DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 07/01/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot
because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of
record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/01/2026 have been fully considered and the rejection(s) of claims 1, 12 and 17 under U.S.C. 102 have been withdrawn based on Applicant’s amended claims. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under U.S.C. 103 over HARRINGTON in view of BILLMAN in view of ZHANG.
With regards to the Applicant’s argument on Billman failing to teach a dual outdoor unit / indoor unit partitioned architecture, while Billman focuses on link selection algorithms in a multi-orbit terminal, Harrington explicitly discloses (¶[0020], [0022]-[0023], [0028]) a split system architecture comprising an indoor unit (220) and multiple outdoor units (150/260) connected via coaxial/IFL cables.
Additionally, the Applicant’s argument on Billman failing to teach communicative coupling using MoCA and IFL protocols with frequency range operational configurations, Harrington explicitly teaches (¶[0020], [0028]) the coupling of indoor and outdoor devices using MoCA connection protocols over an Interfacility Link (IFL) cable.
Furthermore, the Applicant’s argument on Billman failing to teach the multi-stage format conversion, unified stream generation, and protocol adaptation sequence, Zhang explicitly teaches (¶[0056], [0070], [0529], [0537]-[0538]) the two-stage protocol conversion sequence executed on a multi-path data device (e.g., client/modem).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harrington et al. (US 2020/0212997 A1), hereinafter “HARRINGTON” in view of Billman et al. (US 2023/0327754 A1), hereinafter “BILLMAN” in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0400537 A1), hereinafter “ZHANG”.
Regarding claim 1, HARRINGTON teaches, ‘A system comprising:’ (Paragraph [0006]: According to another embodiment, the system includes: a satellite terminal configured, at least in part, to facilitate communication by one or more user equipment via a satellite):
‘a first wireless network connection equipment comprising a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol, wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises an indoor device, and a first outdoor device;’ (Paragraph [0006]: the indoor unit being positioned at an indoor location; a satellite antenna unit positioned at an outdoor location, the satellite antenna unit incorporating an IPRadio;);
‘a second wireless network connection equipment comprising a non-terrestrial-based multi- path transport protocol and the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol, wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises the indoor device, and a second outdoor device;’ (Paragraph [0022]: The power supply unit 100 can be further configured to support a second outdoor unit via MoCA port 118b in embodiments that support two outdoor units 150);
‘wherein the indoor device and the second outdoor device are communicatively coupled using an MoCA connection protocol and an IFL protocol, wherein the MoCA connection protocol and the IFL protocol comprise a plurality of operational configurations and frequency ranges corresponding to at least one of the indoor device, the first outdoor device, and the second outdoor device;’ (Paragraph [0006]: one or more multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) ports disposed in the indoor unit for supplying, at least in part, the second DC voltage to the satellite antenna unit; and an interfacility link (IFL) cable for connecting the indoor unit to the satellite antenna unit via one of the one or more MoCA ports, wherein the IFL cable supplies the second DC voltage to the IPRadio and supplies data to/from the IPRadio; Paragraph [0027]: The receiver unit would receive and amplify outroute signals received from the satellite 270. The receiver unit also down-converts the Ku, Ka, or C-band frequency signals used by the satellite to L-band frequency signals appropriate for transmission over the IFL cable 250. The transmitter unit receives L-band signals from the satellite modem 220 and up-converts them to Ku-band signals for transmission to the satellite 270);
‘and provide a wide area network (WAN) connectivity comprising the modified data streams, to a user device, through the indoor device associated with the determined appropriate data transmission path.’ (Paragraph [0018]: As illustrated in FIG. 1, a network router or switch 120 can be connected to the first ethernet port… A network cable 122… can also be used to connect a user device such as a personal computer 124 to the router 120; Paragraph [0025]: A network device such as a wireless router or switch 240 can be connected to the ethernet port 224… As illustrated in FIG. 2, the wireless router 240 can be used to establish connections with various user devices… personal computer 244… laptop 246 and a tablet 248).
HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘wherein at least one of the indoor device, the first outdoor device, and the second outdoor device is communicatively coupled to a multi-path radio modem;’ (BILLMAN – Paragraphs [0057]-[0058]: The satellite communications terminal 100 comprises a satellite antenna 102, a processor (controller) 104 and a memory 106… The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102)
‘and wherein the multi-path radio modem comprises: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises processor- executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to:’ (BILLMAN – Paragraphs [0042]-[0045]: According to a fourth aspect, there is provided a satellite communications terminal comprising: a satellite antenna; a processor; and a memory storing executable instructions that, in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform the method):
‘receive a data stream from at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment;’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0086]: FIG. 2 illustrates a method of operating the satellite communications terminal 100 of FIG. 1 to transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110, 122, 126… The composite data stream 140 is received by the processor 104);
‘determine an appropriate data transmission path between the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on each of a plurality of network parameters, upon generating the unified data stream;’ (BILLMAN – Paragraphs [0007]-[0010]: determining a link parameter characterizing each available communications link; selecting at least two communications links from the available communications links… wherein the selection of at least two communications links is based on the data stream parameters characterizing the first and second data streams and the link parameters characterizing the available communications links; Paragraph [0014]: The link parameter characterizing each available communications link may comprise one or more of available bandwidth, latency, signal strength, connection point on the ground, network type);
‘switch dynamically between at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on the determined appropriate data transmission path;’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0054]: enables continuous reprioritization and reallocation
between different communications links in response to real-time changes in the communications link conditions; Paragraph [0096]: Predicting loss (or attenuation) of a communications link may enable pre-emptive switching between communications links before an existing communications link is
dropped);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
HARRINGTON and BILLMAN do not explicitly teach but ZHANG teaches, ‘determine a type of network configuration associated with at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on receiving the data stream;’ (ZHANG – Paragraph [0053]: The MX (Multi-Access) convergence layer is configurable or operable to perform MX-specific tasks in the UP (User Plane). The MX convergence layer performs multi-access specific tasks/functions such as, for example, access (path) selection, multi-link (path) aggregation, splitting/reordering… In some implementations, the MX convergence supports GMA (Generic Multi-Access), MPTCP (MultiPath TCP) Proxy, GRE (Generic Routing Encapsulation) Aggregation Proxy, and MPQUIC (MultiPath Quick UDP Internet Connections); Paragraphs [0465]-[0467]: Connection Information: This data type provides the mapping of connection ID and connection type… Type of RAT connection associated with the connection ID. Examples of the type of connection include "Wi-Fi", "5G_NR", "MulteFire", "LTE", "DSL", etc.);
‘convert each data stream into a first pre-defined data format, based on the determined type of network configuration, wherein the first pre-defined data format corresponds to a network compatible data format;’ (ZHANG – Paragraph [0108): The main responsibilities of the convergence protocol… The
GMA (Generic Multi-Access) Tx entity 510 splits or duplicates traffic over multiple radio links 105… The GMA Rx entity 511 reorders packets received over different radio links 105 and forwards those packets to higher layer entities, in sequence; Paragraph [0524]: The GMA encapsulation protocol is implemented at the convergence layer. GMA supports three encapsulation methods/formats: trailer-based IP encapsulation, header based IP encapsulation, and non-IP encapsulation);
‘generate a unified data stream corresponding to the received data stream, based on converting each of the data stream;’ (ZHANG – Paragraph [0052]: the MX convergence (sub )layer connects the IP and MX adaptation (sub)layers; Paragraph [0057]: multiple access networks 110 are combined into a single IP connection; Paragraph [0526]: For example, per-packet aggregation allows a single IP flow to use the combined bandwidth of the two connections);
‘modify the unified data stream to a second pre-defined data format compatible with the determined appropriate data transmission path, wherein the second pre-defined data format corresponds to at least one of a non-terrestrial-based multi-path transport protocol format and a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol format;’ (ZHANG – Paragraph [0110]: From the Transmitter (Tx) perspective, a User Payload (e.g. IP PDU) is processed by the convergence sublayer first, and then by the adaptation sublayer before being transported over a delivery access connection; Paragraph [0522]: From the Tx perspective, a User Payload (e.g., IP packet) is processed by the convergence layer first, and then by the adaptation layer before being transported over a delivery connection; Paragraph [0524]: GMA supports three encapsulation methods/formats: trailer-based IP encapsulation, header based IP encapsulation, and non-IP encapsulation… UDP or IPSec tunneling may be used at the adaptation sublayer);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of ZHANG with HARRINGTON and BILLMAN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of ZHANG into HARRINGTON and BILLMAN is that ZHANG provides advanced Multi-Access Management Services (MAMS) and Generic Multi-Access (GMA) convergence mechanisms specifically designed for cross-layer traffic splitting, dynamic load balancing, retransmission, and packet reordering across heterogeneous/multi-access communications links. This optimizes data throughput, minimizes end-to-end latency, and improves overall Quality of Experience (QoE) when splitting user data flows over multiple distinct paths (See Paragraphs [0052]-[0057], [0108]-[0110], ZHANG).