DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The Amendment filed 22 May 2026 (hereinafter “the Amendment”) has been entered and considered. Claims 1-2, 4-8, 11-12, and 14-18 have been amended. Claims 1-20, all the claims pending in the application, are rejected. All new grounds of rejection set forth in the present action were necessitated by Applicant’s claim amendments; accordingly, this action is made final.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In view of the amendment to claim 1, the rejections under 35 USC 112 are withdrawn.
Prior Art Rejections
In view of the amendments to independent claims 1 and 11, the previously-applied prior art rejections are withdrawn. Most of Applicant’s arguments are rendered moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth below. However, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the unamended claim language are addressed here.
On page 10 of the Amendment, Applicant contends that Krebs does not teach or suggest “refine the first set of image features associated with each image pair based on the respective first sets of image features associated with one or more other image pairs”, as recited in the independent claims. In support of this argument, Applicant asserts that the encoder network in Krebs processes individual training image pairs independently, rather than utilizing other image pairs to refine the image features determined for each image pair, thus concluding that Krebs cannot exploit temporal information. The Examiner respectfully submits that Applicant has mischaracterized the reference and maintains that Krebs does teach the limitation in question.
For example, Krebs discloses step 306 in which “each of the feature vectors are jointly mapped to a respective motion vector to temporally condition the mapping…by merging information of mappings from prior and future time steps”. See also Fig. 1 in which feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT are respectively refined, based on one another, to output refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT by “Temporal Convolutional Network” (TCN) 104 ([0034]).
This is clearly illustrated in Fig. 1 (reproduced and annotated below), wherein Z2 represents refined features influenced by features from each of ~Z1 representing features from a prior pair of images, ~Z2 representing features from a current image pair, and ~Z3 representing features from a future pair of images:
Thus, Krebs clearly discloses that the feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT of the image pairs (corresponding to the first set of image features associated with each image pair) are refined based on “mappings from prior and future time steps” (respective first sets of image features associated with prior and future image pairs) to arrive at refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT. That is, Krebs does indeed teach “refine the first set of image features associated with each image pair based on the respective first sets of image features associated with one or more other image pairs”, as claimed, contrary to Applicant’s assertions. Accordingly, Krebs is maintained in the prior art rejections below.
On page 11 of the Amendment, Applicant argues that none of the cited references teach or suggest forming multiple image pairs in the manner claimed in claims 9 and 10, much less for the purpose of exploiting the temporal information carried by the image pairs. However, Applicant has provided no evidence or rationale for this argument. Indeed, Applicant has not even mentioned the particular references cited with respect to these claims or any aspect of these references over which the claims allegedly distinguish. Thus, Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The Examiner maintains that the limitations of 9 and 10 are indeed taught by the applied references as mapped below.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim has been amended to recite “the first fML model” in line 3 which should be further amended to recite “the first [[f]]]ML model”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0311940 to Krebs et al. (hereinafter “Krebs”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0397886 to Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen”) and further in view of “Continual Occlusions and Optical Flow Estimation” by Neoral et al. (hereinafter “Neoral”).
