DETAILED ACTION
Notices to Applicant
This communication is a Final Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-25 as filed 06/22/2026, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Priority
The present patent application claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/444,875, filed February 10, 2023, and U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/444,869, filed February 10, 2023, each of which is incorporated by reference herein in its entirety.
The present application is also a continuation-in-part application of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/502,005, filed October 14, 2021, and U.S. Patent Application No. 17/402,256, filed August 13, 2021, both naming Dimitar V. Baronov, Robert Hammond-Oakley, and Evan J. Butler as inventors, both of which in turn claim priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/091,493, filed October 14, 2020, U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/091,427, filed October 14, 2020, U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/180,881, filed April 28, 2021, U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/183,979, filed May 4, 2021, and U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/190,070, filed May 18, 2021.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations is: “a reporting module” in claim 21.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The present Application Specification provides “Those skilled in the art should understand that such a device has other physical and/or functional components, such as central processing units, other packet processing modules, and short-term memory” (Application Specification at [0139]). Therefore, the claim limitations will be interpreted to be a hardware AND software computer program product stored on a memory (see MPEP § 2181(II)(B) wherein when the supporting disclosure for a computer-implemented invention discusses the implementation of the functionality of the invention through hardware, software, or a combination of both, a question can arise as to which mode of implementation supports the means-plus-function limitation. The language of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) requires that the recited "means" for performing the specified function shall be construed to cover the corresponding "structure or material" described in the specification and equivalents thereof. Therefore, by choosing to use a means-plus-function limitation and invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) applicant limits that claim limitation to the disclosed structure, i.e., implementation by hardware or the combination of hardware and software, and equivalents thereof. Therefore, the examiner should not construe the limitation as covering pure software implementation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are directed to a computer-implemented method for creating a clinical decision support application, which falls under the statutory category of a method. Independent claim 1 does not recite a judicial exception (e.g. an abstract idea), and as a result, is directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claims 20-25 are directed to a computer-implemented system for creating a medical protocol, which falls under the statutory category of a machine. Independent claim 20 does not recite a judicial exception (e.g. an abstract idea), and as a result, is directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 10-19 are drawn to a computer-implemented method for creating a medical protocol, which is within the four statutory categories (i.e. method).
Independent Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 10 recites
10. A computer-implemented method for creating a medical protocol, the method comprising:
selecting a protocol condition object from a graphical user interface displaying a plurality of different protocol condition objects, each object associated with at least one corresponding parameter requirement;
displaying the selected protocol condition object in a protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface;
displaying a specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the selected protocol condition object;
receiving a specific parameter related to the corresponding parameter requirement within the specific parameter window;
generating a clinical protocol having a condition as a function of the received specific parameter for the selected protocol condition object,
compiling, by a graphical compiler, the clinical protocol into executable code for deployment to a clinical decision support system.
The claim, as drafted, is a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or relationships between people through rules or instructions but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the above bolded elements, for example, “selecting a protocol condition object from a graphical user interface… ,” “displaying the selected protocol condition object in a protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface,” and “displaying a specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the selected object,” nothing in the claim precludes the limitations from managing personal behavior or interactions between people through rules or instructions. For example, but for the above bolded language, receiving a specific parameter related to the corresponding parameter requirement within the specific parameter window and generating a clinical protocol having a condition as a function of the received specific parameter for the selected protocol condition type and compiling the clinical protocol into executable code for deployment in the context of this claim encompasses rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or interactions between people for creating a medical protocol. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C)(iii). a mental process that a neurologist should follow when testing a patient for nervous system malfunctions, In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 791-93, 215 USPQ 193, 194-96 (CCPA 1982)). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites the above bolded additional elements, for example, “selecting a protocol condition object from a graphical user interface… ,” “displaying the selected protocol condition object in a protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface,” “displaying a specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the selected object,” and “a graphical compiler,” to perform the claim limitations. The elements in each of these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., a graphical user interface it may be provided on, among other things, a touch-screen display (e.g. a hospital monitor, mobile device, smartphone, etc.) and a graphical compiler as they relates to a general purpose computer components (Application Specification [0132]-[0133], [0153])). As such, the limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or other machinery, or merely uses a computer or other machinery as a tool under its ordinary capacity to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the above bolded admonitor elements, for example, “selecting a protocol condition object from a graphical user interface… ,” “displaying the selected protocol condition object in a protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface,” “displaying a specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the selected object,” and “a graphical compiler,” to perform the claim limitations amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (i.e., a graphical user interface it may be provided on, among other things, a touch-screen display (e.g. a hospital monitor, mobile device, smartphone, etc.) and a graphical compiler as they relates to a general purpose computer components (Application Specification [0132]-[0133], [0153])). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 11-19 include limitations of the independent claim and are directed to the same abstract idea as discussed above and incorporated herein. The dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they are directed to non-statutory subject matter. These additional claims recite what the medical protocol data is and how it is analyzed. These information characteristics do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and, when viewed individually or as a whole, they do not add anything substantial beyond rules or instructions for managing personal behavior or interactions between people for creating a medical protocol. Furthermore, the combination of elements does not indicate a significant improvement to the functioning of a computer or any other technology. Therefore the dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W.O. 00/42487 (hereinafter “Buchanan et al.”) in view of U.S. 2020/0327996 A1 (hereinafter “Barkol et al.”).
