DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 2/24/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-30 are canceled,
Claims 31-50 are new,
Claims 31-50 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-39, 41-46, and 48-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddiqui et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220154992, “Siddiqui”, previously cited) in view of Robinson (U.S. Patent No. 4,182,409, previously cited) and in further view of Bissell et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0318028, “Bissell”, Previously cited).
Regarding claim 31, Siddiqui discloses a thermal retention apparatus (fig 6 embodiment), comprising:
(a) an insulated tank (72, fig 14, ¶0071, ¶0078) containing a volume of phase change material (PCM) (¶0071) and a heat exchanger assembly (150, ¶0071), the heat exchanger assembly comprising:
(i) a plurality of heat exchanger modules (150) each immersed within the volume of PCM, within the tank, each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules defining first (through 50) and second fluid pathways (through 52) through the volume of PCM,
(ii) a first manifold (see annotated fig 6 below) for dividing a flow of a PCM charging fluid from an exterior of the tank via a PCM charging inlet conduit to each of the first fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules, and a second manifold (see annotated fig 6 below) reconsolidating the flow of the PCM charging fluid from the first fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules to the exterior of the tank via a PCM charging outlet conduit such that the PCM charging fluid enters the tank, flows through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in parallel, and then exits the tank (fig 6), and
(iv) wherein the first fluid pathways of each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules, the first manifold, and the second manifold define a PCM charging circuit of the thermal retention apparatus, and the second fluid pathways of each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules define a separate PCM discharging circuit (through 52) of the thermal retention apparatus.
However, Siddiqui does not explicitly disclose (iii) one or more module-interconnecting conduits interconnecting the second fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules such that a PCM discharging fluid flows from the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging inlet conduit, to and through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in series, and then to the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging outlet conduit. Robinson, however, discloses a thermal retention apparatus wherein ) one or more module-interconnecting conduits (4222)) interconnecting second fluid pathways (4151, 4152, 4153) of the plurality of heat exchanger modules such that a PCM discharging fluid flows from the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging inlet conduit, to and through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in series, and then to the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging outlet conduit (fig 4, col 10, line 63-col 12, line 27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui to provide the separate discharging circuit of Robinson in order to allow for simultaneous charging and discharging of the heat exchange modules.
Siddiqui, a modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein an exterior container within which the insulated tank and control components are contained. Bissell, however, discloses a thermal storage apparatus (fig 1) wherein an exterior container (101) in which an insulated tank (103) is contained. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui, as modified, to provide the exterior container of Bissell in order to provide protection to the insulation of the insulated tank. This would result in the control components being contained within.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the PCM discharging fluid further flows from an exterior of the thermal retention apparatus via the PCM discharging inlet conduit and to the exterior of the thermal retention apparatus via the PCM discharging outlet conduit (fig 4, Robinson); and wherein the PCM charging fluid further flows from an exterior of the thermal retention apparatus via the PCM charging inlet conduit and to the exterior of the thermal retention apparatus via the PCM charging outlet conduit (fig 4, Robinson).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the PCM discharging fluid further flows from an exterior of the thermal retention apparatus via the PCM discharging inlet conduit and to the exterior of the thermal retention apparatus via the PCM discharging outlet conduit (fig 4, Robinson); and wherein the PCM charging fluid further flows to a pump and a heating source located within the exterior container via the PCM charging outlet conduit and then back to the first manifold via the PCM charging inlet conduit (fig 4, Robinson).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the first fluid pathway (of 52) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (via 112 and 114).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the second fluid pathway (4151, 4152, 4153, Robinson) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (fig 4 of Robinson).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui further discloses wherein the heat exchanger modules (150) of the plurality are horizontally arranged next to each other, and the first and second manifolds are vertically arranged above the plurality of heat exchanger modules (see annotated fig 6 below).
Regarding claim 37, Siddiqui discloses a thermal retention apparatus (fig 6 embodiment), comprising:
(a) an insulated tank (72, fig 14, ¶0071, ¶0078) filled with a volume of phase change material (PCM) (¶0071) and a heat exchanger assembly (150, ¶0071), the heat exchanger assembly comprising:
(i) a plurality of heat exchanger modules (150) each immersed within the volume of PCM, within the tank, each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules defining first (through 50) and second fluid pathways (through 52) through the volume of PCM,
(ii) a first manifold (see annotated fig 6 below) for dividing a flow of a PCM charging fluid from an exterior of the tank via a PCM charging inlet conduit to each of the first fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules, and a second manifold (see annotated fig 6 below) reconsolidating the flow of the PCM charging fluid from the first fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules to the exterior of the tank via a PCM charging outlet conduit such that the PCM charging fluid enters the tank, flows through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in parallel, and then exits the tank (fig 6), and
(iv) wherein the first fluid pathways of each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules, the first manifold, and the second manifold define a PCM charging circuit of the thermal retention apparatus, and the second fluid pathways of each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules define a separate PCM discharging circuit (through 52) of the thermal retention apparatus.
However, Siddiqui does not explicitly disclose (iii) one or more module-interconnecting conduits interconnecting the second fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules such that a PCM discharging fluid flows from the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging inlet conduit, to and through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in series, and then to the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging outlet conduit. Robinson, however, discloses a thermal retention apparatus wherein ) one or more module-interconnecting conduits (4222)) interconnecting second fluid pathways (4151, 4152, 4153) of the plurality of heat exchanger modules such that a PCM discharging fluid flows from the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging inlet conduit, to and through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in series, and then to the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging outlet conduit (fig 4, col 10, line 63-col 12, line 27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui to provide the separate discharging circuit of Robinson in order to allow for simultaneous charging and discharging of the heat exchange modules.