As to independent claim 1, as best understood, Krebs discloses an apparatus, comprising: one or more processors and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to (Abstract and [0022, 0051] discloses that Krebs is directed to “a network architecture 100 of a machine learning based motion model” implemented “by executing computer program instructions…stored in data storage device 612…and controlled by processor 604”): obtain a medical image sequence associated with an anatomical structure ([0031-0032] discloses step 302 – receiving a “sequence of medical images” of “an anatomical structure”); arrange a plurality of medical scan images of the medical video into multiple image pairs, wherein each image pair includes a first medical scan image that is associated with a first temporal position of the medical video and a second medical scan image that is associated with a second temporal position of the medical video; process the multiple image pairs via a first machine learning (ML) model, wherein the multiple image pairs are provided to the first ML model successively based on the first temporal position or the second temporal position associated with each image pair ([0033] discloses step 304 – “inputting pairs of the one or more medical images into an encoder network of the machine learning based motion model”; see also Fig. 1 in which temporally-separated image pairs (I0, I1), (I0, I2),…, (I0, IT) are input into the model and processed by encoder 102), and wherein the first ML model is configured to: determine respective first sets of image features associated with the multiple image pairs ([0033] discloses that “feature vectors are determined” by the encoder 102 processing the respective image pairs; see also Fig. 1 in which the encoder outputs ~Z1 – ~ZT associated with the respective image pairs); refine the first set of image features associated with each image pair based on the respective first sets of image features associated with one or more other image pairs ([0034] discloses step 306 in which “each of the feature vectors are jointly mapped to a respective motion vector to temporally condition the mapping…by merging information of mappings from prior and future time steps”; See also Fig. 1 in which feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT are respectively refined, based on one another, to output refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT by Temporal Convolutional Network (TCN) 104); and determine a respective motion field for each image pair based at least on the refined first set of image features associated with the image pair ([0035] discloses step 308 – determining “deformation fields representing motion of the anatomical structure…based on the one or more motion vectors”; see also Fig. 1 in which deformation fields Φ1 – ΦT associated with the respective image pairs are output by a decoder 106 based on the input motion vectors Z1 – ZT); and perform a medical task associated with the anatomical structure based at least on the motion field for the at least one of the multiple image pairs ([0036] discloses step 310 in which “a medical imaging analysis task is performed using the one or more deformation fields” Φ1 – ΦT associated with the respective image pairs).
Krebs discloses that the motion model estimates “cardiac motion patterns” for evaluating “myocardial strain rate” ([0046]), wherein such patterns would most reasonably be captured in video; thus, in at least one embodiment of Krebs, the “image sequence” appears to be implicitly disclosed to be video. However, Krebs does not expressly disclose that the obtained image sequence is video.
Chen, like Krebs, is directed to calculating “subject-specific muscular strain of the myocardium” by “estimating time-varying cardiac motion using myocardial feature tracking” using a “motion estimation neural network system 200” that receives “a pair of input images…extract[s] features from the images”, and processes the features to “infer a flow between the input images” ([0001, 0015-0019], Fig. 2). Chen discloses that the input images are extracted from “video of the heart…that comprises a plurality of images of the heart recorded at different points in time… for a full cardiac cycle” ([0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krebs to obtain the image pairs processed by the motion model from video of the heart, as taught by Chen, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have enhanced the accuracy of Krebs’ “myocardial strain” evaluation ([0046]) since video would have better captured “heart motion starting from relaxation to contraction and then back to relaxation” ([0015] of Chen) relative to individually captured image frames.
Krebs as modified above does not expressly disclose refine, using the first ML model or a second ML model, the motion field for at least one of the multiple image pairs based on the respective motion fields for one or more other image pairs or that the medical task is performed based on the refined motion field.
Neoral, like Krebs, is directed to a deep learning-based architecture (“ContinualFlow”) for analyzing motion between images, wherein the architecture extracts features from each of two consecutive images (It and It+1) using parallel convolutional encoders (“Feature Pyramid Extractor”) to estimate a motion field (“optical flow”) between the two images (Abstract, Section 3 and Fig. 1 which is reproduced and annotated below). Neoral further discloses that the estimated optical flow is further refined by an “optical flow decoder” based on “the flow estimated in the previous time step” for a prior pair of images (Section 3 and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Krebs and Chen to refine the motion field for a current image pair based on the motion field estimated for a previous image pair, as taught by Neoral, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have yielded improved motion fields by allowing “the network to learn typical relations between the previous and current flows and use them in the current frame flow estimation” (Section 3.3 of Neoral).
As to claim 2, Krebs as modified above further discloses that the respective motion field associated with each image pair indicates a motion of the anatomical structure between the first medical scan image of the image pair and the second medical scan image of the image pair ([0035] of Krebs discloses the “deformation fields representing motion of the anatomical structure”, wherein Fig. 1 shows that the one or more deformation fields Φ1 – ΦT are associated with the respective image pairs).
