DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed on 2/9/2024 and the preliminary amendment filed on 2/25/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 14, and 20 are independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 1, replace “method, comprising” with “method comprising”
Claim 14, line 1, replace “device, comprising” with “device comprising”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent claims 1, 14, and 20 recite “generating a group of content item bundles based on a commonality in one or more of time or location between each of the content item bundles, each content item bundle comprising one or more content items associated with a respective user activity”, “determining a primary label corresponding to at least one of the content item bundles in the group of content item bundles, the primary label being indicative of a primary user activity across the content item bundles”, and “determining a content suggestion comprising one or more content items from the content item bundles that are associated with the primary user activity”, all of which can be recognized as concepts that can be performed in the human mind, but for the recitation of generic computer components (“device”, “memory”, “processors” and “non-transitory machine-readable media”). Note that the generation of bundles based on commonalities, the determination of a corresponding label and the determination of suggested items associated with the activity indicated by the label are all judgements based on observations and/or evaluations and thus fall within the Mental Processes” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the limitations are merely instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer and require no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions. Further additional elements of providing, for display on an electronic device, the primary label and a portion of the one or more content items in the content suggestion for prompting a user of the electronic device to provide user-generated content related to the content suggestion amounts to no more than adding insignificant extra-solution activity of displaying data. The additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a device including a processors and memory or a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions to be executed by a processor to perform the different steps described above amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Furthermore, regarding the additional element of providing items for display on an electronic device is considered well-understood, routine, and conventional in view of the OIP Techs. court decision cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicating that mere presentation or display of information is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. Neither can insignificant extra-solution activity.
Therefore, these limitations, taken alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or recite significantly more that the abstract idea. Thus, these independent claims are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims recite additional limitations of generating the content item bundles based on one or more pattern detections in a plurality of content items … (claim 2), generating the content item bundles comprises detecting unusual patterns in one or more of user activities, user visited locations and or social interactions in the plurality of content items using one or more pattern detection algorithms … (claims 3 and 15), determining the content suggestion further comprises ranking a plurality of content items from the content item bundles into a ranked set of content suggestions using a ranking algorithm (claim 4), adaptively updating the ranking algorithm based on the user engagement data (claim 5), generating the group of content item bundles comprises clustering the content item bundles using one or more clustering algorithms based on … (claim 6), summarizing the group of content item bundles into a summarization of content item bundles based on the primary label of the group of content item bundles, the summarization comprising aggregation data having at least one level of granularity (claims 7 and 17), summarizing the group of content item bundles comprises aggregating the group of content item bundles into different aggregation data having respective levels of aggregation granularity (claims 8 and 17), performing a fine granularity aggregation of the group of content item bundles associated with the primary label to generate fine-grained aggregation data; and performing a coarse granularity aggregation of the group of content item bundles associated with the primary label to generate coarse-grained aggregation data (claims 9 and 18), filtering the fine-grained aggregation data into a time-sorted set of content items… (claim 10), ranking the coarse-grained aggregation data into a ranked set of content items based on a plurality of factors associated with the user of the electronic device (claim 11). These above-indicated additional limitations also constitute steps involving judgements based on observations and/or evaluations and may include certain specifications. They all fall within the “Mental Processes” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Additional elements of additional specification such as the levels of aggregation granularity (claims 7, 8, and 17), specifying what the content items in the bundles are associated with (claim 13), or specifying what the determined content suggestions comprise (claims 9 and 10) all amount to no more than adding insignificant extra-solution activity/specifications related to the content items (bundles) or the determined content suggestion. These additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Moreover, additional elements Neither does the recitation of a generic vehicle (claim 15). Furthermore, the additional elements of receiving user engagement data … (claims 5 and 16), and receiving one or more annotations … and storing the one or more annotations … (claims 12 and 19), all amount to no more than adding insignificant extra-solution activity related to data input or data storage. These additional elements all do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The dependent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of “receiving” input and “storing” which are mere data input or data storage are further considered well-understood, routine, and conventional in view of the Symantec, TLI, and OIP Techs. court decisions cited in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicating that mere receipt, or transmittal of data over a network is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Insignificant extra-solution activity steps cannot provide an inventive concept. Thus, none of the additional elements as generically claimed in these dependent claims is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Therefore, these limitations, taken alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or recite significantly more that the abstract idea.
Thus, all of the dependent claims are also not patent eligible.
Examiner Comments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 12-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al., US PGPUB 2011/0270836 Al (hereinafter as Yang) in view of KOKEMOHR, US PGPUB 2020/0026751 Al (hereinafter as Kokemohr).
