Response to Amendment
This is a response to the amendment filed 8/4/2026. Claims 2 and 18 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3, 4, 10-14, 16, 17, 19, and 20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection in view of CN108257892 addressing the amended language. It is also noted, due to the amendment changing the dependency and thus broadening Claim 13, it is now no longer allowable and is rejected in view of Anderle (US 4,765,273).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the second block is buckled into the second slot to form the slot connection.” The structural significance of a block “buckled” into a slot in\s unclear. Examiner assumes any engagement is suitable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN208917304 (wherein all textual citations are to the English translation provided) in view of CN108257892 (wherein all textual citations are the English machine translation provided).
Regarding Claims 1, CN208917304 teaches a vacuum coating device (See page 6, paragraph [0008], teaching CVD coating in vacuum chambers), comprising:
a plurality of valve chambers (See pages 17-18, paragraph [0029], teaching vacuum locks between each chamber; note it would have been understood there vacuum lock are small chambers with doors on each side to prevent atmosphere mixing between vacuum chambers, thus making them reasonably described as “valve chambers;”); a processing chamber, comprising a first coating vacuum chamber [4], a second coating vacuum chamber [6] and a loading plate conversion vacuum chamber [5], wherein the loading plate conversion vacuum chamber is connected to the first coating vacuum chamber and the second coating vacuum chamber (See Fig. 1, page 8, paragraph [0013] and page 16, paragraph [0028], wherein vacuum chamber [3],[4],[6],[7] and vacuum chambers for CVD coating and thus are coating chambers; vacuum chamber [5] is a for repositioning or converting the object to be coated and thus is a loading plate conversion chamber); the first coating vacuum chamber and the loading plate conversion vacuum chamber are connected through one of the plurality of valve chambers, the second coating vacuum chamber and the loading plate conversion vacuum chamber are connected through another of the plurality of valve chambers, and the first coating vacuum chamber, the second coating vacuum chamber, the loading plate conversion vacuum chamber, and the plurality of valve chambers are configured to form a coating production line for producing the object to be coated (See Fig. 1 and page 17, paragraphs [0029], teaching a production line for coating as claimed wherein an object, i.e. a wafer, moves through vacuum chambers to receive coatings on both sides);
a loading plate apparatus [1], disposed within the processing chamber, and configured to load the object to be coated (See page 17, paragraph [0029], teaching a loading device to load the wafers); a spraying apparatus, disposed within the processing chamber, and configured to spray a processing gas (See page 17, paragraph [0029], teaching CVD deposition coating in the processing chamber, i.e. the line system, implying a gas emitter to dispose the chemical vapor to form the film; any such gas emitter is a spraying apparatus as claimed or at least renders such a device obvious to emit the film forming vapor, i.e. the spray processing gas); and
a heating apparatus, configured to heat the processing chamber to a temperature reaching a reaction temperature of the object to be coated and the processing gas (See page 17, paragraph [0029], teaching the system is heated, implying a heating apparatus to carry out such heating, and wherein the heating is for the film forming process thus implying it’s at a “reaction temperature” for the gas to form the film).
As mentioned above, the loading plate conversion vacuum is configured to reposition the loading plate apparatus so as to change which surface of the object to coated faces the spraying apparatus (See page 16, paragraph [0028] and page 17, paragraph [0029], teaching the positions of the two support plates are exchanged in transitional cavity [5] so the uncoated surfaces of object to be coated face are oriented for deposition, i.e. reoriented to change the surface facing the deposition source). CN208917304 fails to explicitly teach the specific vacuum chamber frame and door configuration as claimed since it is completely silent on its wall structure and the existence of an access structure to its vacuum chambers. However, vacuum chambers in multi-chamber substrate processing systems are well-known to be provided with door components, such as are claimed, so as to act as to provided facilitated operator access to the interior of the chamber for maintenance and repairs as required.