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 18, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 1, HARRINGTON further teaches, ‘wherein, for determining the appropriate data transmission path between the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on each of the plurality of network parameters, the processor is to:’ (Paragraphs [0018]-[0019]: As illustrated in FIG. 1, a network router or switch 120 can be connected to the first ethernet port 116a. A network cable 122 such as a category 5 (CAT-5), category 6 (CAT-6), etc. can be used to supply power and data to the router 120… As further illustrated in FIG. 1, a network device
such as a wireless router 130 can be connected to ethernet port 116b via a network cable 122. The wireless router 130 could also receive both power and data via the network cable 122. Various additional user devices can subsequently establish connections to the wireless router 130. For example, a laptop 132, a mobile phone 134, and a tablet 136 can be configured to establish wireless connections to the wireless router 130; Paragraphs [0024]-[0025]: The satellite modem 220 also includes a power supply unit 230 configured to convert the input voltage into different DC voltages… the satellite modem 220 can include an ethernet port 224… A network device such as a wireless router or switch 240 can be connected to the ethernet port 224 using a network cable 242… to supply both power and data):
HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘and determine at least one of a latency parameter and a bandwidth parameter associated with the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, upon classifying the user traffic.’ (BILLMAN – Paragraphs [0005]-[0010]: analyzing data to be communicated through the satellite communications terminal to identify separate data streams and determine a data stream parameter
characterizing each data stream; identifying a plurality of communications links available through the satellite communications terminal comprising a satellite communications link and one or more further communications links; determining a link parameter characterizing each available communications link; selecting at least two communications links from the available communications links and establishing or maintaining simultaneous connections to each selected communications link; and transmitting a first data stream through a first selected communications link and transmitting a second data stream through a second selected communications link; wherein the selection of at least two communications links is based on the data stream parameters characterizing the first and second data streams and the link parameters characterizing the available communications links; Paragraph [0014]: The link parameter characterizing each available communications link may comprise one or more of available bandwidth, latency, signal strength, connection point on the ground, network type, whether encrypted and whether the network is shared, private, dedicated, open or closed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
HARRINGTON and BILLMAN do not explicitly teach but ZHANG teaches, ‘determine a quality of service (QoS) required for a user traffic associated with the generated unified data stream;’ (ZHANG – Paragraph [0368]: The mx_up_setup_conf message is enhanced to configure a virtual IP interface on the client 101; Paragraph [0377]: provide all the GMA client configuration parameters to the client 101, and provide a list of applications allowed to use GMA optimizations; Paragraphs [0554]-[0557]: The following three flows are defined for data traffic: High Reliability (Flow ID=1): High Reliability traffic will be delivered by duplication over both RAT1 and RAT2 in state 1, 2 and 3… Delay Sensitive (Flow ID=2): Delay Sensitive traffic will be delivered over RAT2 only in State 1, 2 and 3. High Throughput (Flow ID=3): High Throughput (e.g., DL) traffic will be delivered by aggregation over both RAT1 and RAT2 in State 3);
‘classify the user traffic associated with the generated unified data stream, based on determining the quality of service (QoS);’ (ZHANG - Paragraph [0681]: The TMS (Traffic Management Services) allows Edge applications to get informed of various traffic management capabilities and multi-access network connection information, and allows Edge applications to provide requirements, e.g. delay, throughput, loss, for influencing traffic management operations. In some implementations, the TMS includes Multi-Access Traffic Steering (MTS), which seamlessly performs steering, splitting, and duplication of application data traffic across multiple access network connections);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of ZHANG with HARRINGTON and BILLMAN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of ZHANG into HARRINGTON and BILLMAN is that ZHANG provides advanced Multi-Access Management Services (MAMS) and Generic Multi-Access (GMA) convergence mechanisms specifically designed for cross-layer traffic splitting, dynamic load balancing, retransmission, and packet reordering across heterogeneous/multi-access communications links. This optimizes data throughput, minimizes end-to-end latency, and improves overall Quality of Experience (QoE) when splitting user data flows over multiple distinct paths (See Paragraphs [0052]-[0057], [0108]-[0110], ZHANG).
