DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS dated 2/12/2025 has been considered and placed in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for receiving one or more input medical images;
means for extracting image embeddings from the one or more input medical images;
means for performing one or more medical imaging analysis tasks based on the image embeddings extracted from the one or more input medical images using a trained vision-language model;
and means for outputting results of the one or more medical imaging analysis tasks” in claim 8;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oktay (EP4266195A1).
Regarding claim 1, Oktay discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving one or more input medical images (Oktay, paragraph [0082], "At step R10, an input image is received into the input of the image encoder 402, and at step R20 an input text query is input into the input of the text encoder 404"),
extracting image embeddings from the one or more input medical images (Oktay, pargraph [0085], "At step R30 the image encoder 402 generates the local image embeddings Ṽ , for the input image 202"),
performing one or more medical imaging analysis tasks based on the image embeddings extracted from the one or more input medical images using a trained vision- language model (Oktay, paragraph [0090], "As separate text embedding has been generated from each of three sentences in the draft report, each making a separate proposition about a possible condition visible in the image”),
and outputting results of the one or more medical imaging analysis tasks (Oktay, paragraph [0089], "For example the UI may display the image on screen, and highlight the region or regions in question, or drawing an outline around the region or regions"),
wherein the trained vision-language model is trained by: receiving one or more training medical images and a text-based report associated with the one or more training medical images (Oktay, paragraph [0068], "In the joint training, the ML engine 118 inputs each of a plurality of image-text combinations into the ML model 116"),
extracting image embeddings from the one or more training medical images (Oktay, paragraph [0039], "The image encoder 402 is arranged to encode each input image 202 into at least one respective embedding"),
generating one or more instructions based on the text-based report using a language model (Oktay, paragraph [0040], "The text encoder 404 is arranged to encode each of one or more text portions in the input text 204, e.g. each clause, sentence, paragraph or whole document, into a respective text embedding t̃"),
and training the vision-language model to perform the one or more medical imaging analysis tasks based on the image embeddings extracted from the one or more training medical images and the one or more generated instructions (Oktay, paragraph [0098], "At step S40) the image data of the one or more current scans 202 are input into the machine learning model 116, together with at least the text of the corresponding report 204. Based on the report and image(s) together, the machine learning model 116 generates one or more suggestions for amendments 206 to the text of the report 204").
Regarding claim 2, Oktay discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating one or more instructions based on the text-based report using a language model comprises: generating the one or more instructions further based on a plurality of predefined templates, the plurality of predefined templates comprising different initial instructions for extracting information from the text-based report and generating the one or more instructions (Oktay, paragraph [0059], "The image embedding captures a kind of "summary" of the visually relevant information content in the image data, and the text embedding captures the semantically relevant information in the text. The concept of an embedding or latent vector will, in itself, be familiar to a person skilled in the art", embedding is a form of extraction of information and it captures data according to patterns, as additionally evidenced by Wikipedia below).
Regarding claim 3, Oktay discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating one or more instructions based on the text-based report using a language model comprises: generating the one or more instructions for associating anatomical features depicted in the one or more training medical images with textual anatomical descriptors (Oktay, paragraph [0090], "Each of the regions in the image found to align with one of the sentences in the text query is outlined (or instead could be highlighted or such like)"*).
Regarding claim 5, Oktay discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein generating one or more instructions based on the text-based report using a language model comprises: generating the one or more instructions for associating textual anatomical descriptors with image findings of the one or more training medical images (Oktay, paragraph [0090], Fig. 3a below, "As separate text embedding has been generated from each of three sentences in the draft report, each making a separate proposition about a possible condition visible in the image").
Regarding claim 6, Oktay discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 5, wherein the image findings comprise quantitative image findings of the one or more input medical images (Oktay, paragraph [0090], Fig. 3a above, "As separate text embedding has been generated from each of three sentences in the draft report, each making a separate proposition about a possible condition visible in the image").