CN108257892 teaches a vacuum chamber [10] (See paragraphs [0100]-[0102], teaching transport chamber comprising housing [11] as a vacuum chamber) a chamber frame [11] (See paragraph [0102], and rigid walled box of housing is a chamber frame);
a front chamber door component [32], connected to the chamber frame; and a back chamber door component [32], connected to the chamber frame (See Figs. 2, 5, and 9, pages 43-44, paragraphs [0103]-[0104], page 46, paragraph [0047], page 47, paragraph [0108] and page 51, paragraph [0112], wherein maintenance opening [31] are provided on separate opposing sides and covered with airtight access doors [32]; the side having the access openings [31] are sides distinct from the conveyance openings [21], [20a], [20b] that define the direction of moving).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to implement similar access openings and airtight doors, such as in CN108257892, into one or more of the vacuum chambers of CN208917304. Doing so would have predictably allowed multipoint access to the vacuum chamber for maintenance and repairs while not inhibiting function or the ability to maintain the vacuum for treatment. Since the conveyance direction in CN108257892 includes the vacuum lock structure for conveyance, each progressive chamber blocking access in the conveyance direction (See Fig. 1), it would have been apparent the access doors on the sides perpendicular to the access direction to provide the desired access. It is noted that those skilled in the art, having been taught the desirability of a certain modification (in this case access opening for maintenance and airtight door closures), would recognize that other modifications were needed to accommodate the modification, and that one skilled in the art would be expected to have sufficient basic knowledge to construct such means, the structure of which appears to be simple. In re Bode et al., 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1977); see also In re Sneed, 710 F.2d 1544 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (finding "it is not necessary that the inventions of the references be physically combinable to render obvious the invention under review."), and MPEP2145(III).
Claim(s) 4, 8-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN208917304 and CN108257892 as applied to Claim 1, and further view in of CN201934607 (wherein all textual citations are to the English translation provided).
Regarding Claim 4, CN208917304 and CN108257892 teach the method of Claim 1 as described above. CN208917304 teaches transfer of the wafer through the chambers, but is silent as to the specific mechanical details of said transport. Claim 4 recites a transmission structure for moving a loading plate apparatus, which is simply a platform or carrier that holds an object. The transmission structure includes a rack and pinion mechanism, where a power gear meshes with a gear rack to drive linear movement of the loading plate. The claim further recites a “limit support mechanism” at an upper portion and a “limit mechanism” at a lower portion of the loading plate. These terms broadly refer to any structures that constrain and support the loading plate during movement, such as guides, brackets, or support surfaces that prevent undesired motion (e.g., vertical displacement or lateral instability). Accordingly, the claim describes a basic arrangement in which a plate is driven by a rack and gear while being supported and constrained from above and below to maintain alignment during movement. This is a well-known method of moving that would have predictably been suitable as the framework for transport in CN208917304 (See, for example, CN201934607, page 3, paragraph [0004], teaching rack and pinion is a come transmission mechanism to translate an object through a system). CN208917304 teach a transfer mechanism for transport objects through multiple vacuum chambers (See page 2, paragraph [0002]). The holding part of the transfer mechanism is a loading plate apparatus.
CN201934607 teaches a transmission structure (Figs. 1-2), comprising a limit support mechanism [1], [4], a power mechanism [2], and a limit mechanism [7], wherein the limit support mechanism limits an upper end of the loading plate apparatus (note the track limits the movement to of the holder being transported, which is the loading plate apparatus), and the limit support mechanism comprises a gear rack [3] connected to the loading plate apparatus; the power mechanism comprises a power gear [2], the gear rack [3] meshes with the power gear [2], and a meshing position of the power gear and the gear rack is located at a top of the loading plate apparatus (note the location relative to the carrier is a design choice); and the limit mechanism [7] limits a lower end of the loading plate apparatus (See Figs. 1-2, and pages 4-5, paragraphs [0006]-[0009], and note limit mechanism [7] and rolling devices [6] disposed in grooves [5] of base [1] limit movement of the object transport as described above; any specific directional limits are a design choice but the function of the movement is well-known as illustrated in CN201934607). The Examiner notes the portions of the loading plate apparatus engaged by the rack [3] at the top and by the limit mechanism [7] at the bottom are the upper frame plate and lower frame plate as claimed, respectively, and the engagement must limit and support the loading plate apparatus as claimed and elaborated above. Examiner submits it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at time of invention to use a transmission structure as claimed to guide the loading apparatus. As demonstrated, this is a well-known rack and pinion transition structure for creating movement through a system such as is desired in CN208917304.
Regarding Claim 8-9, CN208917304 teaches two coating chambers [3],[4] before the transition chamber [5] and two after [6],[7], each respectively being the first, second, third, and fourth sub coating chambers as claimed (See page 16, paragraph [0028] and Figure). Further, as described above, CN208917304 teaches a sequential path through the system wherein vacuum locks, i.e. valve chambers such as in Claim 9, are between each chamber as illustrate din the Figure.
