DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wright et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,318,583).
Regarding claim 1, Wright et al. discloses a stand mixer (figure 1), comprising:
a base (base 10), the base including a recess (see figures 1-4, area delimited by shoulder 24);
a support arm attached to the base and extending upwardly therefrom (figure 1, stand 11);
a head attached to an upper end of the support arm and extending generally horizontally therefrom above the recess in the base (figure 1, mixer 12); and
a bowl including a lower skirt configured to mount in the recess of the base (jar 20, see figures 2 and 3 with skirt, not labeled, extending below bottom 21);
wherein the recess includes one of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (figures 2-4, bearing sleeves/collars 18 and 19);
wherein the skirt includes the other of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (figures 2-4, boss 22 and 23);
wherein the projections and the indentations are disposed generally vertically to allow the skirt to be (a) lowered substantially directly vertically into the recess for mounting, each of the projections being received in a respective indentation, and (b) raised substantially directly vertically from the recess for disengagement (figures 2-4, #18, 19, 22 and 23; column 1, lines 15-19; column 2, lines 30-34).
Regarding claim 2, Wright et al. discloses wherein the indentations are located on the skirt (figures 2-4, bearing sleeves/collars 18 and 19) and the projections are located on the base (figures 2-4, boss 22 and 23).
Regarding claim 7, Wright et al. discloses wherein the head is pivotally attached to the support arm (column 1, lines 70-72).
Regarding claim 9, Wright et al. discloses a stand mixer (figure 1), comprising:
a base (base 10), the base including a recess (see figures 1-4, area delimited by shoulder 24);
a support arm attached to the base and extending upwardly therefrom (figure 1, stand 11);
a head attached to an upper end of the support arm and extending generally horizontally therefrom above the recess in the base (figure 1, mixer 12); and
a bowl including a lower skirt configured to mount in the recess of the base (jar 20, see figures 2 and 3 with skirt, not labeled, extending below bottom 21);
wherein the recess includes one of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (figures 2-4, bearing sleeves/collars 18 and 19);
wherein the skirt includes the other of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (figures 2-4, boss 22 and 23);
wherein the projections and the indentations are disposed generally vertically to allow the skirt to be lowered substantially directly vertically into the recess for mounting, each of the projections being received in a respective indentation (figures 2-4, #18, 19, 22 and 23; column 1, lines 15-19; column 2, lines 30-34); and
wherein the projections and indentations are configured to resist rotation of the bowl relative to the base when mounted (figures 2-4, #18, 19, 22 and 23; column 1, lines 15-19; column 2, lines 30-34).
Regarding claim 10, Wright et al. discloses wherein the indentations are located on the skirt (figures 2-4, bearing sleeves/collars 18 and 19) and the projections are located on the base (figures 2-4, boss 22 and 23).
Regarding claim 15, Wright et al. discloses wherein the head is pivotally attached to the support arm (column 1, lines 70-72).
Regarding claim 17, Wright et al. discloses a stand mixer (figure 1), comprising:
a base (base 10), the base including a recess (see figures 1-4, area delimited by shoulder 24);
a support arm attached to the base and extending upwardly therefrom (figure 1, stand 11);
a head attached to an upper end of the support arm and extending generally horizontally therefrom above the recess in the base (figure 1, mixer 12); and
a bowl including a lower skirt configured to mount in the recess of the base (jar 20, see figures 2 and 3 with skirt, not labeled, extending below bottom 21);
wherein the recess includes one of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (figures 2-4, bearing sleeves/collars 18 and 19);
wherein the skirt includes the other of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (figures 2-4, boss 22 and 23);
wherein the projections and the indentations are disposed generally vertically to allow the skirt to be lowered substantially directly vertically into the recess for mounting, each of the projections being received in a respective indentation (figures 2-4, #18, 19, 22 and 23; column 1, lines 15-19; column 2, lines 30-34); and wherein a lower edge of the skirt engages a floor of the recess when the bowl is mounted (see figures 2 and 3, skirt, not labeled, below bottom 21 contacts floor of base 12 within shoulder 24).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 9, 10, 16, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN103961000A).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a stand mixer (figure 1), comprising:
a base (figures 1 and 6, see marked up figure 6 below), the base including a recess (see marked up figure 6 below);
a support arm attached to the base and extending upwardly therefrom (figures 1 and 6, see marked up figure 6 below);
a head attached to an upper end of the support arm and extending generally horizontally therefrom above the recess in the base (figure 1, not labeled, top horizontal part); and
a bowl (figure 1, #1) including a lower skirt configured to mount in the recess of the base (figure 6, #29 mounts to bottom of bowl and becomes the lower skirt that is mounted in the recess, as indicated by the dotted vertical line);
wherein the recess includes one of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (see marked up figure 6 below);
wherein the skirt includes the other of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (see marked up figure 6 below);
wherein the projections and the indentations are disposed generally vertically to allow the skirt to be (a) lowered substantially directly vertically into the recess for mounting, each of the projections being received in a respective indentation, and (b) raised substantially directly vertically from the recess for disengagement (figure 6, with dotted vertical line indicating skirt vertically lowered into recess).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses wherein the indentations are located on the skirt (see marked up figure 6 above) and the projections are located on the base (see marked up figure 6 above).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses wherein the projections are spaced substantially equidistantly around the recess (see marked up figure 6 above, although the view does not show all projections, based on the alignment of the skirt, it can be deduced that there are four projections equidistantly spaced).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses a stand mixer (figure 1), comprising:
