DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Billman et al. (US 2023/0327754 A1), hereinafter “BILLMAN”.
Regarding claim 1, BILLMAN teaches, ‘A system comprising:’ (FIG. 1A and Paragraph [0042], satellite communications terminal comprising):
‘a first wireless network connection equipment comprising a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol,’ (Paragraphs [0069]-[0070], FIG. 1A illustrates a plurality of communications satellites 108 each of which may communicate signals with the satellite communications terminal 100 using a satellite communications link (a "link") on a respective beam 110. … The communications satellites 108 may be arranged in different orbits, for instance a geostationary orbit (GEO) 112, a medium Earth orbit (MEO) 114 and a low Earth orbit (LEO) 116. With reference to FIG. 1B, it will be appreciated that for some geographic locations of a satellite terminal 100… a portion of the field of view of the satellite antenna 102 may be blocked or the strength of the beam and corresponding
communications link(s) may be compromised (attenuated) (Note: a terminal 100 and antenna 102 capable of communicating with a plurality of satellites 108 corresponds to “first wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraphs [0086]-[0089], transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110, 122, 126, in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A, 110B… The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters of each subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B (Note: composite data stream 140 is analyzed and split into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B for simultaneous transmission over multiple satellite communications links 110A, 110B. This allocation is governed by “data allocation protocols” managed by the processor 104 or an AI module 105 corresponds to “satellite-based multi-path transport protocol”)),
‘wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises an indoor device, and a first outdoor device;’ (Paragraph [0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. The satellite communications terminal 100 may also comprise one or both of a Wi-Fi communications antenna, a radio frequency antenna for communicating with a terrestrial cellular telephone communications network (e.g. 4G or 5G) (Note: satellite communications terminal 100, which includes the modem and various frequency converters corresponds to “first wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraph [0103], In a further example, where the communications terminal 100 is installed onboard a sea going vessel, a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour. (Note: The Wi-Fi antenna 120 and modem function as the indoor connectivity components of the terminal corresponds to “indoor device”). Paragraphs [0108]-[0109], As shown, the lens array 150 may be situated in a housing 180 having a base 182 and a cover or radome 184 that completely encloses the lens sets 160, feed sets 170, and other electronic components… The housing 180 is relatively thin and can form a top surface 186 for the lens array 150… Although exemplary operation has been described in relation to a satellite antenna 102 that is a lens antenna array, the person of ordinary skill will appreciate that the method of operating a satellite terminal may similarly be used with other satellite antennae (Note: the housing 180 which contains the lens array 150 (antenna). This housing is designed to be situated externally (e.g., mounted on a vehicle or vessel) to maintain a line-of-sight to satellites corresponds to “first outdoor device”);
‘a second wireless network connection equipment comprising a non-terrestrial-based multi-path transport protocol and the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol, wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises the indoor device, and a second outdoor device;’ (Paragraphs [0074]-[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link… The assessment of the communications links 110, 122, 126 may be
undertaken by the satellite communications terminal 100 (or by a higher-level network orchestrator)… The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122... Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. Paragraph [0099], Separating composite data stream 140 into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B that are transmitted by the most suitable of the available communications links enables
enhanced transmission performance (Note: a terminal system that integrates satellite links with terrestrial communications links (Wi-Fi 122 and Cellular 126) corresponds to “second wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraph [0102], The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data, and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file. The processor 104… transmits it through the available Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A… [and] transmits it through the available Ka GEO communications link 110B (Note: composite data stream and splitting it into subsidiary data streams to be sent simultaneously over different paths, including LEO/GEO satellite links (multi-orbit) and terrestrial cellular/Wi-Fi links (non-terrestrial/terrestrial multi-path) corresponds to “Non-terrestrial and Satellite multi-path transport protocol”). Paragraph [0103], In a further example,… a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour (Note: The terminal hardware managing these indoor/onboard links corresponds to the indoor device, the same “indoor device” may be common to both “first” and “second” equipment). Paragraph [0074], …the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124 (Note: The cellular antenna 124, distinct from the satellite antenna, represents to the second outdoor-mounted component corresponds to “second outdoor device”));
‘wherein at least one of the indoor device, the first outdoor device, and the second outdoor device is communicatively coupled to a multi-path radio modem; (Paragraph [0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102 (Note: a modem within the terminal, coupling to the antenna(s) and to user-side interfaces corresponds to “communicatively coupled to a multi-path radio modem”));
‘and wherein the multi-path radio modem comprises: a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises processor-executable instructions, which on execution, cause the processor to:’ (Paragraphs [0057]-[0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 comprises a satellite antenna 102, a processor (controller) 104 and a memory 106 (computer-readable storage medium). The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. Paragraph [0064], The memory 106 is configured to store instructions that, in response to execution by the processor 104, cause the processor 104 to control the communications terminal 100 in accordance with the present examples):
‘receive a data stream from at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment;’ (Paragraph [0086], FIG. 2 illustrates a method of operating the satellite communications terminal 100 of FIG. 1 to transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110 (corresponds to satellite), 122 (corresponds to Wi-Fi), 126 (corresponds to broadband cellular) (Note: The terminal receives a composite data stream from network equipment, corresponds to second wireless network connection equipment), in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A (corresponds to LEO), 110B (corresponds to GEO) (Note: corresponds to first wireless network connection equipment). The composite data stream 140 is received by the processor 104, which separates the composite data stream 140 into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B.Paragraph [0065], The satellite communications terminal 100…will also receive signals from the communications satellites 108);
‘determine a type of network configuration associated with at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on receiving the data stream;’ (FIG. 1A and Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. The satellite communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 (corresponds to satellite, Wi-Fi, cellular) that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterising link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength,… network type… (corresponds to determines network configuration). Paragraph [0087], The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters…);
