DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 04/01/2024.Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-3, 10-12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Seok et al. (US 2021/0014811).
As of claim 1, Seok discloses a method comprising: controlling a first duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), an Extremely High Throughput signal (EHT-SIG) field of the PPDU, or an Extremely High Throughput long training field (EHT-LTF) field of the PPDU (para [0061] disclose for a HE TB PPDU transmission, starting times of the transmissions on multiple links be aligned, a STA (e.g., communication entity) choose the PEs among 4 μs, 8 μs, 12 μs or 16 μs (= duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU),) that makes a difference between ending times of the transmissions not greater than aSlotTime, the duration of the PE field be determined by both a pre-forward error correction (FEC) padding factor value in the last OFDM symbol(s) of the Data field which corresponds to controlling a first duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field), or delaying a sending time of the PPDU to make an error between an end time of the PPDU and a first time be less than or equal to an error threshold, wherein the first time is a target end time of the PPDU (par [0065] discloses a STA (e.g., communication entity 110) receives information of a timing error margin (TimingErrorMargin) from its peer STA, para [0063] discloses an AP multi-link device (MLD) intends to align an ending time of downlink (DL) PPDUs simultaneously on multiple links and ensure that a difference between ending times (=a target end time) of transmitting DL PPDUs is less than a certain duration which implies delaying a sending time of the PPDU to make an error between an end time of the PPDU and a first time be less than or equal to an error threshold, wherein the first time is a target end time of the PPDU); and sending the PPDU (para [0064] discloses indicate the time required to transmit the PPDU).
As of claim 10, Seok discloses a communication apparatus, comprising: a memory storage comprising one or more memories configured to store instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the memory (See [Fig. 16] shows apparatus 1610 includes a memory 1614 coupled to processor 1612) wherein the one or more processors one or more memories and configured to execute the instructions to cause the communication apparatus to:
control a first duration of one or more fields of a packet extension (PE) field of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), Extremely High Throughput signal (EHT-SIG) field of the PPDU, or an Extremely High Throughput long training field (EHT-LTF) field of the PPDU (para [0061] disclose for a HE TB PPDU transmission, starting times of the transmissions on multiple links be aligned, a STA (e.g., communication entity) choose the PEs among 4 μs, 8 μs, 12 μs or 16 μs (= duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU),) that makes a difference between ending times of the transmissions not greater than aSlotTime, the duration of the PE field be determined by both a pre-forward error correction (FEC) padding factor value in the last OFDM symbol(s) of the Data field which corresponds to controlling a first duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field), or
delaying of the PPDU or delay a sending time of the PPDU to make an error between an end time of the PPDU and a first time be less than or equal to an error threshold, wherein the first time is a target end time of the PPDU (par [0065] discloses a STA (e.g., communication entity 110) receives information of a timing error margin (TimingErrorMargin) from its peer STA, para [0063] discloses an AP multi-link device (MLD) intends to align an ending time of downlink (DL) PPDUs simultaneously on multiple links and ensure that a difference between ending times (=a target end time) of transmitting DL PPDUs is less than a certain duration which implies delaying a sending time of the PPDU to make an error between an end time of the PPDU and a first time be less than or equal to an error threshold, wherein the first time is a target end time of the PPDU); and send the PPDU (para [0064] discloses indicate the time required to transmit the PPDU).
As of claim 19, Seok discloses computer program product comprising computer-executable instructions that are stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that, when executed by one or more processors, cause a communication apparatus to: control a first duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field of a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), an Extremely High Throughput signal (EHT-SIG) field of the PPDU, or an Extremely High Throughput long training field (EHT-LTF) field of the PPDU (para [0061] disclose for a HE TB PPDU transmission, starting times of the transmissions on multiple links be aligned, a STA (e.g., communication entity) choose the PEs among 4 μs, 8 μs, 12 μs or 16 μs (= duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field of a physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU),) that makes a difference between ending times of the transmissions not greater than aSlotTime, the duration of the PE field be determined by both a pre-forward error correction (FEC) padding factor value in the last OFDM symbol(s) of the Data field which corresponds to controlling a first duration of one or more of a packet extension (PE) field),or
delay a sending time of the PPDU to make an error between an end time of the PPDU and a first time be less than or equal to an error threshold, wherein the first time is a target end time of the PPDU (par [0065] discloses a STA (e.g., communication entity 110) receives information of a timing error margin (TimingErrorMargin) from its peer STA, para [0063] discloses an AP multi-link device (MLD) intends to align an ending time of downlink (DL) PPDUs simultaneously on multiple links and ensure that a difference between ending times (=a target end time) of transmitting DL PPDUs is less than a certain duration which implies delaying a sending time of the PPDU to make an error between an end time of the PPDU and a first time be less than or equal to an error threshold, wherein the first time is a target end time of the PPDU); and send the PPDU (para [0064] discloses indicate the time required to transmit the PPDU).
