DETAILED ACTION
In the amendment filed April 21, 2026, claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10-17 have been amended, claims 18-20 have been canceled, claims 1 - 17 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim objections applicant’s arguments, see page 10 paragraph 4, filed April 21, 2026, with respect to claims 1-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of claims 1-17 have been withdrawn.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 applicant’s arguments, see page 11 paragraphs 5 - page 15, filed April 21, 2026, with respect to claims 1-5, 7-8 and 10-17 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-8 and 10-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Hence a new ground of rejection is further made in view of Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1. 2, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekka et al. (WO2020/249183A1), and further in view of Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163).
As per claim 1, Pekka disclose A computing session update (see Fig.2, page 12, line 12-23, page 13 line 21, a session update method, see also page 15 lines 9-8) method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first function, a first message, wherein the first function comprises at least one of a session management function SMF or a computing power management function (see page 13, lines 6-9; step 222, figure 2, at step 222, AMF 205 sends a first PDU session update request for the first PDU session to SMF 211a, the first PDU session update request comprises a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Request / a first message received/obtained/obtaining by SMF), and the first message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource for a computing session (see page 13, lines 10-14; step 222a, figure 2, SMF 211 a selects a new UPF(s) for the first PDU session during this session modification, to update the communication resource, and selecting a User Plane Function (UPF) close to a UE, bringing computer data storage closer to the location where it is needed, computer data storage is brought closer to a UE, functionality provided near a UE at a network edge responds more quickly to changes in the state of the UE, page 11, lines 6-14); and
updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message (see page 13, lines 10-14; step
222a, figure 2, at step 222a, SMF 211 a performs session modification/updating and UPF tunnel management for the first PDU session).
Although Pekka disclose updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message.
Pekka however does not explicitly disclose wherein the computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node, and the computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user.
Gundavelli however disclose wherein a computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node (see para, 0066, FIGS. 2A and 2B, a particular UE (e.g., UE 102.1 or UE 102.2 initiates a QoS flow procedure for a certain application or for a 5QI value and mechanisms can be triggered by one or more mobile core network element(s), such as AMF 112 and SMF 114 / a computing power management function, also per para. 0067, FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C, UPF 116 in the mobile core network 110 triggers the CU 134 of vRAN 120 to switch a particular UE 102 (e.g., UE 102.1 or UE 102.2) to a specific operating mode based the UPF 116 detecting certain application traffic or QoS flows with a certain 5QI value) / controlling a computing and storage resource node), and a computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user (see para. 0010-0011, 0016, 0024, 0080-0082, At 211a and 211b, consider that UE 102.1 initiates a new QoS flow creation procedure for a traffic flow associated with a particular application that is associated with any combination of QoS parameters, such as Uplink (UL)/Downlink (DL) Guaranteed Flow Bit Rate (GFBR-UL/DL), UL/DL Maximum Flow Bit Rate (MFBR-UL/DL), Allocation and Retention Priority (ARP), etc., as generally specified in 3GPP TS 24.501, Section 6.4.2. If the UE 102.1 is requesting a new QoS traffic flow, it can sends an N1-PDU Session Modification message including the bit indicating a new QoS Flow Identifier (QFI) is to be assigned to the new traffic flow along with any combination of QoS parameters for the new traffic (e.g., MBR values, ARP, UL/DL information, etc.) contained within the QoS flow descriptions Information Element (IE) (as specified in 3GPP TS 24.501 Section 9.11.4.12) to AMF 112. If the UE 102.1 is requesting modification of an existing QoS traffic flow, then the UE can set the QFI values to indicate ‘no QoS flow identifier assigned’ in the requested QoS flow descriptions IE if the QoS flow descriptions are newly created. Also, upon obtaining the session modification message / a computing session, the AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM) context for the UE by communicating an ‘NsmfPDU Session UpdateSMContext’ message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212 / a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user, see also para. 0074, policy server 106 for mapping UE operating modes and beam resources to QoS types/levels that can be identified using 5QI values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose wherein the computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node, and the computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user, as taught by Gundavelli, in the system of Pekka, so as to enable UEs, from one operating mode to another operating mode, such as between a shared cell operating mode and a unique cell operating mode based on one or more triggers from one or more network elements of a mobile core network for various UE application traffic. For a first technique, a UE can trigger a Quality of Service (QoS) flow procedure for a certain application or for a Fifth Generation (5G) QoS Identifier (5QI) value and mechanisms can be triggered by one or more mobile core network element(s) toward a 5G/New Radio (NR)-Radio Access Network (RAN) for performing operating mode selection in order to switch the UE to a particular operating mode, see Gundavelli, paragraphs 10-11.