Regarding Claims 10-11, the limit support mechanism in CN201934607 comprises a bracket (See Fig. 2, wherein base [1] is a bracket and note multiple brackets along the path would have predictably helped restrain motion and move the rack and pinion transmission device over a longer path; a second such bracket is a wheel mounting bracket as in Claim 11). CN201934607 further discloses at least one support component disposed on the bracket along a moving direction of the loading plate apparatus in the form of rolling elements [6], i.e. a support wheel, disposed along guide rail [4] and grooves [5], wherein the rolling elements [6] are distributed along the guide structure and engage and support the moving member [3] along its direction of travel, thereby functioning as support components disposed along the moving direction. CN201934607 further discloses a support plate connected to the loading plate apparatus in the form of a portion of the driven member associated with rack [3] that supports the transported structure, as the moving member inherently includes a structural portion that supports the carried load, corresponding to a support plate connected to the loading plate apparatus (note the rack [3] structure moves through the system and as previously described powers the motion as required for moving the carrier supporting the wafer in CN208917304, wherein any mount for the carrier, which is implied, is a support plate as claimed). CN201934607 further discloses a power mechanism for turning coupling [9] to power the gear [2], the body of which is a limit wheel, engaging rack [3] to propel motion. Although only a single power mechanism and support component are discussed, more are obvious. According to In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669 (CCPA 1960), the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Examiner submit more power mechanisms and support components create more power to move the load.
Regarding Claim 12, CN201934607 discloses a gear rack [3] and a constraint interface formed by rolling elements [6] and grooves [5] of guide rail [4], wherein the engagement between rolling elements [6] and grooves [5] constrains motion of the moving member [3]. While CN201934607 does not explicitly disclose a block-and-slot configuration between a limit wheel and the gear rack, such interlocking engagement represents a known alternative form of mechanical constraint used to prevent lateral or vertical displacement between interacting components, and corresponds to the claimed slot connection between the limit wheel and the gear rack. Snapping a block on the opposing side of the wheel would have predictably provided greater system stability and is considered a routine mechanical alteration.
Regarding Claim 15, CN208917304 teaches a preheating chamber [2] connect to the first sub coating chamber [3] and an unloading chamber [8] connecting to the fourth sub coating chamber [7] (See page 14, paragraph [0014]). CN208917304 also teaches once the coating is formed, the vacuum will be release and cooling will occur, this necessarily occur in the unloading chamber [8], making it a heat dissipating as claimed.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN208917304, CN108257892, and CN201934607 as applied to Claim 4, and further view in of CN204490988 (wherein all textual citations are to the English translation provided).
Regarding Claim 5, CN208917304, CN108257892 and CN201934607 teach the device of Claim 4 as described above. As described above, CN201934607 discloses a transmission structure including a gear [2] meshing with a rack [3] to drive linear movement of a member, and further includes guide and limit structures such as a guide rail [4], grooves [5], rolling elements [6], and a limit mechanism [7], which constrain the moving member and support it from above and below (See above and note constraining directional movement is all the limit and limit support mechanisms are interpreted to do). The moving member in CN201934607 corresponds to the claimed loading plate apparatus, as it is the element being driven by the rack and gear. It does not teach telescoping transfer as in Claim 5.
CN204490988 discloses a telescoping transfer structure configured to carry and position an object within a vacuum system. It would have been obvious to use the telescoping transfer structure of CN204490988 as the moving member in the rack-driven, guided system of CN201934607 in order to provide extended reach and improved positioning capability for the object being transported. Accordingly, the combined teachings disclose a transmission structure including a rack and gear for driving a loading plate apparatus, along with structures that limit the loading plate apparatus from above and below, as recited in claim 4.
CN204490988 teaches a variable distance structure (overall telescoping assembly shown in Figs. 1-6), comprising a variable distance power component (motor [1]), a variable distance transmission component (gear transmission [16], [26]), a telescopic component (telescoping rods/links [9], [11], [13], [18]), and a docking component (end connection structure [13] with terminal connector; i.e. end portion attached to linkage), wherein the variable distance power component [1] is connected to the variable distance transmission component [16], [26], the variable distance transmission component is connected to the telescopic component [9], [11], [13], [18], the telescopic component is connected to the docking component [13], and the docking component is connected to the loading plate apparatus (terminal end of linkage assembly; end carrier portion); and the variable distance power component [1] controls movement of the loading plate apparatus through the variable distance transmission component [16],[26], the telescopic component [9], [11], [13], [18] and the docking component [13] (See Figs. 1-6 and pages 28-32, paragraphs [0052]-[0055]).
