DETAILED ACTION
1. This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment filed December 23, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1, 4-13, 15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the Ricci reference (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0232642).
5. Regarding claim 1, the Ricci reference discloses:
a system [Paragraph 0325] for an interior (512) of a vehicle (104) comprising a vehicle system (204, 677) configured to use data [Paragraph 0325—data stored in memory] from at least one data source [Paragraph 0325—memory] and to provide a user interface configured for interaction with an occupant [Paragraph 0160] comprising:
a sensor arrangement (677) comprising at least one sensor [Paragraph 0325—weight sensor] configured to obtain an input signal [Paragraph 0325—user 216 weighs 180 lbs.];
a computing system (204) configured to process the input signal [Paragraph 0325—180 lbs.] from the sensor [Paragraph 0325—weight sensor] to facilitate an operation [Paragraph 0325—compared] and to provide an output signal [Paragraph 0325—compared to user data stored in memory];
wherein the output signal is sent to at least one of (a) the vehicle system and/or (b) the user interface [Paragraph 0160 & Paragraph 0237];
wherein the computing system (204) is configured to use data [Paragraph 0325-compared to user data stored in memory] to provide an output signal [Paragraph 0325-match & Paragraph 0160-display] comprising an enhancement of the input signal [Paragraph 0325—the input signal of weight 180 lbs. is enhanced because the data determines if the person sitting in the seat matches which provides additional information beyond just what the weight is and therefore enhances the signal] and/or an augmentation of the input signal;
wherein the sensor arrangement (677) comprises a set of sensors;
wherein the set of sensors is configured to provide a sensor matrix;
wherein the sensor matrix is configured to comprise a sensor field;
wherein the sensor matrix comprises a distributed sensor matrix configured to provide the sensor field within the interior of the vehicle [Paragraph 0325];
wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on application of artificial intelligence [Paragraph 0158];
wherein at least one data source (memory) comprises a model for data enhancement configured for application of artificial intelligence (implicit);
wherein at least one data source comprises a language model for data enhancement comprising machine learning for application of artificial intelligence [Paragraph 0158—states “any known” . . . “artificial intelligence.” By the filing date of the Ricci reference on April 16, 2021 (and earlier priority) this type of artificial intelligence was well known. As one example, GPT-3 in 2020]
wherein application of artificial intelligence comprises use of data from at least one data source comprising the model for data enhancement to provide an output signal comprising enhancement of the input signal (implicit).
6. Regarding claim 4, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the sensor arrangement (677) comprises a distributed sensor matrix [Paragraph 0325] configured to obtain data from within (512) the vehicle (104); wherein data comprises the input signal [Paragraph 0325].
7. Regarding claim 5, the Ricci reference further discloses: wherein at least one data source [Paragraph 0325-user data stored in memory] comprises the sensor matrix and/or a vehicle system and/or data storage [Paragraph 0325-memory] and/or a network.
8. Regarding claim 6, the Ricci reference further discloses:
a component [Paragraph 0160-screen] configured to present the user interface [Paragraph 0160—display]; wherein the component comprises a user interface system configured to present the user interface [Paragraph 0173]; wherein the user interface system comprises an input device configured to obtain an input signal and an output device configured to present an output signal [Paragraph 0173].
9. Regarding claim 7, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the user interface system comprises an input device; wherein the input device comprises at least one sensor [Paragraph 0173].
10. Regarding claim 8, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the user interface system comprises an output device; wherein the output device comprises an information display [Paragraph 0173].
11. Regarding claim 11, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the computing system (204) configured to process the input signal is configured apply the model for data enhancement configured for application of artificial intelligence provide management of privacy of data relating to an input signal [Paragraph 0158—states “any known” . . . “artificial intelligence.” By the filing date of the Ricci reference on April 16, 2021 (and earlier priority) this type of artificial intelligence was well known. As one example, GPT-3 in 2020 managed data privacy through isolated chat sessions and user-controlled data settings].
12. Regarding claim 12, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the computing system comprises a computing device with a processor; wherein the processor is configured to use data to provide an output signal comprising an enhancement of the input signal [Paragraph 0325].
13. Regarding claim 13, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the processor (304) is configured to operate with a data enhancement module configured with artificial intelligence [Paragraph 0158] to use data to provide an output signal comprising an enhancement of the input signal [Paragraph 0325]; wherein the output signal comprises information provided at a display [Paragraph 0160].