As per claim 2, the combination of Pekka and Gundavelli disclose the method according to claim 1.
Pekka further disclose wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a terminal identifier; a protocol data unit (PDU) session identifier; a computing session identifier; an updated computing power management policy; or an updated communication management policy; wherein the computing power resource comprises at least one of the following: a computing resource or a storage resource (see page 13, lines 10-14; step 222a, figure 2, SMF 211 a selects a new UPF(s) for the first PDU session during this session modification, update a communication resource, and selecting a User Plane Function (UPF) close to a UE, bringing computer data storage closer to the location where it is needed, computer data storage is brought closer to a UE, functionality provided near a UE at a network edge responds more quickly to changes in the state of the UE, page 11, lines 6-14).
As per claim 7, the combination of Pekka and Gundavelli disclose the method according to claim 1.
Pekka further disclose wherein after the updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first function to a policy control function (PCF), a third message used for responding to the first message (see para. 0459, 0460, 0468, 0469, in Step 0, an event may occur. A notification of the event may be sent to the PCF so that the PCF can determine if NCP Policies need to be updated, where either, the PCF has to contact NCMF to get a new set of NCP(s) for the S-NSSAIs or NCMF may send new NCP information for S-NSSAI to the PCF. PCF populates enhanced UE policy, which includes NCPP and in Step 2, the PCF invokes the AMF's Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer service operation. The message includes SUPI, UE Policy Container).
As per claim 15, Pekka disclose A computing session update (see Fig.2, page 12, line 12-23, page 13 line 21, a session update method, see also page 15 lines 9-8) method, comprising:
obtaining, by an access and mobility management function AMF, a notification message transmitted by a first function (page 13, line 30 - page 14, line 2; step 225, figure 2, at step 225, AMF 205 receives a response to the request sent at 222, /receiving/obtaining a notification message. The response is received from SMF 211 a. The response comprise information regarding the first PDU session),
wherein the first function comprises at least one of a session management function SMF or a computing power management function, and the notification message is triggered after the first function updates at least one of a computing power resource or a communication resource for a computing session based on a first message (page 13, line 30 - page 14, line 2; step 225, figure 2, the response comprise a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response message for the first PDU session. The response sent at 225 is received before the response sent at 227 because, for example, SMF 211 a is located at a network edge while SMF 211 b may be located at a central site (non-edge) site of a network).
Pekka however does not explicitly disclose wherein the computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node, and the computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user.