‘convert each data stream into a first pre-defined data format, based on the determined type of network configuration, wherein the first pre-defined data format corresponds to a network compatible data format;’ (Paragraph [0088], A piece of user network equipment…may perform the identification of the data class and represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging, which the satellite communications terminal 100 then uses… Paragraphs [0114]–[0117], Examples of
such a measured link condition may be a measured signal to noise plus interference ratio, or an estimated uplink or downlink throughput, or the current MODCOD (modulation and coding) in use, by the forward or reverse communications links, by the modem. For a terminal with access to a certain amount of spectral bandwidth, the signal strength is a determining factor in which MODCODs the modem can use without transmission errors… The current link capacity can be determined… analytically by querying the MODCOD and communications link spectral bandwidth used by the modem… The use of a higher performance beam may enable a higher priority transmission to the communications satellite 108 (Note: Data is adapted for transmission over each link using link-appropriate modem/MODCOD settings, corresponds to “compatible data format”));
‘generate a unified data stream corresponding to the received data stream, based on converting each of the data stream;’ (Paragraph [0086], FIG. 2 illustrates a method…to transmit a composite data stream 140 (Note: The terminal processes the composite stream and allocates traffic for transmission)… Paragraph [0087], The composite data stream 140 is separated into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B (Note: under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), “unified data stream” is met by the composite data stream as processed and allocated));
‘determine an appropriate data transmission path between the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on each of a plurality of network parameters, upon generating the unified data stream;’ (Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122…
Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. The satellite communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength,… network type (Note: The terminal assesses link parameters (bandwidth, latency, signal strength, etc.) for all available links)... Paragraphs, [0079]–[0084], the satellite communications terminal 100 or another network entity in the communications network… may receive a weather model of current and predicted weather data, at the present location and predicted future locations of the satellite communications terminal 100… The historic link performance model may enable enhanced performance in prioritising the use of communications links for different types of data traffic. Paragraphs [0092]–[0095], The data allocation protocols may be determined and reconfigurable by artificial intelligence… The data allocation protocols may determine a program of communications link usage across a period of time, or along the passage of a planned route for a mobile satellite communications terminal, and the AI module 105, 131 may update the data allocation protocols and consequent program based upon updated information received);
‘switch dynamically between at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on the determined appropriate data transmission path;’ (Paragraphs [0099]–[0101], Traffic transmission or reception of the subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B can be continuously reprioritized and reallocated between different communications links in response to real-time changes in the communications link conditions. Paragraphs [0096]–[0098], Predicting loss (or attenuation) of a communications link may enable pre-emptive switching between communications links before an existing communications link is dropped (broken) (corresponds to link conditions));
‘modify the unified data stream to a second pre-defined data format compatible with the determined appropriate data transmission path, wherein the second pre-defined data format corresponds to at least one of a non-terrestrial-based multi-path transport protocol format and a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol format;’ (Paragraphs [0114]–[0117], Examples of such a measured link condition may be a measured signal to noise plus interference ratio, or an estimated uplink or downlink throughput, or the current MODCOD (modulation and coding) in use, by the forward or reverse communications links, by the modem (Note: The modem adapts the data for each link using appropriate transmission formats (e.g., MODCOD settings, protocol adaptation), which corresponds to modifying the data stream for the specific path (satellite or terrestrial)));
‘and provide a wide area network (WAN) connectivity comprising the modified data streams, to a user device, through the indoor device associated with the determined appropriate data transmission path.’ (Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a
Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124 (Note: The terminal provides connectivity to user devices via Wi-Fi/cellular or satellite, depending on the selected path). Paragraph [0103], …the communications terminal 100 is installed onboard a sea going vessel, a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 4G or 5G network communications link)… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour (Note: Example of a vessel where the terminal provides WAN connectivity to user devices, switching between satellite and terrestrial links as available)).
Regarding claims 2, 13 and 18 BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 1, ‘wherein, for determining the appropriate data transmission path between the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on each of the plurality of network parameters, the processor is to:’ (Paragraph [0057], The satellite communications terminal 100 comprises a satellite antenna 102, a processor (controller) 104 and a memory 106 (computer-readable storage medium). Paragraphs [0074]-[0075], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126. The communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing link parameters. Paragraph [0089], The processor 104 then determines which of the available communications link 110A, 110B is the most suitable for transmitting each of the subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B, based upon the characterising data stream parameters… and the characterising link parameters):
‘determine a quality of service (QoS) required for a user traffic associated with the generated unified data stream;’ (Paragraphs [0087]-[0088], For example, a piece of user network equipment (e.g. a network controller 130) may perform the identification of the data class and represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging… The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters of each subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B, being the class (type) of data, required bandwidth, required latency, requirement for encryption and data priority);
‘classify the user traffic associated with the generated unified data stream, based on determining the quality of service (QoS);’ (Paragraphs [0088]-[0089], perform the identification of the data class and represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging, which the satellite communications terminal 100 then uses to assign the corresponding data to different communications
links… The processor 104 then determines which of the available communications link 110A, 110B is the most suitable for transmitting each of the subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B, based upon the characterising data stream parameters);
‘and determine at least one of a latency parameter and a bandwidth parameter associated with the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, upon classifying the user traffic.’ (Paragraph [0075], each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth (transmission throughput and receiver throughput), latency, signal strength, connection point on the ground, network type… Paragraph [0104], the processor would continually evaluate and re-order the assignment of different data classes to the available communications links based on the current data stream classes and communications link conditions).
(Note: Regarding claims 13 and 18, the claims include features identical to the subject matter
mentioned in the rejection to claim 2. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 2 in order to define the corresponding method and computer-readable medium, and the rejection to claim 2 are applied hereto).