14. Regarding claim 15, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the input signal may comprise a prompt and the output signal comprises information generated by the data enhancement module from the prompt [Paragraph 0158—states “any known” . . . “artificial intelligence.” By the filing date of the Ricci reference on April 16, 2021 (and earlier priority) this type of artificial intelligence was well known. As one example, GPT-3 in 2020 always used prompts].
15. Regarding claim 17, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the input signal comprises at least one of (a) proximity; (b) action; (c) motion; (d) sound; (e) condition; (f) characteristic; (g) presence/absence of occupant; (h) position of occupant; (1) interaction with occupant; (j) detected input from occupant [Paragraph 0325—weight of occupant]; (k) directed input from occupant; (l) detected event; (m) detected condition; (n) vehicle interior control/activity; (o) smart cabin control/activity; (p) data; wherein the operation comprises at least one of (a) application of artificial intelligence; (b) application of augmented reality; (c) operation of vehicle system; (d) network communication; (e) instruction for vehicle system; (f) operation of vehicle systems; (g) interaction with external systems; (h) data storage; (i) data analytics/analysis; (j) comparison of data to threshold values [Paragraph 0325]; (k) monitoring; (l) providing a report based on the input signal; (m) vehicle interior control; (n) smart cabin control; (o) smart cabin activity; wherein the output signal comprises at least one of (a) audio-visual signal; (b) visual signal; (c) visual display; (d) audible signal; (e) haptic signal; (f) notice/alert; (g) communication to network; (h) communication to a device; (i) communication to a vehicle system; (j) data transmission; (k) data storage; (l) vehicle location; (m) vehicle status; (n) occupant status [Paragraph 0325—match occupant detected weight to value in memory]; (o) communication over a network; (p) report over a network; (q) information.
16. Regarding claim 18, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the sensor arrangement comprises at least one of (a) a transducer [Paragraph 0325]; (b) a capacitive sensor; (c) an odor detector; (d) an accelerometer; (e) a microphone; (f) a camera; (g) a light detector; (h) an ultraviolet light detector; (i) a thermal detector; (j) RFID detector; (k) tag detector; (l) a sensor array; (m) a sensor matrix; (n) a multi-function sensor; (o) a composite sensor; (p) an audio-visual sensor; (q) a video recorder; (r) an audio recorder; (s) a thermal sensor; (t) a bio-metric sensor; wherein the sensor arrangement comprises a sensor matrix; wherein the sensor matrix comprises at least one of (a) a field; (b) multiple sensors [Paragraph 0325—sensors]; (c) multiple fields; (d) a field and at least one sensor; wherein the input signal from the sensor comprises a signal detected (a) by a sensor [Paragraph 0325] and/or (b) from within a sensor field provided in the interior of the vehicle.
17. Regarding claim 19, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the user interface comprises at least one of (a) a control configured to be operated by the occupant; (b) a display [Paragraph 0160]; (c) an audio system; (d) an audio-visual system; (e) an infotainment system; (f) a haptic interface; wherein the vehicle system comprises at least one of (a) a climate control system; (b) a navigation system; (c) a network; (d) a vehicle network; (e) a seating system [Paragraph 0325]; (f) a window control system; (g) a lighting system; (h) a communication system; (l) an autonomous vehicle operation system; (j) a steering system; (k) a drive system; (l) a powertrain system; (m) a starter system; (n) an audio system; (o) a display system; (p) an HVAC system; (q) an emergency warning system; (r) a safety system; (s) an occupant comfort system; (t) an occupant/sensory system; (u) a vehicle environment system; (v) a network/external communication system.