Gundavelli however disclose wherein a computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node (see para, 0066, FIGS. 2A and 2B, a particular UE (e.g., UE 102.1 or UE 102.2 initiates a QoS flow procedure for a certain application or for a 5QI value and mechanisms can be triggered by one or more mobile core network element(s), such as AMF 112 and SMF 114 / a computing power management function, also per para. 0067, FIGS. 3A, 3B, and 3C, UPF 116 in the mobile core network 110 triggers the CU 134 of vRAN 120 to switch a particular UE 102 (e.g., UE 102.1 or UE 102.2) to a specific operating mode based the UPF 116 detecting certain application traffic or QoS flows with a certain 5QI value) / controlling a computing and storage resource node), and a computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user (see para. 0010-0011, 0016, 0024, 0080-0082, At 211a and 211b, consider that UE 102.1 initiates a new QoS flow creation procedure for a traffic flow associated with a particular application that is associated with any combination of QoS parameters, such as Uplink (UL)/Downlink (DL) Guaranteed Flow Bit Rate (GFBR-UL/DL), UL/DL Maximum Flow Bit Rate (MFBR-UL/DL), Allocation and Retention Priority (ARP), etc., as generally specified in 3GPP TS 24.501, Section 6.4.2. If the UE 102.1 is requesting a new QoS traffic flow, it can sends an N1-PDU Session Modification message including the bit indicating a new QoS Flow Identifier (QFI) is to be assigned to the new traffic flow along with any combination of QoS parameters for the new traffic (e.g., MBR values, ARP, UL/DL information, etc.) contained within the QoS flow descriptions Information Element (IE) (as specified in 3GPP TS 24.501 Section 9.11.4.12) to AMF 112. If the UE 102.1 is requesting modification of an existing QoS traffic flow, then the UE can set the QFI values to indicate ‘no QoS flow identifier assigned’ in the requested QoS flow descriptions IE if the QoS flow descriptions are newly created. Also, upon obtaining the session modification message / a computing session, the AMF 112 determines/assigns a 5QI value for the flow based on the QoS parameters and proceeds to update the session management (SM) context for the UE by communicating an ‘NsmfPDU Session UpdateSMContext’ message to SMF 114 including the 5QI value at 212 / a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user, see also para. 0074, policy server 106 for mapping UE operating modes and beam resources to QoS types/levels that can be identified using 5QI values).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose wherein the computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node, and the computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user, as taught by Gundavelli, in the system of Pekka, so as to enable UEs, from one operating mode to another operating mode, such as between a shared cell operating mode and a unique cell operating mode based on one or more triggers from one or more network elements of a mobile core network for various UE application traffic. For a first technique, a UE can trigger a Quality of Service (QoS) flow procedure for a certain application or for a Fifth Generation (5G) QoS Identifier (5QI) value and mechanisms can be triggered by one or more mobile core network element(s) toward a 5G/New Radio (NR)-Radio Access Network (RAN) for performing operating mode selection in order to switch the UE to a particular operating mode, see Gundavelli, paragraphs 10-11.
Claims 3-5, 8, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekka et al. (WO2020/249183A1), in view of Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163) and further in view of Li et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0159605).
As per claim 3, the combination of Pekka and Gundavelli disclose the method according to claim 1.
The combination of Pekka and Gundavelli however does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining, by a first function, a first message comprises: obtaining, by the first function, a first message transmitted by a policy control function PCF; wherein the updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message comprises: obtaining, by the first function, at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy based on the first message; determining, by the first function, updated communication QoS information according to the obtained updated communication management policy, and updating allocation of the communication resource for the computing session based on the determined updated communication QoS information in a case that the first function comprises the SMF and has obtained the updated communication management policy; and determining, by the first function, updated computing power QoS information according to the obtained updated computing power management policy, and updating allocation of the computing power resource for the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function and has obtained the updated computing power management policy.