Regarding claim 3, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 1, ‘wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises at least one of a Geosynchronous Earth Orbit (GEO) modem, and a Direct to Device (D2D) Low Earth Orbit (LEO) modem integrated into the first outdoor device.’ (Paragraph [0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. Paragraph [0102], the processor 104 identifies that a Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A and a Ka GEO communications link 110B are available. The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the first subsidiary data stream 144A and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A. The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the second subsidiary data stream 144B and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka GEO communications link 110B. Paragraph [0069], The communications satellites 108 may be arranged in different orbits, for instance a geostationary orbit (GEO) 112, a medium Earth orbit (MEO) 114 and a low Earth orbit (LEO) 116.The communications terminal 100 may be suitably configured to communicate with some or all of the communications satellites 108. Paragraph [0108], As shown, the lens array 150 may be situated in a housing 180 (corresponds to outdoor device) having a base 182 and a cover or radome 184 that completely encloses the lens sets 160, feed sets 170, and other electronic components. Paragraph [0113], In the example of a lens array 150, the beam strength of the satellite antenna 102 may be selected by controlling the number and arrangement of operative feed sets 170 in the lens array 150).
Regarding claim 4, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 3, ‘wherein the D2D LEO modem comprises a non-terrestrial network (NTN) Device-to-Device (D2D) antenna unit for a LEO satellite communication, wherein the NTN D2D antenna unit is to:’ (Paragraph [0065], The processor 104 controls the satellite antenna 102 to generate at least one beam 110 operable to search for and to transmit signals to the communications satellites 108. Paragraph [0069], The communications satellites 108 may be arranged in different orbits, for instance… a low Earth orbit (LEO) 116. Paragraph [0102], the processor 104 identifies that a Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A… is available):
‘connect, via a multi-WAN access module, to at least one of a terrestrial cellular network and a LEO satellite network based on a location and available network conditions;’ (Paragraphs [0074]-[0075], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124… The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength, …, network type. Paragraph [0081], the model of satellite blocking (or availability) may include information about the blockage of parts of the field of view of a satellite antenna 102 in particular geographic locations… which may then be correlated with the present and predicted location of the satellite communications terminal);
‘communicate with the LEO satellite with signal reception and transmission capabilities as a fixed and a high-gain antenna;’ (Paragraphs [0112]-[0113], the beam strength and receiver sensitivity
of the satellite antenna 102 may be selected between different performance modes, with a greater beam power and/or receiver sensitivity (second performance mode) used to transmit and receive with a stronger beam 110A, enabling a higher data throughput… the beam strength of the satellite antenna 102 may be selected by controlling the number and arrangement of operative feed sets 170 in the lens array 150, for example with a larger number of feed elements per lens being operated to provide a higher power and/or sensitive beam);
‘and determine an appropriate network path between a terrestrial path and a satellite path, based on real-time network parameters comprising at least one of a signal strength, a bandwidth availability, and a latency.’ (Paragraph [0075], The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing link parameters… each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength. Paragraph [0100], traffic transmission or reception of the subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B can be continuously reprioritized and reallocated between different communications links in response to real-time changes in the communications link conditions).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 19 BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 3, ‘wherein the D2D LEO modem is to establish an auxiliary path associated with the first wireless network connection equipment, for transmitting the unified data stream,’ (Paragraph [0102], the processor 104 identifies that a Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A… The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data, and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file. The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the first subsidiary data stream 144A and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A. Paragraph [0086], the satellite communications terminal 100… to transmit a composite data stream (corresponds to unified data stream) 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110, 122, 126, in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A, 110B),
‘wherein the unified data stream associated with the GEO and the D2D LEO modem comprises latency-sensitive Internet Protocol (IP) packets associated with the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol.’ (Paragraph [0102], The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data (corresponds to latency-sensitive IP packets), and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file. The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the first subsidiary data stream 144A and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A. Paragraph [0104], the processor would continually evaluate and re-order the assignment of different data classes to the available communications links based on the current data stream classes and communications link conditions. Paragraph [0087], The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters of each subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B, being the class (type) of data, required bandwidth, required latency, requirement for encryption and data priority).
(Note: Regarding claims 14 and 19, the claims include features identical to the subject matter
mentioned in the rejection to claim 5. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 5 in order to define the corresponding method and computer-readable medium, and the rejection to claim 5 are applied hereto).
Regarding claim 6, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 1, ‘wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises a Geosynchronous Earth Orbit (GEO) modem, and a non-terrestrial based heterogenous cellular modem integrated into at least one of the second outdoor device, and the indoor device,’ (Paragraph [0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 also
comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. The satellite communications terminal 100 may also comprise one or both of a Wi-Fi communications antenna, a radio frequency antenna for communicating with a terrestrial cellular telephone communications network (e.g. 4G or 5G). Paragraphs [0102]-[0103], the processor 104 identifies that a Ka GEO communications link 110B is available… In a further example, where the communications
terminal 100 is installed onboard a sea going vessel,… broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 4G or 5G network communications link)… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour. Paragraph [0074], …the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications
link) with a cellular network antenna 124),
‘wherein the unified data stream associated with the GEO and the non-terrestrial based heterogenous cellular modem comprises latency-insensitive Internet Protocol (IP) packets associated with the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol.’ (Paragraph [0102], The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data, and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file (corresponds to latency-insensitive IP packets)… The processor 104 determines the most suitable communications link for the second subsidiary data stream 144B and accordingly transmits it through the available Ka GEO communications link 110B. Paragraph [0086], the satellite communications terminal 100… to transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110, 122, 126, in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A, 110B. Paragraph [0101], large file transfers may be allocated to communications links for which a limited period of interruption is predicted, if the data throughput or cost is otherwise acceptable. TABLE 1, Best-fit Application [for] Ka GEO [is listed as] Bulk downloads and data transfers).
