DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims should begin with “A” or “The” for independent and dependent claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akdeniz et al. (US 2007/0056375).
Regarding claim 1, Akdeniz et al. discloses a washer Fig. 2, comprising: a carrier element 204; a counter element 239; and a sensory layer system 210 arranged between the carrier element and the counter element and configured to output a sensor signal on the basis of a force prevailing between the carrier element and the counter element along a screw 102 axis and/or a prevailing pressure force or vibration; wherein the carrier element and the counter element are arranged along a screw axis and wherein the carrier element comprises a geometry that is engageable with a geometry of the counter element Fig. 2 so as to limit or prevent a rotation between the carrier element and the counter element. wherein the geometry of the carrier element 204 is configured by an inner contour and/or comprises a tooth shape, a multi-tooth shape, or a hexagonal shape; and wherein the geometry of the counter element 239 is configured by an outer contour and/or comprises a tooth shape, a multi-tooth shape, or a hexagonal shape; wherein the carrier element comprises a recess (recess having 210 Fig. 2) with an inner geometry, wherein the counter element comprises an outer geometry corresponding to the inner geometry of the carrier element.
Regarding claim 2, Akdeniz et al. discloses wherein the carrier element 204 and the counter element 239 form a form fit. Regarding claim 3, Akdeniz et al. discloses wherein the counter element 239 is inserted into the recess of the carrier element 204 Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 4, Akdeniz et al. discloses wherein the sensory layer system 210 is arranged on a separate carrier embedded between the carrier element 204 and the counter element 239. Regarding claim 6, Akdeniz et al. discloses wherein the carrier element 204 and/or the counter element 239 comprises one or more specified contact faces or specified bumps opposite the sensory layer system 210. Regarding claim 7, Akdeniz et al. discloses wherein the sensory layer system 210 is configured to output a temperature signal (Para. 0024) on the basis of a prevailing temperature; and/or wherein the sensory layer system is configured to output a vibration signal describing a vibration on the basis of a prevailing vibration.
Regarding claim 8, Akdeniz et al. discloses a screw connection system Fig. 2, comprising: a screw element 102, in particular a screw 102, a nut, a bolt, a conventional screw, a DIN screw, a DIN nut, or a hexagonal screw; and a washer 204 according to any one of the preceding claims, wherein the screw element extends through the washer along the screw axis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akdeniz et al. Regarding claim 5, Akdeniz et al. discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the carrier element comprises a outer geometry with a hexagonal configuration and/or a wrench size. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In view of a review of the prior art by the Examiner; the prior art of record neither teaches nor suggests all of the claimed subject matter of claims 9-20 including where the connection system comprises an additional module that can be placed onto, plugged onto and/or clamped onto the screw element, the additional module comprises an integrated electronic system or an integrated electronic system with an integrated electronic evaluation system, or wherein the connection system comprises an additional module that can be placed onto, plugged onto and/or clamped onto the screw element. There is no motivation to modify the prior art references, absent the applicant’s own disclosure, in the manner required by the claims.
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675