Li however disclose wherein the obtaining, by a first function, a first message comprises: obtaining, by the first function, a first message transmitted by a policy control function PCF (see Fig.1F, PCF 184, para. 0003, 0149-0152, , 0459-0462, in Step 0, an event occurs and a notification of the event is sent to the PCF so that the PCF determines if NCP Policies need to be updated, also the PCF receives a notification from an AMF that a UE has changed location (e.g. UE policies may be restricted to a geographic region and hence, new policies need to be updated, the PCF receives a notification that there has been a change of Subscribed 5-NSSAI for a UE or a group of UEs (e.g. network administrator may update UE subscription with a new S-NSSAI), the PCF receives a notification that a UE has moved from EPS to 5GS, obtaining, by “a policy control function” PCF, a second message, wherein the second message is used for requesting to update, see 0472, 0513-0520, see also para. 0528-0557); wherein the updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message comprises: obtaining, by the first function, at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy based on the first message; determining, by the first function, updated communication QoS information according to the obtained updated communication management policy, and updating allocation of the communication resource for the computing session based on the determined updated communication QoS information in a case that the first function comprises the SMF and has obtained the updated communication management policy; and determining, by the first function, updated computing power QoS information according to the obtained updated computing power management policy, and updating allocation of the computing power resource for the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function and has obtained the updated computing power management policy (see para. 0140, 0362, In step 5, the AMF then queries the NCMF to obtain the information about which network slice(s) can support the requested network capability(ies) and network capability usage requirements of the UE, such as the required network capability availability schedule, required network capability QoS level. The AMF may include the requested network capability information in the message. Alternatively, the AMF may query the NCMF to check if the S-NSSAI's in the Requested NSSAI can provide the capabilities that were indicated in the Network Capability Profiles of step 1, see also para. 0541-0552).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose wherein the obtaining, by a first function, a first message comprises: obtaining, by the first function, a first message transmitted by a policy control function PCF; wherein the updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message comprises: obtaining, by the first function, at least one of an updated computing power management policy or an updated communication management policy based on the first message; determining, by the first function, updated communication QoS information according to the obtained updated communication management policy, and updating allocation of the communication resource for the computing session based on the determined updated communication QoS information in a case that the first function comprises the SMF and has obtained the updated communication management policy; and determining, by the first function, updated computing power QoS information according to the obtained updated computing power management policy, and updating allocation of the computing power resource for the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function and has obtained the updated computing power management policy, as taught by Li, in the system of Pekka and Gundavelli, so as to enable a network capability based UE configuration update, which allows NFs or Application Servers to initiate updating the network capabilities in the network slice for the UE, see Li, paragraphs 9-14.
As per claim 4, the combination of Pekka, Gundavelli and LI disclose the method according to claim 3.
Li further disclose wherein the updating allocation of the communication resource for the computing session based on the determined updated communication QoS information comprises: transmitting, by the first function, an updated N4 interface rule to a user plane function UPF, to enable the UPF to update the communication resource for the computing session according to the updated N4 interface rule, wherein the updated N4 interface rule is obtained based on the updated communication QoS information (see Fig. 1F, para. 0149-0150, the SMF 174 is connected to a PCF 184 via an N7 interface, and connected to the UPF 176 via an N4 interface, and the SMF 174 manage and configure traffic steering rules in the UPF 176 via the N4 interface. The UPF 176 is responsible for interconnecting a packet data unit (PDU) session with a data network, packet routing and forwarding, policy rule enforcement, quality of service handling for user plane traffic, and downlink packet buffering).
As per claim 5, the combination of Pekka, Gundavelli and LI disclose the method according to claim 3.
Pekka further disclose wherein the updating allocation of the computing power resource for the computing session based on the determined updated computing power QoS information comprises: transmitting, by the first function, the updated computing power QoS information to a computing and storage resource node, to enable the computing and storage resource node to update the computing power resource for the computing session based on the updated computing power QoS information (see page 13, lines 10-14; step 222a, figure 2, SMF 211 a selects a new UPF(s) for the first PDU session during this session modification, update a communication resource, and selecting a User Plane Function (UPF) close to a UE, bringing computer data storage closer to the location where it is needed, computer data storage is brought closer to a UE, functionality provided near a UE at a network edge responds more quickly to changes in the state of the UE, page 11, lines 6-14).
As per claim 8, the combination of Pekka and Gundavelli disclose the method according to claim 1.
The combination of Pekka and Gundavelli disclose however does not explicitly disclose wherein after the updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first function, a further message to a terminal through an access and mobility management function AMF, wherein the further message is used to indicate at least one of an updated computing power resource or an updated communication resource that are allocated by the first function; wherein the transmitting, by the first function, a further message to a terminal through an AMF comprises any one of the following: in a case that the first function comprises the SMF, transmitting, by the first function, a first notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the fourth message to the terminal based on the first notification message; in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function, transmitting, by the first function, a second notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the further message to the terminal based on the second notification message; in a case that the first function comprises the SMF, receiving, by the SMF, a computing power resource allocation status of the computing power management function from the computing power management function side, and transmitting a third notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the fourth message to the terminal based on the third notification message; and in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function, receiving, by the computing power management function, a communication resource allocation status of the SMF from the SMF side, and transmitting a fourth notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the further message to the terminal based on the fourth notification message.