18. Regarding claim 20, the Ricci reference discloses:
a method for using a sensor arrangement (677) comprising a sensor matrix [Paragraph 0325] in an interior (512) of a vehicle (104) comprising a vehicle system [Paragraph 0325] using data from at least one data source [Paragraph 0325—memory] and providing a user interface configured for interaction with an occupant [Paragraph 0160] comprising the steps of:
obtaining an input signal from the sensor matrix [Paragraph 0325—weight of occupant];
processing the input signal into an output signal at a processor (FIG. 6B—677 is connected to (204) which includes processor (304) which creates the output signal);
performing an operation [Paragraph 0325—comparing] relating to the input signal [Paragraph 0325—the input signal weight is compared];
wherein the user interface at the interior of the vehicle comprises an input device configured to provide the input signal and an output device configured to provide the output signal (implicit);
wherein the input signal from the input device (implicit) comprises at least one of (a) proximity; (b) action; (c) motion; (d) sound; (e) condition; (f) characteristic; (g) presence/absence of occupant; (h) position of occupant; (i) interaction with occupant; (j) detected input from occupant [Paragraph 0325-weight]; (k) directed input from occupant; (l) detected event; (m) detected condition; (n) vehicle interior control/activity; (o) smart cabin control/activity; (p) data;
wherein the operation comprises at least one of (a) application of artificial intelligence and/or (b) application of augmented reality; (c) operation of vehicle system; (d) network communication; (e) instruction for vehicle system; (f) operation of vehicle systems; (g) interaction with external systems; (h) data storage; (i) data analytics/analysis; (j) comparison of data to threshold values [Paragraph 0325]; (k) monitoring; (l) providing a report based on the input signal; (m) vehicle interior control; (n) smart cabin control; (o) smart cabin activity;
wherein the output signal from the output device (implicit) comprises at least one of (a) audio-visual signal; (b) visual signal; (c) visual display [Paragraph 0160] (FIG. 8A—882); (d) audible signal; (e) haptic signal; (f) notice/alert; (g) communication to network; (h) communication to a device; (i) communication to a vehicle system; (j) data transmission; (k) data storage; (l) vehicle location; (m) vehicle status; (n) occupant status; (o) communication over a network; (p) report over a network; (q) information;
wherein the processor (304) is operated by at least one of (a) a control program (204) or (b) a software program;
wherein at least one data source comprises the sensor matrix and[[or]] a vehicle system and[[/or]] data storage [Paragraph 0325—memory] and/or a network wherein the sensor arrangement (677) comprises a set of sensors;
wherein the set of sensors is configured to provide a sensor matrix; wherein the sensor matrix is configured to comprise a sensor field;
wherein the sensor matrix comprises a distributed sensor matrix configured to provide the sensor field within the interior of the vehicle [Paragraph 0325];
wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on application of artificial intelligence [Paragraph 0158]
wherein at least one data source (memory) comprises a model for data enhancement configured for application of artificial intelligence (implicit);
wherein at least one data source comprises a language mode for data enhancement comprising machine learning for application of artificial intelligence at the user interface in the interior of the vehicle [Paragraph 0158—states “any known” . . . “artificial intelligence.” By the filing date of the Ricci reference on April 16, 2021 (and even earlier priority data) this type of artificial intelligence was well known. As one example, voice assistants in vehicles];
wherein application of artificial intelligence comprises use of data from at least one data source comprising the model for data enhancement to provide an output signal comprising enhancement of the input signal (implicit)
wherein the input device is configured to obtain data and the output device is configured to present data based on data enhancement by machine learning for application of artificial intelligence at the user interface in the interior of the vehicle [Paragraph 0158—states “any known” . . . “artificial intelligence.” By the filing date of the Ricci reference on April 16, 2021 (and even earlier priority data) this type of artificial intelligence was well known. As one example, voice assistants in vehicles];
wherein at least one data source comprises an augmented reality model for data augmentation comprising augmented reality at the user interface in the interior of the vehicle;
wherein the input device is configured to obtain data and the output device is configured to present data based on data augmentation based on augmented reality at the user interface in the interior of the vehicle. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to have electronic devices that include augmented reality. Please see DE 102019210383 A1 describing display content in predetermined output area in the interior of the motor vehicle as portion of augmented reality or virtual reality output by output device (S4).
19. Regarding claim 21, the Ricci reference discloses:
a system [Paragraph 0325] for an interior (512) of a vehicle (104) comprising a vehicle system [Paragraph 0325] configured to use data from at least one data source [Paragraph 0325—memory] and to provide a user interface configured for interaction with an occupant [Paragraph 0160] comprising:
a sensor arrangement (677) comprising at least one sensor configured to obtain an input signal [Paragraph 0173];
a computing system (204) configured to process the input signal from the sensor [Paragraph 0325—180lbs] to facilitate an operation [Paragraph 0325—compared] and to provide an output signal [Paragraph 0325—compared to user data stored in memory];
wherein the at last one sensor of the sensor arrangement (677) comprises a set of sensors; wherein the set of sensors is configured to provide a sensor matrix; wherein the sensor matrix is configured to comprise a sensor field; wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on application of artificial intelligence [Paragraphs 0325 & 0158];
wherein at least one data source (memory) comprises a model for data enhancement configured for application of artificial intelligence (implicit);
wherein at least one data source comprises a language model for data enhancement comprising machine learning for application of artificial intelligence [Paragraph 0158—states “any known” . . . “artificial intelligence.” By the filing date of the Ricci reference on April 16, 2021 (and even earlier priority data) this type of artificial intelligence was well known. As one example, GPT-3];
wherein application of artificial intelligence comprises use of data from at least one data source comprising the model for data enhancement to provide an output signal comprising enhancement of the input signal (implicit):
wherein application of artificial intelligence comprises update of data from at least one data source comprising the model for data enhancement comprising machine learning for application of artificial intelligence [Paragraph 0158—states “any known” . . . “artificial intelligence.” By the filing date of the Ricci reference on April 16, 2021 (and even earlier priority data) this type of artificial intelligence was well known. As one example, GPT-3].