Regarding claims 10, 15 and 20, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 1, ‘wherein the first outdoor device and the second outdoor device comprises an antenna unit’ (Paragraph [0108], the lens array 150 may be situated in a housing 180 having a base 182 and a cover or radome 184 that completely encloses the lens sets 160, feed sets 170 (corresponds to antenna unit), and other electronic components (corresponds to first outdoor device/ second out door device))
‘comprising a unified antenna to connect to at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment within a frequency band,’ (Paragraph [0066], the satellite antenna 102 may be a multiple beam satellite antenna 102, for instance operable to generate a first beam 110 for communicating with a first communications satellite 108, and to simultaneously generate at least a second beam 110 for searching for, or communicating with, one or more further communications satellites 108). Paragraph [0069], Similarly, the communications terminal 100 may be configured to communicate with communications satellites 108 in one or more available satellite communications band (corresponds to frequency band),
‘wherein the antenna unit establishes at least one of a first wireless network mode of communication, and a second wireless network mode of communication.’ (Paragraph [0112], beam strength and receiver sensitivity of the satellite antenna 102 may be selected… (first performance mode) to provide a less powerful beam 110B… with a greater beam power and/or receiver sensitivity (second performance mode) used to transmit and receive with a stronger beam 110A).
(Note: Regarding claims 15 and 20, the claims include features identical to the subject matter
mentioned in the rejection to claim 10. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 10 in order to define the corresponding method and computer-readable medium, and the rejection to claim 10 are applied hereto).
Regarding claims 11 and 16, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 1, ‘wherein the plurality of parameters comprise at least one of the classification of the user traffic associated with the generated unified data stream,’ (Paragraph [0102], The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data, and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file. Paragraph [0054], Separating the composite data stream into a plurality of subsidiary data streams that are simultaneously transmitted by different communications links enables enhanced transmission performance. Paragraphs [0087]-[0088], The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters of each subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B, being the class (type) of data, required bandwidth, required latency, requirement for encryption and data priority... For example, a piece of user network equipment (e.g. a network controller 130) may perform the identification of the data class and represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging),
‘a latency parameter associated with the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment,’ (Paragraph [0075], The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength. Paragraph [0102], the processor 104 identifies that a Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A and a Ka GEO communications link 110B are available. TABLE 1, Latency [parameters for different link types], Low [for] LEO, High [for] GEO),
‘a bandwidth parameter associated with the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment,’ (Paragraph [0075], each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth (transmission throughput and receiver throughput). TABLE 1, Throughput (corresponds to bandwidth parameter), High [for] terrestrial/LEO, Medium [for] GEO),
‘and a quality of service (QoS) required for the user traffic.’ (Paragraph [0088], represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging, which the satellite communications terminal 100 then uses to assign the corresponding data to different communications links as they are available. Paragraph [0104], the processor would continually evaluate and re-order the assignment of different data classes to the available communications links based on the current data stream classes and communications link conditions).
(Note: Regarding claim 16, the claim includes features identical to the subject matter
mentioned in the rejection to claim 11. The claim is mere reformulation of claim 11 in order to define the corresponding method, and the rejection to claim 11 is applied hereto).
Regarding claim 12, BILLMAN teaches, ‘A method comprising:’ (Paragraph [0086], a method of operating the satellite communications terminal 100):
‘receiving, by a processor, a data stream from at least one of a first wireless network connection equipment and a second wireless network connection equipment,’ (Paragraph [0086], FIG. 2 illustrates a method of operating the satellite communications terminal 100 of FIG. 1 to transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110 (corresponds to satellite), 122 (corresponds to Wi-Fi), 126 (corresponds to broadband cellular) (corresponds to second wireless network connection equipment), in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A (corresponds to LEO), 110B (corresponds to GEO) (Note: corresponds to first wireless network connection equipment). The composite data stream 140 is received by the processor 104, which separates the composite data stream 140 into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B. Paragraph [0065], The satellite communications terminal 100…will also receive signals from the communications satellites 108),
‘wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol,’ (Paragraphs [0069]-[0070], FIG. 1A illustrates a plurality of communications satellites 108 each of which may communicate signals with the satellite communications terminal 100 using a satellite communications link (a "link") on a respective beam 110. … The communications satellites 108 may be arranged in different orbits, for instance a geostationary orbit (GEO) 112, a medium Earth orbit (MEO) 114 and a low Earth orbit (LEO) 116. With reference to FIG. 1B, it will be appreciated that for some geographic locations of a satellite terminal 100… a portion of the field of view of the satellite antenna 102 may be blocked or the strength of the beam and corresponding
communications link(s) may be compromised (attenuated) (Note: a terminal 100 and antenna 102 capable of communicating with a plurality of satellites 108 corresponds to “first wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraphs [0086]-[0089], transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110, 122, 126, in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A, 110B… The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters of each subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B (Note: composite data stream 140 is analyzed and split into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B for simultaneous transmission over multiple satellite communications links 110A, 110B. This allocation is governed by “data allocation protocols” managed by the processor 104 or an AI module 105 corresponds to “satellite-based multi-path transport protocol”)),
‘and wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises a non-terrestrial-based multi-path transport protocol and the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol;’ (Paragraphs [0074]-[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link… The assessment of the communications links 110, 122, 126 may be
undertaken by the satellite communications terminal 100 (or by a higher-level network orchestrator)… The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122... Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. Paragraph [0099], Separating composite data stream 140 into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B that are transmitted by the most suitable of the available communications links enables
enhanced transmission performance (Note: a terminal system that integrates satellite links with terrestrial communications links (Wi-Fi 122 and Cellular 126) corresponds to “second wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraph [0102], The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data, and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file. The processor 104… transmits it through the available Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A… [and] transmits it through the available Ka GEO communications link 110B (Note: composite data stream and splitting it into subsidiary data streams to be sent simultaneously over different paths, including LEO/GEO satellite links (multi-orbit) and terrestrial cellular/Wi-Fi links (non-terrestrial/terrestrial multi-path) corresponds to “Non-terrestrial and Satellite multi-path transport protocol”));
