Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed 30 May April 2026. Claims 2, 4, 5, 6, and 20 have been amended according to Applicant’s amendments. Claims 1 and 21 have been cancelled and new claim 22 has been added. Accordingly, claims 2-20 and 22 remain pending and under consideration.
Response to Arguments
Interview Request -
Examiner attempted to contact Applicant’s representative on 23 June 2026, 25 June 2026 and 26 June 2026 as requested in Applicant’s communications to discuss outstanding issues to move the case further toward allowance. It appears new independent claim 22, which has been rejected below, does not include the allowable subject matter amended into allowed independent claims 2 and 20, which Applicant indicates similarly incorporates (See remarks page 9) the allowable subject matter of allowed independent claims 2 and 20.
35 USC 103 -
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks pages 8 and 9, filed 30 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 2-20 under 35 USC 103 has been withdrawn. In particular, Applicant’s has amended independent claims 2 and 20 to incorporate features of claims 5 and 21.
Claim Interpretation 35 USC 112(f) –
Applicant’s arguments, remarks page 9, filed 30 May 2026, with respect to the interpretation of certain features of claims 2-19 under 35 USC 112(f) was improperly invoked, is unpersuasive. Because the claim limitations recite function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function, i.e. the limitation “logic”, examiner maintains the interpretation of “logic” under 35 USC 112(f) is proper as the remaining limitations do not recite sufficient structure to perform the recited functions.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “logic to manage”, “logic to expose”, “logic to receive”, “logic to send” as in claim 2, “logic to identify”, “logic to store” as in claim 4, “logic to set” as in claim 5, “logic to divert” as in claim 6, “logic to read”, “logic to cache” as in claim 8, “logic to generate”, “logic to send” as in claim 9, “logic to unset” as in claim 11, “logic to send” as in claim 12, “logic to identify”, “logic to send” as in claim 13, “logic to set”, “logic to send”, “logic to determine”, “logic to send” as in claim 15, and “logic to expose”, “logic to receive”, “logic to send” as in claim 17.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. A review of the specification shows the following disclosure appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 USC 112(f) limitations: Fig. 2, Fig. 4, and Fig. 6 and corresponding paragraphs [0019]-[0023], [0042], and [0073] – [0083], variously disclosed as a RAID/storage controller, circuitry as hardware or firmware, or embodied by a chip, SoC, ASIC, programmable logic device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marks et al (US 2020/0133896 A1, hereinafter Marks) in view of Lee et al (US 2019/0026220 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 22, Marks discloses a redundant array of independent disks (RAID) controller comprising: hardware circuitry configured to: manage a virtual disk comprising one or more spans, each span comprising one or more arms, each arm corresponding a different physical disk (See Marks, Fig. 1 and [0015], storage system includes a virtual hard drive and [0016], a storage controller 124 including a RAID controller 126 may map the VHD to a RAID array, the RAID array, or span of VHD across the array, comprising multiple non-volatile memory express devices or arms of physical disks);
expose the virtual disk supports read ahead operations (See Marks, [0028] disclosing the pre-fetch command may be represented by the ‘read prepare’ bit or other flag that is added to context attributes of a small computer system interface (SCSI) command—PREFETCH...For the SCSI command—PREFETCH and the Dataset Management command, the applicability of the pre-fetch command may be applied to each range of logical block addresses, or in other words, supporting read ahead);
receive a prefetch command (See Marks, [0015], host 100 may generate I/O transactions 110 targeting a coupled storage subsystem 120 that includes a virtual hard drive (VHD) and [0017] the host 100 is configured to write an NVMe command. In this embodiment, the NVMe command is directed to the storage controller 124 and the RAID array 140 and [0020] & [0021], disclosing the NVMe command 200 includes a request to write the new data and the NVMe command 200 further includes an advisory command and a non-completion command. In this embodiment, the advisory command may be represented by a pre-fetch command), the prefetch command comprising a requested SCSI input-output operation (IO) (See Marks, [0015], host 100 may generate I/O transactions 110 targeting a coupled storage subsystem 120 that includes a virtual hard drive (VHD) and [0028] disclosing the pre-fetch command may be represented by the ‘read prepare’ bit or other flag that is added to context attributes of a small computer system interface (SCSI) command); and
send a completion message in response to the prefetch command (See Marks, [0056] After the command has been issued and completed by the storage controller 124, the storage controller 124, at block 512, writes completion queue entries and generates corresponding interrupts such as the MSI-X interrupt 314. At block 514, the host 100 consumes and processes the completion queue entries in the completion queue), the completion message indicating a status of the SCSI IO (See Marks, [0056] After the command has been issued and completed by the storage controller 124, the storage controller 124, at block 512, writes completion queue entries and generates corresponding interrupts such as the MSI-X interrupt 314. At block 514, the host 100 consumes and processes the completion queue entries in the completion queue).