Siddiqui, a modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein an exterior container within which the insulated tank and control components are contained. Bissell, however, discloses a thermal storage apparatus (fig 1) wherein an exterior container (101) in which an insulated tank (103) is contained. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui, as modified, to provide the exterior container of Bissell in order to provide protection to the insulation of the insulated tank. This would result in the control components being contained within.
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the first fluid pathway (of 52) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (via 112 and 114).
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the second fluid pathway (4151, 4152, 4153, Robinson) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (fig 4 of Robinson).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the first fluid pathway (of 52) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (via 112 and 114).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the second fluid pathway (4151, 4152, 4153, Robinson) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (fig 4 of Robinson).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui further discloses wherein the heat exchanger modules (50, 52) are horizontally arranged next to each other, and the first and second manifolds are vertically arranged over top of the heat exchanger modules (see fig 6).
Regarding claim 37, Siddiqui discloses a thermal retention apparatus (fig 6 embodiment), comprising:
(a) an insulated tank (72, fig 14, ¶0071, ¶0078) containing a mass of phase change material (PCM) (¶0071) and a heat exchanger assembly (150, ¶0071), the heat exchanger assembly comprising:
(i) a plurality of heat exchanger modules (150) each immersed within the volume of PCM, within the tank, each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules defining first (through 50) and second fluid pathways (through 52) through the volume of PCM,
(ii) a first manifold (see annotated fig 6 below) for dividing a flow of a PCM charging fluid from an exterior of the tank via a PCM charging inlet conduit to each of the first fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules, and a second manifold (see annotated fig 6 below) reconsolidating the flow of the PCM charging fluid from the first fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules to the exterior of the tank via a PCM charging outlet conduit such that the PCM charging fluid enters the tank, flows through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in parallel, and then exits the tank (fig 6), and
(iv) wherein the first fluid pathways of each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules, the first manifold, and the second manifold define a PCM charging circuit of the thermal retention apparatus, and the second fluid pathways of each of the plurality of heat exchanger modules define a separate PCM discharging circuit (through 52) of the thermal retention apparatus.
However, Siddiqui does not explicitly disclose (iii) one or more module-interconnecting conduits interconnecting the second fluid pathways of the plurality of heat exchanger modules such that a PCM discharging fluid flows from the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging inlet conduit, to and through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in series, and then to the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging outlet conduit. Robinson, however, discloses a thermal retention apparatus wherein ) one or more module-interconnecting conduits (4222)) interconnecting second fluid pathways (4151, 4152, 4153) of the plurality of heat exchanger modules such that a PCM discharging fluid flows from the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging inlet conduit, to and through the plurality of heat exchanger modules in series, and then to the exterior of the tank via a PCM discharging outlet conduit (fig 4, col 10, line 63-col 12, line 27). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui to provide the separate discharging circuit of Robinson in order to allow for simultaneous charging and discharging of the heat exchange modules.
Siddiqui, a modified, does not explicitly disclose wherein an exterior container within which the insulated tank and control components are contained. Bissell, however, discloses a thermal storage apparatus (fig 1) wherein an exterior container (101) in which an insulated tank (103) is contained. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui, as modified, to provide the exterior container of Bissell in order to provide protection to the insulation of the insulated tank. This would result in the control components being contained within.
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the first fluid pathway (of 52) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (via 112 and 114).
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the second fluid pathway (4151, 4152, 4153, Robinson) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (fig 4 of Robinson).
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the first fluid pathway (of 52) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (via 112 and 114).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui, as modified, further discloses wherein the second fluid pathway (4151, 4152, 4153, Robinson) of a heat exchanger module of said plurality comprises a plurality of parallel flow passages through said heat exchanger module (fig 4 of Robinson).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. Siddiqui further discloses wherein the heat exchanger modules (150) of the plurality are horizontally arranged next to each other, and the first and second manifolds are vertically arranged above the plurality of heat exchanger modules (see annotated fig 6 below).
Claim(s) 37 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell as applied to claims 31 and 44 above, and further in view of Field et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0195741, “Field”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the passageways of each said heat exchanger module comprise copper tubing and aluminum fins configured to transfer heat between the phase change material and fluid flowing through the passageways. Field, however, discloses a thermal storage system wherein passageways of each said heat exchanger module comprise copper tubing and aluminum fins configured to transfer heat between the phase change material and fluid flowing through the passageways (¶0038). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui, as modified, to provide copper tubing and aluminum fins of Fields in order to optimize the heat exchange between the fluid and phase change material.
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Siddiqui, Robinson, and Bissell discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they do not explicitly disclose wherein the passageways of each said heat exchanger module comprise copper tubing and aluminum fins configured to transfer heat between the phase change material and fluid flowing through the passageways. Field, however, discloses a thermal storage system wherein passageways of each said heat exchanger module comprise copper tubing and aluminum fins configured to transfer heat between the phase change material and fluid flowing through the passageways (¶0038). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Siddiqui, as modified, to provide copper tubing and aluminum fins of Fields in order to optimize the heat exchange between the fluid and phase change material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach the heat exchange modules being located in the same PCM volume. However, no wherein the cited references teach that the heat exchange modules are located in the same volume of PCM. Rather the claims require that the heat exchange modules are located within the volume of PCM within the insulated tank, which is taught by Siddique as outlined above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763