Li however disclose wherein after the updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first function, a further message to a terminal through an access and mobility management function AMF, wherein the further message is used to indicate at least one of an updated computing power resource or an updated communication resource that are allocated by the first function; wherein the transmitting, by the first function, a further message to a terminal through an AMF comprises any one of the following: in a case that the first function comprises the SMF, transmitting, by the first function, a first notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the fourth message to the terminal based on the first notification message; in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function, transmitting, by the first function, a second notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the further message to the terminal based on the second notification message; in a case that the first function comprises the SMF, receiving, by the SMF, a computing power resource allocation status of the computing power management function from the computing power management function side, and transmitting a third notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the fourth message to the terminal based on the third notification message; and in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function, receiving, by the computing power management function, a communication resource allocation status of the SMF from the SMF side, and transmitting a fourth notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the further message to the terminal based on the fourth notification message (see para. 0152, the PCF 184 is connected to the SMF 174 via an N7 interface, connected to the AMF 172 via an N15 interface, and connected to an application function (AF) 188 via an N5 interface. The PCF 184 provides policy rules to control plane nodes such as the AMF 172 and SMF 174, allowing the control plane nodes to enforce these rules, see also para. 0165, the single N1 termination point is located in AMF. The AMF forwards SM related NAS information to the SMF. AMF handles the Registration Management and Connection Management part of NAS signaling exchanged with the UE. SMF handles the Session management part of NAS signaling exchanged with the UE, see also para. 0362-0374, 0413, 0414, in step 12, the serving AMF may update the UE context and serving network slice information for case “b”, or may initiate the procedure to relocate the AMF for case “a” and in step 13, the serving AMF may reply to the UE with a registration update response to indicate the serving network slice information if the serving AMF is not changed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of disclose wherein after the updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first function, a further message to a terminal through an access and mobility management function AMF, wherein the further message is used to indicate at least one of an updated computing power resource or an updated communication resource that are allocated by the first function; wherein the transmitting, by the first function, a further message to a terminal through an AMF comprises any one of the following: in a case that the first function comprises the SMF, transmitting, by the first function, a first notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the fourth message to the terminal based on the first notification message; in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function, transmitting, by the first function, a second notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the further message to the terminal based on the second notification message; in a case that the first function comprises the SMF, receiving, by the SMF, a computing power resource allocation status of the computing power management function from the computing power management function side, and transmitting a third notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the fourth message to the terminal based on the third notification message; and in a case that the first function comprises the computing power management function, receiving, by the computing power management function, a communication resource allocation status of the SMF from the SMF side, and transmitting a fourth notification message to the AMF, so that the AMF transmits the further message to the terminal based on the fourth notification message, as taught by Li, in the system of Pekka and Gundavelli, so as to enable a network capability based UE configuration update, which allows NFs or Application Servers to initiate updating the network capabilities in the network slice for the UE, see Li, paragraphs 9-14.
As per claim 16, the combination of Pekka and Gundavelli disclose the method according to claim 15.
The combination of Pekka and Gundavelli disclose however does not explicitly disclose wherein after the obtaining, by an AMF, a notification message transmitted by a first function, the method further comprises at least one of the following: transmitting, by the AMF, a fourth message to a terminal based on the notification message, wherein the fourth message is used to indicate at least one of a computing power resource or a communication resource that are updated by the first function for the computing session; or transmitting, by the AMF, a sixth message to a base station-side device based on the notification message, wherein the sixth message is used to indicate the communication resource updated by the first function for the computing session.