RE: Claim 1 Buchanan et al. teaches the claimed:
1. A computer-implemented method for creating a clinical decision support application, the method comprising: providing an interface configured to receive ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 9, lines 7-12) (The preferred embodiment of the invention includes an object oriented software tool which greatly improves the speed with which protocols can be encapsulated and maintained. The tool provides a graphical user interface and "point-and-click" capabilities to allow a non-programmer to define, modify, add, store and utilize new protocols, thereby adapting the system to a changing medical infrastructure as new practice guidelines are invoked)):
a protocol eligibility condition by selecting one or more eligibility condition objects from an available list within a configuration graphical user interface, each eligibility condition object associated with at least one corresponding condition type, and each type configurable with specific parameters ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 28, Lines 1-5) (FIG. 11B is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used to begin the rule making process. If a problem is selected (STEP 1102), the user enters the name of the problem the user wishes to create, and an identification for a parent module which includes the broad medical discipline pertaining to the problem (STEP 1104) i.e. selected from a list of condition types such as cardiology, ontology, or all));
a protocol compliance condition by selecting one or more compliance condition objects from an available list within the configuration graphical user interface, each compliance condition object related to a patient parameter, selecting the thresholds within which compliance is achieved for each patient related parameter, and arranging the patient related parameters by an order in which to display them in an active graphical user interface ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 28, Lines 8-10; Pg. 29, lines 27-28; Pg. 30, lines 7-11) (The user then chooses whether to enter a new rule (STEP 1112) or to select an existing rule from a list, 10 preferably presented on a pull down menu (STEP 1114); If a new problem rule is being built or if an existing problem rule is being modified, the user may build the rule in any order by sequentially selecting one of each of the following components: available indicators (STEP 131 0); an associated urgency and likelihood (STEP 10 1312); an operator (e.g., a Boolean operator or proximity operator) (STEP 1314); and a value (STEP 1316); FIG. 13C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used with
the intervention rule building process i.e. rules arranged in order of likelihood status)), and
generating an executable clinical decision support application code as a function of the eligibility condition, compliance condition, and notification condition ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 14, Lines 18-20) (The preferred protocol building tool 308 allows a user to interactively add rules to the knowledge database without requiring a software engineer to write, debug, and integrate new code into a new system)).
Buchanan et al. fails to explicitly teach, but Barkol et al. teaches the claimed:
a list of notification conditions by selecting from a list of specific notification types under which a user of the clinical decision support application will be notified and associating each notification type with a plurality of user roles ((Barkol et al., [0110]-[0112], [0114]) (a notification settings page presents various information relating to notifications to a user of a display device including a button that may present information relating to the different notification levels (e.g. none, low, medium, high) with a notification preference (display, color, haptic and/or audio, etc.); some or all notification settings based on the healthcare role provided by the user))
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the notification settings and preferences set for different healthcare users based on their healthcare role, notification type, and notification importance level as taught by Barkol et al. within the expert system for real-time decision support with an interactive tool which enables users to incorporate or modify decision rules within the system without writing computer code as taught by Buchanan et al. with the motivation of ensuring a rapid response should a patient's condition deteriorate, near-continuous monitoring of the output from the multiple monitoring devices may be necessary (Barkol et al., [0002]).
RE: Claim 2 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
2. The method as defined by claim 1, wherein the one or more eligibility condition objects includes a rate based object, a measurement based object, and an event based object ((Buchanan et al., Fig 3C, 13B) (Patient Problem Rules e.g. (Labs WNL (MB > 4% or CtNt >= 0.19 ng/mL) i.e. rate based object; Problem rules build includes heart rate above or below a value i.e. measurement based object; Problem rules build includes Fainting/Syncopal Episode/Anti-arrhythmic medication i.e. an event based object)).
RE: Claim 3 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
3. The method as defined by claim 1, wherein the one or more compliance condition objects includes a rate based object, a measurement based object, and an event based object ((Buchanan et al., Fig 3C, 13B; Pg. 28, Lines 8-10; Pg. 29, lines 27-28; Pg. 30, lines 7-11) (Patient Problem Rules e.g. (Labs WNL (MB > 4% or CtNt >= 0.19 ng/mL) i.e. rate based object; Problem rules build includes heart rate above or below a value i.e. measurement based object; Problem rules build includes Fainting/Syncopal Episode/Anti-arrhythmic medication i.e. an event based object; The user then chooses whether to enter a new rule (STEP 1112) or to select an existing rule from a list, 10 preferably presented on a pull down menu (STEP 1114); If a new problem rule is being built or if an existing problem rule is being modified, the user may build the rule in any order by sequentially selecting one of each of the following components: available indicators (STEP 131 0); an associated urgency and likelihood (STEP 10 1312); an operator (e.g., a Boolean operator or proximity operator) (STEP 1314); and a value (STEP 1316); FIG. 13C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used with the intervention rule building process i.e. rules arranged in order of likelihood status)).
