DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter. The claim(s) is/are directed to a machine-readable storage medium, which can be a transitory as defined in paragraph [0064] of the instant application. Such definition of machine-readable storage medium could make the medium a signal per se and thus, not a patent eligible subject matter. It is suggested to change “computer-readable storage medium” of claims 15-20 to -- non-transitory computer-readable storage medium --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poovappa et al (US 2019/0207935).
Regarding independent claim 1, Poovappa teaches a computer-implemented method, the method comprising: receiving a voicemail from a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO), wherein the voicemail comprises a profile identifier associated with a user ([0023]-[0025], [0028]-[0029], [0035]-0038] and [0051]); determining, based at least in part on the profile identifier, that the user has access to a media storage ([0023]-[0025], [0028]-[0029], [0035]-0038] and [0051]); based on determining the user has access to the media storage, storing the voicemail on the media storage ([0023]-[0025], [0028]-[0029], [0035]-0038] and [0051]); generating a first notification based at least in part on storing the voicemail ([0035]); and transmitting the first notification to a user device associated with the user ([0035]).
Regarding independent claims 8 and 15, the claims are corresponding apparatus claims and recite similar subject matter as in claim 1. Therefore, similar rationale is applied as for claim 1.
Regarding dependent claims 2, 9 and 16, Poovappa further teaches receiving an access request from a user device, wherein the access request comprises at least a device identifier associated with the user device; and storing the device identifier associated with the user device on the media storage. See [0044].
Regarding dependent claims 3, 10 and 17, Poovappa further teaches wherein the access request further comprising one or more of: a PIN associated with the user device, or a greeting message, wherein the method further comprising: storing the PIN or the greeting message on the media storage. See [0044].
Regarding dependent claims 4, 11 and 18, Poovappa further teaches receiving, from the user device, a request to retrieve the voicemail; transmitting the voicemail to the user device; in response to transmitting the voicemail to the user device, generating a second notification; and transmitting the second notification to the user device. See [0038] - [0046].
Regarding dependent claims 5, 12 and 19, Poovappa further teaches sending a PIN request to the user device; receiving, from the user device, a PIN associated with the user device; and authenticating, based at least in part on the PIN, the user associated with the user device. See [0038] - [0046].
Regarding dependent claims 6, 13 and 20, Poovappa further teaches receiving, from the MVNO, a request to retrieve the voicemail; transmitting the voicemail to the MVNO; in response to transmitting the voicemail to the MVNO, generating a second notification; and transmitting the second notification to the user device. See [0038] - [0046].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poovappa et al (US 2019/0207935) in view of Guo et al (US 2015/0281459) or Desai et al (US 2015/0326727).
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 14, Poovappa teaches all subject matter claimed except to further teach deleting and removing voicemail from storage. However, voicemail system having function of deleting and removing voicemail messages is notoriously well-known in the art of digital communications. For example, Guo or Desai, from the same field of endeavor, teaches deleting and removing voicemail messages from voicemail storage. See Guo: [0010] or Desai: [0001] and [0048]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Poovappa by employing the teachings as taught by Guo or Desai so as to free up storage space.
Conclusion
Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References Long et al (US 2008/0305803), Hao et al (US 2009/0156176) and Sharma (US 2024/0205686) are cited because they are pertinent to the method and apparatus for managing voicemails.
/DON N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634