Marks does not disclose logic to expose an application programming interface (API) indicating that the virtual disk supports read ahead operations.
However, Lee discloses logic to expose an application programming interface (API) indicating that the virtual disk supports read ahead operations (See Lee, [0038] and [0039], disclosing the use of a VPD page to indicate a maximum prefetch length, or in other words, an API as evidenced by Applicant’s claim 3 indicating a VPD comprising the API and Applicant’s specification at [0055], producing VPD with a page including a MAX_PREFETCH_LENGTH field).
Marks and Lee are analogous art directed to improved data storage management techniques. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the virtual disk prefetch storage system of Marks with the API of Lee as storage performance can be improved by enabling the OS to be informed and make use of the various specifications including prefetching capabilities of the storage device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art of record:
(1) Marks discloses RAID based storage system with SCSI prefetch functionality
(2) Sen discloses the use of an API to disclose device capabilities
(3) Feld discloses the prefetching of data requested by SCSI IO commands and caching the prefetched data for host access
(4) Dambal discloses disclosing a host system invoking APIs and obtain vital product data (VPD) from the SCSI driver for the applicable file system,
(5) Lee discloses the use of a VPD page storing vendor specific information about a logical unit and a target device and a maximum prefetch length field,
(6) Vishnuswaroop Ramesh et al (US 2024/0427633 A1) discloses one or more circuits to perform an prefetch application programming interface on one or more storages,
(7) Chawla discloses converting a SCSI protocol value into a DCB protocol priority value, and
(8) Dell Shared PowerEdge RAID Controller 8 Cards For Dell PowerEdge VRTX Systems, User's Guide, 2018 discloses a virtual disk with prefetch capability.
However, the prior art alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest the combination:
manage a virtual disk comprising one or more spans, each span comprising one or more arms, each arm corresponding a different physical disk, expose an API indicating that the virtual disk supports read ahead operations, receive a prefetch command, the prefetch command comprising a requested SCSI input-output operation, send a completion message in response to the prefetch command, the completion message indicating a status of the SCSI operation; and logic to set a divert prefetch control flag in a virtual device property table (VDPT),wherein the divert prefetch control flag indicates whether the virtual disk can successfully perform read ahead caching, as in independent claim 2.
Nor does the prior art alone or in combination fails to teach or fairly suggest the combination:
managing a virtual disk comprising one or more spans, each span comprising one or more arms, each arm corresponding a different physical disk; setting a divert prefetch control flag in a virtual device property table (VDPT) entry corresponding to the virtual disk, the divert prefetch control flag indicating whether the virtual disk can successfully perform read ahead caching; exposing a small computer system interface API indicating that the virtual disk supports read ahead operations; receiving a prefetch command, the prefetch command comprising a requested SCSI input-output operation; reading from the virtual disk the data requested by the SCSI operation; caching the data requested by the SCSI operation in a read ahead cache; and sending a completion message indicating that the requested data has been cached, as in independent claim 20.
Because dependent claims 2-19 depend from and thus incorporate the allowable subject matter of their respective independent claim, they are allowable for at least the same reasons.
EXAMINER’S NOTE
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicants. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the Applicants in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.H.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2137
/Arpan P. Savla/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2137