RE: Claim 4 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
4. The method as defined by claim 1, further comprising: selecting a second protocol condition object from the configuration graphical user interface, the second protocol condition object being different from the first protocol condition object; displaying the second selected protocol condition object with the first selected protocol condition object in a protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface ((Buchanan et al., Fig 13B) ( Protocol conditions of if Heart Rate <50, or if Heart Rate >= 6-, or if History of Neurological Fainting/Syncopal Episode – True AND History Cardiovascular Orthostatic Hypertension = False AND Medications Anti-arrhythmic = True i.e. multiple protocol conditions selected and displayed in a sequence on a user interface)).
RE: Claim 5 Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
5. The method as defined by claim 4, further comprising: displaying a second specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the second selected object; receiving a specific parameter related to the corresponding parameter requirement within the second specific parameter window; generating a clinical protocol having conditions as a function of the received specific parameters for the first and the second selected protocol condition types ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24; Pg. 24, lines 16-18) (The Determine Problems submodule 812 accesses the knowledge base and engages an inference engine in the rule server 402 to display a set of possible problems based on the entered data for the patient; The preferred embodiment implements an electronic record charting capability which is accessible and updated during the individual contact. Data is preferably recorded using point and click mechanisms (e.g., by means of a mouse) or touch screen technology, and data is presented in graphical menus that are site-configurable; The software facilitates real-time decision support by utilizing the expert knowledge base 408 to identify individual problems, desired outcomes, and recommended interventions. The user is automatically alerted when critical conditions exist)).
RE: Claim 6 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
6. The method as defined by claim 1, wherein at least one selected condition object defines ((Buchanan et al., Fig 3C, 13B) (Patient Problem Rules e.g. (Labs WNL (MB > 4% or CtNt >= 0.19 ng/mL) i.e. rate based object; Problem rules build includes heart rate above or below a value i.e. measurement based object; Problem rules build includes Fainting/Syncopal Episode/Anti-arrhythmic medication i.e. an event based object)).
RE: Claim 7 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
7. The method as defined by claim 1, further comprising selecting a one or more protocol condition objects from the graphical user interface ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 28, Lines 8-10; Pg. 29, lines 27-28; Pg. 30, lines 7-11) (The user then chooses whether to enter a new rule (STEP 1112) or to select an existing rule from a list, 10 preferably presented on a pull down menu (STEP 1114); If a new problem rule is being built or if an existing problem rule is being modified, the user may build the rule in any order by sequentially selecting one of each of the following components: available indicators (STEP 131 0); an associated urgency and likelihood (STEP 10 1312); an operator (e.g., a Boolean operator or proximity operator) (STEP 1314); and a value (STEP 1316); FIG. 13C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used with the intervention rule building process i.e. rules arranged in order of likelihood status)).
RE: Claim 8 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
8. The method as defined by claim 7, wherein the one or more a protocol sequence window, and the plurality of protocol condition objects are logically linkable using and/or statements ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 30, Lines 18-28) (In the preferred embodiment, an indicator is selected by dragging and dropping the indicator on a rule building block 1350 (FIG. 13B). The urgency status may be selected from a spin control, list box, or a pull down menu which includes, for example, "non-urgent", "immediate", and "stat". The likelihood status may be selected from a spin control, list box, or a pull down menu which includes, for example, "potential", "possible", "probable", "confirmed", and "ruled out". In the preferred embodiment, a button tool bar 1352 which is used for boolean logic operations is presented on the screen. Clicking on one of the operators moves that operator to the rule building block 1350. A value may also be entered in the rule building block directly through keyboard operation. FIGS. 13C and 13D show a similar graphical user interface tailored for the inputs required to build intervention rules and outcome rules, respectively)).
RE: Claim 9 Buchanan et al and Barkol et al. teach the claimed:
9. The method as defined by claim 1, further comprising displaying the generated protocol in an active user interface ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24; Pg. 24, Lines 16-18) (The software facilitates real-time decision support by utilizing the expert knowledge base 408 to identify individual problems, desired outcomes, and recommended interventions. The user is automatically alerted when critical conditions exist; The Determine Problems submodule 812 accesses the knowledge base 408 and engages an inference engine in the rule server 402 to display a set of possible problems based on the entered data for the patient)).
Claims 10-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W.O. 00/42487 (hereinafter “Buchanan et al.”) in view of U.S. 2011/0055720 A1 (hereinafter “Potter et al.”).
