DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first acquisition unit”, “second acquisition unit”, “learning unit” and “detection unit” in claim claims 9-10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a learning method and an inference method without requiring any machinery involvement. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there is no machinery involvement in perfuming said method claims. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there is no machinery involved in steps of claimed methods.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US2023/0010199).
To claim 1, Sato teach a learning apparatus comprising one or more memories storing instructions and one or more processors that execute the instructions to:
acquire a likelihood map of a specific part in an input image by using a first model for detecting the specific part (paragraphs 0059, 0093, selected foreground degree/likelihood, obviously a predicted likelihood map of tracking object);
acquire a region map representing a region of a specific part of a tracking target (tracker) in the input image by using a second model for detecting the tracking target (paragraphs 0051-0059, 0079, tracker refers to an detected object, feature extracted from foregrounds extraction model); and
perform learning of the second model based on a loss obtained based on an element product map obtained by an element product of the likelihood map and the region map and correct answer data indicating a region of a specific part of a tracking target in the input image (paragraphs 0089, 0119, learns parameters of the likelihood estimator so that a difference/loss between the prediction result and the correct data becomes smaller, in which the prediction result is represented by summing products of respective spatial maps of the foreground extraction models calculated by a likelihood estimator based on the input image and the respective foreground extraction results of the foreground extraction models).
To claim 2, Sato teach claim 1.
Sato teach wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to obtain, as the correct answer map (paragraph 0078), a two dimensional likelihood distribution in which a result obtained by dividing a center coordinate of a region represented by the correct answer data by a size ratio between the correct answer map and the input image is an average vector, and perform learning of the second model based on a loss obtained based on the correct answer map and the element product map (obvious in paragraphs 0110-0118, despite lack of disclosure on a result obtained by dividing a center coordinate of a region represented by the correct answer data by a size ratio between the correct answer map and the input image is an average vector, it’s a well-known practice in the art, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the apparatus of Sato, in order to improve model accuracy, hence Official Notice is taken).
To claim 3, Sato teach claim 1.
Though Sato do not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to perform learning of the second model based on the loss and a loss obtained based on the region map and an average of a plurality of region maps acquired in the past, obtaining a loss based on the region map and an average of a plurality of region maps acquired in the past is a well-known practice in the art, which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the apparatus of Sato, in order to improve model accuracy, hence Official Notice is taken.
To claim 4, Sato teach claim 1.
Sato teach wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to acquire a likelihood map of the tracking target in the input image using the second model (paragraph 0059).
To claim 5, Sato teach an inference apparatus (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 6, Sato teach claim 5.
Sato teach wherein the one or more processors execute the instructions to detect the position of the specific part in the input image based on coordinates of an element having a maximum element value in the element product map (paragraph 0085).
To claim 7, Sato teach a learning method (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 8, Sato teach an inference method (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 9, Sato teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to function (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
To claim 10, Sato teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to function (as explained in response to claim 1 above).
Conclusion
ZHIYU . LU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/ZHIYU LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665 December 21, 2025