Regarding independent claim 1, Yang teaches a method [see e.g. fig. 3 and title] comprising:
generating a group of content item bundles based on a commonality in one or more of time or location between each of the content item bundles, each content item bundle comprising one or more content items associated with a respective user activity [see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. a bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event) and recognizing the events according to various dimensions which may include time and location];
determining a primary label corresponding to at least one of the content item bundles in the group of content item bundles, the primary label being indicative of a primary user activity across the content item bundles [note e.g. in [0037] recognizing events based on the classification: Examiner notes that the event recognized may also be a primary label, especially in view of the example of a hierarchy of events in [0038]; consider the scenario of a trip/vacation spanning several days with different hierarchies of events each spanning a subset of the time and note that the trip/vacation is a primary activity spanning the different bundles which also corresponds to each of the content item bundles in the group];
determining a content suggestion comprising one or more content items from the content item bundles that are associated with the primary user activity [note e.g. in [0039] the selection of certain content objects associated with a recognized event]; and
providing, for display on an electronic device[note user equipment 101a in fig. 1], the primary label and a portion of the one or more content items in the content suggestion [note in [0042] and fig. 7, the display of the caption 701 pertaining to an event which can be a primary label and associated content objects].
Yang does not explicitly teach that the providing the primary label and a portion of the one or more content items in the content suggestion for display is for prompting a user of the electronic device to provide user-generated content related to the content suggestion. Examiner further notes that this feature is a recitation of an intended result that is not recited with sufficient detail to further limit the claim. It is only addressed in the interest of compact prosecution.
Kokemohr teaches displaying a label and content items on an electronic device for prompting a user of the electronic device to provide user-generated content related to the content items [see figs. 11 -13; note the label and content displayed in fig. 11; see also [0013] and [0126]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of Yang and Kokemohr, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the instructions and display of Yang by explicitly specifying that providing the primary label and a portion of the one or more content items in the content suggestion for display is for prompting a user of the electronic device to provide user-generated content related to the content suggestion, as per the teachings of Kokemohr. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to enable transforming the content items into a memorable creation with minimal input by allowing users to provide their personal related annotations, as suggested by Kokemohr [again, see [0013]] which would provide an overall improved user experience.
Regarding independent claim 14, Yang teaches a device [see e.g. figs. 1, 2, and 9] comprising: a memory; and one or more processors [see the memory and processors of fig. 9] configured to perform the steps of the method of claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 for details.
Regarding independent claim 20, Yang teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising code that, when executed by a processor, causes the processor [see e.g. [0065]] to perform operations corresponding to the steps of the method of claim 1. See the rejection of claim 1 for details.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of independent claim 1 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that the generating the group of content item bundles comprises clustering the content item bundles using one or more clustering algorithms based on one or more of proximity in time and location, bundle factors, user factors, theme, user demographics, population density, or environment type [again, see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. each bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event) and recognizing the events according to various dimensions which may include time and location].
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of independent claim 1 is incorporated. Yang further teaches summarizing the group of content item bundles into a summarization of content item bundles based on the primary label of the group of content item bundles, the summarization comprising aggregation data having at least one level of granularity [again, see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. each bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event) and recognizing the events according to various dimensions and granularities; note the example of different location granularities in [0024]; see also [0035]].
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that the summarizing the group of content item bundles comprises aggregating the group of content item bundles into different aggregation data having respective levels of aggregation granularity [again, see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. each bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event) and recognizing the events according to various dimensions and granularities; especially note in [0035] categorizing the events to different level of granularities; see the example of event hierarchy in [0038] and the display of content objects in different levels of hierarchy in granularities (including parent event and child events) as described in [0039]].
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that the aggregating comprises: performing a fine granularity aggregation of the group of content item bundles associated with the primary label to generate fine-grained aggregation data; and performing a coarse granularity aggregation of the group of content item bundles associated with the primary label to generate coarse-grained aggregation data [again, note in [0035] categorizing the events to different level of granularities; see the example of event hierarchy in [0038], the description in [0044] of coarse and fine granularity levels for recognizing events, and the characterization of displayed content objects corresponding to different levels of hierarchy in granularities (including parent event and child events) as described in [0039]].
Regarding claims 12 and 19, the rejection of independent claims 1 and 14 are respectively fully incorporated.
The previously combined art further teaches receiving one or more annotations comprising user-generated content associated with the content suggestion; and storing the one or more annotations in association with the group of content item bundles [see the rejection of claim 1 for the content suggestion teaching in Yang; see Kokemohr at [0013] indicating receiving annotations and uploading them in association with the digital media]. Refer to the rejection of the independent claim for combining the art and motivations to combine.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of independent claim 1 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that each of the content item bundles comprises one or more content items associated with a different type of user activity or event [again, see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. each bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event)].
