical data can be received from the edge device under the condition that the cloud platform and the edge device restore the MQTT connection, the energy storage processing data are generated when the energy storage device executes operation corresponding to a management and control instruction from the edge device before the cloud platform and the edge device restore the MQTT connection, and the new energy storage data are generated or obtained by the energy storage device before the cloud platform and the edge device restore the MQTT connection. In other words, the edge device can temporarily process the energy storage data under the condition of the MQTT connection fault, so as to realize temporary management and control of the energy storage device. Or, the edge device can also execute processing on preset data or execute data processing operation in a preset time period and control operation on the energy storage device, so as to save the time for transmitting data and reduce the data amount required to be processed by the cloud platform.”)
The motivation to combine Cherian Limonta and Xu as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 16, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of edge DINs includes an edge functional library, and wherein the cloud DIN includes a central functional library. (Cherian: [0024] The present invention further possesses the ability to automatically respond to changes in network structure, asset availability, power generation levels, or load conditions without requiring any reprogramming According to one embodiment of the present invention the enterprise control modules as well as the regional and local control modules possess knowledge of known components of the distributed energy grid. As new components of a known class are connected to the grid, for example an additional wind turbine, the various layers of the present invention immediately recognized it as a wind turbine possessing particular characteristics and capabilities. Knowing these characteristics and capabilities the present invention can issue commands seamlessly with respect to the production of power and its distribution. Upon a command being issued the regional and local control modules can provide to each component the correct information such that it will be understood by that device and perform as expected. The present invention also possesses the capability to recognize components that are foreign to the distributed grid. Upon an unrecognized device being coupled to the grid, the local control module initiates an inquiry to identify that devices characteristics, properties, and capabilities. That information is added to the repository of information and is thereafter used to facilitate communication with and control of the device. This process may be manual or automatic. This new information immediately propagates to appropriate system modules and monitoring, control, network, and simulation activities can take advantage of the capabilities offered by the new device automatically.”) (Cherian: [0192] “As will be understood by those familiar with the art, portions of the invention can be embodied in other specific forms without departing from the spirit or essential characteristics thereof. Likewise, the particular naming and division of the modules, managers, functions, systems, engines, layers, features, attributes, methodologies, and other aspects are not mandatory or significant, and the mechanisms that implement the invention or its features may have different names, divisions, and/or formats. Furthermore, as will be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the relevant art, the modules, managers, functions, systems, engines, layers, features, attributes, methodologies, and other aspects of the invention can be implemented as software, hardware, firmware, or any combination of the three. Of course, wherever a component or portion of the present invention is implemented as software, the component can be implemented as a script, as a standalone program, as part of a larger program, as a plurality of separate scripts, and/or programs, as a statically or dynamically linked library, as a kernel loadable module, as a device driver, and/or in every and any other way known now or in the future to those of skill in the art of computer programming. …”)
Regarding claim 20, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian further teaches:
wherein each of the plurality of edge DINs serves as an edge gateway that directly interacts with one or a cluster of grid assets downstream and connects with other edge DINs for upstreaming information or data flow. (Cherian: [0100] and [0105] as discussed in claim 1) [The local control module or the leaf node reads on “an edge gateway”, the parent node of the local control module or the intermediate nodes read on “other edge DINs”.]
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian, in view of Limonta, further in view of Xu, further in view of Wong et al. (US 2020/0379494 A1) (“Wong”).
Regarding claim 13, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian Limonta and Xu do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 13.
Wong teaches:
wherein the data pre-processing further includes data communication protocol conversion. (Wong: [0041] “Each IN consists of a hardware and software platform, with data/information processing (e.g. intelligence, decision making) and communications (e.g. networking, protocol conversion, local and wide area) capabilities. INs are integrated or embedded with grid components such as DER controllers, sensors, metering collectors, switch controllers, and substation intelligent electronic devices (IED). An IN can also be a computing device at the utility NOC carrying out GOS functions at the utility site.”) (Wong: [0058] With continued reference to FIG. 2, electric power system components 202 represent the components 103-110 discussed above with reference to FIG. 1. Other grid operating system 203 is a higher, lower or adjacent tier GOS that is connected to the Communication Network/Field Messaging Bus. Reference number 204 shows bi-directional data flow between Utility Enterprise application and the GOS via a common Communication Network. The communication and data handling component 205 manages all messaging and interfaces between the GOS 101, Utility 111, and EPS components 103-110. Protocol translation component 206 provides conversion of communication messages from one protocol to another. …”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cherian, Limonta and Wong before them, to modify the distributed power management system with data communication interface management, to incorporate conversion of data from one protocol to another.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for data communication between different protocols throughout the interconnected systems. (Wong: [0058])
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cherian, in view of Limonta, further in view of Xu, further in view of SANDERS et al. (US 2017/0005515 A1) (“Sanders”).