Li however disclose wherein after the obtaining, by an AMF, a notification message transmitted by a first function, the method further comprises at least one of the following: transmitting, by the AMF, a fourth message to a terminal based on the notification message, wherein the fourth message is used to indicate at least one of a computing power resource or a communication resource that are updated by the first function for the computing session; or transmitting, by the AMF, a sixth message to a base station-side device based on the notification message, wherein the sixth message is used to indicate the communication resource updated by the first function for the computing session (see para. 0459-0472, 0513-0521, In Step 3, the UE is registered and reachable by AMF in either 3GPP access or non-3GPP access, AMF shall transfer transparently, the UE Policy container (which includes NCPP) to the UE via one of the registered and reachable accesses based on the AMF local policy).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein after the obtaining, by an AMF, a notification message transmitted by a first function, the method further comprises at least one of the following: transmitting, by the AMF, a fourth message to a terminal based on the notification message, wherein the fourth message is used to indicate at least one of a computing power resource or a communication resource that are updated by the first function for the computing session; or transmitting, by the AMF, a sixth message to a base station-side device based on the notification message, wherein the sixth message is used to indicate the communication resource updated by the first function for the computing session, as taught by Li, in the system of Pekka and Gundavelli, so as to enable a network capability based UE configuration update, which allows NFs or Application Servers to initiate updating the network capabilities in the network slice for the UE, see Li, paragraphs 9-14.
As per claim 17, the combination of Pekka, Gundavelli and Li disclose the method according to claim 16.
Li further disclose wherein after the transmitting, by the AMF, a fourth message to a terminal based on the notification message, the method further comprises: receiving, by the AMF, a seventh message that is transmitted by the terminal and that is used for responding to the fourth message; and transmitting, by the AMF, a fifth message to the first function based on the seventh message, wherein the fifth message is used for responding to the notification message; wherein the fourth message comprises at least one of the following: a PDU session identifier, a computing session identifier, communication resource update information, a communication QoS rule, computing power resource update information, or a computing power QoS rule; wherein the computing power resource update information comprises at least one of the following: a computing resource internet protocol IP address, a storage resource IP address, a computing resource size, or a storage resource size (see para. 0459-0472, 0480-0488, in Step 2, upon receiving the PDU Session Establishment request from the UE, the AMF or SMF sends a request to the NCMF to check if a new PDU Session may be established in the slice. The request includes the S-NSSAI, and in Step 3, the PDU Session Establishment procedure is executed and the PDU Sessions Establishment Response is sent to the UE, see also 0513-0521).
Claims 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pekka et al. (WO2020/249183A1), in in view of Li et al. (US Pub. No.: 2022/0159605) and further in view of Gundavelli et al. US (2022/0369163).
As per claim 10, Pekka disclose A computing session update (see Fig.2, page 12, line 12-23, page 13 line 21, a session update method, see also page 15 lines 9-8) method, comprising:
obtaining, by a control function PCF, a second message, wherein the second message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication management policy or a computing power management policy (page 13, lines 10-14; step 222a, figure 2, SMF 211 receive an update request/a second message, and a selects a new UPF(s) for the first PDU session during this session modification);
determining, by the PCF, at least one of an updated communication management policy or an updated computing power management policy based on the second message (page 13, lines 10-14; step 222a, figure 2, at step 222a, SMF 211 a performs session modification and UPF tunnel management for the first PDU session); and
transmitting, by the PCF, a first message to a first function according to at least one of the updated communication management policy or the updated computing power management policy (page 13, line 30 - page 14, line 2; step 225, figure 2, the response comprise a Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext Response message for the first PDU session. The response sent at 225 is received before {a first message} the response sent at 227 because, for example, SMF 211 is located at a network edge while SMF 211 b is located at a central site (non-edge) site of a network),
wherein the first function comprises at least one of a session management function SMF or a computing power management function, and the first message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource for a computing session (page 13, line 30 - page 14, line 2; step 225, figure 2, requesting to update /updating and UPF tunnel management for the first PDU session).