As to claim 3, Krebs as modified above further discloses that the anatomical structure includes a myocardium, the medical video depicts the myocardium within a cardiac cycle, and the medical task includes a determination of one or more strain values associated with the myocardium ([0046] of Krebs discloses that the motion model determines “cardiac specific motion patterns” in order to evaluate “myocardial strain rate”; [0001, 0015] of Chen similarly discloses evaluating “subject-specific muscular strain of the myocardium” and further discloses that the image pairs that are input to the model are extracted from “video of the heart” for obtaining information “for a full cardiac cycle”; the reasons for combining the references are the same as those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1).
As to claim 4, Krebs as modified above further teaches that the first ML model includes an encoding portion and a decoding portion, and wherein the first set of image features associated with each image pair is determined via the encoding portion and refined via the decoding portion ([0033-0035] of Krebs discloses that the “feature vectors are determined” by an encoder 102 processing the respective image pairs and that “each of the feature vectors are jointly mapped to a respective motion vector to temporally condition the mapping…by merging information of mappings from prior and future time steps”; See also Fig. 1 in which feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT are respectively refined, based on one another, to output refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT by Temporal Convolutional Network (TCN) 104, and deformation fields Φ1 – ΦT associated with the respective image pairs are output by a decoder 106 based on the input motion vectors Z1 – ZT, wherein the TCN 104 and decoder 106 collectively read on the claimed decoding portion).
As to claim 9, Krebs as modified above further discloses that the plurality of medical scan images of the medical video is associated with a physiological cycle ([0046] of Krebs discloses that the motion model determines “cardiac specific motion patterns”; [0015] of Chen similarly discloses that the motion model obtains information “for a full cardiac cycle”; the reasons for combining the references are the same as those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1), and wherein the one or more processors being configured to arrange the plurality of medical scan images into the multiple image pairs comprises the one or more processors being configured to: select, from the plurality of medical scan images, a same medical scan image as the first medical scan image of each image pair (Fig. 1 of Krebs shows that a same image I0 is the first image in each pair of images input to the model), wherein the selected medical scan image is associated with a beginning of the physiological cycle ([0015] of Chen discloses “starting from a first image frame 102 of the cine MRI”, wherein “the first image frame of the cine MRI is the [end-diastolic] ED frame”; the reasons for combining the references are the same as those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1); and select, from the plurality of medical scan images, a sequentially ordered set of medical scan images as the respective second medical scan images of the multiple image pairs (Fig. 1 of Krebs shows that an ordered sequence of images I1-T are used as the second images in the respective pairs of images input to the model).
As to claim 10, Krebs does not expressly disclose that the one or more processors being configured to arrange the plurality of medical scan images into the multiple image pairs comprises the one or more processors being configured to: select, from the plurality of medical scan images, a first set of sequentially ordered medical scan images as the respective first medical scan images of the multiple image pairs; and select, from the plurality of medical scan images, a second set of sequentially ordered medical scan images as the respective second medical scan images of the multiple image pairs; wherein a beginning image of the first set of sequentially ordered medical scan images is positioned before a beginning image of the second set of sequentially ordered medical scan images in the medical video.