Regarding claim 17, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian further teaches:
wherein the data intaken across the heterogenous energy sources includes system operation status comprising line power flow and node voltages, and smart asset status … , and wherein the data synchronization and the data resolution adjustment are performed on the intaken system operation status and smart asset status to produce the unified output. (Cherian: [0100] as discussed in claim 1) (Cherian: [0101] “According to another embodiment of the present invention a global or overall operational goal of the control system is a state of control of assets that the overall system is attempting to achieve. The proximity of the system to achieving that goal can be measured by a finite number of observables and each observable can be affected by control of one or more of the system's assets. For the purpose of the present invention an observable is a quantifiable property, i.e. something that can be measured. For example power output, current, or voltage are examples of an observable property. With respect to a load balancing situation, two observable quantities could be active and reactive power output. How close the system is able to achieve a particular goal or desired result can be measured by active and reactive power output at points of interconnection with an external grid. …”) (Cherian: [0128] “The local control module operates by carrying out operations based on a prior system state 610. From that state the local control module updates 620 the status of each connected DER as well as local grid conditions and other local constraints on the system. …”)
Cherian Limonta and Xu do not expressly teach: smart asset status comprising at least one of photovoltaic reactive power injection, photovoltaic active power injection, battery active power injection, or electric vehicle charging power.
Sanders teaches:
smart asset status comprising at least one of photovoltaic reactive power injection, photovoltaic active power injection, battery active power injection, or electric vehicle charging power. (Sanders: Abstract “A software platform in communication with networked distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus, configured to deliver various specific applications related to offset demand monitoring, methods of virtual power plant and orchestration, load shaping services, methods of reducing demand at aggregated level, prioritizing computer programs related to virtual energy pool, energy cloud controllers methods, charge discharge orchestration plans of electric vehicles, distributed energy resources, machine learning predictive algorithms, value optimizing algorithms, autonomous sensing event awareness, mode selection methods, capacity reservation monitoring, virtual power plant methods, advanced DER-ES apparatus features, energy management system for governing resources and methods, aggregated energy cloud methods, load shaping methods, marginal cost cycle-life degradation, load shaping API, forward event schedule, on demand request, and load service state request methods. Various rules, constraints of predictive algorithms for signal inputs to determine incremental storage cycles, cycle life degradation marginal cost, iterative and forward event schedule development, and load control.”) (Sanders” [0035] The services provided by the site management system and the site gateway enable the ecosystem to maximize the value of each unit of energy dispatched from each site gateway by means of intelligent decision-making at the local (site) level. Unlike conventional centrally-controlled systems, the site management system can delegate many of these intelligent decision-making responsibilities and related site-specific policy implementations to the site gateway. The site gateway can use its own local resources to implement many of the decisions, services, and policies for managing energy consumption and generation both locally and in the ecosystem based upon at least the following inputs: the current cost of energy; the efficiency of internal components (the inverter, the charge controller, the battery, etc.); maximum and minimum charge and discharge rates; energy reserved by other applications; available battery capacity; the marginal cost of each battery cycle, which can change over time and is a complex calculation; load and generation profiles unique to each site; energy demand tariffs at the site; current and forecast weather conditions; historical analysis, predictive modeling, and real-time networked awareness of the entire system; retail and wholesale prices for energy; values for delivery of specific applications such as Demand Response, Regulation, or Power Quality (Volt/VAR); flexible integration of data from multiple channels: direct metered sensor input, utilities and third party systems, integrations with partner applications; and data for capacity pooling, scheduling, and bidding to automate the market interfaces for the site management system services.”) (Sanders: [0050] “Analytics. Each site resident system can serve as a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) or sensing node for its site location. Discrete and aggregated data delivered to utilities and grid operators can be used to aSISt with optimizing the operation of the grid to minimize power losses and maximize efficiency and quality across such areas as outage management, system modeling, power quality optimization, advanced distribution management, and other real-time applications. Data delivered to energy consumers show system performance, efficiency, and energy savings.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cherian, Limonta, Xu and Sanders before them, to modify the status of each connected DER, to incorporate status, such as, the electric vehicle battery charging power.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for managing charging and discharging decisions for the vehicle battery. (Sanders: [0035])