RE: Claim 10 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al. teaches the claimed:
10. A computer-implemented method for creating a medical protocol, the method comprising: selecting a protocol condition object from a graphical user interface displaying a plurality of different protocol condition objects, each object associated with at least one corresponding parameter requirement ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 28, Lines 8-10; Pg. 29, lines 27-28; Pg. 30, lines 7-11) (The user then chooses whether to enter a new rule (STEP 1112) or to select an existing rule from a list, 10 preferably presented on a pull down menu (STEP 1114); If a new problem rule is being built or if an existing problem rule is being modified, the user may build the rule in any order by sequentially selecting one of each of the following components: available indicators (STEP 131 0); an associated urgency and likelihood (STEP 10 1312); an operator (e.g., a Boolean operator or proximity operator) (STEP 1314); and a value (STEP 1316); FIG. 13C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used with the intervention rule building process i.e. rules arranged in order of likelihood status)),
displaying the selected protocol condition object in a protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface ((Buchanan et al., Fig 13B) ( Protocol conditions of if Heart Rate <50, or if Heart Rate >= 6-, or if History of Neurological Fainting/Syncopal Episode – True AND History Cardiovascular Orthostatic Hypertension = False AND Medications Anti-arrhythmic = True i.e. multiple protocol conditions selected and displayed in a sequence on a user interface));
displaying a specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the selected protocol condition object ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 24, lines 16-18) (The Determine Problems submodule 812 accesses the knowledge base and engages an inference engine in the rule server 402 to display a set of possible problems based on the entered data for the patient));
receiving a specific parameter related to the corresponding parameter requirement within the specific parameter window ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24) (The preferred embodiment implements an electronic record charting capability which is accessible and updated during the individual contact. Data is preferably recorded using point and click mechanisms (e.g., by means of a mouse) or touch screen technology, and data is presented in graphical menus that are site-configurable));
generating a clinical protocol having a condition as a function of the received specific parameter for the selected protocol condition object ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24) (The software facilitates real-time decision support by utilizing the expert knowledge base 408 to identify individual problems, desired outcomes, and recommended interventions. The user is automatically alerted when critical conditions exist)).
Buchanan et al. fails to explicitly teach, but Potter et al. teaches the claimed:
compiling, by a graphical compiler, the clinical protocol into executable code for deployment to a clinical decision support system ((Potter et al., [0071]) (Such composition may alternatively be or additionally be composed using a graphical compiler in which models, maps, or graphical depictions of the therapeutic wellness device may be manipulated to assemble the desired therapy program or sequence. Such therapy programs or sequences may also be defined by a user commanding the therapeutic wellness device to assume the various configurations and activities in a time sequence and simultaneously "recording" or "capturing" such sequence for retention and sharing or later use)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the graphic compiler for manipulable for assembling a desired therapy program or sequence of a therapeutic wellness device as taught by Potter et al. within the expert system for real-time decision support with an interactive tool which enables users to incorporate or modify decision rules within the system without writing computer code as taught by Buchanan et al. with the motivation of graphically interacting with a user to allow greater flexibility and portability in managing and administering therapeutic operations (Potter et al., [0002], [0003]).
RE: Claim 11 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
11. The method as defined by claim 10, wherein the plurality of different protocol condition objects include a rate based object, a measurement based object, and an event based object ((Buchanan et al., Fig 3C, 13B) (Patient Problem Rules e.g. (Labs WNL (MB > 4% or CtNt >= 0.19 ng/mL) i.e. rate based object; Problem rules build includes heart rate above or below a value i.e. measurement based object; Problem rules build includes Fainting/Syncopal Episode/Anti-arrhythmic medication i.e. an event based object)).
RE: Claim 12 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
12. The method as defined by claim 10, further comprising selecting a second protocol condition object from the graphical user interface, the second protocol condition object being different from the first protocol condition object; displaying the second selected protocol condition object with the first selected protocol condition object in the protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface ((Buchanan et al., Fig 13B) ( Protocol conditions of if Heart Rate <50, or if Heart Rate >= 6-, or if History of Neurological Fainting/Syncopal Episode – True AND History Cardiovascular Orthostatic Hypertension = False AND Medications Anti-arrhythmic = True i.e. multiple protocol conditions selected and displayed in a sequence on a user interface)).
RE: Claim 13 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
13. The method as defined by claim 12, further comprising: displaying a second specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the second selected object; receiving a specific parameter related to the corresponding parameter requirement within the second specific parameter window; generating a clinical protocol having conditions as a function of the received specific parameters for the first and the second selected protocol condition objects((Buchanan et al., Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24; Pg. 24, lines 16-18) (The Determine Problems submodule 812 accesses the knowledge base and engages an inference engine in the rule server 402 to display a set of possible problems based on the entered data for the patient; The preferred embodiment implements an electronic record charting capability which is accessible and updated during the individual contact. Data is preferably recorded using point and click mechanisms (e.g., by means of a mouse) or touch screen technology, and data is presented in graphical menus that are site-configurable; The software facilitates real-time decision support by utilizing the expert knowledge base 408 to identify individual problems, desired outcomes, and recommended interventions. The user is automatically alerted when critical conditions exist)).
RE: Claim 14 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
14. The method as defined by claim 10, wherein the condition is an eligibility condition or a compliance condition for the protocol ((Buchanan et al., Fig 3C, 13B) (Patient Problem Rules e.g. (Labs WNL (MB > 4% or CtNt >= 0.19 ng/mL) i.e. rate based object; Problem rules build includes heart rate above or below a value i.e. measurement based object; Problem rules build includes Fainting/Syncopal Episode/Anti-arrhythmic medication i.e. an event based object)).