20. Regarding claim 22, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the input signal comprises a condition of the occupant in the interior of the vehicle detected by the sensor arrangement [Paragraph 0325—weight of occupant].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
22. Claim(s) 3 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the reference.
23. Regarding claim 3, the Ricci reference fails to disclose:
wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on application of augmented reality. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to have output signals in electronic devices that include augmented reality. Please see DE 102019210383 A1 describing a step for transmitting provided output signal to output device worn on head for outputting display content in predetermined output area in the interior of the motor vehicle as portion of augmented reality or virtual reality output by output device (S4).
24. Regarding claim 23, the Ricci reference further discloses:
wherein the input signal comprises a condition in the interior of the vehicle detected by the sensor arrangement [Paragraph 0325—weight of occupant]; wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on application of augmented reality. The examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known to have output signals in electronic devices that include augmented reality. Please see DE 102019210383 A1 describing a step for transmitting provided output signal to output device worn on head for outputting display content in predetermined output area in the interior of the motor vehicle as portion of augmented reality or virtual reality output by output device (S4).
25. Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Ricci reference in view of the Sadovitch reference (WO 2020249367 A1).
26. Regarding claim 14, the Ricci reference fails to disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to use data to operate with a data augmentation module configured for augmented reality to provide an output signal comprising an augmentation of the input signal; wherein augmentation comprises at least one of augmented audio and/or augmented video.
The Sadovitch reference teaches it is conventional in the art of augmented reality to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0066] wherein the processor (42—includes a processor) is configured to use data (position of eyebox) to operate with a data augmentation module (42—includes a data augmentation module) configured for augmented reality to provide an output signal comprising an augmentation of the input signal (42); wherein augmentation comprises at least one of augmented audio and/or augmented video (display) [Paragraph 0066]. Such configurations/structures would allow an augmented reality head-up display [Paragraph 0066].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ricci reference, such that the reference further includes wherein the processor is configured to use data to operate with a data augmentation module configured for augmented reality to provide an output signal comprising an augmentation of the input signal; wherein augmentation comprises at least one of augmented audio and/or augmented video, as clearly suggested and taught by the Sadovitch reference, in order to allow an augmented reality head-up display [Paragraph 0066].
27. Regarding claim 16, the Ricci reference fails to disclose:
wherein the at least one data source comprises an augmented reality model for data augmentation at the user interface; wherein the input device is configured to obtain data based on reality and the output device is configured to present data based on augmented reality; wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on augmented reality.
The Sadovitch reference teaches it is conventional in the art of augmented reality to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0066] wherein the at least one data source (23) comprises an augmented reality model for data augmentation at the user interface (function of the content to be displayed); wherein the input device is configured to obtain data based on reality (position of eyebox) and the output device (42) is configured to present data based on augmented reality; wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on augmented reality [Paragraph 0066]. Such configurations/structures would allow an augmented reality head-up display [Paragraph 0066].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Ricci reference, such that the reference further includes wherein the at least one data source comprises an augmented reality model for data augmentation; wherein the input device is configured to obtain data based on reality and the output device is configured to present data based on augmented reality; wherein the output signal comprises a signal based on augmented reality, as clearly suggested and taught by the Sadovitch reference, in order to allow an augmented reality head-up display [Paragraph 0066].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 23, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant is simply attempting to amend the claims to bring subject matter that was well known at that time and the prior art reference cites to bring this known subject matter into the reference’s disclosure. Accordingly, these features are well known and are disclosed by the prior art and the claims are finally rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747