Although Pekka disclose obtaining, by a control function PCF, a second message, wherein the second message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication management policy or a computing power management policy;
Pekka however does not explicitly disclose obtaining, by “a policy control function” PCF, a second message, wherein the second message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication management policy or a computing power management policy;
Li however disclose obtaining, by “a policy control function” PCF, a second message, wherein the second message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication management policy or a computing power management policy (see Fig.1F, PCF 184, para. 0003, 0149-0152, the SMF 174 is connected to the AMF 172 via an N11 interface and the SMF 174 is connected to a PCF 184 via an N7 interface, 0459-0462, in Step 0, an event occurs and a notification of the event is sent to the PCF so that the PCF determines if NCP Policies need to be updated, also the PCF receives a notification from an AMF that a UE has changed location (e.g. UE policies may be restricted to a geographic region and hence, new policies need to be updated, the PCF receives a notification that there has been a change of Subscribed 5-NSSAI for a UE or a group of UEs (e.g. network administrator may update UE subscription with a new S-NSSAI), the PCF receives a notification that a UE has moved from EPS to 5GS, obtaining, by “a policy control function” PCF, a second message, wherein the second message is used for requesting to update, see 0472, 0513-0520, see also para. 0528-0557).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of obtaining, by “a policy control function” PCF, a second message, wherein the second message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication management policy or a computing power management policy, as taught by Li, in the system of Pekka, so as to enable a network capability based UE configuration update, which allows NFs or Application Servers to initiate updating the network capabilities in the network slice for the UE, see Li, paragraphs 9-14.
As per claim 11, the combination of Pekka and LI disclose the method according to claim 10.
Li further disclose wherein the obtaining, by a PCF, a second message comprises any one of the following: obtaining, by the PCF, a second message transmitted by an application function AF; obtaining, by the PCF, a second message transmitted by the SMF in a case that a communication resource of the SMF does not meet a preset communication resource; and obtaining, by the PCF, a second message transmitted by the computing power management function in a case that a computing power resource of the computing power management function does not meet a preset computing power resource (see para. 0462-0467, the PCF receives a notification from an AMF that a UE has changed location (e.g. UE policies may be restricted to a geographic region and hence, new policies may need to be updated, the PCF receives a notification that there has been a change of Subscribed 5-NSSAI for a UE or a group of UEs (e.g. network administrator may update UE subscription with a new S-NSSAI), the PCF receives a notification that a UE has moved from EPS to 5GS. UE will receive new set of UE policies for 5GS, a UE sends a Policy Update request to the PCF (via NAS), the A UE's request for a UE policy update may be in response to downloading, starting, and/or installing an application that requires a new network capability, the PCF receives a notification form the OAM or form the NRF that Network Functions that are associated with the slice are reconfigured (e.g. new NF's are instantiated or removed, existing NF's are scaled up or down), the NCMF sends updated NCP information for an S-NSSAI to the PCF).
As per claim 12, the combination of Pekka and LI disclose the method according to claim 11.
Li further disclose wherein in a case that the PCF obtains the second message transmitted by the SMF or in a case that the PCF obtains the second message transmitted by the computing power management function, the second message comprises at least one of the following: a policy update request indication; a communication QoS status notification; or a computing power QoS status notification (see para. 0468, 0469, in Step 1, the PCF checks the latest list of PSIs to decide which UE access selection and/or PDU Session selection related policies have to be sent to the UE. Either, the PCF has to contact NCMF to get a new set of NCP(s) for the S-NSSAIs or NCMF may send new NCP information for S-NSSAI to the PCF. PCF populates enhanced UE policy, which includes NCPP).
As per claim 13, the combination of Pekka and LI disclose the method according to claim 10.
Li further disclose wherein before the transmitting, by the PCF, a first message to a first function according to at least one of the updated communication management policy or the updated computing power management policy, the method further comprises: determining, by the PCF based on the second message, the first function corresponding to the computing session; wherein after the transmitting, by the PCF, a first message to a first function according to at least one of the updated communication management policy or the updated computing power management policy, the method further comprises: receiving, by the PCF, a third message that is transmitted by the first function and that is used for responding to the first message (see para. 0460-0471, in Step 1, the PCF checks the latest list of PSIs to decide which UE access selection and/or PDU Session selection related policies have to be sent to the UE. Either, the PCF has to contact NCMF to get a new set of NCP(s) for the S-NSSAIs or NCMF may send new NCP information for S-NSSAI to the PCF. PCF populates enhanced UE policy, which includes NCPP, in Step 2, the PCF invokes the AMF's Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer service operation. The message includes SUPI, UE Policy Container. The UE Policy Container includes NCPP for the UE).