RE: Claim 15 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
15. The method as defined by claim 10, further comprising selecting a plurality protocol condition objects from the graphical user interface ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 28, Lines 8-10; Pg. 29, lines 27-28; Pg. 30, lines 7-11) (The user then chooses whether to enter a new rule (STEP 1112) or to select an existing rule from a list, 10 preferably presented on a pull down menu (STEP 1114); If a new problem rule is being built or if an existing problem rule is being modified, the user may build the rule in any order by sequentially selecting one of each of the following components: available indicators (STEP 131 0); an associated urgency and likelihood (STEP 10 1312); an operator (e.g., a Boolean operator or proximity operator) (STEP 1314); and a value (STEP 1316); FIG. 13C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used with the intervention rule building process i.e. rules arranged in order of likelihood status)).
RE: Claim 16 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
16. The method as defined by claim 15, wherein the plurality of protocol condition objects are rearrangeable in the protocol sequence window, and the plurality of protocol condition objects are logically linkable using and/or statements ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 30, Lines 18-28) (In the preferred embodiment, an indicator is selected by dragging and dropping the indicator on a rule building block 1350 (FIG. 13B). The urgency status may be selected from a spin control, list box, or a pull down menu which includes, for example, "non-urgent", "immediate", and "stat". The likelihood status may be selected from a spin control, list box, or a pull down menu which includes, for example, "potential", "possible", "probable", "confirmed", and "ruled out". In the preferred embodiment, a button tool bar 1352 which is used for boolean logic operations is presented on the screen. Clicking on one of the operators moves that operator to the rule building block 1350. A value may also be entered in the rule building block directly through keyboard operation. FIGS. 13C and 13D show a similar graphical user interface tailored for the inputs required to build intervention rules and outcome rules, respectively)).
RE: Claim 17 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
17. The method as defined by claim 10, further comprising displaying the generated protocol in a patient display ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 16, Lines 27-29; pg. 20, lines 14-20) (In general, when a patient's chart is opened, the preferred embodiment of the invention invokes an initialization process which provides access to the knowledge base and patient database; the system retrieves the individual patient information from the patient database 406 and the chart is opened. In the preferred embodiment, the user is then presented with a new graphical interface. FIG. 7C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used to display a patient's chart information in accordance with one embodiment of the invention. In particular, information about the patient may be shown in windows that allow for the charting of vital sign measurements, medical history, Patient Problems, Physical Exam, and Labs/Diagnostic Tests)).
RE: Claim 18 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
18. The method as defined by claim 17, further comprising collecting data from a patient relating to the generated protocol and displaying data relevant to the generated protocol in the patient display ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 16, Lines 27-29; pg. 20, lines 14-20; ; Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24) (In general, when a patient's chart is opened, the preferred embodiment of the invention invokes an initialization process which provides access to the knowledge base and patient database; the system retrieves the individual patient information from the patient database 406 and the chart is opened. In the preferred embodiment, the user is then presented with a new graphical interface. FIG. 7C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used to display a patient's chart information in accordance with one embodiment of the invention. In particular, information about the patient may be shown in windows that allow for the charting of vital sign measurements, medical history, Patient Problems, Physical Exam, and Labs/Diagnostic Tests; The preferred embodiment implements an electronic record charting capability which is accessible and updated during the individual contact. Data is preferably recorded using point and click mechanisms (e.g., by means of a mouse) or touch screen technology, and data is presented in graphical menus that are site-configurable)).
RE: Claim 19 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
19. The method as defined by claim 10, wherein the eligibility condition is a parent base condition ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 28, Lines 1-5) (FIG. 11B is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used to begin the rule making process. If a problem is selected (STEP 1102), the user enters the name of the problem the user wishes to create, and an identification for a parent module which includes the broad medical discipline pertaining to the problem (STEP 1104) i.e. selected from a list of condition types such as cardiology, ontology, or all)).
RE: Claim 20 Buchanan et al. teaches the claimed:
20. A computer-implemented system for creating a medical protocol, the system comprising: a conditions library containing graphically selectable eligibility objects and graphically selectable compliance objects relating to a medical protocol ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 9, lines 7-12; Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24; Pg. 24, lines 16-18) (The Determine Problems submodule 812 accesses the knowledge base and engages an inference engine in the rule server 402 to display a set of possible problems based on the entered data for the patient; The preferred embodiment implements an electronic record charting capability which is accessible and updated during the individual contact. Data is preferably recorded using point and click mechanisms (e.g., by means of a mouse) or touch screen technology, and data is presented in graphical menus that are site-configurable; The preferred embodiment of the invention includes an object oriented software tool which greatly improves the speed with which protocols can be encapsulated and maintained. The tool provides a graphical user interface and "point-and-click" capabilities to allow a non-programmer to define, modify, add, store and utilize new protocols, thereby adapting the system to a changing medical infrastructure as new practice guidelines are invoked)):
[…], the user interface configured to display the graphically selectable eligibility objects and graphically selectable compliance objects, the user interface further configured to display a sequence window in which the graphically selectable eligibility objects may be moved to define an eligibility rule for the protocol, and in which the graphically selectable compliance objects may be moved to define a compliance rule for the protocol ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 30, Lines 18-28) (In the preferred embodiment, an indicator is selected by dragging and dropping the indicator on a rule building block 1350 (FIG. 13B). The urgency status may be selected from a spin control, list box, or a pull down menu which includes, for example, "non-urgent", "immediate", and "stat". The likelihood status may be selected from a spin control, list box, or a pull down menu which includes, for example, "potential", "possible", "probable", "confirmed", and "ruled out". In the preferred embodiment, a button tool bar 1352 which is used for boolean logic operations is presented on the screen. Clicking on one of the operators moves that operator to the rule building block 1350. A value may also be entered in the rule building block directly through keyboard operation. FIGS. 13C and 13D show a similar graphical user interface tailored for the inputs required to build intervention rules and outcome rules, respectively)).
