Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/30/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 12,047,592 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03/30/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 11,843,793 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments filed 03/30/2026
The applicant’s arguments regarding the terminal disclaimer for US Patent No. 11,843,793 and US Patent No. 12,047,592 are persuasive.
The applicant did not file a terminal disclaimer for Patent No. 11,825,106 and Patent No. 11,184,628. Therefore the double patenting rejection still stands for these patents.
The applicant’s arguments on page 8 regarding the previous 112 are not persuasive as all the applicant is doing is replacing “N” or “M” with a first number and second number in the context of the claims only adds more 112 issues which are addressed below.
On page 9-11 the applicant argues, “As amended, claims 21 and 31 recite a compressed texture block that includes a first subset and a second subset, where the first subset has a first set of color endpoints and the second subset has a second set of color endpoints different than the first set of color endpoints. Lu does not teach or suggest these features.
Lu teaches several compression schemes: DXT1, DXT2, DXT3, DXT4, and DXT5.
Regarding DXT1, a compressed block does not include two sets of color endpoints. Instead, Lu describes compressed blocks that include pixels whose colors can be selected from four color candidates (Lu, paragraph [0008]). These color candidates include colors CO and Cl ("main colors") and colors 2 and 3. According to the formulas of paragraphs [0009] and [0010], both interpolated values between colors CO and Cl, or one is such an interpolated value and C3 is transparent. However, each block only includes one set of "endpoints" ("main colors") CO and Cl. Thus, no block in DXT1 includes both a first subset and a second subset, each with different corresponding color endpoints.
Paragraph [0013] explains how DXT3 differs from DXT1. In particular, paragraph [0013] states that DXT3 uses an alpha bitmap for each block to produce more complex alpha information. However, there is no discussion that two different sets of color endpoints are present within a single compressed block.
Paragraph [0015] explains the DXT5 encoding. In particular, in DXT5, alpha encoding operates on a principle similar to the linear fitting used for color blocks. Each pixel's alpha index chooses from eight candidate alpha values: alpha_0 through alpha_7, which are derived from endpoint values defined by A0 and Al. Paragraphs [0016] and [0017] explain how interpolation occurs. There is no mention of a second set of color endpoints different than a first set of color endpoints. Finally, paragraph [0019] explains that DXT2 and DXT4 are similar to DXT3 and DXT5, respectively, with the difference that the pixel values are multiplied by the corresponding color values before compression. Again, there is no mention that single color blocks include two subsets, each having its own set of color endpoints as recited in claims 21 and 31.
For the foregoing reasons, Applicant submits that the cited references do not teach each and every feature of claims 21 and 31. Thus, Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejections of claims 21 and 31 and all claims dependent thereon.” To which the examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner notes, all of the claim limitations that the applicant argues previously and currently has 112 issues. Thus the response is a best attempt while not fully understanding the claim language due to the indefiniteness.
See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶48, “The disclosure sets forth a new strategy for compressing texture information. By way of overview, the strategy involves parsing S3TC-compressed blocks of information into the individual components of the blocks (main color information, color index information, main alpha information, and alpha index information), and then further compressing the individual components using different respective coding techniques, such as different respective variable length coding (VLC) techniques. This operation produces further-compressed texture information, which is referred to as modified texture compressed (MCT) information herein. The MCT texture information can be stored in a storage medium and then on-line retrieved from the storage medium when needed. Upon retrieval, the MCT texture information can be fast-decoded back into S3TC-compressed blocks of information. The S3TC texture information can then be directly consumed by a graphics application, such as a game application, simulation application, and so on. Or the S3TC texture information can be converted to raw texture information for use by the graphics application.” See ¶5, Fig. 1-3. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more. The examiner notes thus Lu teaches two sets of color endpoints. Rather, what is or isn’t an endpoint isn’t limited by the claim.
Therefore the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21- 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites “a first number of texels” but it is not clear exactly what a first number of texels are. Can “a first number” be 1, or can a first number be a 0, an unreal number. For the sake of applying or considering art, “a first number texels’ will be interpreted as “a first number texels wherein the first number is an integer that is at least 1 or more”.
Claim 21 recites “the first number of index values” but it is not clear exactly what the first number of index values are. Can “the first number” be 1, or can the first number be a 0, or an unreal number? The examiner additionally notes claiming “the first number” provides additional ambiguity as a first number of index values has not been introduced and the first number could be referencing the previous “a first number” for texels or referencing something else altogether. For the sake of applying or considering art, “the first number of index values” will be interpreted as “a first number of index values wherein the first number of index values is an integer that is at least 1 or more and is not a first number of texels”.
