Detailed Action
This action is in response to communication filed 02/16/2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4, 6-9, 11-20 of copending Application No. 19/282,749 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 6-9 of present application are similar to claims 1-10 and claims 1-4 are similar to claims 11-15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by DAO et al. (US 2018/0199398 A1).
As per claim 1, DAO discloses a computing session release method [Fig. 15], comprising:
obtaining, by a session management function (SMF) [fig. 15 item #220], a first message, wherein the first message is used for requesting release of computing resources of a computing session [fig. 15, item #1510a, [0182-183]: UE sends to the SMF a UE session release request message 1510a [thus releasing computing resources such as DRB resources], which is obtained by SMF];
sending, by the SMF, a third message to a computing management function [Fig. 15 item #204 or item #202] based on the first message, wherein the third message is used for requesting release of the computing resources [fig. 15 item #1510d: SMF decides to release a session, fig. 15 item #1540, [0184]: SMF sends to the AN 204, via AMF, a SMF-AN session release request message 1540 for releasing the session and resources associated with the session]; wherein
the computing management function is a network element added for managing computing resources on computing and storage resource nodes [fig. 15 item #204: AN is a network element that is added and manages computing resources on both AN and UE, [0184]. The AN manages the computing resources by requesting release of DRB or radio resources and session context from UE and releases AN DRB resources and PDU context. [236]: Shows how AN manages the radio resource allocation for PDU session]. Note: Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) is applied to the term “computing management function”.
As per claim 2, DAO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first message is triggered in any one of the following manners:
triggered by a terminal via a mobility management function (AMF) [Fig. 15: item #1510a, [0182]];
triggered by an application function (AF) via the PCF;
triggered by the PCF;
triggered by a unified data management (UDM) device;
triggered by the SMF [[0182]];
triggered by the computing management function [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]];
triggered by the AMF; and
triggered by an access network (AN) via the AMF [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]].
As per claim 3, DAO discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the SMF, a fifth message from the computing management function, wherein the fifth message is used to indicate completion of release of computing resources [fig. 15, [0183-0184]: the AN removes the UE’s PDU context and release DRM resources and then sends to the SMF 220 a SMF-AN session release response message 1550 to confirm the release of AN resources for the released PDU session];
or,
wherein the method further comprises:
sending, by the SMF, a sixth message, wherein the sixth message is used to respond to the first message.
As per claim 4, DAO discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the first message, the third message, the fifth message, and/or the sixth message comprises one or more of the following:
UE identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
computing session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
bearer identifier; and
quality of service (QoS) flow identifier.
As per claims 15 and 18, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 and 18 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9, 11-14, 16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAO et al. (US 2018/0199398 A1) in view of DAO et al. (hereinafter DAO II, US 2019/0261260 A1).
As per claim 6, DAO discloses a computing session release method [fig. 15], comprising:
receiving, by a computing management function [fig. 15: AN 204], a third message from an SMF [fig. 15, [0183]: SMF 220 sends to AN 204 a SMF-AN session release request message 1540]; and
wherein the third message is sent by the SMF based on a first message [fig. 15, [0182]: release procedure is triggered by the UE, when the UE sends to the SMF 220 a UE session release request message 1510a and SMF sends release request message 1540 to AN], wherein the first message is used for requesting release of computing resources of a computing session [fig. 15, item #1510a, [0182-183]: UE sends to the SMF a UE session release request message 1510a [requesting release of PDU session and releasing computing resources such as DRB resources], which is obtained by SMF];
wherein the computing management function is a network element added for managing computing resources on computing and storage resource nodes [fig. 15 item #204: AN is a network element that is added and manages computing resources on both AN and UE, [0184]. The AN manages the computing resources by requesting release of DRB or radio resources and session context from UE and releases AN DRB resources and PDU context. [236]: Shows how AN manages the radio resource allocation for PDU session].
However, DAO does not teach sending, by the computing management function, a seventh message to a PCF based on the third message, wherein the seventh message is used for requesting deletion of a computing management policy [i.e. DAO does not teach sending policy delete request to the PCF after receiving session release request from SMF].
DAO II explicitly teaches the network management function sending a message to a PCF, wherein the message is used for requesting deletion of computing management policy [fig. 5: Network management 508 sends message delete request 511 to UDM which then sends delete request 514 to PCF, [0073-0076]: policy deletion request].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Dao in view of Dao II in order to send a seventh message to the PCF based on the third message requesting deletion of computing management policy for the released session.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order to remove UE’s stored session policies from policy database of the PCF due to released connection.
As per claim 7, DAO discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the first message is triggered in any one of the following manners:
triggered by a terminal via a mobility management function (AMF) [Fig. 15: item #1510a, [0182]];
triggered by an application function (AF) via the PCF;
triggered by the PCF;
triggered by a unified data management (UDM) device;
triggered by the SMF [[0182]];
triggered by the computing management function [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]];
triggered by the AMF; and
triggered by an access network (AN) via the AMF [Fig. 15 item #1510b, [0182]].
As per claim 8, DAO-DAO II discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
Receiving, by DAO II: fig. 5 item #519 in response to message 518 or item #512 in response to item 511];
Releasing, by the computing management function, computing resources of a computing node based on the eighth message [DAO: [0183]: AN releases the DRB resources]; and
Sending, by the computing management function, a fifth message to the SMF, wherein the fifth message is used to indicate completion of release of computing resources [DAO: [0183]: After deleting resources, AN sends to the SMF a SMF-AN session release response message to confirm the release of AN resources for the released PDU session].
However, DAO-DAO II does not teach receiving by the computing management function an eight message from the PCF used to respond to seventh message.
But, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify DAO-DAO II in order to receive by the computing management function a response to the policy delete request.
One of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated in order acknowledge and confirm the received policy deletion request.
As per claim 9, DAO discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the first message, the third message, the fifth message, and/or the sixth message comprises one or more of the following:
UE identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
computing session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier [[0182]: UE sends a session release message 1510a to the SMF, wherein the message includes UE ID, session ID and SM-NSSAI];
bearer identifier; and
quality of service (QoS) flow identifier.
As per claims 11-14, 16-17 and 19-20 , they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 6-9. Therefore, claims 11-14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 6-9.
Relevant Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
SON et al., US 2020/0053816 A1: Managing PDU session connection: Discloses connection release method
Song et al., US 12,574,985 B2: Methods and Apparatus for Policy Control
Qiao et al., US 2019/0109823 A1: Discloses Policy delete request sent to PCF.
Conclusion
KAMAL B. DIVECHA
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2453
/KAMAL B DIVECHA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2453