‘determining, by the processor, a type of network configuration associated with at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on receiving the data stream;’ (FIG. 1A and Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. The satellite communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 (corresponds to satellite, Wi-Fi, cellular) that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterising link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength,… network type… (corresponds to determines network configuration). Paragraph [0087]: The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters…);
‘converting, by the processor, each of the data stream into a first pre-defined data format, based on the determined type of network configuration, wherein the first pre-defined data format corresponds to a network compatible data format;’ (Paragraph [0088], A piece of user network equipment…may perform the identification of the data class and represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging, which the satellite communications terminal 100 then uses… Paragraphs [0114]–[0117], Examples of such a measured link condition may be a measured signal to noise plus interference ratio, or an estimated uplink or downlink throughput, or the current MODCOD (modulation and coding) in use, by the forward or reverse communications links, by the modem. For a terminal with access to a certain amount of spectral bandwidth, the signal strength is a determining factor in which MODCODs the modem can use without transmission errors… The current link capacity can be determined… analytically by querying the MODCOD and communications link spectral bandwidth used by the modem… The use of a higher performance beam may enable a higher priority transmission to the communications satellite 108 (Note: Data is adapted for transmission over each link using link-appropriate modem/MODCOD settings, corresponds to “compatible data format”));
‘generating, by the processor, a unified data stream corresponding to the received data stream, based on converting each of the data stream;’ (Paragraph [0086], FIG. 2 illustrates a method…to transmit a composite data stream 140 (Note: The terminal processes the composite stream and allocates traffic for transmission)… Paragraph [0087], The composite data stream 140 is separated into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B (Note: under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), “unified data stream” is met by the composite data stream as processed and allocated));
‘determining, by the processor, an appropriate data transmission path between the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on each of a plurality of network parameters, upon generating the unified data stream;’ (Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. The satellite communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength,… network type (Note: The terminal assesses link parameters (bandwidth, latency, signal strength, etc.) for all available links)... Paragraphs, [0079]–[0084], the satellite communications terminal 100 or another network entity in the communications network… may receive a weather model of current and predicted weather data, at the present location and predicted future locations of the satellite communications terminal 100… The historic link performance model may enable enhanced performance in prioritising the use of communications links for different types of data traffic. Paragraphs [0092]–[0095], The data allocation protocols may be determined and reconfigurable by artificial intelligence… The data allocation protocols may determine a program of communications link usage across a period of time, or along the passage of a planned route for a mobile satellite communications terminal, and the AI module 105, 131 may update the data allocation protocols and consequent program based upon updated information received);
‘switching, by the processor, dynamically between at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on the determined appropriate data transmission path;’ (Paragraphs [0099]–[0101], Traffic transmission or reception of the subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B can be continuously reprioritized and reallocated between different communications links in response to real-time changes in the communications link conditions. Paragraphs [0096]–[0098], Predicting loss (or attenuation) of a communications link may enable pre-emptive switching between communications links before an existing communications link is dropped (broken) (corresponds to link conditions));
‘modifying, by the processor, the unified data stream to a second pre-defined data format compatible with the determined appropriate data transmission path, wherein the second pre-defined data format corresponds to at least one of a non-terrestrial-based multi-path transport protocol format and a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol format;’ (Paragraphs [0114]–[0117], Examples of such a measured link condition may be a measured signal to noise plus interference ratio, or an estimated uplink or downlink throughput, or the current MODCOD (modulation and coding) in use, by the forward or reverse communications links, by the modem. (Note: The modem adapts the data for each link using appropriate transmission formats (e.g., MODCOD settings, protocol adaptation), which corresponds to modifying the data stream for the specific path (satellite or terrestrial)));
‘and providing, by the processor, a wide area network (WAN) connectivity comprising the modified data streams, to a user device, through at least one of an indoor device associated with the determined appropriate data transmission path,’ (Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124 (Note: The terminal provides connectivity to user devices via Wi-Fi/cellular or satellite, depending on the selected path). Paragraph [0103], …the communications terminal 100 is installed onboard a sea going vessel, a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 4G or 5G network communications link)… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour (Note: Example of a vessel where the terminal provides WAN connectivity to user devices, switching between satellite and terrestrial links as available)),
‘wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises the indoor device, and a first outdoor device,’ (Paragraph [0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. The satellite communications terminal 100 may also comprise one or both of a Wi-Fi communications antenna, a radio frequency antenna for communicating with a terrestrial cellular telephone communications network (e.g. 4G or 5G) (Note: satellite communications terminal 100, which includes the modem and various frequency converters corresponds to “first wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraph [0103], In a further example, where the communications terminal 100 is installed onboard a sea going vessel, a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour. (Note: The Wi-Fi antenna 120 and modem function as the indoor connectivity components of the terminal corresponds to “indoor device”). Paragraphs [0108]-[0109], As shown, the lens array 150 may be situated in a housing 180 having a base 182 and a cover or radome 184 that completely encloses the lens sets 160, feed sets 170, and other electronic components… The housing 180 is relatively thin and can form a top surface 186 for the lens array 150… Although exemplary operation has been described in relation to a satellite antenna 102 that is a lens antenna array, the person of ordinary skill will appreciate that the method of operating a satellite terminal may similarly be used with other satellite antennae (Note: the housing 180 which contains the lens array 150 (antenna). This housing is designed to be situated externally (e.g., mounted on a vehicle or vessel) to maintain a line-of-sight to satellites corresponds to “first outdoor device”),
‘and wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises the indoor device, and a second outdoor device.’ (Paragraph [0103], In a further example,… a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour (Note: The terminal hardware managing these indoor/onboard links corresponds to the indoor device, the same “indoor device” may be common to both “first” and “second” equipment). Paragraph [0074], …the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124 (Note: The cellular antenna 124, distinct from the satellite antenna, represents to the second outdoor-mounted component corresponds to “second outdoor device”)).
