DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to Election/Restriction made to an Application No. 18/438,260 filed on 05/11/2026 in which claims 12-25 are amended; claims 1-11 and 26-30 are canceled; and new claims 31-46 are added.
Accordingly, Claims 12-25 and 31-46 are currently pending for examination.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, claims 12-25 and newly added claims 31-46, in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 02/09/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Objections
Claims 12, 14, 16, 21, 24, and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 12, 14, 16, 21, 24, and 25 recite the limitation “the code” respectively. In order to avoid antecedent basis, it is suggested to amend to -- the processor-executable code -- assuming the code is referring to processor-executable code.
Claims 12, 14, 16, 21, 24, and 25 recite the limitation “operable” in line 1. Language that suggests or makes optional or intended use/result (i.e., operable) but does not require step to be performed or does not limit the scope of the claim to a particular structure or does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation(s). Such clauses may render parts of the claim(s) optional (see MPEP 2106 and 2111.04).
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving…, means for triggering…, and means for transmitting…” in claim 44.
A review of this instant specification, the published specification see FIG. 11, ¶ [0207] recites “the receiver 1110 may provide a means for receiving…”; ¶ [0208] recites “the transmitter 1115 may provide a means for transmitting…”; and ¶ [0210] recites “the communication manager 1120 may be implemented in hardware (e.g., in communications management circuitry)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-25 and 31-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HWANG et al. (US 2024/0155445 A1) hereinafter “Hwang”.
Regarding claims 12, 32, 44, and 46, Hwang discloses Claim 12 of a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0131], UE), Claim 32 of a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0131], UE), Claim 44 of a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0131], UE), and Claim 46 of a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communication, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processor (see ¶ [0275-76], the computer-readable storage medium), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0131], UE may include storage); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the UE to (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0131], UE may include a controller):
receive, from a first cell of a network entity, a first control message indicating a configuration associated with the UE (see Abstract; see ¶ [0149-53], UE receives, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) configuration information);
receive, from the first cell, a second control message indicating for the UE to perform a cell switch procedure, wherein the second control message is received within a threshold duration of receipt of the first control message (see Abstract; see ¶ [0149-53], receiving, from the base station, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for triggering a LTM handover);
trigger the cell switch procedure to switch communications with the first cell to a second cell of the network entity based at least in part on receiving the second control message (see Abstract; see ¶ [0149-53], performing the LTM handover to a target cell); and
transmit an indication of whether the UE applied the configuration associated with the first control message (see ¶ [0149-53], the UE may apply an LTM configuration associated with the target cell and may display completion of application of the LTM configuration or complete of handover. Indicating successful performance of handover may be a UL RRC message, a UL MAC CE, or uplink control information (UCI)).
Regarding claims 13, 33 and 45, Hwang discloses wherein the UE transmits the indication that the UE applied the configuration associated with the first control message (see ¶ [0149-53], the UE may apply an LTM configuration associated with the target cell and may display completion of application of the LTM configuration or complete of handover. Indicating successful performance of handover may be a UL RRC message, a UL MAC CE, or uplink control information (UCI)).
Regarding claims 14 and 34, Hwang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
apply the configuration associated with the first control message based at least in part on the first control message being associated with a first type of control message (see ¶ [0149-53], the UE may apply an LTM configuration associated with the target cell).
Regarding claims 15 and 35, Hwang discloses wherein the first type of control message is a radio resource control message (see Abstract; see ¶ [0149-53], UE receives, from a base station, a radio resource control (RRC) message including lower layer triggered mobility (LTM) configuration information).
Regarding claims 16 and 36, Hwang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
apply the configuration associated with the first control message based at least in part on a second configuration associated with the UE (see ¶ [0149-53], the UE may apply an LTM configuration associated with the target cell and an indication that indicates performing of LTM via a DCI may include the ID of predetermined LTM).
Regarding claims 17 and 37, Hwang discloses wherein the second configuration indicates for the UE to apply control messages associated with a first type of control message, and the first control message is associated with the first type of control message (see ¶ [0149-53], the UE may apply an LTM configuration associated with the target cell and an indication that indicates performing of LTM via a DCI may include the ID of predetermined LTM).
Regarding claims 18 and 38, Hwang discloses wherein the second configuration indicates for the UE to apply the first control message (see ¶ [0149-53], the UE may apply an LTM configuration associated with the target cell and an indication that indicates performing of LTM via a DCI may include the ID of predetermined LTM).
Regarding claims 19 and 39, Hwang discloses wherein the second configuration indicates for the UE to apply control messages associated with a first signaling radio bearer, and wherein the first control message is associated with the first signaling radio bearer (see ¶ [0217], radioBearerConfig).
Regarding claims 20 and 40, Hwang discloses wherein the second configuration indicates the threshold duration, and wherein a duration between applying the first control message and triggering the cell switch procedure satisfies the threshold duration (see Abstract; see ¶ [0149-53], receiving, from the base station, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for triggering a LTM handover and performing the LTM handover to a target cell).
Regarding claims 21 and 41, Hwang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
apply the configuration associated with the UE based at least in part on the configuration indicated via the first control message (see ¶ [0149-53], the UE may apply an LTM configuration associated with the target cell).
Regarding claims 22 and 42, Hwang discloses wherein the configuration is associated with a plurality of cells of the network entity, the plurality of cells including at least the first cell and the second cell (see ¶ [0044], a single ENB may generally control a plurality of cells and see ¶ [0151], when transmitting a signal indicating performing of LTM, the network may transmit an ID list of available target cells via an MAC CE in advance so that the UE may perform a predetermined operation).
Regarding claims 23 and 43, Hwang discloses wherein the UE transmits the indication that the UE discarded the configuration associated with the first control message (see ¶ [0174], the UE may delete content included in the corresponding LTM variable).
Regarding claim 24, Hwang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
discard the configuration associated with the UE based at least in part on the configuration indicated via the first control message (see ¶ [0174], the UE may delete content included in the corresponding LTM variable).
Regarding claim 25, Hwang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
discard the configuration associated with the first control message based at least in part on the first control message being received within the threshold duration of receipt of the second control message (see ¶ [0174], the UE may delete content included in the corresponding LTM variable and see ¶ [0149-53], receiving, from the base station, a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for triggering a LTM handover).
Regarding claim 31, Hwang discloses further comprising an antenna (see FIG. 5; see ¶ [0132], an antenna).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HONG (US 2025/0071648 A1) teaches a method includes receiving a higher layer message including one or more candidate target cell configuration information for an L1/L2-triggered mobility (LTM) operation; transmitting an L1 measurement result for a candidate target cell on the basis of the higher layer message; receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating performance of an LTM operation to a target cell; and performing a cell change operation without RRC reconfiguration by applying the candidate target cell configuration information for the target cell on the basis of the MAC CE (see Abstract).
Kim et al. (US 2025/0261064 A1) teaches a wireless device receives, from a base station, an indication that a first candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells for a layer 1/layer 2 triggered mobility (LTM) and a second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells are associated with a same timing advance value. The wireless device acquires a timing advance for the first candidate cell. The wireless device executes an LTM cell switch procedure for the second candidate cell as a target cell for the LTM (see Abstract).
Teyeb et al. (US 2026/0032538 A1) teaches a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) may perform L1/L2 switching of primary cells. In an approach, the WTRU configured with configuration information that is common to a multitude of candidate cells and separate configuration information that is specific to each candidate cell, may receive an LTM indication to handover (HO) to a particular candidate cell (see Abstract).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462