Claim 21 recites “a second number of texels” but it is not clear exactly what “a second number of texels is. Can “a second number” be 1, or can “a second number” be a 0, an unreal number or “a first number of texels”? For the sake of applying or considering art, “a second number of texels’ will be interpreted as “a second number of texels wherein the second number of texels is an integer that is at least 1 or more and is not a first number of texels”.
Claim 22 recites “a second number of index values” but it is not clear exactly what “a second number of” index values are. Can “a second number of index values” be 1, or can a second number be a 0, an unreal number or a first number? For the sake of applying or considering art, “a second number of index values” will be interpreted as “a second number of index values wherein the second number of index values is an integer that is at least 1 or more and is not a first number of index values”.
The examiner notes dependent claims are considered to be indefinite due to depending upon indefinite claims.
Claim 31-40 are also indefinite under similar rationale as claims 21-30.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 21-23, 26, 28, 29, 31-33, 36, 38 and 39 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 20080002896 A1)
Regarding claim 21, Lu teaches a method for performing texture decompression comprising (See abstract, “A technique is described for compressing textures for use in a graphics application, such as a 3D game application. The technique includes parsing first-compressed texture information (e.g., S3TC texture information) into respective components of the first-compressed texture information (such as main color information, color index information, main alpha information, and alpha index information). The technique then further compresses the respective components to yield second-compressed texture information (referred to as modified compressed texture information or MCT texture information). The MCT texture information can be stored and then decoded to reconstruct the original S3TC texture information for use in the graphics application.” A technique is a method. Decoding is decompression.):
receiving a compressed texture block, wherein the compressed texture block includes information defining two or more subsets of the compressed texture block, wherein the two or more subsets include (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶48, “The disclosure sets forth a new strategy for compressing texture information. By way of overview, the strategy involves parsing S3TC-compressed blocks of information into the individual components of the blocks (main color information, color index information, main alpha information, and alpha index information), and then further compressing the individual components using different respective coding techniques, such as different respective variable length coding (VLC) techniques. This operation produces further-compressed texture information, which is referred to as modified texture compressed (MCT) information herein. The MCT texture information can be stored in a storage medium and then on-line retrieved from the storage medium when needed. Upon retrieval, the MCT texture information can be fast-decoded back into S3TC-compressed blocks of information. The S3TC texture information can then be directly consumed by a graphics application, such as a game application, simulation application, and so on. Or the S3TC texture information can be converted to raw texture information for use by the graphics application.” See ¶5, Fig. 1-3. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.):
at least a first subset representing a first number of texels and having a first set of color endpoints and the first number of index values, each of the first number of index values associated with a respective texel of the first number texels (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶20, textures are texels. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.); and
a second subset representing a second number of texels and having a second set of color endpoints different than the first set of color endpoints (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶20, textures are texels. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.);
but doesn’t explicitly disclose: decompressing each of the two or more subsets to form texels by interpolating between the first set of color endpoints based on the first set of color endpoints and a respective index value associated with each of the first number of texels.
Lu teaches decompressing each of the two or more subsets to form texels by interpolating between the first set of color endpoints based on the first set of color endpoints and a respective index value associated with each of the first number of texels (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lu in view of Lu as it is well known to carry out inverse steps, as you would need the steps required in the initial compression step to carry out the decompression, which would be a predicable step for one of ordinary skill to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 22, Lu teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the second subset has a second number of index values, each of the second number of M index values associated with a respective texel of the second number of texels (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶20, textures are texels. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.).
Regarding claim 23, Lu teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the decompressing further includes interpolating between the second set of color endpoints based on the second set of color endpoints and a respective index value associated with each of the second number of texels ((See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶20, textures are texels. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more. The if not more can be other values such as M.)).
Regarding claim 26, Lu teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the two or more subsets have different sizes (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶48, “The disclosure sets forth a new strategy for compressing texture information. By way of overview, the strategy involves parsing S3TC-compressed blocks of information into the individual components of the blocks (main color information, color index information, main alpha information, and alpha index information), and then further compressing the individual components using different respective coding techniques, such as different respective variable length coding (VLC) techniques. This operation produces further-compressed texture information, which is referred to as modified texture compressed (MCT) information herein. The MCT texture information can be stored in a storage medium and then on-line retrieved from the storage medium when needed. Upon retrieval, the MCT texture information can be fast-decoded back into S3TC-compressed blocks of information. The S3TC texture information can then be directly consumed by a graphics application, such as a game application, simulation application, and so on. Or the S3TC texture information can be converted to raw texture information for use by the graphics application.” See ¶5, Fig. 1-3. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more. When you compare between Fig. 1-3 it shows different blocks having different subsets).