Regarding claim 17, BILLMAN teaches, ‘A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising machine-readable instructions that are executable by a processor to:’ (Paragraph [0105], …apportion (allot) subsidiary data streams… may be in response to executable instructions stored in a computer-readable storage medium (memory 106)):
‘receive a data stream from at least one of a first wireless network connection equipment and a second wireless network connection equipment,’ (Paragraph [0086], FIG. 2 illustrates a method of operating the satellite communications terminal 100 of FIG. 1 to transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110 (corresponds to satellite), 122 (corresponds to Wi-Fi), 126 (corresponds to broadband cellular) (Note: The terminal receives a composite data stream from network equipment, corresponds to second wireless network connection equipment), in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A (corresponds to LEO), 110B (corresponds to GEO) (Note: corresponds to first wireless network connection equipment). The composite data stream 140 is received by the processor 104, which separates the composite data stream 140 into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B.Paragraph [0065], The satellite communications terminal 100…will also receive signals from the communications satellites 108);
‘wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol,’ (Paragraphs [0069]-[0070], FIG. 1A illustrates a plurality of communications satellites 108 each of which may communicate signals with the satellite communications terminal 100 using a satellite communications link (a "link") on a respective beam 110. … The communications satellites 108 may be arranged in different orbits, for instance a geostationary orbit (GEO) 112, a medium Earth orbit (MEO) 114 and a low Earth orbit (LEO) 116. With reference to FIG. 1B, it will be appreciated that for some geographic locations of a satellite terminal 100… a portion of the field of view of the satellite antenna 102 may be blocked or the strength of the beam and corresponding
communications link(s) may be compromised (attenuated) (Note: a terminal 100 and antenna 102 capable of communicating with a plurality of satellites 108 corresponds to “first wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraphs [0086]-[0089], transmit a composite data stream 140 through a plurality of different communications links 110, 122, 126, in this example being two different satellite communications links 110A, 110B… The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters of each subsidiary data stream 144A, 144B (Note: composite data stream 140 is analyzed and split into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B for simultaneous transmission over multiple satellite communications links 110A, 110B. This allocation is governed by “data allocation protocols” managed by the processor 104 or an AI module 105 corresponds to “satellite-based multi-path transport protocol”)),
‘and wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises a non-terrestrial-based multi-path transport protocol and the satellite-based multi-path transport protocol;’ (Paragraphs [0074]-[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link… The assessment of the communications links 110, 122, 126 may be
undertaken by the satellite communications terminal 100 (or by a higher-level network orchestrator)… The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122... Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. Paragraph [0099], Separating composite data stream 140 into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B that are transmitted by the most suitable of the available communications links enables
enhanced transmission performance (Note: a terminal system that integrates satellite links with terrestrial communications links (Wi-Fi 122 and Cellular 126) corresponds to “second wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraph [0102], The processor 104 separates the composite data stream 140 into a first subsidiary data stream 144A for the video call data, and a second subsidiary data stream 144B for the large data file. The processor 104… transmits it through the available Ka/Ku LEO communications link 110A… [and] transmits it through the available Ka GEO communications link 110B (Note: composite data stream and splitting it into subsidiary data streams to be sent simultaneously over different paths, including LEO/GEO satellite links (multi-orbit) and terrestrial cellular/Wi-Fi links (non-terrestrial/terrestrial multi-path) corresponds to “Non-terrestrial and Satellite multi-path transport protocol”));
‘determine a type of network configuration associated with at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on receiving the data stream;’ (FIG. 1A and Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. The satellite communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 (corresponds to satellite, Wi-Fi, cellular) that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterising link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength,… network type… (corresponds to determines network configuration). Paragraph [0087]: The composite data stream 140 is separated according to one or more respective characterising data stream parameters…);
‘convert each of the data stream into a first pre-defined data format, based on the determined type of network configuration, wherein the first pre-defined data format corresponds to a network compatible data format;’ (Paragraph [0088], A piece of user network equipment…may perform the identification of the data class and represent the class with Ethernet QOS identifiers or VLAN tagging, which the satellite communications terminal 100 then uses… Paragraphs [0114]–[0117], Examples of such a measured link condition may be a measured signal to noise plus interference ratio, or an estimated uplink or downlink throughput, or the current MODCOD (modulation and coding) in use, by the forward or reverse communications links, by the modem. For a terminal with access to a certain amount of spectral bandwidth, the signal strength is a determining factor in which MODCODs the modem can use without transmission errors… The current link capacity can be determined… analytically by querying the MODCOD and communications link spectral bandwidth used by the modem… The use of a higher performance beam may enable a higher priority transmission to the communications satellite 108 (Note: Data is adapted for transmission over each link using link-appropriate modem/MODCOD settings, corresponds to “compatible data format”));
‘generate a unified data stream corresponding to the received data stream, based on converting each of the data stream;’ (Paragraph [0086], FIG. 2 illustrates a method…to transmit a composite data stream 140 (Note: The terminal processes the composite stream and allocates traffic for transmission)… Paragraph [0087], The composite data stream 140 is separated into subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B (Note: under Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI), “unified data stream” is met by the composite data stream as processed and allocated));