However, Chen discloses that the image pairs input to the motion model are consecutively ordered: (t=1, t=2), (t=2, t=3), (t=3, t=4),…, (t=n-1, t=n) (see [0038] and Fig. 4). That is, Chen discloses that the one or more processors being configured to arrange the plurality of medical scan images into the multiple image pairs comprises the one or more processors being configured to: select, from the plurality of medical scan images, a first set of sequentially ordered medical scan images as the respective first medical scan images of the multiple image pairs (first images in the pairs include (t=1, t=2, t=3,…, t=n-1); and select, from the plurality of medical scan images, a second set of sequentially ordered medical scan images as the respective second medical scan images of the multiple image pairs (second images in the pairs include (t=2, t=3, t=4,…, t=n); wherein a beginning image of the first set of sequentially ordered medical scan images is positioned before a beginning image of the second set of sequentially ordered medical scan images in the medical video (wherein t=1 precedes t=2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krebs to input consecutive image pairs to the motion model, as taught by Chen, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have enabled “estimat[ing] the cardiac motion represented by the cine MRI by computing a composite flow field between an end-diastolic (ED) image frame and the n-th image frame” by virtue of predicting “respective displacement of features between a respective pair image frames (e.g., a pair of neighboring frames)”, as taught by Chen ([0038]).
Independent claim 11 recites a method comprising steps performed by the apparatus recited in independent claim 1. Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 1.
Dependent claims 12-14 and 19-20 recite features nearly identical to those recited in claims 2-4 and 9-10, respectively. Accordingly, claims 12-14 and 19-20 are rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claims 2-4 and 9-10, respectively.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs in view of Chen and Neoral and further in view of “Anatomy-Aware Cardiac Motion Estimation” by Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen2”).
As to claim 5, Krebs does not expressly disclose that the encoding portion of the first ML model is implemented via a twin neural network, and wherein the first ML model being configured to determine the respective first sets of image features associated with the multiple image pairs comprises the first ML model being configured to: extract respective image features from the first medical scan image and the second medical scan image of each image pair using the twin neural network; and concatenate the image features extracted from the first medical scan image and the second medical scan image to derive the first set of image features associated with the image pair.
Chen, like Krebs, is directed to calculating “subject-specific muscular strain of the myocardium” by “estimating time-varying cardiac motion using myocardial feature tracking” using a “motion estimation neural network system 200” that receives “a pair of input images…extract[s] features from the images”, and processes the features to “infer a flow between the input images” ([0001, 0015-0019], Fig. 2). Chen discloses that the encoding portion 202 includes “twin subnetworks 202 a and 202 b arranged in a Siamese configuration to process the respective input images 204 a and 204 b in tandem”, wherein the “twin feature maps or feature vectors” are combined for input to a subsequent layer ([0019-0020] and Fig. 2).
That is, Chen discloses that the encoding portion of the ML model is implemented via a twin neural network, and wherein the ML model being configured to determine the respective first sets of image features associated with the multiple image pairs comprises the ML model being configured to: extract respective image features from the first medical scan image and the second medical scan image of each image pair using the twin neural network; and combine the image features extracted from the first medical scan image and the second medical scan image to derive the first set of image features associated with the image pair ([0019-0020] and Fig. 2 discloses encoding portion 202 comprising twin subnetworks 202a and 202b which extracts respective image features from input images 204a and 204b and combines the extracted image features for output to the subsequent layers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Krebs to utilize twin Siamese subnetworks for the respective image feature extraction of the input pair of images, as taught by Chen, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Krebs’ encoder 102 and Chen’s twin subnetworks 202a-b perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being extracting features from a pair of temporally-separate images for further processing to estimate motion between the images. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Krebs’ encoder 102 by replacing it with Chen’s twin subnetworks 202a-b. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have enhanced feature extraction speed by virtue of the shared weights between the twin networks.
Chen2, like Krebs and Chen, is directed to “cardiac motion estimation” (Abstract). Chen2 utilizes a deep learning framework similar to that of Chen in which image pairs are input to a Siamese networks for feature extraction, followed by processing for estimating motion between the image pair (Fig. 2 of Chen2). Chen2 further discloses that the features output by the Siamese Network are concatenated prior to input to the subsequent model (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Krebs, Chen and Neoral to combine the features output by the Siamese Network by concatenation, as taught by Chen2, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have preserved the features for subsequent motion analysis since concatenation does not alter the features, whereas other feature combination methods do.
Claim 15 recites features nearly identical to those recited in claim 5. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 5.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs in view of Chen and Neoral and further in view of WO 2024/126112 to Sinha et al. (hereinafter “Sinha”).