Buchanan et al. fails to explicitly teach, but Potter et al. teaches the claimed:
a graphic compiler generating a user interface ((Potter et al., [0071]) (Such composition may alternatively be or additionally be composed using a graphical compiler in which models, maps, or graphical depictions of the therapeutic wellness device may be manipulated to assemble the desired therapy program or sequence. Such therapy programs or sequences may also be defined by a user commanding the therapeutic wellness device to assume the various configurations and activities in a time sequence and simultaneously "recording" or "capturing" such sequence for retention and sharing or later use)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the graphic compiler for manipulable for assembling a desired therapy program or sequence of a therapeutic wellness device as taught by Potter et al. within the expert system for real-time decision support with an interactive tool which enables users to incorporate or modify decision rules within the system without writing computer code as taught by Buchanan et al. with the motivation of graphically interacting with a user to allow greater flexibility and portability in managing and administering therapeutic operations (Potter et al., [0002], [0003]).
RE: Claim 21 Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
21. The method as defined by claim 20, further comprising a reporting module configured to provide reports to medical practitioners ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 8, Lines 20-27) (The preferred embodiment of the invention prompts the physician to order these treatments and tests, then records the results of these tests and changes in clinical condition brought about by treatment, and then refines the diagnosis as a result of this additional information. Finally, the invention makes a tentative final recommended diagnosis and suggests the appropriate treatment, including patient disposition, medications, schedules, and follow-up care, and creates detailed patient specific aftercare instructions. All these items can be verified by the health care provider)).
RE: Claim 22 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
22. The method as defined by claim 21, wherein the reports ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 8, Lines 20-27; Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24) (The preferred embodiment of the invention prompts the physician to order these treatments and tests, then records the results of these tests and changes in clinical condition brought about by treatment, and then refines the diagnosis as a result of this additional information. Finally, the invention makes a tentative final recommended diagnosis and suggests the appropriate treatment, including patient disposition, medications, schedules, and follow-up care, and creates detailed patient specific aftercare instructions. All these items can be verified by the health care provider; The preferred embodiment implements an electronic record charting capability which is accessible and updated during the individual contact. Data is preferably recorded using point and click mechanisms (e.g., by means of a mouse) or touch screen technology, and data is presented in graphical menus that are site-configurable)).
RE: Claim 23 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
23. The method as defined by claim 22, wherein the graphical reporting objects include graphical objects for counting clicks by medical staff in the interface, counting interactions with the interface by medical staff, average patient compliance, time from eligibility to protocol start, ICU length of stay, ventilation time, extubation failure rate, readmission rate, and/or patient outcomes relative to dynamic concordance of the patient ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 8, Lines 8-11; pg. 10, lines 21-25) (The invention is a comprehensive decision support system providing support for individual assessment, identifying individual problems and desired outcomes, recommending interventions and appropriate diagnostic tests and treatment, and reassessing to determine actual outcomes; Finally, the system measures the actual outcome by guiding a practitioner through the process during recurring visits to the practitioner, with the actual outcome data possibly affecting the other steps in the process as the patient's condition changes. In the preferred embodiment, an actual outcome module 122 provides a GUI that guides the practitioner through a desired set of questions drawn from an evaluation knowledge base 124)).
RE: Claim 24 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
24. The method as defined by claim 20, further comprising an event detector configured to parse ((Buchanan et al., Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24) (The software facilitates real-time decision support by utilizing the expert knowledge base 408 to identify individual problems, desired outcomes, and recommended interventions. The user is automatically alerted when critical conditions exist)).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over W.O. 00/42487 (hereinafter “Buchanan et al.”) in view of U.S. 2011/0055720 A1 (hereinafter “Potter et al.”), and further in view of U.S. 2017/0354382 A1 (hereinafter “Fauss et al.”).
RE: Claim 25 (Currently Amended) Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. teach the claimed:
25. The method as defined by claim 24.
Buchanan et al. and Potter et al. fail to explicitly teach, but Fauss et al. teaches the claimed:
wherein the detected patient event may include extubation, reintubation, length of extubation, extubation failure detection, cardiac arrest detection, vasoactive weaning detection, acute kidney injury detection, and/or time at which any of the aforementioned events occurred ((Potter et al., [0021]) (The system described herein allows clinicians to monitor and alert a care provider in real-time to the patient's risk of a critical deterioration (i.e. heart attack) in patients with parallel circulation physiology)).