As of claims 2, 11 and 20, rejection of claims 1,10 and 19 cited above incorporated herein, in addition comprising determining a second duration of the PE field based on a third duration, a fourth duration of a preamble of the PPDU, and a fifth duration of a symbol in a data field of the PPDU, wherein the third duration is between the first time and a start time of the PPDU (para [0061] disclose PEs among 4 μs, 8 μs, 12 μs or 16 μs here 8 μs is the second duration).
As of claims 3 and 12, rejection of claims 2 and 11 cited above incorporated herein, in addition comprising determining a quantity of symbols in the data field based on the third duration, the fourth duration, and the fifth duration (para [0038] discloses data field be referred to as the HE modulated fields and a pre-HE modulated field and a HE modulated field have different symbol duration wherein [0040] the number of symbols of the pre-HE modulated fields be different).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Seok et al. (US 2021/0014811) in view of SUN et al. (US 2023/0133677).
As of claims 7 and 16, rejection of claims 2 and 11 cited above incorporated herein, in addition Seok does not explicitly discloses but HUANG discloses determining a pre-forward error correction padding factor that is carried in a low-density parity check (LDPC) extra symbol segment field based on the second duration and a nominal packet padding capability of a receiver; and setting the LDPC extra symbol segment field carried in the EHT-SIG field to be a first value, wherein the first value indicates that an LDPC extra symbol segment is to be added (SUN, para [0122] discloses one LDPC Extra Symbol Segment field be included in a mandatory SIG field, e.g. EHT SIG field, the rest of LDPC Extra Symbol Segment fields be carried in an Extra SIG field, one more Pre-FEC Padding Factor field be included in a mandatory SIG field, e.g. EHT SIG field. Additional Pre-FEC Padding Factor fields be carried in an Extra SIG field).
Therefore it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Seok with the teaching of SUN enables High Efficiency (HE) operation for IEEE 802.11 devices to achieve better spectrum efficiency as taught by SUN in para [0089].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6, 8-9, 13-15 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the Applicant rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claims 4 and 13, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation a second duration a padding part in the EHT-SIG field based on a third duration, an initial duration of a preamble of the PPDU, a fourth duration of the PE field, and a fifth duration of a symbol in a data field of the PPDU, wherein the initial duration of does not comprise the second duration wherein the third duration is between the first time and a start time of the PPDU, wherein the second duration is a multiple of 4 microseconds” with the claimed invention as a whole.
Claims 5, 9 14 and 18 are also objected as being dependent upon claims 4 and 13.
As to claims 6 and 15, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “setting, when the LDPC extra symbol segment condition is not met, an LDPC extra symbol segment field carried in the EHT- SIG field to be a second value, wherein the second value indicates that an LDPC extra symbol segment is not to be added; determining a first pre-forward error correction padding factor based on the second duration and the nominal packet padding capability, setting the LDPC extra symbol segment condition based on the first pre-forward error correction padding factor, and setting, when the LDPC extra symbol segment condition is met, the LDPC extra symbol segment field to be a first value, wherein the first value indicates that the LDPC extra symbol segment is to be added; or setting, when the LDPC extra symbol segment condition is not met, the LDPC extra symbol segment field to be a third value, wherein the third value indicates that the LDPC extra symbol segment is to be added.
Claims 8 and 17 are also objected as being dependent upon claims 4 and 13.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471