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of independent claim 14 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that the one or more processors are further configured to summarize the group of content item bundles into a summarization of content item bundles based on the primary label of the group of content item bundles by aggregating the group of content item bundles into different aggregation data having respective levels of aggregation granularity [again, see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. each bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event) and recognizing the events according to various dimensions and granularities; especially note in [0035] categorizing the events to different level of granularities; see the example of event hierarchy in [0038] and the display of content objects in different levels of hierarchy in granularities (including parent event and child events) as described in [0039]].
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that the one or more processors configured to aggregate are further configured to: perform a fine granularity aggregation of the group of content item bundles associated with the primary label to generate fine-grained aggregation data; and perform a coarse granularity aggregation of the group of content item bundles associated with the primary label to generate coarse-grained aggregation data [again, note in [0035] categorizing the events to different level of granularities; see the example of event hierarchy in [0038], the description in [0044] of coarse and fine granularity levels for recognizing events, and the characterization of displayed content objects corresponding to different levels of hierarchy in granularities (including parent event and child events) as described in [0039]].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of KOKEMOHR (as applied to claim 1) and further in view of Gong et al., US Patent No. 11,003,692 B2 (hereinafter as Gong).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that each of the content item bundles comprises content items having related activity information [again, see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. each bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event)].
The previously combined art, however, does not explicitly teach generating the content item bundles based on one or more pattern detections in a plurality of content items.
Gong teaches generating content item bundles based on one or more pattern detections in a plurality of content items [see e.g. the BK-means clustering approach for batches of content described in col. 3, line 53- col. 4, line 11].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the previously combined art and Gong, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Yang by further specifying generating the content item bundles based on one or more pattern detections in a plurality of content items, as taught by Gong. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to enable quick and efficient clustering of large amounts of content based on visual similarity, as suggested by Gong [again, see col. 4, lines 1-11; see also col. 1, lines 21-31].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of KOKEMOHR and Gong (as applied to claim 2) and further in view of Gedge et al., US PGPUB 2016/0321616 Al (hereinafter as Gedge).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated.
The previously combined art does not explicitly teach that generating the content item bundles comprises detecting unusual patterns in one or more of user activities, user visited locations or social interactions in the plurality of content items using one or more pattern detection algorithms.
Gedge teaches identifying events or content items associated therewith based on detecting unusual patterns [see [0007]] in one or more of user activities [note in [0087] determining unusualness based on overlap between an event and a sleep schedule which is a user activity], user visited locations [note in [0089] determining unusualness based on location which can be embedded in a text content item] or social interactions in the content items [note in [010] and [0103] the affinity-based factor contributing to an unusualness of an event and note that it detects unusual patterns in social interaction with others] using one or more pattern detection algorithms [note examples of pattern detection algorithms in [0044]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the previously combined art and Gedge, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teaching of Gedge of the identification of events or content items associated therewith based on detecting unusual patterns in one or more of user activities, user visited locations or social interactions in the content items using one or more pattern detection algorithms to the generation of content item bundles related to events taught by Yang. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to enable distinguishing unusual activities and associated content to enable users to become aware of unique events, as suggested by Gedge [again, see [0007]].
Claims 4, 5, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of KOKEMOHR (as applied to claim 1 (for claims 4 and 5) and claim 14 (for claim 16)) and further in view of Correa et al., US Patent No. 11,276,104 B1 (hereinafter as Correa).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of independent claim 1 is incorporated. The previously combined art does not explicitly teach that the determining the content suggestion further comprises ranking a plurality of content items from the content item bundles into a ranked set of content suggestions using a ranking algorithm.
Correa teaches determining content suggestions that comprises ranking a plurality of items into a ranked set of content suggestions using a ranking algorithm [see e.g. col. 1, lines 42-51].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the previously combined art and Correa, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the content suggestion determination taught by Yang by explicitly specifying that the determining the content suggestion further comprises ranking a plurality of content items from the content item bundles into a ranked set of content suggestions using a ranking algorithm, as per the teachings of Correa. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to incorporate a probability of being selected for each content suggestion, as suggested by Correa [again, see e.g. col. 1, lines 42-60] which would increase the likelihood of suggesting content that appeals to a user.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Correa further teaches: receiving user engagement data that indicates user interactions between the ranked set of content suggestions and the user of the electronic device; and adaptively updating the ranking algorithm based on the user engagement data [see e.g. col. 1, lines 51-60]. Refer to the rejection of claim 4 for motivations to combine.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of independent claim 14 is incorporated. The previously combined art does not explicitly teach receiving user engagement data that indicates user interactions between the content suggestion and the user of the electronic device; and adaptively updating a ranking algorithm based on the user engagement data.