As to claim 6, Krebs as modified above further teaches that the decoding portion of the first ML model is implemented via a neural network and wherein the first ML model is configured to refine the first set of image features associated with each image pair using a module of the neural network ([0024-0025] of Krebs discloses that each of the TCN 104 and the decoder network 106 is a neural network, wherein feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT are respectively refined, based on one another, to output refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT by Temporal Convolutional Network (TCN) 104).
The proposed combination of Krebs, Chen and Neoral does not expressly disclose that the decoder neural network is a transformer or that the refining uses self-attention of the transformer. However, Sinha discloses that computing optical flow between pairs of images in a sequence of images may be performed by a TCN or a transformer, highlighting the interchangeability of these types of networks for “processing temporal data” ([0047]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Krebs’ TCN with a transformer that necessarily uses self-attention by definition of a transformer, as taught by Sinha, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Krebs’ TCN and Sinha’s transformer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being processing temporal data between pairs of images. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Krebs’ TCN by replacing it with Sinha’s transformer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have better captured global contexts that convolutional models do not capture as well as transformers.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs in view of Chen and Neoral and further in view of “RAFT: Recurrent All-Pairs Field Transforms for Optical Flow” by Teed et al. (hereinafter “Teed”).
As to claim 7, the proposed combination of Krebs, Chen and Neoral further teaches that the decoding portion of the first ML model is implemented via a neural network, and wherein the first ML model is configured to refine the first set of image features associated with each image pair based on one or more hidden states of the neural network ([0024-0025] of Krebs discloses that each of the TCN 104 and the decoder network 106 is a neural network, wherein feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT are respectively refined, based on one another, to output refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT by Temporal Convolutional Network (TCN) 104, wherein a neural network necessarily performs its functions according to its hidden states, e.g., represented as the “trainable parameters” of Krebs’ neural networks).
The proposed combination of Krebs, Chen and Neoral does not expressly disclose that the neural network is recurrent neural network comprising a gate recurrent unit.
Teed, like Krebs, is directed to a deep learning framework that inputs a pair of temporally-separated image frames and outputs estimated motion therebetween (Abstract and Fig. 1 and accompanying description). Teed discloses that the encoded features from the images in the pair are refined by a recurrent neural network comprising a gate recurrent unit (Abstract, Sections 1 and 3, and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed modification of Krebs, Chen and Neoral to substitute Krebs’ TCN with a RNN comprising a GRU, as taught by Teed, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Krebs’ TCN and Teed’s RNN perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being processing feature data of a pair of images to estimate motion therebetween. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Krebs’ TCN by replacing it with Teed’s RNN. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have increased the accuracy of the temporal feature analysis since RNN’s are better at processing sequential data than convolutional networks.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs in view of Chen and Neoral and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0198669 to Chen et al. (hereinafter “Chen3”).
As to claim 8, the proposed combination of Krebs, Chen and Neoral does not expressly disclose that the first set of image features associated with each image pair is characterized by a first spatial scale, and wherein the first ML model is further configured to: determine respective second sets of image features associated with the multiple image pairs, wherein the second sets of image features are characterized by a second spatial scale; refine the second set of image features associated with each image pair based on the respective second sets of image features associated with one or more other image pairs; and determine the motion field for the image pair further on the refined second set of image features associated with the image pair.
Chen3, like Krebs and Chen, is directed to analyzing temporally-separated image pairs by a deep learning framework for analyzing “cardiac motion”, wherein features extracted from the images by an “encoder” 220 are analyzed by a “temporally-aware” network 230 (Abstract, [0008, 0050] and Fig. 3). Chen3 discloses that the convolutional encoding layers “operate at multiple different spatial resolutions”, wherein an encoded features “at different resolutions” 304 are input to a recurrent neural network 230 which performs temporal analysis on the features at the varying resolutions, and outputs the temporally analyzed features to a decoder 242 for final output ([0052-0056], Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed combination of Krebs, Chen and Neoral perform Krebs’ feature refinement and motion field estimation at multiple scales/resolutions, as taught by Chen3, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have enhanced the accuracy of predictions by the framework by virtue of providing more information to be analyzed (see [0058] of Chen3: analyzing features “at each spatial resolution layer allows the recurrent part of the network 210 to have full exposure to features at every past time point and every spatial resolution level (e.g., from coarse to fine) before making a prediction”).