Regarding claim 28, Lu teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the interpolating includes interpolating between the first set of color endpoints using each of the first number of index values to determine a color for each of the first number of texels (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶20, textures are texels. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.).
Regarding claim 29, Lu teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the interpolating includes interpolating between the second set of color endpoints using each of the second number of index values to determine a color for each of the second number of texels (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶48, “The disclosure sets forth a new strategy for compressing texture information. By way of overview, the strategy involves parsing S3TC-compressed blocks of information into the individual components of the blocks (main color information, color index information, main alpha information, and alpha index information), and then further compressing the individual components using different respective coding techniques, such as different respective variable length coding (VLC) techniques. This operation produces further-compressed texture information, which is referred to as modified texture compressed (MCT) information herein. The MCT texture information can be stored in a storage medium and then on-line retrieved from the storage medium when needed. Upon retrieval, the MCT texture information can be fast-decoded back into S3TC-compressed blocks of information. The S3TC texture information can then be directly consumed by a graphics application, such as a game application, simulation application, and so on. Or the S3TC texture information can be converted to raw texture information for use by the graphics application.” See ¶5, Fig. 1-3. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.).
Regarding claim 31, Lu teaches a graphics processing system comprising (¶69, “This is because some graphics processing units (GPUs) can directly process texture information in the S3TC format. FIG. 4 represents this processing path with a solid line that connects the X-Decoder 410 to the texture destination 414.” ¶72, “FIG. 5 shows a procedure 500 which represents an overview of the operation of the system 400 of FIG. 4. As the functionality of the system 400 has already been described, the discussion for FIG. 5 will serve primarily as summary and review.”):
a graphics processor unit (¶69) including at least one rendering pipeline (See Fig. 4, illustrates a pipeline, this is not the only figure that illustrates a pipeline. ¶63-67 illustrate pipeline of Fig. 4. Also see ¶20); and
a memory adapted to store a compressed texture block (See Fig. 4, ¶63-67. ¶67 discusses storage of the compressed block in a data store/storage),
wherein the graphics processor unit is adapted to (¶69):
receive the compressed texture block, includes information defining two or more subsets of the compressed texture block, wherein the two or more subsets include (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶48, “The disclosure sets forth a new strategy for compressing texture information. By way of overview, the strategy involves parsing S3TC-compressed blocks of information into the individual components of the blocks (main color information, color index information, main alpha information, and alpha index information), and then further compressing the individual components using different respective coding techniques, such as different respective variable length coding (VLC) techniques. This operation produces further-compressed texture information, which is referred to as modified texture compressed (MCT) information herein. The MCT texture information can be stored in a storage medium and then on-line retrieved from the storage medium when needed. Upon retrieval, the MCT texture information can be fast-decoded back into S3TC-compressed blocks of information. The S3TC texture information can then be directly consumed by a graphics application, such as a game application, simulation application, and so on. Or the S3TC texture information can be converted to raw texture information for use by the graphics application.” See ¶5, Fig. 1-3. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.):
at least a first subset representing a first number of texels and having a first set of color endpoints and N index values, each of the first number of index values associated with a respective texel of the first number of texels (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” ¶20, textures are texels. See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3. The block(s) in Fig. 1-3 show subsets at least 16 if not more.), and a second subset representing a second number of texels and having a second set of color endpoints different than the first set of color endpoints ;
but doesn’t explicitly disclose decompress each of the two or more subsets to form texels by interpolating between the first set of color endpoints based on the first set of color endpoints and a respective index value associated with each of the N texels.
Lu teaches decompress each of the two or more subsets to form texels by interpolating between the first set of color endpoints based on the first set of color endpoints and a respective index value associated with each of the N texels (See ¶11, “More generally stated, DXT1 compression operates by linearly fitting all of the 16 pixels in RGB space based on the main colors, where the main colors determine the endpoints of the line segment. The main colors, together with one or two interpolated colors, make a block palette from which the color indices choose the most appropriate color for each pixel. Such a solution works well in practice in many cases, mainly because the local color distribution of most computer-generated images can be represented by linear fitting, unlike the case of many natural images. Further, for the regions in which linear fitting does not work well, the small size of the 4.times.4 block produces acceptable levels of distortion in the block” See ¶8-15, all details for fig. 1-3.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lu in view of Lu as it is well known to carry out inverse steps, as you would need the steps required in the initial compression step to carry out the decompression, which would be a predicable step for one of ordinary skill to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention.