Correa teaches receiving user engagement data that indicates user interactions between content suggestion and a user of the electronic device; and adaptively updating a ranking algorithm based on the user engagement data. [see e.g. col. 1, lines 42-60].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the previously combined art and Correa, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the content suggestion determination taught by Yang by explicitly specifying receiving user engagement data that indicates user interactions between the content suggestion and the user of the electronic device; and adaptively updating a ranking algorithm based on the user engagement data, as per the teachings of Correa. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to incorporate a probability of being selected for each content suggestion, as suggested by Correa [again, see e.g. col. 1, lines 42-60] which would increase the likelihood of suggesting content that appeals to a user.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of KOKEMOHR (as applied to claim 9) and further in view of Heinley et al., US PGPUB 2008/0294663 A1 (hereinafter as Heinley).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. Although Yang further teaches filtering the fine-grained aggregation data based on time aspects related to the content items, wherein the determining the content suggestion comprises determining a set of content suggestions that includes the filtered set of content items [note e.g. in [0037] recognizing associations between the content and different time periods for the different levels of granularity in time see also the fine level of granularity of “hours” with respect to time in [0038]], it does not explicitly teach a time-sorted set of the content items.
Heinley teaches a time-sorted set of content items [see e.g. the time-tagged content to be used to construct a timeline in [0108]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the previously combined art and Heinley, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fine-grained aggregation data that is filtered based on time aspects related to the content items taught by Yang by explicitly specifying creating a time-sorted set of content items, as taught by Heinley. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to enable constructing a timeline based on the suggested content, as suggested by Heinley [again, see e.g. [0108]; see also [0011] which would make the suggestion easier to follow for the user.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of KOKEMOHR (as applied to claim 9) and further in view of ZHIVOTVOREV et al., US PGPUB 20190163758 A1 (hereinafter as ZHIVOTVOREV).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated. The previously combined art does not explicitly teach comprising ranking the coarse-grained aggregation data into a ranked set of content items based on a plurality of factors associated with the user of the electronic device, wherein the determining the content suggestion comprises determining a set of content suggestions that includes the ranked set of content items.
ZHIVOTVOREV teaches determining content suggestions that comprises ranking a plurality of items into a ranked set of content items based on a plurality of factors associated with a user [see e.g. [0026] indicating using user-specific ranking scores to rank recommendable content items].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the previously combined art and ZHIVOTVOREV, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the content suggestion determination taught by Yang by applying the item ranking based on a plurality of factors associated with a user taught by ZHIVOTVOREV such that the content suggestion comprises ranking the coarse-grained aggregation data taught by Yang into a ranked set of content items based on a plurality of factors associated with the user of the electronic device, as taught by ZHIVOTVOREV, wherein the determining the content suggestion comprises determining a set of content suggestions that includes the ranked set of content items, as per the combined teachings of Yang and ZHIVOTVOREV. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to improve the user satisfaction and retention of the recommendation service, as suggested by ZHIVOTVOREV [see e.g. [0009]].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of KOKEMOHR (as applied to claim 14) and further in view of Gedge.
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated. Yang further teaches that each of the content item bundles comprises content items having related activity information [again, see [0024]-[0025] and note linking media objects to events (i.e. each bundle of media objects may be associated with a certain event)].
The previously combined art, however, does not explicitly teach generating the content item bundles by detecting unusual patterns in user activities and social interactions in a plurality of content items using one or more pattern detection algorithms.
Gedge teaches identifying events or content items associated therewith based on detecting unusual patterns [see [0007]] in user activities [note in [0087] determining unusualness based on overlap between an event and a sleep schedule which is a user activity], and social interactions in a plurality of content items [note in [0101] and [0103] the affinity-based factor contributing to an unusualness of an event and note that it detects unusual patterns in social interaction with others] using one or more pattern detection algorithms [note examples of pattern detection algorithms in [0044]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art having the teachings of the previously combined art and Gedge, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the teaching of Gedge of identification of events or content items associated therewith based on detecting unusual patterns in user activities and social interactions in the content items using one or more pattern detection algorithms to the generation of content item bundles related to events taught by Yang. The motivation for this obvious combination of teachings would be to enable distinguishing unusual activities and associated content to enable users to become aware of unique events, as suggested by Gedge [again, see [0007]].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner notes from the prior art:
Berger et al., US PGPUB 2012/0210200 A1, which teaches fine and coarse granularity aggregation [see e.g. [0126].
/MARIA S AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172