DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I including claims 1-4 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 7/7/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/7/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 17-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0070451 A1 (“Abdoli”).
Regarding claim 1, Abdoli discloses a method of video processing, comprising: deriving, during a conversion between a target unit of a video and a bitstream of the target unit (e.g. see video encoder, video decoder, paragraphs [0069]-[0071]), an intra prediction mode (IPM) for at least one chroma component (e.g. see for a current chroma component pixel block of the respective set of component pixel blocks of the first and/or second chroma component image, perform an intra mode prediction method to obtain one or more intra prediction modes for the current chroma component pixel block 382 in Fig. 4) of the target unit (e.g. see current block, paragraphs [0075]-[0076], 0217]-[0221]), the target unit being applied with a target coding tool (e.g. see DIMD scheme, paragraphs [0208]-[0212]); obtaining a prediction (e.g. see prediction block, paragraphs [0078]-[0090]) for the at least one chroma component of the target unit using the IPM (e.g. see for a current chroma component pixel block of the respective set of component pixel blocks of the first and/or second chroma component image, perform an intra mode prediction method to obtain one or more intra prediction modes for the current chroma component pixel block 382 in Fig. 4); and performing the conversion based on the prediction (e.g. see video encoder, video decoder, paragraphs [0069]-[0071]), wherein a template used to derive the IPM comprises a set of samples (e.g. see application area or template, paragraph [0113], which is discussed in more details in Figs. 6b-6d illustrating examples such as square-shaped left, square-shaped above and L-shaped application area, respectively, paragraphs [0242]-[0248]) of a first component (e.g. see first chroma component, paragraphs [0227], [0252]-[0254]) and the template is used to derive the IPM for a second component (e.g. see second chroma component, paragraph [0228], and see application area determined based on pixels of blocks of the same chroma component image, or based on pixels of blocks of the other chroma component image, paragraphs [0252]-[0254], see summary table in paragraph [0266]).
Regarding claim 2, Abdoli further discloses wherein the target coding tool derives the intra prediction mode using previously decoded blocks or decoded samples (e.g. see application area, which is for example neighboring pixels of pixels of the current pixel block, paragraph [0097], for example see Figs. 6a-6d), and wherein the target coding tool comprises one of: a decoder-side derivation of intra prediction mode (DDIPM), a decoder-side intra mode derivation (DIMD) method, or a templated based intra prediction mode (TIMD) method, or wherein a template used to derive the IPM comprises at least one of: a first set of neighboring adjacent reconstructed samples, a second set of neighboring adjacent reconstructed pixels, a third set of neighboring non-adjacent reconstructed samples, or a fourth set of neighboring non-adjacent reconstructed pixels (e.g. see DIMD scheme, paragraphs [0208]-[0212]).
Regarding claim 3, Abdoli further discloses wherein the template comprises a set of samples (e.g. see application area or template, paragraph [0113], which is discussed in more details in Figs. 6b-6d illustrating examples such as square-shaped left, square-shaped above and L-shaped application area, respectively, paragraphs [0242]-[0248]) of a first component (e.g. see first chroma component, paragraphs [0227], [0252]-[0254]), and the template is used to derive the IPM for the first component (e.g. see first chroma component, paragraph [0227], and see application area determined based on pixels of blocks of the same chroma component image, or based on pixels of blocks of the other chroma component image, paragraphs [0252]-[0254], see summary table in paragraph [0266]).
Regarding claim 4, Abdoli further discloses wherein the first component is one of Cb or Cr, or wherein the first component is Cb and the second component is Cr, or wherein the first component is Y and the second components are Cb and Cr, or wherein the first component is Y and the second component is Cb, or wherein the first component is Y and the second component 1s Cr (e.g. see Cb, Cr or Y, paragraph [0217]).
Regarding claim 17, Abdoli further discloses wherein the conversion includes encoding the target unit into the bitstream, or wherein the conversion includes decoding the target unit from the bitstream (e.g. see video encoder, video decoder, paragraphs [0069]-[0071]).
Regarding claims 18-19 and 21, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/3/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on pages 12-13 of the Remarks that the prior art fails to disclose “wherein a template used to derive the IPM comprises a set of samples of a first component and the template is used to derive the IPM for a second component” because in Abdoli the determination of mode for Cb and Cr color component are performed “separately, i.e., decoupled from each other.”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that the rejection above has been clarified in order to illustrate that the claims remain anticipated by Abdoli. Abdoli, in paragraph [0113], discloses a template or application area. Figs. 6b-6d illustrate examples of application area such as square-shaped left, square-shaped above and L-shaped application area, respectively, see paragraphs [0242]-[0248]. Paragraphs [0227]-[0228], [0252]-[0254] disclose IPM derivation for a first component using an application area, e.g. determined based on pixels of blocks of the same chroma component image (e.g. see embodiment 1 in the table in paragraph [0266]), and IPM derivation for a second component using the application area, e.g. determined based on pixels of the other chroma component image (e.g. see embodiment 2 in the table in paragraph [0266]). Paragraph [0262] discloses in more details that the application area (e.g. for the second component) is based on pixels of one or more blocks spatially preceding a block of the distinct chroma component image (e.g. first component) corresponding to the current chroma component pixel block; thus, if the first component uses an application area as in embodiment 1 (see paragraph [0261]), then the application area is used to derive the IPM for the second component as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2024/0373036 A1, Kim et al., Video signal processing method using intra prediction and device therefor
US 2019/0166370 A1, Xiu et al., Method and system for decoder-side intra mode derivation for block-based video coding
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619