Regarding claim 3, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 1, HARRINGTON further teaches,’… modem integrated into the first outdoor device.’ (Paragraph [0003]: Certain satellite systems have IPRadio configurations in which the modem circuitry traditionally found in the indoor unit, is incorporated into the outdoor unit together with the traditional radio circuitry).
HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises at least one of a Geosynchronous Earth Orbit (GEO) modem, and a Direct to Device (D2D) Low Earth Orbit (LEO)…’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0069]: FIG.1lA illustrates a plurality of communications satellites 108 each of which may communicate signals with the satellite communications terminal 100 using a satellite communications link (a "link") on a respective beam 110… The communications satellites 108 may be arranged in different orbits, for instance a geostationary orbit (GEO) 112, a medium Earth orbit (MEO) 114 and a low Earth orbit (LEO) 116; Paragraph [0081]: The satellite communications terminal 100 (e.g. memory 106) or another network entity in the communications network (e.g. the network controller 130) may build or receive a blockage model of satellite blocking (or satellite visibility) at the present location or across a relevant geographic area, which is built up using data from the satellite communications terminal, other satellite communications terminals, or both, based upon current and previous blockage experience)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
Regarding claim 4, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 3, HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘wherein the D2D LEO modem comprises a non-terrestrial network (NTN) Device-to-Device (D2D) antenna unit for a LEO satellite communication, wherein the NTN D2D antenna unit is to:’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0058]: The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. The satellite communications terminal 100 may also comprise one or both of a Wi-Fi communications antenna, a radio frequency antenna for communicating with a terrestrial cellular telephone communications network (e.g. 4G or 5G); paragraph [0069]: communications satellites 108… low Earth orbit (LEO) 116):
‘connect, via a multi-WAN access module, to at least one of a terrestrial cellular network and a LEO satellite network based on a location and available network conditions;’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0058]: communicating with a terrestrial cellular telephone communications network (e.g. 4G or 5G); Paragraph [0075]: The communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 that are available to it… assessed with respect to its available bandwidth… latency, signal strength, connection point on the ground, network type; Paragraph [0103]: Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 4G or 5G network communications link) may not be available whilst on the open sea, but may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbor);
‘communicate with the LEO satellite with signal reception and transmission capabilities as a fixed and a high-gain antenna;’ (BILLMAN – Paragraphs [0110]-[0111]: The satellite antenna 102 of the satellite communications terminal 100 may be a phased array or other electronically steered antenna (ESA) producing a single beam or a plurality of beams… in which the higher performance mode has a higher throughput and a higher power consumption than the lower performance mode… exciting a larger number of array elements in the array or driving a given number of array elements… at a higher gain or power level, providing a higher throughput; Paragraph [0113]: the beam strength of the satellite antenna 102 may be selected by controlling the number and arrangement of operative feed sets 170 in the lens array 150, for example with a larger number of feed elements per lens being operated to provide a higher power and/or sensitive beam and higher data throughput);
‘and determine an appropriate network path between a terrestrial path and a satellite path, based on real-time network parameters comprising at least one of a signal strength, a bandwidth availability, and a latency.’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0075]: The communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing
link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth (transmission throughput and receiver throughput), latency, signal strength, connection point on the ground, network type; Paragraph [0089]: The processor 104 then determines which of the available communications link 110A, 110B is the most suitable for transmitting each of the subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B, based upon the characterizing data stream parameters of the subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B and the characterizing link parameters of the available communications links 110A, 110B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 19 HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 3, HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘wherein the D2D LEO modem is to establish an auxiliary path associated with the first wireless network connection equipment, for transmitting the unified data stream,’ (BILLMAN – Paragraphs [0008]-[0009]: selecting at least two communications links from the available communications links and establishing or maintaining simultaneous connections to each selected communications link; and transmitting a first data stream through a first selected communications link and transmitting a second data stream through a second selected communications link; Paragraph [0099]: simultaneous transmission to a plurality of communications satellites) may enhance total data throughput),