Regarding claim 18, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Xu further teaches:
wherein the cloud DIN is configured to perform … data analysis on the unified output received from the plurality of edge DINs to generate the command for regulating the heterogenous energy sources of the corresponding region. (Xu: Abstract and Page 7, paragraph 9 as discussed in claim 1)
The motivation to combine Cherian Limonta and Xu as described in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Cherian Limonta and Xu do not expressly teach: wherein the cloud DIN is configured to perform AI/ML-based data analysis on the unified output received from the plurality of edge DINs …
Sanders teaches:
wherein the cloud DIN is configured to perform AI/ML-based data analysis on the unified output received from the plurality of edge DINs … (Sanders: [0030] “Systems and methods for distributed energy services management are also disclosed. An edge gateway system includes a programming platform or environment for receiving command and control data and configuration data from a variety of sources and for dynamically controlling actions and state in a plurality of physical devices connected to the platform via a data communications interface. In a particular embodiment, the data communications interface can be implemented as a Controller Area Network (CAN) bus, Web services, ModBus, or other conventional data communications interface and/or protocol.”) (Sanders: [0217] “In certain aspects, the energy cloud method is provided wherein at least one of the one or more predictive analytic algorithms includes a machine learning, feedback loop.”) (Sanders: [0218] “In an embodiment, a method in an energy management system comprises steps for providing real-time tracking of one or more values of at least one or more of one or more distributed energy resources or one or more energy storage objects; responding to pricing, demand, and ancillary services signals to produce one or more target outputs of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage (DER-ES) apparatus, each of the apparatus having an inverter-controller, storage appliance, and gateway controller housed in a common enclosure, that together each function as a site integration system and when networked together form an energy network; … pushing decision-making to intelligent edge devices which can optimize performance based on real-time local conditions of the one or more distributed resources and one or more energy storage objects associated with the one or more networked DER-ES apparatus; providing detailed data and analytics to a demand management system (DMS), grid control system (GCS) and associated systems; and distributing resource configuration, upgrades, monitoring, management, and support to a network of distributed resources, energy storage objects and electric vehicle resources.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cherian, Limonta, Xu and Sanders before them, to modify determining targets for the nodes to execute control, to incorporate using the machine learning based data analysis.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for predictive analytics to control the distributed energy resources based on a large amount of data inputs. (Sanders: [217]-[218])
Regarding claim 19, Cherian Limonta and Xu teach all the claimed features of claim 1. Cherian Limonta and Xu do not expressly teach the recitations of claim 19.
Sanders teaches:
wherein the cloud DIN is configured to perform grid voltage regulation through at least one of model-based optimization or a data-driven AI-based approach to generate the command. (Sanders: [0381] “In an embodiment as shown in various aspects in FIGS. 4A-4I for providing virtual power plant (VPP) orchestration in a network of one or more distributed energy resource energy storage apparatus 04000, methods include steps for orchestrating one or more distributed energy resources and one or more energy storage objects each associated with an integrated device apparatus that together behave as a single energy entity when programmed and controlled by one or more common elements of one or more energy management software applications 04002. …”) (Sanders: [0387] “… a network of one or more aggregated apparatus acting as a fleet wherein the network of one or more aggregated apparatus automatically provide orchestrated voltage control on a specified feeder or a specified circuit in response to one or more commands 07018.”) (Sanders: [0405] “In another configuration of the orchestrated VPP of the previous paragraph and continuing with FIGS. 9A and 9B, the one or more rule sets to machine learn one or more features of one or more user sites comprises a learning element including one or more input references from a related knowledge base coupled to a data repository to produce an actual output element, an expected output element from a standard input from the orchestrated virtual power plant, and a comparator module to calculate an error equaling the differences between the actual output element and the expected output element and wherein the orchestrated virtual power plant modifies one or more of the rule sets to automatically adapt via an artificial intelligence component, one or more features of the one or more user sites 09040.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Cherian, Limonta, Xu and Sanders before them, to modify determining targets for the nodes to execute control of the DERs, to incorporate using the orchestrated voltage control using the artificial intelligence model.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would allow for modifying the rules to automatically adapt the control of the DERs based on learning from a repository of knowledge base via the artificial intelligence model. (Sanders: [0381], [0387] and [0405])
Allowable Subject Matter
Each of claims 4-5 and 10-11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL W CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116