DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, 21, 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loehken et al. (DE 19831372).
Regarding claim 1, Loehken et al. discloses a washer Fig. 2, comprising: a carrier element 9; a counter element 10; and a sensory layer system 13 arranged between the carrier element and the counter element and configured to output a sensor signal on the basis of a force prevailing between the carrier element and the counter element along a screw 8 axis and/or a prevailing pressure force or vibration; wherein the carrier element 9 and the counter element 10 are arranged along a screw axis and wherein the carrier element comprises a geometry that is engageable with a geometry of the counter element Fig. 2 so as to limit or prevent a rotation between the carrier element and the counter element, wherein the geometry of the carrier element 9 is configured by an inner contour and/or comprises a tooth shape, a multi-tooth shape, or a hexagonal shape; and wherein the geometry of the counter element 10 is configured by an outer contour and/or comprises a tooth shape, a multi-tooth shape, or a hexagonal shape; wherein the carrier element comprises a recess (recess having 10 and 13 Fig. 2) with an inner geometry, wherein the counter element comprises an outer geometry corresponding to the inner geometry of the carrier element.
Regarding claim 2, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the carrier element 9 and the counter element 10 form a form fit. Regarding claim 3, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the counter element 10 is inserted into the recess of the carrier element 9 Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 4, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the sensory layer system 13 is arranged on a separate carrier embedded between the carrier element 9 and the counter element 10. Regarding claim 6, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the carrier element 9 and/or the counter element 10 comprises one or more specified contact faces or specified bumps opposite the sensory layer system 13. Regarding claim 7, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the sensory layer system 13 is configured to output a temperature signal (Para. 0019 of English translation) on the basis of a prevailing temperature; and/or wherein the sensory layer system is configured to output a vibration signal describing a vibration on the basis of a prevailing vibration.
Regarding claim 8, Loehken et al. discloses a screw connection system Fig. 2, comprising: a screw element 8, in particular a screw 8, a nut, a bolt, a conventional screw, a DIN screw, a DIN nut, or a hexagonal screw; and a washer 9, wherein the screw element extends through the washer along the screw axis.
Regarding claim 21, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the counter element 10 is received in the recess of the carrier element 9 so as to form a form fit with the carrier element, and wherein the form fit is configured such that the counter element is movable relative to the carrier element along the screw 8 axis while a rotation between the carrier element and the counter element about the screw axis is limited or prevented. Regarding claim 24, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the sensory layer system 13 is arranged in the recess of the carrier element 9.
Regarding claim 25, Loehken et al. discloses wherein the one or more specified contact faces or specified bumps contact the sensory layer system 13 and form axial force- transmitting surfaces between the carrier element 9 and the counter element 10 which are reduced compared to an overall projection area of the carrier element or of the counter element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loehken et al. Regarding claim 5, Loehken et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the carrier element comprises an outer geometry with a hexagonal configuration and/or a wrench size. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) Regarding claim 22, Loehken et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose the configuration of the inner geometry of the recess and the outer geometry of the counter element. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Regarding claim 23, Loehken et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose a radial dimension of the outer geometry of the counter element is smaller than a corresponding radial dimension of the inner geometry of the recess by between 0.1 % and 10 % with respect to a diameter thereof. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the radial dimension of the counter element to any number of ranges (i.e. between 0.1 % and 10 %) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claims 9-20 including where the connection system comprises an additional module that can be placed onto, plugged onto and/or clamped onto the screw element, the additional module comprises an integrated electronic system or an integrated electronic system with an integrated electronic evaluation system, or wherein the connection system comprises an additional module that can be placed onto, plugged onto and/or clamped onto the screw element. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675