As per claim 14, the combination of Pekka and LI disclose the method according to claim 10.
Li further disclose wherein the second message comprises at least one of the following: a terminal identifier; a computing service identifier; a protocol data unit PDU session identifier; a computing session identifier; a computing service requirement; a computing service quality of experience QoE requirement; a data network name DNN; or single network slice selection assistance information S-NSSAI; wherein the computing service requirement comprises at least one of the following: delay information of the computing service, an accuracy rate of the computing service, a computing volume of the computing service, a storage requirement, a type of the computing service, or an IP address of the computing service; wherein the computing power resource comprises at least one of the following: a computing resource or a storage resource; wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a terminal identifier; a protocol data unit PDU session identifier; a computing session identifier; an updated computing power management policy; or an updated communication management policy (see para. 0460-0467, 0469-0472, the PCF receives a notification that there has been a change of Subscribed S-NSSAI for a UE or a group of UEs (e.g. network administrator updates UE subscription with a new S-NSSAI), the policy is considered when evaluating all routes that include the S-NSSAI from the NCP policy).
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Second Rejection in view of IDS submitted 4/24/2026:
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Procedures for the 5G System; Stage 2 (Release 15)", 3GPP DRAFT 23502, 2019-03-27).
As per claim 1, 3GPP disclose A computing session update method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first function, a first message, wherein the first function comprises at least one of a session management function SMF or a computing power management function, and the first message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource for a computing session (see (Fig. 4.3.3.1-1; section4.3.3.2, see step 1a, wherein PDU Session Modification Request is sent from UE to SMF via AMF; the computing is disclosed implicitly since every such session involves computing performed either by the terminal or by the network); and
updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message (see (Fig. 4.3.3.1-1; section 4.3.3.2, see step 1a; section 4.3.3.1; the resources are updated implicitly when QoS parameters are modified, since the terminal/SMF need to adjust their resources to the modified QoS parameters, see also step 1d);
wherein the computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node, and the computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user ((Fig. 4.3.3.1-1; section 4.3.3.2, see step 1a; section 4.3.3.1; the resources are updated when QoS parameters are modified, since the terminal/SMF need to adjust their communication/computing power resources to the modified QoS parameters, see also step 1d).
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
Third Rejection in view of IDS submitted 4/24/2026:
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huawei et al. (HUAWEI ET AL: "PDU session management procedure", 3GPP DRAFT; S2-170977 POU SESSION MANAGEMENT PROCEDURE V1 .0, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), 2017-02-13).
As per claim 1, Huawei disclose A computing session update method, comprising:
obtaining, by a first function, a first message, wherein the first function comprises at least one of a session management function SMF or a computing power management function (see), and the first message is used for requesting to update at least one of a communication resource or a computing power resource for a computing session; and updating, by the first function, at least one of the computing power resource or the communication resource for the computing session based on the first message (see Fig. 4.3.3.1.1; section 4.3.3.1.1, steps 1-1, 1-4, 3, 4);
wherein the computing power management function is a network element for managing and controlling a computing and storage resource node, and the computing session is a session that comprises both a communication resource and a computing power resource and that is established to meet a computing service requirement of a user (see Fig. 4.3.3.1.1; section 4.3.3.1.1, steps 1-1, 1-4, 3, 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al (US Pub. No.:2023/0147538) – see para. 0037, “an operating method of a policy control function (PCF) entity for managing policies, according to another embodiment of the present disclosure, includes transmitting, to a user equipment, User Equipment Route Selection Policy (URSP) information including first Data Network Name (DNN) information to a user equipment through an Access and Mobility management Function (AMF), identifying a triggering event to update the URSP, transmitting, based on the identified triggering event, updated URSP information including second DNN information to the user equipment through the AMF, transmitting a Session Management Function (SMF) selection management trigger message to the AMF, when transmitting the updated URSP information including the second DNN information, and receiving a user equipment policy update request message from the AMF when a request from the AMF for at least one of a first DNN corresponding to the first DNN information or a third DNN is detected”.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469