Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-8, 21, and 22 are pending.
Claims 1-8, 21, and 22 are amended.
Claims 9-20 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “an attachment band , wherein the attachment band is positioned to sit atop the ridge and against the top, and wherein the attachment band is permanently fastened to the top and the entire perimeter of the mating surface.” According to the specification, the top is 112 which appears to be the entire cover (since 112 is shown to be all over the cover in fig. 4-6). It is unclear as to how the attachment band be part of the top and also be against as claimed in claim 2. Furthermore, it is unclear as to how the attachment band can be permanently fastened to the top if the top is the entire cover. Further correction and or clarification is required. For examination purpose, the claim will be examined as the following “an attachment band , wherein the attachment band is positioned to sit atop the ridge and against the mating surface, and wherein the attachment band is permanently fastened to the entire perimeter of the mating surface”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perek (US 20180215513).
Regarding claim 1, Perek discloses, A portable container (Fig. 1) , comprising: a body (5), the body having a bottom (14) opposite an opening (26), the body having sidewalls (2), and sidewall of 8) attached to the bottom (Fig. 2) ;a top (3);a ridge (See annotated fig. below) disposed around a perimeter of an outer surface of the sidewalls, the ridge configured to provide a seat for the top ;a mating surface (See annotated fig. below) defined by a portion of the outer surface of the sidewalls between the ridge and the opening; and wherein a portion of the top is positioned to sit atop the seat of the ridge (See annotated numeral P1) and against the mating surface, and wherein the top is permanently fastened to the body along the entire perimeter of the mating surface (Lid 10 is attached to container body 8 via barbs 40 that are all around as shown in fig. 1 and placed inside slit 46 permanently attaching the lid to the body).
Regarding claim 2, Perek discloses, an attachment band (10), wherein the attachment band is positioned to sit atop the ridge and against the mating surface , and wherein the attachment band is permanently fastened to the entire perimeter of the mating surface (See annotated fig. of claim 1) .
Regarding claim 3, Perek discloses the body is manufactured from rigid or molded plastic (para 26).
Regarding claim 6, Perek discloses ridge. The limitation “ridge is formed as part of a molding process for said body.” is considered product-by-process. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(I). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
Regarding claim 7, Perek discloses, the ridge is formed as a portion of the sidewalls (See annotated fig for claim 1; structure 8 is permanently attached to 16 ).
Regarding claim 8, Perek discloses, the ridge is formed around said entire periphery of the sidewalls(See annotated fig for claim 1).
Regarding claim 21, Perek discloses, the top further comprises a flap (12) , the flap being configured to cover the opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4,5, and 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SANJIDUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736