‘wherein the unified data stream associated with the GEO and the D2D LEO modem comprises latency-sensitive Internet Protocol (IP) packets associated with the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol.’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0013]: The data stream parameter characterizing each data stream may comprise one or more of type of data, required bandwidth, required latency, requirement for encryption and data priority; Paragraph [0099]: reducing latency in video/voice communications and enhancing average data speed for transmission of large data files; Paragraph [0102]: the processor 104 identifies that a Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A and a Ka GEO communications link 110B are available, and the processor 104 identifies that the composite data stream 140 contains a video call and the transfer of a large file. The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data, and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file. The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the first subsidiary data stream 144A and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A. The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the second subsidiary data stream 144B and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka GEO communications link 110B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
Regarding claim 6, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 1, HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises a Geosynchronous Earth Orbit (GEO) modem, and a non-terrestrial based heterogenous cellular modem integrated into at least one of the second outdoor device, and the indoor device,’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0058]: The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. The satellite communications terminal 100 may also comprise one or both of a Wi-Fi communications antenna, a radio frequency antenna for communicating with a terrestrial cellular telephone communications network (e.g. 4G or 5G); Paragraph [0069]: The communications satellites 108… arranged in different orbits, for instance a geostationary orbit (GEO) 112),
‘wherein the unified data stream associated with the GEO and the non- terrestrial based heterogenous cellular modem comprises latency-insensitive Internet Protocol (IP) packets associated with the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol.’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0013]: The data stream parameter characterizing each data stream may comprise one or more of type of data, required bandwidth, required latency, requirement for encryption and data priority; Paragraph [0077]: Table 1: Ka GEO / High Latency / Best-fit Application: Bulk downloads and data transfers; HTS GEO / High Latency / Best-fit Application: Streaming; Paragraph [0102]: the processor 104 identifies that a Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A and a Ka GEO communications link 110B are available, and the processor 104 identifies that the composite data stream 140 contains a video call and the transfer of a large file… The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the second subsidiary data stream 144B and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka GEO communications link 110B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
Regarding claim 7, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 1, HARRINGTON further teaches, ‘wherein the indoor device and the first outdoor device are communicatively coupled using at least one of a coax splitter protocol, a multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) connection protocol’ (Paragraph [0020]: an outdoor unit 150 of a satellite terminal can be connected to one of the MoCA ports 118a using an interfacility links (IFL) cable 140. The IFL cable 140 can be in the form of a coaxial cable; Paragraph [0028]: the IFL cable 250 connects directly to a MoCA port of the IPRadio 268… The MoCA port 226 can also be configured to facilitate data transfer to/from the IPRadio 268. Accordingly, the IFL cable 250 can be used to supply power to, and facilitate data transfer with, the IPRadio 268)
‘and powered using a Direct Current (DC) power connection protocol between the indoor device and the first outdoor device.’ (Paragraph [0028]: Depending on the specific application, the MoCA port 226 can be configured to receive, and subsequently supply, a DC voltage ranging from 24V to 48V to the IPRadio 268… Accordingly, the IFL cable 250 can be used to supply power to, and facilitate data transfer with, the IPRadio 268).
Regarding claim 8, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 1, HARRINGTON further teaches, ‘wherein the indoor device and the second outdoor device are communicatively coupled using at least one of a coax splitter protocol, a multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) connection protocol, a interconnect facility link (IFL) protocol,’ (Paragraph [0020]: an outdoor unit 150 of a satellite terminal can be connected to one of the MoCA ports 118a using an interfacility links (IFL) cable 140. The IFL cable 140 can be in the form of a coaxial cable; Paragraph [0022]: The power supply unit 100 can be further configured to support a second outdoor unit via MoCA port 118b in embodiments that support two outdoor units 150; Paragraph [0028]: the IFL cable 250 connects directly to a MoCA port of the IPRadio 268… The MoCA port 226 can also be configured to facilitate data transfer to/from the IPRadio 268. Accordingly, the IFL cable 250 can be used to supply power to, and facilitate data transfer with, the IPRadio 268),
‘and a powered using a Direct Current (DC) power connection protocol between the indoor device and the second outdoor device. ’ (Paragraph [0028]: Depending on the specific application, the MoCA port 226 can be configured to receive, and subsequently supply, a DC voltage ranging from 24V to 48V to the IPRadio 268… Accordingly, the IFL cable 250 can be used to supply power to, and facilitate data transfer with, the IPRadio 268).