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date would have found it obvious to combine the system for monitoring and alerting in real-time a patient’s risk of a heart attack as taught by Fauss et al. within the expert system for real-time decision support with an interactive tool which enables users to incorporate or modify decision rules within the system without writing computer code as taught by Buchanan et al. and the graphic compiler for manipulable for assembling a desired therapy program or sequence of a therapeutic wellness device as taught by Potter et al. with the motivation of measuring of risk to detect deterioration of patients in clinical practice with rare congenital heart defect (Fauss et al., [0002]-[0003]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed herein below in the order in which they appear in the response filed on 06/22/2026.
In the remarks, Applicant argues in substance that:
Regarding the 112(f) interpretation of claim 21, Applicant argues that “reporting module” connotates sufficient structure to one of ordinary skill in the art and further, the specification discloses sufficient structure such that the limitation has no issue under 112(b).
Regarding the 112(b) rejection of claim 18, in light of the amendment of claim 18, applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn;
Regarding the 101 rejection of claims 18-20, applicant respectfully submits that claims 18-20 do not recite subject matter that would fall within the groupings of an abstract idea, and even if these claims were alleged to be directed to a judicial exception, applicant respectfully submits that the claims integrate any alleged abreact idea into a practical application;
Regarding the 103 rejection of claims 1-20, applicant respectfully submits that the combined disclosures of Kulkarni et al. and Ivanoff et al. for claims 1-7, 9-16, and 18-20 and the additional disclosure of Hadad for claims 8 and 17, respectively, do not teach or suggest a method as recited in amended claim 1 that includes in response to determining that a user device is associated with a consumer, tailoring a dashboard user interface for the consumer, including populating the dashboard with a link to a user interface that allows the consumer to set up and activate a transaction management plan upon actuation of the link based on the recovery probably having a first score.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (a) regarding the 112(f) interpretation of claim 21, Examiner respectfully maintains the 112(f) interpretation of the limitation “reporting module,” and that in light of the present application specification, the element is interpreted according to the following: “Those skilled in the art should understand that such a device has other physical and/or functional components, such as central processing units, other packet processing modules, and short-term memory” (Application Specification at [0139]). By choosing to use a means-plus-function limitation and invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) applicant limits that claim limitation to the disclosed structure, i.e., implementation by hardware or the combination of hardware and software, and equivalents thereof. As a result, the claim limitation is definite and no 112(b) rejection was or currently is applied.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (b) regarding the 112(b) rejections of claims 2, 3, 4, 8-8, and 22-25, Examiner is persuaded and has withdrawn the prior 112(b) rejections in view of the current amendments to the claims.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (c) regarding the 101 rejection of claims 10-19, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant argues that the claims are integrated into a practical application though a specific improvement to computer technology by producing deployable machine-executable protocol code from graphically selected condition objects and parameters. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits the claims still recites an abstract idea and the additional elements of the claims are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to merely using generic computer components for performing the steps of the abstract idea. For example, the additional elements of “selecting a protocol condition object from a graphical user interface… ,” “displaying the selected protocol condition object in a protocol sequence window of the graphical user interface,” “displaying a specific parameter window related to the corresponding parameter requirement for the selected object,” and “a graphical compiler,” recite genetic computer components used as a tool to perform the steps of the abstract idea at a high level (i.e., a graphical user interface it may be provided on, among other things, a touch-screen display (e.g. a hospital monitor, mobile device, smartphone, etc.) and a graphical compiler as they relates to a general purpose computer components (Application Specification [0132]-[0133], [0153])). As such, the limitations amount to no more than mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or other machinery, or merely uses a computer or other machinery as a tool under its ordinary capacity to perform an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2). Compiling a clinical protocol into executable code, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, an abstract idea step as a rule or instruction for managing personal behavior or interactions between people, and the claim merely recites a graphical compiler as a tool to perform this step of the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f)(2).
Accordingly, the 101 rejection of claims 10-19 is maintained.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (d) regarding the 102 rejection of claims 10-19, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 USC 103, as discussed further below.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (e) regarding the 103 rejection of claims 1-25 Applicant argues that the cited prior art fails to teach each limitation of the independent claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, with respect to independent claim 10, Examiner respectfully submits that Buchanan et al. in view of Potter et al. teach each limitation of the claim in obvious combination. Applicant argues that Buchanan teaches runtime charting and decision support passages, not protocol-authoring disclosure. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Buchanan et al. teaches the limitations when viewed under broadest reasonable interpretation. Buchanan et al. teaches a graphical user interface that may be used with the invention rule building process. See Buchanan et al. at Pg. 28, Lines 8-10; Pg. 29, lines 27-28; Pg. 30, lines 7-11). The disclosure of Buchanan et al. teaches this through protocol conditions set as satisfying particular parameter requirements. See Buchanan et al., Fig 13B. This reads on the claim elements of a selected protocol condition object associated with a corresponding parameter requirement, followed by displaying a specific parameter window. Applicant argues in light of the examples of the specification as narrowly limiting the claim limitations, however, under broadest reasonable interpretation, Examiner respectfully submits that Buchanan et al. teaches the limitations of independent claim 10.