Claims 32, 33, 36, 38 and 39 recite similar limitations to that of claims 22, 23, 26, 28 and 29 and thus are rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Claim 24, 25, 34 and 35 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 20080002896 A1) in view of Govindaswamy et al. (7,388,993) as cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 24, Lu teaches the method of claim 23, wherein the first number of texels formed decompressing the first subset is different than the second number of texels formed decompressing the second subset but doesn’t explicitly disclose: wherein the first number of N texels formed decompressing the first subset is different than a number of the second texels formed decompressing the second subset.
Govindaswamy wherein the first number of texels formed decompressing the first subset is different than the second number of texels formed decompressing the second subset (See Govindaswamy, column 3 lines 57 – 67, the quantization levels for each block size can be different, which necessarily means that the decompression is different for different block sizes which suggests that the decompression happens separate for each block, also see col. 8 lines 5 – 20, Col. 3 lines 3 – 6, col. 13 lines 49 – 62).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lu in view of Govindaswamy it would have been obvious to decompress different texel subsets to different sizes, based on known compression principles of Govindaswamy and the need for efficient memory management.
Regarding claim 25, Lu teaches the method of claim 21, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the two or more subsets are disjoint subsets.
Govindaswamy teaches wherein the two or more subsets are disjoint subsets (column 3 lines 57 – 67. See col. 8 lines 5 – 20, the quantization levels for each block size can be different, which necessarily means that the decompression is different for different block sizes which suggests that the decompression happens separate for each block. Col. 3 lines 3 – 6, col. 13 lines 49 - 62).
Claims 34 and 35 recite similar limitations to that of claims 24 and 25 and thus is rejected under similar rationales as detailed above.
Claim 27 and 37 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 20080002896 A1) in view of Stasi´nski et al. “A New Class of Fast Shape-Adaptive Orthogonal Transforms and Their Application to Region-Based Image Compression” as cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 27, Lu teaches the method of claim 21, but doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the two or more subsets have different shapes.
Stasi´nski teaches wherein the two or more subsets have different shapes (See abstract, See page 16, col. 1, “One such approach is based on image partitioning into irregularly shaped regions [15], [23]. Although several variants of this approach have been proposed, most assume that a segmentation of an image into regions is performed first, followed by independent compression of each region (segment). An immediate benefit of such an approach, as opposed to rectangular image partitioning, is that all pixels associated with an object are treated as one entity.” […] “The introduction of such planes permits a division of each block into arbitrarily shaped parts for the purpose of independent texture coding and motion compensation of each part. Clearly, object boundaries can be handled more efficiently in this approach than in standard block-based coding. However, any region is still divided into (perhaps partial) blocks, and therefore an independent coding of these blocks is likely to result in a distortion inside the region (block visibility) if the bit rate is severely limited.” The examiner notes this disclosed arbitrary shapes. The examiner notes an arbitrary shape is considered to contain different size than another shape in the context that a different is doing to have different dimensional sizes. The examiner additionally notes, “decomposed”, “decomposition” , “inverse algorithm” and “decode” used throughout the document are synonyms with decompression.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Lu in view of Stasi´nski as a variable shape to take advantage of the different compression needs of each image/texture rather than an “one size fits all" approach which may not take into account different patterns within image/textures.
Claim 37 recites similar limitations to that of claim 27 and thus is rejected under similar rationales as detailed above.
Claim 30 and 40 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 20080002896 A1) in view of Dye et al. (US 6,208,273) as cited in an IDS.
Regarding claim 30, Lu teaches the method of claim 21, further comprising but doesn’t explicitly disclose applying the first number of texels to a rendered surface for display; and displaying the rendered surface on a monitor.
Dye teaches applying the first number of texels to a rendered surface for display; and displaying the rendered surface on a monitor (See Dye col. 39 line 19 – 51: the examiner notes a texture mapping is a mapping that is applied towards a surface thus a rendered surface and can be lossy.).
Claim 40 recites similar limitations to that of claim 30 and thus is rejected under similar rationale as detailed above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Lu in view of Dye as compressing a rendered surface at a size provides an advantage without a time delay so to increase the flexibility offered.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,184,628. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because are broader in every way.