Claim 18 recites features nearly identical to those recited in claim 8. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected for reasons analogous to those discussed above in conjunction with claim 8.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs in view of Chen, Neoral and Chen2 and further in view of Sinha.
As to claim 16, Krebs as modified above further teaches that the decoding portion of the first ML model is implemented via a neural network and wherein the first ML model is configured to refine the first set of image features associated with each image pair using a module of the neural network ([0024-0025] of Krebs discloses that each of the TCN 104 and the decoder network 106 is a neural network, wherein feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT are respectively refined, based on one another, to output refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT by Temporal Convolutional Network (TCN) 104).
The proposed combination of Krebs, Chen, Neoral and Chen2 does not expressly disclose that the decoder neural network is a transformer or that the refining uses self-attention of the transformer. However, Sinha discloses that computing optical flow between pairs of images in a sequence of images may be performed by a TCN or a transformer, highlighting the interchangeability of these types of networks for “processing temporal data” ([0047]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Krebs' TCN with a transformer that necessarily uses self-attention by definition of a transformer, as taught by Sinha, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Krebs' TCN and Sinha’s transformer perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being processing temporal data between pairs of images. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Krebs’ TCN by replacing it with Sinha’s transformer. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have better captured global contexts that convolutional models do not capture as well as transformers.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krebs in view of Chen, Neoral and Chen2 and further in view of Teed.
As to claim 17, the proposed combination of Krebs, Chen, Neoral and Chen2 further teaches that the decoding portion of the first ML model is implemented via a neural network, and wherein the first ML model is configured to refine the first set of image features associated with each image pair based on one or more hidden states of the neural network ([0024-0025] of Krebs discloses that each of the TCN 104 and the decoder network 106 is a neural network, wherein feature vectors ~Z1 – ~ZT are respectively refined, based on one another, to output refined motion vectors Z1 – ZT by Temporal Convolutional Network (TCN) 104, wherein a neural network necessarily performs its functions according to its hidden states, e.g., represented as the “trainable parameters” of Krebs’ neural networks).
The proposed combination of Krebs, Chen, Neoral and Chen2 does not expressly disclose that the neural network is recurrent neural network comprising a gate recurrent unit.
Teed, like Krebs, is directed to a deep learning framework that inputs a pair of temporally-separated image frames and outputs estimated motion therebetween (Abstract and Fig. 1 and accompanying description). Teed discloses that the encoded features from the images in the pair are refined by a recurrent neural network comprising a recurrent neural network comprising a gate recurrent unit (Abstract, Sections 1 and 3, and Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proposed modification of Krebs, Chen, Neoral and Chen2 to substitute Krebs’ TCN with a RNN comprising a GRU, as taught by Teed, to arrive at the claimed invention discussed above. Such a modification is the result of simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result. More specifically, Krebs’ TCN and Teed’s RNN perform the same general and predictable function, the predictable function being processing feature data of a pair of images to estimate motion therebetween. Since each individual element and its function are shown in the prior art, albeit shown in separate references, the difference between the claimed subject matter and the prior art rests not on any individual element or function but in the very combination itself - that is in the substitution of Krebs’ TCN by replacing it with Teed’s RNN. Thus, the simple substitution of one known element for another producing a predictable result renders the claim obvious. It is predictable that the proposed modification would have increased the accuracy of the temporal feature analysis since RNN’s are better at processing sequential data than convolutional networks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN M CONNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2663