Double Patenting
Claims 1 & 10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 & 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 2 & 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 & 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 3 & 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 & 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 4 & 13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4 & 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 5 & 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 5 & 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 6 & 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 & 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 7 & 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7 & 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 8 & 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claims 9 & 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9 & 18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,039. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are anticipated by the patent’s claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102e as being anticipated by Abraham et al. US 2014/00071883 A1.
Claims 1 and 10:
Abraham discloses a method performed by a station (STA) (See figs. 5 and 6), the method comprising: associating with at least one non-AP STA (See para 105, association message. Also see para 83, “the STA 106 can associate with the relay”); and transmitting, to an access point (AP) in response to the STA associating with the at least one non-AP STA (See para 105, association message. Also see para 83, “the STA 106 can associate with the relay”), a message comprising an information element (See fig. 14A-B and para 130, “This reachable address update frame 1400 can include information about addresses that can be reached through a transmitting node, to enhance network routing…”. Also see fig. 13A and para 124, information element), wherein the information element comprises a current list of addresses of STAs with which the AP is capable of communicating through the STA (See fig. 14A-B and para 130, “This reachable address update frame 1400 can include information about addresses that can be reached through a transmitting node, to enhance network routing…”).
With regards to claims 10, a transceiver; and a processor (See fig. 3, processor and transmitter).
Claims 2 and 11:
Abraham discloses that the current list of addresses comprises a list of medium access control (MAC) addresses (See para 133, “the reachable addresses element 1420 shown in FIG. 14A specifies the addresses (such as MAC addresses) that can be reached through the transmitting relay node”).
Claims 3 and 12:
Abraham discloses that the message is a first message, further comprising:
receiving a second message from the AP, wherein the second message includes at least one address in the current list of addresses and is configured to be transmitted to the at least one non-AP STA (See para 88 and fig. 5, after associating STA with the AP, the relay can forward packets from AP to the STA. See para 105, the message will include the destination address for the STA); and
transmitting, in response to receipt of the second message, a third message to the at least one non-AP STA on behalf of the AP (See para 88 and fig. 5, after associating STA with the AP, the relay can forward packets from AP to the STA).
Claims 4 and 13:
Abraham discloses that the at least one non-AP STA comprises a first non-AP STA, the method further comprising: associating with a second non-AP STA (See para 105, association message); and transmitting, to the AP after performing the association with the second non-AP STA (See para 105, association message. Also see para 83, “the STA 106 can associate with the relay”), a fourth message comprising an information element (See fig. 14A-B and para 130, “This reachable address update frame 1400 can include information about addresses that can be reached through a transmitting node, to enhance network routing…”. Also see fig. 13A and para 124, information element)., wherein the information element of the fourth message comprises an updated current list of addresses of STAs with which the AP is capable of communicating through the STA (See fig. 14A-B and para 130, “This reachable address update frame 1400 can include information about addresses that can be reached through a transmitting node, to enhance network routing…”).
Claims 5 and 14:
Abraham discloses that receiving a fifth message from the AP, wherein the fifth message includes an address of the second non-AP STA and is configured to be transmitted to the second non-AP STA (See para 88 and fig. 5, after associating STA with the AP, the relay can forward packets from AP to the STA. See para 105, the message will include the destination address for the STA); and transmitting, in response to receipt of the fifth message, a sixth message to the at least one non-AP STA on behalf of the AP (See para 88 and fig. 5, after associating STA with the AP, the relay can forward packets from AP to the STA).
Claims 6 and 15:
Abraham discloses associating with the AP prior to transmitting the message comprising the current list of addresses of STAs with which the AP is capable of communicating through the STA (See para 105, association message).
Claims 7 and 16:
Abraham discloses that the information element further comprise a first field that indicates a number of addresses provided in the current list of addresses of STAs in the information element (See para 136 and fig. 14B, “The address count field 1435 can indicate the number of addresses (such as MAC addresses) contained in the reachable addresses field 1440”), and wherein the information element includes one or more second fields that each include at least one address in the current list of addresses (See figs. 14A-B, reachable addresses).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claim 1, on pages 1-2 of the applicant's remarks, the applicant argues "there is no indication in the Office Action nor in Abraham that the update frame is sent in response to the STA associating with a non-AP STA".
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Abrahams update message cannot be performed without associating with the network. Therefore, Abraham's message is in response to the association.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475