Detailed Action
This action is in response to communication filed 07/16/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
The nonstatutory double patenting rejection has been withdrawn in light of Terminal Disclaimer filed on 07/16/2026 which was approved on 07/28/2026.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “computing resources comprise a processing resource…”
The specification describes computing power resources include computing resources and storage resources, e.g. [0018], [0245], [0319, 0345, 0355], etc.
Failure to provide proper support and/or explanation may result in a new matter rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al. (US 2018/0199398 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, US 2020/0351985 A1) further in view of Puente Pestana et al. (hereinafter Puente, US 11,196,803 B2).
As per claim 1, DAO discloses a computing session release method [Fig. 15], comprising:
obtaining, by a session management function (SMF) [fig. 15 item #220], a first message, wherein the first message is configured to request release of computing resources of a computing session, wherein the computing resources comprise communication resources [fig. 15, item #1510a, [0182-183]: UE sends to the SMF a UE session release request message 1510a [thus releasing computing resources such as DRB resources], which is obtained by SMF];
sending, by the SMF, a third message to a computing management function [Fig. 15 item #204 or item #202] based on the first message, wherein the third message is configured to requesting release of the computing resources [fig. 15 item #1510d: SMF decides to release a session, fig. 15 item #1540, [0184]: SMF sends to the AN 204, via AMF, a SMF-AN session release request message 1540 for releasing the session and resources associated with the session]; wherein
the computing management function is a network element configured to managing computing resources on computing and storage resource nodes [fig. 15 item #204: AN is a network element that is added and manages computing resources on both AN and UE, [0184]. The AN manages the computing resources by requesting release of DRB or radio resources and session context from UE and releases AN DRB resources and PDU context. [236]: Shows how AN manages the radio resource allocation for PDU session]. Note: Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) is applied to the term “computing management function”.
However, DAO does not teach wherein the computing resources comprise a processing resource and a storage resource and wherein the computing management function is a network element dedicated to managing computing resources.
Zhu, from the same field of endeavor explicitly teaches a computing management function which is a network element dedicated to manage computing resources (fig. 9 item #90, fig. 7B, fig. 8B, fig. 12B: Intermediate management function is dedicated specifically for managing session including management of resources), obtaining by SMF a first message, wherein the first message is configured to request release of computing resources of a computing session, wherein the computing resources comprise a storage resource and sending by the SMF a third message to computing management function to request release of the computing resources ([0014], [0027], [0230-0235]: requesting release of computing resources including storage resources and sending release response).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao in view of Zhu in order to request release of computing resources such as storage resources.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order avoid waste of storage resources [Zhu: [0014, 0027]].
However, DAO-Zhu does not teach wherein the computing resources comprise a processing resource.
Puente, from the same field of endeavor, teaches virtualization infrastructure manager, which is responsible for resource level functions such as allocation, managing and releasing virtualized, e.g. computing, storage and networking resources, wherein the computing resources comprise a processing resource (fig. 3-4, col. 1 L60-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao-Zhu in view of Puente in order to request release of computing resources such as processing/computing resources.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order avoid waste of computing resources and free them up for future sessions.
As per claim 2, DAO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message is triggered in any one of the following manners:
triggered by a terminal via a mobility management function (AMF) [Fig. 15: item #1510a, [0182]];
triggered by an application function (AF) via the PCF;
triggered by the PCF;
triggered by a unified data management (UDM) device;
triggered by the SMF [[0182]];
triggered by the computing management function [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]];
triggered by the AMF; and
triggered by an access network (AN) via the AMF [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]].
As per claim 3, DAO-Zhu discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the SMF, a fifth message from the computing management function, wherein the fifth message is used to indicate completion of release of computing resources [Dao: fig. 15, [0183-0184]: the AN removes the UE’s PDU context and release DRM resources and then sends to the SMF 220 a SMF-AN session release response message 1550 to confirm the release of AN resources for the released PDU session; ZHU: [234-235]: release response message];
or,
wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the SMF, a sixth message, wherein the sixth message is used to respond to the first message.
As per claim 4, DAO discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first message, the third message, the fifth message, and/or the sixth message comprises one or more of the following:
UE identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
computing session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
bearer identifier; and
quality of service (QoS) flow identifier.
As per claims 15 and 18, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim(s) 6-9, 11-14, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al. (US 2018/0199398 A1) in view of DAO et al. (hereinafter DAO II, US 2019/0261260 A1) in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, US 2020/0351985 A1) further in view of Puente Pestana et al. (hereinafter Puente, US 11,196,803 B2).