As described above, CN201934607 discloses a rack and pinion transmission in which a gear [2] drives a rack [3] to translate a driven member along a guided path, thereby providing controlled linear movement of the member. CN204490988 discloses a telescoping transfer structure including extendable linkage members configured to carry and position an object within a vacuum environment, thereby enabling variable reach and positioning of the object. While CN201934607 provides the mechanism for driving and guiding linear movement, it does not specify the particular form of the driven member beyond being a movable element. CN204490988 provides a known form of such a movable element, specifically a telescoping carrier capable of extending and retracting to position an object at different distances. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the telescoping transfer structure of CN204490988 as the driven member in the rack and pinion system of CN201934607 in order to provide variable reach and improved positioning capability for the object being transported. Both references are directed to mechanisms for moving and positioning a load, and substitution of one known movable carrier for another to achieve predictable positioning benefits is a routine design choice, and would have facilitated movement of the loading plate apparatus that translates the wafter through the vacuum chamber production system in CN208917304.
Regarding Claim 6, as set forth above, CN201934607 discloses a driven member (rack-driven member associated with rack [3]) constrained and supported by guide and limit structures including guide rail [4], grooves [5], rolling elements [6], and limit mechanism [7]. In the context of the vacuum coating system of CN208917304, such a driven member corresponds to a loading plate apparatus disposed within the vacuum chamber and constrained by support and limit structures during movement. As recited above, CN204490988 discloses a telescoping transfer structure including telescoping rods/links [9], [11], [13], [18] and an end connection structure [13]. The terminal portion of the telescoping structure includes an elongated member terminating in a connector, which corresponds to a docking rod and a docking block, respectively. The elongated terminal member (end portion of [13]) is connected at a first end to the telescopic component ([9], [11], [13], [18]) and at a second end to the end connection structure [13]. The end connection structure [13] is disposed at the working end of the transfer structure and, when used within the vacuum coating system of CN208917304, is necessarily positioned within the vacuum chamber to interface with the loading plate apparatus. To the extent CN204490988 does not explicitly disclose the docking block being connected to the loading plate apparatus through the limit support mechanism, it would have been obvious to configure the end connection structure to engage the loading plate apparatus within the constrained guiding structure of CN201934607, since any transfer of motion to a guided member inherently occurs within and through the structures that constrain that member’s movement. Accordingly, the combined teachings disclose or render obvious the subject matter of claim 6.
Regarding Claim 7, as described above, CN201934607 discloses a transmission structure including a driven member associated with rack [3], along with guide and limit structures including guide rail [4], grooves [5], rolling elements [6], and limit mechanism [7], which constrain and support the driven member during movement (See Fig. 1). Each side of the track limiting motion via protrusion (See Fig. 5) are reasonably interpreted to be brackets as claimed as the limit support mechanism and the limit mechanism, respectively. Note any raised area restraining motion is considered to be a bracket without further structural limitation or context within the system described (See Fig. 2, and further note the device shown in Fig. 2 is a bracket wherein multiple such brackets may occur to retrain motion along a longer path of the rack and pinion device, any such brackets being a bracket a limit bracket as claimed). CN201934607 discloses a sliding interface including guide rail [4], grooves [5], and rolling elements [6], wherein the guide rail [4] corresponds to a fixing plate connected to the system structure, and the rolling elements [6] correspond to a sliding block interfacing with the driven member [3] and slidably engaging grooves [5] of the guide rail [4].
With respect to “the sliding block is slidably connected to the fixing plate… to drive the bracket to move along a direction perpendicular to a length direction of the bracket,” CN201934607 discloses that the driven member [3] is constrained and guided by the guide structure ([4],[5],[6]), which defines its permitted direction of movement. CN201934607 does not explicitly disclose a second sliding apparatus disposed between a limit bracket and the vacuum chamber, nor does it explicitly disclose multiple distinct sliding apparatuses as separately recited. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide additional sliding interfaces and corresponding support structures in order to improve stability, alignment, and load distribution of a moving member within a constrained system. Providing multiple guide interfaces and support members is a known and routine design consideration in mechanical systems involving guided movement.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN208917304, CN108257892, and CN201934607 as applied to Claim 4, and further view in of Anderle (US 4,765,273).