‘determine an appropriate data transmission path between the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on each of a plurality of network parameters, upon generating the unified data stream;’ (Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. The satellite communications terminal 100 identifies all of the communications links 110, 122, 126 that are available to it. The properties of each communications link 110, 122, 126 are assessed to determine one or more respective characterizing link parameters. For example, each communications link 110, 122, 126 may be assessed with respect to its available bandwidth…, latency, signal strength,… network type (Note: The terminal assesses link parameters (bandwidth, latency, signal strength, etc.) for all available links)... Paragraphs, [0079]–[0084], the satellite communications terminal 100 or another network entity in the communications network… may receive a weather model of current and predicted weather data, at the present location and predicted future locations of the satellite communications terminal 100… The historic link performance model may enable enhanced performance in prioritising the use of communications links for different types of data traffic. Paragraphs [0092]–[0095], The data allocation protocols may be determined and reconfigurable by artificial intelligence… The data allocation protocols may determine a program of communications link usage across a period of time, or along the passage of a planned route for a mobile satellite communications terminal, and the AI module 105, 131 may update the data allocation protocols and consequent program based upon updated information received);
‘switch dynamically between at least one of the first wireless network connection equipment and the second wireless network connection equipment, based on the determined appropriate data transmission path;’ (Paragraphs [0099]–[0101], Traffic transmission or reception of the subsidiary data streams 144A, 144B can be continuously reprioritized and reallocated between different communications links in response to real-time changes in the communications link conditions. Paragraphs [0096]–[0098], Predicting loss (or attenuation) of a communications link may enable pre-emptive switching between communications links before an existing communications link is dropped (broken) (corresponds to link conditions));
‘modify the unified data stream to a second pre-defined data format compatible with the determined appropriate data transmission path, wherein the second pre-defined data format corresponds to at least one of a non-terrestrial-based multi-path transport protocol format and a satellite-based multi-path transport protocol format;’ (Paragraphs [0114]–[0117], Examples of such a measured link condition may be a measured signal to noise plus interference ratio, or an estimated uplink or downlink throughput, or the current MODCOD (modulation and coding) in use, by the forward or reverse communications links, by the modem. (Note: The modem adapts the data for each link using appropriate transmission formats (e.g., MODCOD settings, protocol adaptation), which corresponds to modifying the data stream for the specific path (satellite or terrestrial)));
‘and provide a wide area network (WAN) connectivity comprising the modified data streams, to a user device, through an indoor device associated with the determined appropriate data transmission path,’ (Paragraphs [0074]–[0076], The satellite communications terminal 100 may also communicate information through a terrestrial communications link. The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124 (Note: The terminal provides connectivity to user devices via Wi-Fi/cellular or satellite, depending on the selected path). Paragraph [0103], …the communications terminal 100 is installed onboard a sea going vessel, a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 4G or 5G network communications link)… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour (Note: Example of a vessel where the terminal provides WAN connectivity to user devices, switching between satellite and terrestrial links as available)),
‘wherein the first wireless network connection equipment comprises the indoor device, and a first outdoor device,’ (Paragraph [0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem, amplifiers, level shifters, and frequency converters for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102. The satellite communications terminal 100 may also comprise one or both of a Wi-Fi communications antenna, a radio frequency antenna for communicating with a terrestrial cellular telephone communications network (e.g. 4G or 5G) (Note: satellite communications terminal 100, which includes the modem and various frequency converters corresponds to “first wireless network connection equipment”). Paragraph [0103], In a further example, where the communications terminal 100 is installed onboard a sea going vessel, a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour. (Note: The Wi-Fi antenna 120 and modem function as the indoor connectivity components of the terminal corresponds to “indoor device”). Paragraphs [0108]-[0109], As shown, the lens array 150 may be situated in a housing 180 having a base 182 and a cover or radome 184 that completely encloses the lens sets 160, feed sets 170, and other electronic components… The housing 180 is relatively thin and can form a top surface 186 for the lens array 150… Although exemplary operation has been described in relation to a satellite antenna 102 that is a lens antenna array, the person of ordinary skill will appreciate that the method of operating a satellite terminal may similarly be used with other satellite antennae (Note: the housing 180 which contains the lens array 150 (antenna). This housing is designed to be situated externally (e.g., mounted on a vehicle or vessel) to maintain a line-of-sight to satellites corresponds to “first outdoor device”);
‘and wherein the second wireless network connection equipment comprises the indoor device, and a second outdoor device.’ (Paragraph [0103], In a further example,… a Wi-Fi communications link 122 or broadband cellular network communications link 126… may become available when the vessel returns from the open sea to a harbour (Note: The terminal hardware managing these indoor/onboard links corresponds to the indoor device, the same “indoor device” may be common to both “first” and “second” equipment). Paragraph [0074], …the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124 (Note: The cellular antenna 124, distinct from the satellite antenna, represents to the second outdoor-mounted component corresponds to “second outdoor device”)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BILLMAN in view of Harrington et al. (US 2020/0212997 A1), hereinafter “HARRINGTON”.