Regarding claims 10, 15 and 20, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 1, HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘wherein the first outdoor device and the second outdoor device comprises an antenna unit comprising a unified antenna to connect to at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment within a frequency band,’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0069]: The communications terminal 100 may be suitably configured to communicate with some or all of the communications satellites 108 in one or more of the illustrated orbits. Similarly, the communications terminal 100 may be configured to communicate with communications satellites 108 in one or more available satellite communications band; Paragraph [0107]: the satellite antenna 102 may be lens antenna array, for example being the multiple beam phased array antenna having a lens array 150… The lens array 150 has a plurality of lens sets 160. Each lens set 160 includes a lens 162, spacer 164 and feed set 170 which has multiple feed elements 172),
‘wherein the antenna unit establishes at least one of a first wireless network mode of communication, and a second wireless network mode of communication.’ (BILLMAN - Paragraph [0026], controlling the satellite antenna to generate a first beam to communicate with a first communications satellite according to one of at least first and second performance modes, wherein the second performance mode has a higher throughput than the first performance mode and consumes more power than the first performance mode; Paragraph [0106]: the satellite antenna 102 is selectable between a plurality of performance modes. The satellite antenna 102 may be operable in at least first and second performance modes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, HARRINGTON, BILLMAN and ZHANG teach, The system of claim 1, HARRINGTON does not explicitly teach but BILLMAN teaches, ‘wherein the plurality of parameters comprise at least one of the classification of the user traffic associated with the generated unified data stream,’ (BILLMAN – Paragraph [0013]: The data stream parameter characterizing each data stream may comprise one or more of type of data, required bandwidth, required latency, requirement for encryption and data priority; Paragraph [0087]: The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterizing data stream parameters of each subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B, being the class (type) of data, required bandwidth, required latency, requirement for encryption and data priority),
‘a latency parameter associated with the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment,’ (BILLMAN - Paragraph [0014]: The link parameter characterizing each available communications link may comprise one or more of available bandwidth, latency, signal strength, connection point on the ground, network type; Paragraph [0075]: each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth (transmission throughput and receiver throughput), latency, signal strength)),
‘a bandwidth parameter associated with the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment,’ (BILLMAN - Paragraph [0014]: The link parameter characterizing each available communications link may comprise one or more of available bandwidth, latency, signal strength; Paragraph [0075]: assessed with respect to its available bandwidth (transmission throughput and receiver throughput)),
‘and a quality of service (QoS) required for the user traffic.’ (BILLMAN - Paragraph [0077]: Table 1: Terrestrial Wi-Fi / Low Latency / High Throughput / Best-fit Application: Whenever available and available throughput and link stability meets requirements; Paragraph [0088]: represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging, which the satellite communications terminal 100 then uses to assign the corresponding data to different communications links as they are available).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of BILLMAN with HARRINGTON because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of BILLMAN into HARRINGTON is that BILLMAN provides multi-path radio modem software and hardware control mechanisms to enable multi-band, multi-orbit (GEO/LEO), and hybrid terrestrial communication across those exact physical links; and an automated mechanism to dynamically format, unify, evaluate, and switch traffic between different transport protocols (satellite-based and non-terrestrial-based) according to real-time QoS, latency, and bandwidth parameters. This achieves a predictable result of optimizing WAN throughput, link redundancy, and QoS across distributed indoor/outdoor network equipment (See Paragraph [0054], [0057]-[0058], BILLMAN).
Regarding claims 12 and 17, the claims include features identical to the subject matter mentioned in the rejection to claim 1. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to define the corresponding method (HARRINGTON ¶¶[0005]-[0006]) and computer-readable medium (HARRINGTON ¶[0021], [0030]-[0032]), and the rejection to claim 1 are applied hereto.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the
extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date
of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH
shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory
action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will
be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory
period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479