Regarding Claim 13, CN208917304, CN108257892 and CN201934607 teach the device of Claim 4 as described above. CN201934607 teach the basic rack and pinion structure for conveyance, but not the specific limit mechanism mechanical structure as claimed. However, the claimed structure of guiding vertically oriented loading plate apparatuses in vacuum coating production lines by pairs of rollers contacting both sides of the lower end is well-known as an alternative structure for conveyance as required.
Anderle teaches a vacuum coating installation with several stations having a transporting device implementing movement through the system with the structure of the limitation mechanism as claimed (See Abstract and col. 1, lines 7-12, wherein substrate holders [1], i.e. loading plate apparatus, are guided in a vertical position as claimed). Specifically, Anderle teaches a limit mechanism comprising a limit bracket [9] and a plurality of limit components [3],[4], a length direction of the limit bracket [9] is parallel to the moving direction of the loading plate apparatus [1] (See Figs. 1-2 and 4), the limit bracket [9] is connected to a bottom inside the vacuum chamber [10], and the plurality of limit components [3],[4] are disposed on the limit bracket [9] along the moving direction of the loading plate apparatus [1]; and each limit component [3],[4] comprises:
a limit fixing plate [7],[8],[11], connected to the limit bracket [9]; two limit rods [13a],[29], symmetrically disposed on both sides of the limit fixing plate [7],[8],[11] (See Figs. 2-3); and two rollers [5],[6], respectively connected to the limit rods [13]a],[29] and respectively in contact with both sides of the lower end [1] of the loading plate apparatus [1] (See Figs. 1-2 and col. 3, lines 8-62).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to implement the lower limit structure of the combined device articulated in Claim 4 with the paired-roller limit components of Anderle. Doing so would have predictably provided firm gripping and guiding of the loading plate apparatus at its lower end to prevent lateral tipping during transport through the chambers of CN208917304 (See Anderle, Claim 1 and col. 2, lines 16-19, teaching guidance achieved with precision by holding the substrate holders wedged between the guide rollers, a benefit directly applicable to the vertically transported loading apparatus of CN208917304).
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN208917304, CN108257892, and CN201934607as applied to Claim 15, and further view in of Hollars et al. (US 5,683,561).
Regarding Claim 16-18, CN208917304, CN108257892 and CN201934607 teach the device of Claim 15 as described above. CN208917304 teaches heating but does not describe the system in detail. However, it is well-known in similar vacuum coating to serially arrange heaters in symmetrical fashion for even heating and so also utilize temperature sensor and coolers throughout to regulate temperature and ensure no over-heating (See, for example, Hollars et al., Abstract, col. 25, line 57 to col. 26, line 10, col. 26, lines 57-63, and Fig. 19, wherein in a similar serial vacuum coating system, heaters are shown symmetrically arranged with temperature sensors and coolers for temperature regulation throughout the system). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to implement heat/cooler temperature control in CN208917304, such as is well-known as described in Hollar et la. Doing so would have predictably enabled controlled heating and overheating protection throughout the system.
Regarding Claims 19-20, CN208917304 teach separate coating chambers [3],[4],[6],[7] implying gas devices, i.e. spray apparatuses in each. Examiner takes official notices the organization of gas emitters relative to the heaters is well-known and a design choice for even heating and coating in similar CVD processes. See MPEP 2144.03. Thus, Examiner submits such arrangements would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention as a standard CVD arrangement for forming uniform coatings. Similarly, Claim 20 merely re-cites an organization of parts that is a design choice unless Applicant can show a specific technical advantage to the arrangement other than uniform coating/heating such as would be expected. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). It is noted that those skilled in the art, having been taught the desirability of a certain modification (uniform heating and coating), would recognize that other modifications were needed to accommodate the modification, and that one skilled in the art would be expected to have sufficient basic knowledge to construct such means, the structure of which appears to be simple. In re Bode et al., 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA 1977).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 14 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The specific door design for access as recited in Claim 3 including a partition board is not known in similar applications and cannot be rendered obvious absent hindsight.
Examiner submits the aspects of Claim 14 are known more generally in transport, but are increasingly specific relative to the sequential coating device claimed having a specific rack and pinion translation system for the wafer. Although more general aspects of this system are obvious, Claim 14 recites a specific magnetic fluid transport mechanism within the specific vacuum coating device that cannot be considered obvious within the recited detail of the larger system absent hindsight. Thus, the specificity of the translation system in relation to the specific vacuum coating system is not considered obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT W DODDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746