Applicant argues that the combination of Buchanan et al. and Barkol does not provide motivation to combine. With respect to independent claim 1, Barkol is relied upon for teaching the list of notification conditions by selecting from a list of specific notification types under which a user of the clinical decision support application will be notified and associating each notification type with a plurality of user roles, Examiner respectfully submits that one of ordinary skill in the art to integrate the notification settings of Barkol et al. because a purpose of Buchanan et al.’s protocol building function to provide alerts when critical conditions exits. Barkol et al. notes this same technical field and technical problem of providing settings for notification based on healthcare role, notification type, and notification importance level because ensuring a rapid response should a patient's condition deteriorate, near-continuous monitoring of the output from the multiple monitoring devices may be necessary (Barkol et al., [0002]). Applicant argues that Barkol et al. teaches the notification preferences at run-time and therefore does not teach the limitations of the claim. However, Examiner respectfully submits that this interpretation of the claim limitations is narrow and that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims do not limit the method in such a way. As a result, not only would it have been obvious to combine Barkol et al. with Buchanan et al., but they teach each limitation of the claim in obvious combination as applied in the above Office Action.
Second, Applicant argues Buchanan et al. fails to teach generating executable code as a function of the conditions. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Buchanan et al. discloses that the preferred protocol building tool allows a user to interactively add rules to the knowledge database without requiring a software engineer to write, debug, and integrate new code into a new system. See Buchanan et al., Pg. 14, Lines 18-20.
Third, Applicant argues that Buchanan et al. fails to teach the compliance-condition objects, however, Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Buchanan et al. discloses the user selecting compliance-condition objection through then choosing if a new problem rule is being built or if an existing problem rule is being modified, the user may build the rule in any order by sequentially selecting one of each of the following components: available indicators (STEP 131 0); an associated urgency and likelihood (STEP 10 1312); an operator (e.g., a Boolean operator or proximity operator) (STEP 1314); and a value (STEP 1316); and further FIG. 13C is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used with the intervention rule building process i.e. rules arranged in order of likelihood status. See Buchanan et al., Pg. 28, Lines 8-10; Pg. 29, lines 27-28; Pg. 30, lines 7-11.
Next, Applicant argues that Buchanan et al. fails to teach arranging the patient-related parameters by an order in which to display them in an active graphical user interface. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Buchanan et al. discloses this in FIG. 13C, which is a depiction of a graphical user interface that may be used with the intervention rule building process i.e. rules arranged in order of likelihood status. The claim limitation, under broadest reasonable interpretation, amounts to arranging the parameters in an order displayed on a graphical user interface; Buchanan et al. does this in Fig. 13C.
Regarding claims 20-24, Applicant argues that Buchanan et al. fails to teach the conditions library containing graphically selectable eligibility objections and graphically selectable compliance objects. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Buchanan et al. discloses the Determine Problems submodule 812 accesses the knowledge base and engages an inference engine in the rule server 402 to display a set of possible problems based on the entered data for the patient and further discloses the user interface selectability features for data types and rules building thereof. See Buchanan et al., Pg. 9, lines 7-12; Pg. 18, Lines 1-7; pg. 19, lines 1-24; Pg. 24, lines 16-18.
Applicant argues that Potter et al. fails to disclose the graphic compiler generating a user interface, Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the graphic compiler and user interface thereof of Potter et al. are particularly dedicated to a medical device, the problem and purpose of implementing the graphic compiler is the same as the instant applicant and as well as the purpose and problem of Buchanan et al., i.e. protocol building for healthcare. Potter et al. states “Such therapy programs or sequences may be composed or defined at the external computing unit. Such composition may be accomplished through the use of a text-based therapeutic wellness device commanding language similar to a programming language. The language may be simple enough for users who are not professional programmers to compose their own therapy programs or sequences. Such composition may alternatively be or additionally be composed using a graphical compiler in which models, maps, or graphical depictions of the therapeutic wellness device may be manipulated to assemble the desired therapy program or sequence.” See Potter et al. at [0071]. (emphasis added for clarity). As a result, Potter et al. fills the gaps of Buchanan et al. and would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the graphic compiler of Potter et al. within the system of Buchanan et al.
Accordingly, Examiner maintains the 103 rejections of claims 1-25 as applied in the above Office Action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200185092 A1 teaches real-time data derived from a plurality of data sources for supporting user-definable rules and providing user notifications for providing user notifications and smart alarms (Abstract);
US 20180181720 A1 teaches methods and systems for assigning clinical goals, care plans, and/or care pathways (Abstract);
US 20170177819 A1 teaches a real-time medical communication system for sending notifications of medical alerts (Abstract); and
US 20090132580 A1 teaches utilizing a user interface to design a workflow for a clinical protocol ([0028], [0033]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 3682
/FONYA M LONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3682