As per claim 6, DAO discloses a computing session release method [fig. 15], comprising:
receiving, by a computing management function [fig. 15: AN 204], a third message from an SMF [fig. 15, [0183]: SMF 220 sends to AN 204 a SMF-AN session release request message 1540]; and
wherein the third message is sent by the SMF based on a first message [fig. 15, [0182]: release procedure is triggered by the UE, when the UE sends to the SMF 220 a UE session release request message 1510a and SMF sends release request message 1540 to AN], wherein the first message is used for requesting release of computing resources of a computing session [fig. 15, item #1510a, [0182-183]: UE sends to the SMF a UE session release request message 1510a [requesting release of PDU session and releasing computing resources such as DRB resources], which is obtained by SMF];
wherein the computing management function is a network element added for managing computing resources on computing and storage resource nodes [fig. 15 item #204: AN is a network element that is added and manages computing resources on both AN and UE, [0184]. The AN manages the computing resources by requesting release of DRB or radio resources and session context from UE and releases AN DRB resources and PDU context. [236]: Shows how AN manages the radio resource allocation for PDU session].
However, DAO does not teach sending, by the computing management function, a seventh message to a PCF based on the third message, wherein the seventh message is used for requesting deletion of a computing management policy [i.e. DAO does not teach sending policy delete request to the PCF after receiving session release request from SMF], wherein the computing resources comprise a processing resource and a storage resource and wherein the computing management function is a network element dedicated to managing computing resources.
DAO II explicitly teaches the network management function sending a message to a PCF, wherein the message is used for requesting deletion of computing management policy [fig. 5: Network management 508 sends message delete request 511 to UDM which then sends delete request 514 to PCF, [0073-0076]: policy deletion request].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao in view of Dao II in order to send a seventh message to the PCF based on the third message requesting deletion of computing management policy for the released session.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order to remove UE’s stored session policies from policy database of the PCF due to released connection.
However, DAO-DAO II does not teach wherein the computing resources comprise a processing resource and a storage resource and wherein the computing management function is a network element dedicated to managing computing resources.
Zhu, from the same field of endeavor explicitly teaches a computing management function which is a network element dedicated to manage computing resources (fig. 9 item #90, fig. 7B, fig. 8B, fig. 12B), obtaining by SMF a first message, wherein the first message is configured to request release of computing resources of a computing session, wherein the computing resources comprise a storage resource and sending by the SMF a third message to computing management function to request release of the computing resources ([0014], [0027], [0230-0235]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao-Dao II in view of Zhu in order to request release of computing resources such as storage resources.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order avoid waste of storage resources [Zhu: [0014, 0027]].
However, DAO-Dao II-Zhu does not teach wherein the computing resources comprise a processing resource.
Puente, from the same field of endeavor, teaches virtualization infrastructure manager, which is responsible for resource level functions such as allocation, managing and releasing virtualized, e.g. computing, storage and networking resources, wherein the computing resources comprise a processing resource (fig. 3-4, col. 1 L60-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao-Dao II-Zhu in view of Puente in order to request release of computing resources such as processing/computing resources.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order avoid waste of computing resources and free them up for future sessions.
As per claim 7, DAO discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the first message is triggered in any one of the following manners:
triggered by a terminal via a mobility management function (AMF) [Fig. 15: item #1510a, [0182]];
triggered by an application function (AF) via the PCF;
triggered by the PCF;
triggered by a unified data management (UDM) device;
triggered by the SMF [[0182]];
triggered by the computing management function [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]];
triggered by the AMF; and
triggered by an access network (AN) via the AMF [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]].
As per claim 8, DAO-DAO II discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
Receiving, by DAO II: fig. 5 item #519 in response to message 518 or item #512 in response to item 511];
Releasing, by the computing management function, computing resources of a computing node based on the eighth message [DAO: [0183]: AN releases the DRB resources]; and
Sending, by the computing management function, a fifth message to the SMF, wherein the fifth message is configured to indicate completion of release of computing resources [DAO: [0183]: After deleting resources, AN sends to the SMF a SMF-AN session release response message to confirm the release of AN resources for the released PDU session].
However, DAO-DAO II does not teach receiving by the computing management function an eight message from the PCF used to respond to seventh message.
But, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify DAO-DAO II in order to receive by the computing management function a response to the policy delete request.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order acknowledge and confirm the received policy deletion request.
As per claim 9, DAO discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the first message, the third message, the fifth message, and/or the sixth message comprises one or more of the following:
UE identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
computing session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
bearer identifier; and
quality of service (QoS) flow identifier.
As per claims 11-14, 16-17 and 19-20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 6-9. Therefore, claims 11-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 6-9.
Relevant Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huawei International Ltd., WO 2019017836A1, published 2019-01-24: Session processing method and device: Discloses Session Release Procedure for releasing the session and based on releasing the session, releasing the resources occupied by the session [218-220].
SON et al., US 2020/0053816 A1: Managing PDU session connection: Discloses connection release method
Song et al., US 12,574,985 B2: Methods and Apparatus for Policy Control
Qiao et al., US 2019/0109823 A1: Discloses Policy delete request sent to PCF.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KAMAL B. DIVECHA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453