a base (figures 1 and 6, see marked up figure 6 above), the base including a recess (see marked up figure 6 above);
a support arm attached to the base and extending upwardly therefrom (figures 1 and 6, see marked up figure 6 above);
a head attached to an upper end of the support arm and extending generally horizontally therefrom above the recess in the base (figure 1, not labeled, top horizontal part); and
a bowl (figure 1, #1) including a lower skirt configured to mount in the recess of the base (figure 6, #29 mounts to bottom of bowl and becomes the lower skirt that is mounted in the recess, as indicated by the dotted vertical line);
wherein the recess includes one of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (see marked up figure 6 above);
wherein the skirt includes the other of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (see marked up figure 6 above);
wherein the projections and the indentations are disposed generally vertically to allow the skirt to be lowered substantially directly vertically into the recess for mounting, each of the projections being received in a respective indentation (figure 6, with dotted vertical line indicating skirt vertically lowered into recess); and
wherein the projections and indentations are configured to resist rotation of the bowl relative to the base when mounted (figure 6, see shape of projections and indentations).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses wherein the indentations are located on the skirt (see marked up figure 6 above) and the projections are located on the base (see marked up figure 6 above).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses wherein the projections are spaced substantially equidistantly around the recess (see marked up figure 6 above, although the view does not show all projections, based on the alignment of the skirt, it can be deduced that there are four projections equidistantly spaced).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses a stand mixer (figure 1), comprising:
a base (figures 1 and 6, see marked up figure 6 above), the base including a recess (see marked up figure 6 above);
a support arm attached to the base and extending upwardly therefrom (figures 1 and 6, see marked up figure 6 above);
a head attached to an upper end of the support arm and extending generally horizontally therefrom above the recess in the base (figure 1, not labeled, top horizontal part); and
a bowl (figure 1, #1) including a lower skirt configured to mount in the recess of the base (figure 6, #29 mounts to bottom of bowl and becomes the lower skirt that is mounted in the recess, as indicated by the dotted vertical line);
wherein the recess includes one of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (see marked up figure 6 above);
wherein the skirt includes the other of a plurality of projections and a plurality of indentations (see marked up figure 6 above);
wherein the projections and the indentations are disposed generally vertically to allow the skirt to be lowered substantially directly vertically into the recess for mounting, each of the projections being received in a respective indentation (figure 6, with dotted vertical line indicating skirt vertically lowered into recess); and
wherein a lower edge of the skirt engages a floor of the recess when the bowl is mounted (see figure 6, #29 bottom engages bottom in recess of #2; see figure 7, with bottom side wall of #29, not labeled, in contact with bottom recess wall of #2).
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses wherein the projections are spaced substantially equidistantly around the recess (see marked up figure 6 above, although the view does not show all projections, based on the alignment of the skirt, it can be deduced that there are four projections equidistantly spaced).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 13, 14, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wright et al.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 13, 14, 18 and 19, Wright et al. discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However, Wright et al. does not explicitly disclose the exact dimension of overlap. Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to change the size of overlap of the indentations and projections, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). It is well known in the art that the larger the overlap, the more secure the bowl to the base is and that many design parameters are taken into consideration when determining the size of the overlap between the bowl and base.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 13, 14, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 13, 14, 18 and 19, Li discloses all the limitations as set forth above. While the vertical overlap of the projections and indentations of Li appear to be at least 35mm and at least 45mm, Li does not explicitly disclose the exact dimension of overlap. Since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to change the size of overlap of the indentations and projections, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). It is well known in the art that the larger the overlap, the more secure the bowl to the base is and that many design parameters are taken into consideration when determining the size of the overlap between the bowl and base.
Claim(s) 3, 4, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Wulf et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,520,659).
Regarding claims 3, 4, 11, and 12, Li discloses all the limitations as set forth above. However, Li does not disclose the shape of the projections and indentations are tapered from a lower end to an upper end.
Wulf et al. teaches another blender base with food processor (title); wherein the shape of the projections and indentations are tapered from a lower end to an upper end (Figures 3 and 4, 50; figure 6, #74; columns 6-7, lines 51-2).
It is well known in the art that the projections and indentations of couplers between base and bowl can have a variety of shapes of configurations, including tapered, as evidenced by Wulf et al. The change in configuration of shape of a device is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify base and skirt of Li to include a variety of projections and indentation shapes such as tapered, as taught by Wulf et al. An ordinary skilled artisan at the time of the invention would have been motivated to do the foregoing in order to ensure the collared jar does not rotate when placed on the blender base (Wulf et al. columns 6-7, lines 67-2).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH INSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774