DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 02/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwamoto (JP H0650298 U; Translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Iwamoto teaches a grounding mat assembly (abstract, grounded and laid in a bathtub, or a rug), wherein the grounding mat assembly comprises:
a grounding mat (i.e. rug 30) (fig.3);
a metallic lead (i.e. ground conductor 5) (fig.3) having a first end (e.g. end of 5 attached to 30) (fig.3) and a second end (e.g. end of 5 attached to metal fitting 81) (fig.3), wherein the first end of the metallic lead is operatively connected to the grounding mat (page 3, the ground conductor 5 drawn out from the conductor); and
a residential water system (page 3, the faucet), wherein the residential water system is operatively connected to the second end of the metallic lead (page 3, ground conductor 5 drawn out from the conductor is connected to the faucet 81 of the metal fitting (the bath water is No)) status).
Regarding claim 5, Iwamoto teaches the grounding mat assembly, according to claim 1, wherein the residential water system is further comprised of: a water supply pipe (page 4, grounding portion such as a metal pipe).
Regarding claim 6, Iwamoto teaches the grounding mat assembly, according to claim 5, wherein the residential water system is further comprised of: a coupling (e.g. ring shaped part at 81) (fig.3) operatively connected to the water supply pipe and the second end of the metallic lead (page 4, grounding conductor that leads to the ground can be integrally formed in the conductor so that it can be pulled out, electrical connection to a grounding portion such as a metal pipe is simple).
Regarding claim 7, Iwamoto teaches the grounding mat assembly, according to claim 6, wherein the coupling is further comprised of: a metallic coupling (page 3, metal fitting).
Regarding claim 8, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Iwamoto substantially teaches the claim limitations as stated above in claim 1. Iwamoto further teaches, contacting the grounding mat with a user's body (page 4, using a conductive laying body), wherein the contacting of the grounding mat causes a transfer of energy from the ground into the user's body (page 4, whole body when bathing in water is laid on the bottom of the bath, just like improving the blood circulation in the human body in the electrostatic field).
Regarding claim 18, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 6.
Regarding claim 20, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9-10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (JP H0650298 U; Translation attached), and further in view of Klug (US 20190374069 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Iwamoto teaches the grounding mat assembly, according to claim 1.
Iwamoto does not teach, wherein the grounding mat is further comprised of: a plurality of openings.
Klug teaches in a similar field of endeavor of bath mats, a plurality of openings (abstract, the absorbent substrate … ceramic-like material that holds firm under feet) ([0028], Water rapidly evaporates from the product through millions of pores therein).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the plurality of openings in Iwamoto, as taught by Klug, as it provides the advantage of water to flow through, rapidly evaporate and causing bacteria and parasites to dry out.
Regarding claim 3, Iwamoto and Klug teach the grounding mat assembly, according to claim 2, wherein the plurality of openings is further comprised of: a net-like structure (Klug, [0028], comfort cover).
Regarding claim 9, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 2.
Claims 4, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (JP H0650298 U; Translation attached), and further in view of Cintas (US 20150037384 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Iwamoto teaches the grounding mat assembly, according to claim 1, wherein the grounding mat is further comprised of: a rust resistant (page 3, non-oxidizing metal such as aluminum as a base material), heat resistant (page 3, As it is dissolved in the hot water), high temperature resistant (page 3, As it is dissolved in the hot water).
Iwamoto does not teach, water resistant, UV resistant and slip resistant material.
Cintas teaches in a similar field of endeavor of bath mats, water resistant ([0021], naturally moisture and water-absorbent; quick-drying), UV resistant ([0021], provides UV protection) and slip resistant material ([0019], surface texture of fabric layer 112 forms a slip-resistant user-supporting surface 110).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally included the water resistant, UV resistant and slip resistant material in Iwamoto, as taught by Cintas, as it provides the advantage of flexible, comfortable and hygienic bath mat.
Regarding claim 11, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 4.
Regarding claim 17, the method is rejected for the same reasons as stated above for claim 4.
Conclusion
/SREEYA SREEVATSA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838 09/09/2025