Instant Application
Patent 11,184,628
21. (New) A method for performing texture decompression comprising:
1. A method for performing texture decompression comprising:
receiving a compressed texture block, wherein the compressed texture block includes information defining two or more subsets of the compressed texture block, wherein the two or more subsets include: at least a first subset representing [[N]] a first number of texels and having a first set of color endpoints and [[N]] the first number of index values, each of the [[N]] first number of index values associated with a respective texel of the [[N]] first number of texels; and
receiving a compressed texture block, wherein the compressed texture block includes two or more disjoint subsets into which data in the compressed texture block is to be unpacked, wherein the two or more disjoint subsets include a first subset having a first set of color endpoints and a second subset having a second set of color endpoints;
And a second subset representing a second number of texels and having a second set of color endpoints different than the first set of color endpoints;
decompressing each of the two or more subsets to form texels
wherein the two or more disjoint subsets include a first subset having a first set of color endpoints and a second subset having a second set of color endpoints; and individually decompressing each of the two or more disjoint subsets to form texels, wherein the decompressing includes: determining a first texel color for a first texel that is part of the first disjoint subset by interpolating between color endpoints of the first set of color endpoints based on a first index value for the first texel; and determining a second texel color for a second texel that is part of the second disjoint subset by interpolating between color endpoints of the second set of color endpoints based on a second index value for the second texel.
by interpolating between the first set of color endpoints based on the first set of color endpoints and a respective index value associated with each of the first number texels.
wherein the two or more disjoint subsets include a first subset having a first set of color endpoints and a second subset having a second set of color endpoints; and individually decompressing each of the two or more disjoint subsets to form texels, wherein the decompressing includes: determining a first texel color for a first texel that is part of the first disjoint subset by interpolating between color endpoints of the first set of color endpoints based on a first index value for the first texel; and determining a second texel color for a second texel that is part of the second disjoint subset by interpolating between color endpoints of the second set of color endpoints based on a second index value for the second texel.
Instant Application
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
Patent
1
1
1
1
1
3
3
1
1
5
7
7
Instant Application
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
Patent
7
7
7
9
9
7
7
11
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12, 13, 16, 18, 21, 25, 26, 29, 31 of U.S. Patent No. 11,825,106. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because are broader in every way.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,825,106
21. (New) A method for performing texture decompression comprising:
12. A method for performing texture decompression comprising:
receiving a compressed texture block, wherein the compressed texture block includes information defining two or more subsets of the compressed texture block, wherein the two or more subsets include: at least a first subset representing [[N]] a first number of texels and having a first set of color endpoints and [[N]] the first number of index values, each of the [[N]] first number of index values associated with a respective texel of the [[N]] first number of texels; and
receiving, from a memory storing a compressed texture block and by a graphics processing unit including at least one rendering pipeline, the compressed texture block including two or more disjoint subsets, wherein the two or more disjoint subsets include a first disjoint subset including a first set of color endpoints and a second disjoint subset including a second set of color endpoints, wherein the first disjoint subset represents a different number of texels than the second disjoint subset; and
And a second subset representing a second number of texels and having a second set of color endpoints different than the first set of color endpoints;
decompressing each of the two or more subsets to form texels
13. The computer processing system of claim 12, wherein the graphics processor unit, in order to decompress the data in the two or more disjoint subsets to form texels, is capable of: determining a first texel color for a first texel that is part of the first disjoint subset by at least interpolating between color endpoints of the first set of color endpoints based on a first index value for the first texel; and determining a second texel color for a second texel that is part of the second disjoint subset by at least interpolating between color endpoints of the second set of color endpoints based on a second index value for the second texel.
12.decompressing, by the at least one rendering pipeline, the compressed texture block, wherein decompressing the compressed texture block comprises:
by interpolating between the first set of color endpoints based on the first set of color endpoints and a respective index value associated with each of the first number texels.
decompressing data in the two or more disjoint subsets in the compressed texture block to form texels.
13. The computer processing system of claim 12, wherein the graphics processor unit, in order to decompress the data in the two or more disjoint subsets to form texels, is capable of: determining a first texel color for a first texel that is part of the first disjoint subset by at least interpolating between color endpoints of the first set of color endpoints based on a first index value for the first texel; and determining a second texel color for a second texel that is part of the second disjoint subset by at least interpolating between color endpoints of the second set of color endpoints based on a second index value for the second texel.
Instant Application
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
Patent No. 11,825,106
12 & 13
13
13
12 & 13
12
18
16
13
13
21
Instant Application
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
Patent No. 11,825,106
25 & 26
26
26
25 & 26
25
31
29
26
26
31
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J CRADDOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618