Regarding claim 7, Oktay discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein: generating one or more instructions based on the text-based report using a language model comprises: generating instruction embeddings representing the one or more instructions (Oktay, paragraph [0086], "At step R40 the text encoder 404 generates at least one text embedding t̃ from the input text query 204. In embodiments the input query may be broken down into more than one portion, such as separate sentences, clauses, paragraphs or sections, and the text encoder 404 may generate an individual text embedding t̃ for each such"),
and training the vision-language model to perform the one or more medical imaging analysis tasks based on the image embeddings extracted from the one or more training medical images and the one or more generated instructions comprises: combining the image embeddings extracted from the one or more training medical images and the instruction embeddings (Oktay, paragraph [0088], Fig. 2b below R50, "At step R50, the ML engine 118 performs a comparison between the local image embeddings generated at step R30 and the one or more text embeddings generated at step D40"),
and generating results of the one or more medical imaging analysis tasks based on the combined image embeddings and instruction embeddings (Oktay, paragraph [0089], " At step R60, the ML engine 118 outputs data which can be used to control the UI on the UI console to render an indication of the connection between the text query 204 and the linked region of the image 202, or between each portion of the text query (e.g. each sentence) and the linked regions of the image").
Claims 8-10 corresponds to claims 1-3 respectively, additionally reciting an apparatus (Oktay, paragraph [0031], “The computer equipment 104 comprises processing apparatus 108 comprising one or more processors, and memory 110 comprising one or more memory units”). Thus, they are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness.
Claims 12-16 corresponds to claims 1-2, 5-7 respectively, additionally reciting a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to carry out operations (Oktay, paragraph [0032], “Computer storage media include volatile and non-volatile, removable, and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer readable instructions, data structures, program modules or the like”). Thus, they are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness.
Regarding claim 17, Oktay discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: receiving one or more training medical images and a text-based report associated with the one or more training medical images (Oktay, paragraph [0082], "At step R10, an input image is received into the input of the image encoder 402, and at step R20 an input text query is input into the input of the text encoder 404"),
extracting image embeddings from the one or more training medical images (Oktay, paragraph [0085], “At step R30 the image encoder 402 generates the local image embeddings Ṽ , for the input image 202.”),
generating one or more instructions based on the text-based report using a language model (Oktay, paragraph [0086], “At step R40 the text encoder 404 generates at least one text embedding t̃ from the input text query 204”),
and training a vision-language model to perform one or more medical imaging analysis tasks based on the image embeddings extracted from the one or more training medical images and the one or more generated instructions (Oktay, paragraph [0098], "At step S40) the image data of the one or more current scans 202 are input into the machine learning model 116, together with at least the text of the corresponding report 204. Based on the report and image(s) together, the machine learning model 116 generates one or more suggestions for amendments 206 to the text of the report 204").
Claims 18-19 corresponds to claims 2-3 respectively. Thus, they are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oktay (EP4266195A1) in view of Abdishektaei (US 20250111640 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Oktay discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Oktay does not teach “wherein generating one or more instructions based on the text-based report using a language model comprises: generating the one or more instructions for associating anatomical features depicted in the one or more training medical images with each other”.
However, Abdishektaei teaches generating the one or more instructions (Abdishektaei, paragraph [0072], "Based on the input image embedding vector, the text decoder 220 generates trial natural language text describing a finding 222 relating to the set of input medical image data 202.") for associating anatomical features depicted in the one or more training medical images with each other (Abdishektaei, paragraph [0027], "As mentioned, at step 108, the method 100 comprises performing a comparison of the feature vector 212 with the plurality of image embedding vectors 206 and identifying a first image embedding vector from among the plurality of image embedding vectors 206 on the basis of the comparison", using the concept of finding a common feature).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to generate instructions through finding common features in Oktay’s images, as taught by Abdishektaei.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to find a shared area of interest, resulting in more consistent diagnosis.
Further, one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as described above by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Oktay in view of Abdishektaei to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 4, additionally reciting the apparatus (Oktay, paragraph [0031], “The computer equipment 104 comprises processing apparatus 108 comprising one or more processors, and memory 110 comprising one or more memory units”). Thus, they are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness.
Claim 20 corresponds to claim 4. Thus, they are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness.
Conclusion
/WAYNE ZHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672