Regarding claim 7, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 1, BILLMAN further teaches, ‘wherein the indoor device and the first outdoor device are communicatively coupled’ (Paragraphs [0057]-[0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 comprises a… processor (controller) 104… The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem… for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102)
BILLMAN does not explicitly teach but HARRINGTON teaches, ‘using at least one of a coax splitter protocol,’ (HARRINGTON –Paragraph [0021], A coupler/splitter could subsequently be used to combine/split the second end of the IFL cable 140 to facilitate connections),
‘a multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) connection protocol ‘ (HARRINGTON - Paragraph [0006], an interfacility link (IFL) cable for connecting the indoor unit to the satellite antenna unit via one of the one or more MoCA ports, wherein the IFL cable supplies the second DC voltage to the
IPRadio. Paragraphs [0020]-[0021], The IFL cable 140 can be in the form of a coaxial cable capable of carrying DC power and digital data signals…The IFL cable 140 includes a first end connected to MoCA port 118a and a second end connected to the IPRadio 158 via a matching MoCA port)
‘and a powered using a Direct Current (DC) power connection protocol between the indoor device and the first outdoor device.’ (HARRINGTON – Paragraphs [0005]-[0006], at least one multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) ports for supplying, at least in part, the second DC voltage, wherein the first DC voltage is lower than the second DC voltage… interfacility link (IFL) cable for connecting the indoor unit (corresponds to indoor device) to the satellite antenna unit (corresponds to first outdoor device) via one of the one or more MoCA ports, wherein the IFL cable supplies the second DC voltage to the IPRadio. Paragraph [0028], Accordingly, the IFL cable 250 can be used to supply power to, and facilitate data transfer with, the IPRadio 268.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HARRINGTON with BILLMAN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HARRINGTON into BILLMAN is that HARRINGTON provides for supplying power to different devices at different levels. The apparatus includes an input port for receiving power from an external source. A first converter is provided for converting the input power to a first DC voltage, and a second converter for converting the input power to a second DC voltage. Ethernet ports are provided for supplying, at least in part, the first DC voltage to a first type of device. MoCA ports are provided for supplying, at least in part, the second DC voltage to a second type of device. (See Abstract], HARRINGTON)
Regarding claim 8, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 1, BILLMAN further teaches, ‘wherein the indoor device and the second outdoor device are communicatively coupled’ (Paragraph [0074], the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. Paragraphs [0057]-[0058], The satellite communications terminal 100 comprises a… processor (controller) 104… The satellite communications terminal 100 also comprises a modem… for interconnecting communications signals to and from the modem and the satellite antenna 102)
BILLMAN does not explicitly teach but HARRINGTON teaches, ‘using at least one of a coax splitter protocol,’ (HARRINGTON – Paragraph [0021], A coupler/splitter could subsequently be used to combine/split the second end of the IFL cable 140 to facilitate connections),
‘a multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) connection protocol,’ (HARRINGTON – Paragraph [0006], The system further includes… one or more multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) ports disposed in the indoor unit for supplying, at least in part, the second DC voltage to the satellite antenna unit. Paragraph [0021], The IFL cable 140 includes a first end connected to MoCA port 118a and a second end connected to the IPRadio 158 via a matching MoCA port),
‘a interconnect facility link (IFL) protocol,’ (HARRINGTON – Paragraph [0006], an interfacility link (IFL) cable for connecting the indoor unit to the satellite antenna unit via one of the one or more MoCA ports. Paragraph [0026], the outdoor unit 260 connects to the MoCA port 226 of the satellite modem 220 using an interfacility links (IFL) cable 250. Paragraph [0020], According to at least one embodiment, an outdoor unit 150 of a satellite terminal can be connected to one of the MoCA ports 118a using an interfacility links (IFL) cable 140),
‘and a powered using a Direct Current (DC) power connection protocol between the indoor device and the second outdoor device.’ (HARRINGTON – Paragraph [0005], the apparatus includes:… at least one multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) ports for supplying, at least in part, the second DC voltage. Paragraph [0028], the MoCA port 226 can be configured to receive, and subsequently supply, a DC voltage ranging from 24V to 48V to the IPRadio 268. Paragraph [0026], the outdoor unit 260 connects to the MoCA port 226 of the satellite modem 220 using an interfacility links (IFL) cable 250. Paragraph [0020], The IFL cable 140 can be in the form of a coaxial cable capable of carrying DC power and digital data signals). Paragraph [0006], interfacility link (IFL) cable for connecting the indoor unit (corresponds to indoor device) to the satellite antenna unit (corresponds to second outdoor device) via one of the one or more MoCA ports, wherein the IFL cable supplies the second DC voltage to the IPRadio).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HARRINGTON with BILLMAN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HARRINGTON into BILLMAN is that HARRINGTON provides for supplying power to different devices at different levels. The apparatus includes an input port for receiving power from an external source. A first converter is provided for converting the input power to a first DC voltage, and a second converter for converting the input power to a second DC voltage. Ethernet ports are provided for supplying, at least in part, the first DC voltage to a first type of device. MoCA ports are provided for supplying, at least in part, the second DC voltage to a second type of device. (See Abstract], HARRINGTON)
Regarding claim 9, BILLMAN teaches, The system of claim 8, BILLMAN further teaches, ‘… corresponding to at least one of the indoor device, the first outdoor device, and the second outdoor device.’ (Paragraph [0057], The satellite communications terminal 100 comprises a satellite antenna 102, a processor (controller) 104 and a memory 106. Paragraph [0069], a plurality of communications satellites 108 each of which may communicate signals with the satellite communications terminal 100 using a satellite communications link (a "link") on a respective beam 110. Paragraph [0074], The terrestrial communications link may be a Wi-Fi communications link 122… Additionally or alternatively, the terrestrial communications link may be a broadband cellular network communications link 126 (e.g. a 5G network communications link) with a cellular network antenna 124. Paragraph [0067], the satellite antenna 102 may be a plurality of single-beam antennas (corresponds to first outdoor device/ second outdoor device), forming part of a common multi-beam satellite communications terminal 100. single-beam antennas may each form part of a respective single-beam satellite communications terminal, the single-beam satellite communications terminals being operable as a multi-beam satellite communications terminal 100).
BILLMAN does not explicitly teach but HARRINGTON teaches, ‘wherein the MoCA connection protocol and the IFL protocol comprises a plurality of operational configurations and frequency ranges…’ (HARRINGTON – Paragraph [0016], The power supply unit 100 can also include one or more multimedia over coax alliance (MoCA) ports 118a, 118b). Paragraph [0020], an outdoor unit 150 of a satellite terminal can be connected to one of the MoCA ports 118a using an interfacility links (IFL) cable 140). Paragraph [0027], The receiver unit also down-converts the Ku, Ka, or C-band frequency signals used by the satellite to L-band frequency signals appropriate for transmission over the IFL cable 250)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of HARRINGTON with BILLMAN because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of HARRINGTON into BILLMAN is that HARRINGTON provides for supplying power to different devices at different levels. The apparatus includes an input port for receiving power from an external source. A first converter is provided for converting the input power to a first DC voltage, and a second converter for converting the input power to a second DC voltage. Ethernet ports are provided for supplying, at least in part, the first DC voltage to a first type of device. MoCA ports are provided for supplying, at least in part, the second DC voltage to a second type of device. (See Abstract], HARRINGTON)
Conclusion
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479