DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 was previously objected to because of informalities. The amendments filed 07/02/2026 have successfully addressed these issues. Accordingly, the objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (US 20220074244 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a door handle assembly for driving a handle to move between a retracted position and one or more non-retracted positions, the door handle assembly comprising: a push rod (82) having a push rod first end (end with 101) and a push rod second end (end with 102); and an ejector rod (86) having an ejector rod first end (end with 102) and an ejector rod second end (end with 132), the ejector rod second end being configured to abut against the handle (72); a first movable rotating shaft (102) rotatably connecting the push rod second end to the ejector rod first end; and a second movable rotating shaft (134) rotatably connected to the ejector rod at an interior location between the ejector rod first end and the ejector rod second end and configured to serve as a fulcrum about which the ejector rod rotates; and wherein when the ejector rod and the handle abut against each other (para. 0094), the push rod applies a first pushing force to the ejector rod (pushes along the length of 82), the ejector rod applies a second pushing force (force pushing the handle outward) to the handle, the component of the second pushing force in a deployment direction is greater than the first pushing force (the fulcrum at 134 increases the force in the deployment direction).
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches the door handle assembly of claim 1, wherein a distance between an axis of the first movable rotating shaft and an axis of the second movable rotating shaft is a first distance; wherein the first distance and a total length of the ejector rod meet: L1/L>1/(sinαcosα+1), wherein alpha is the angle between the ejector rod and the deployment direction. (Please note the angle of the ejector rod to the deployment direction is decreasing as the handle protrudes and therefore meets the limitation.)
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches a door handle assembly for driving a handle to move between a retracted position and one or more non-retracted positions, the door handle assembly comprising: a push rod (82) having a push rod first end (end with 101) and a push rod second end (end with 102), the push rod being configured to be movable along an actuation direction (direction 48 extends); and an ejector rod (86) having an ejector rod first end (end connected to 102) and an ejector rod second end (end with 132), the ejector rod second end being configured to push the handle (72) along a deployment direction (handle travel direction perpendicular to first direction); a first movable rotating shaft (102), wherein the push rod second end is rotatably connected to the ejector rod first end via the first movable rotating shaft (fig. 11); and a second movable rotating shaft (134) being rotatably connected to the ejector rod between the ejector rod first end and the ejector rod second end; wherein, during the push rod pushing the ejector rod along the actuation direction, the ejector rod rotates about the second movable rotating shaft acting as a fulcrum (134; figs. 14-16), the second movable rotating shaft moves along the deployment direction and an angle between the ejector rod and the second direction gradually decreases (fig. 15 to fig. 16) such that the ejector rod second end pushes the handle from the retracted position to the one or more non-retracted positions along the deployment direction (figs. 14-16).
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches the door handle assembly of claim 9, wherein the handle (72) is provided with an ejector rod sliding groove (groove to receive 134 visible in fig. 11) extending along the second direction (extends in second direction to allow 86 to rotate to extended position), an end of the second movable rotating shaft (134) that opposite to the ejector rod being received in the ejector rod sliding groove (fig. 11); wherein the second movable rotating shaft is configured to be movable along the second direction (moves with handle movement) and rotatable in the ejector rod sliding groove (rotates around pin 134); and wherein when the ejector rod (86) rotates about the second movable rotating shaft, the ejector rod sliding groove guides the ejector rod along the second direction to push the handle (figs. 14-16).
Regarding claim 11, Han teaches the door handle assembly of claim 9, wherein a surface of the ejector rod second end that contacts and pushes the handle is a smooth and/or continuous and gradual surface (smooth continuous surface to house and allow rotation of pin 132).
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches the door handle assembly of claim 9, wherein the actuation direction is a length direction of the handle (72), the deployment direction is the direction in which the handle (72) is deployed outwardly (figs. 14-16) from a door, and the actuation direction and the second deployment are perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to each other (handle extends perpendicular to the direction of travel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20220074244 A1) in view of Kang (CN 114856334 B).
Regarding claim 3, Han teaches the door handle assembly of claim 2, further comprising: a push block (83) configured to linearly reciprocate along an actuation direction (direction of 48’s actuation); and a third movable rotating shaft (101), wherein the push block is connected to the push rod first end (end with 101), and wherein the actuation direction and the deployment direction are perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to each other (actuation direction of 48 is perpendicular to the handle actuation direction).
Han does not explicitly teach wherein the push block is connected to the push rod first end via the third movable rotating shaft.
Kang teaches a similar door handle assembly having a push block (32) rotatably connected to the end of a push rod (321) via a movable rotating shaft (connection between 32 and 321 Is hinged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Han with those of Kang in order to utilize a hinged connection between the push block and the push rod. A hinged connection allows for a smoother pushing movement in the event of any misalignment as well as allowing for expanded directional capabilities. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 3, Han further teaches wherein the one or more non-retracted positions comprise a move-up position (fig. 15), and the handle is movable between the retracted position and the move-up position (fig. 14 to fig. 15); wherein during movement of the handle from the retracted position to the move-up position, the push block (83) is configured to apply the first pushing force to the push rod along the actuation direction (length direction of 82), to push the push rod to move along the first direction, movement of the push rod along the actuation direction enables the ejector rod (86) to rotate about the second movable rotating shaft (134), and the rotation of the ejector rod (86) about the second movable rotating shaft (132) enables the ejector rod second end (end with 132) of the ejector rod (86) to apply the second pushing force to the handle (as 86 rotates around 132 it allows 86 to impart a force in the handle actuation direction from 82).
Regarding claim 5, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 4, Han further teaches wherein the handle (72) is provided with an abutting block (block to receive pin 132) having an arc-shaped surface (round hole), the ejector rod second end (end with 132) being configured to abut against the handle via the abutting block (fig. 11); and the ejector rod second end also has an arc-shaped surface (round hole to receive pin 132), so that the ejector rod second end and the abutting block are configured to slide relative to each other when abutting against each other (the surfaces slide relative to each other when 86 rotates around pin 132 relative to 72).
Regarding claim 6, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 4, wherein the handle is provided with a U-shaped ejector rod sliding groove (groove to receive the U shaped end of 86), an end of the second movable rotating shaft (132) that opposite to the ejector rod is received in the ejector rod sliding groove, wherein the second movable rotating shaft (132) is configured to be translatable and rotatable in the ejector rod sliding groove (para. 0094 rotatable and translatable by 86 pivoting and by handle 72 translating).
Regarding claim 7, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 5, Han further teaches further comprising: a door handle support (110); and a handle hinge assembly (136) by which the handle is movably connected to the door handle support.
Regarding claim 8, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 3, Han further teaches comprising: an actuator (40) configured to drive the push block (83) to linearly reciprocate along the actuation direction.
Regarding claim 13, Han teaches the door handle assembly of claim 10, further comprising: a push block (83) configured to linearly reciprocate along an actuation direction (direction of 48’s actuation); and a third movable rotating shaft (101), rotatably connecting the push block to the push rod first end (end with 101), and wherein the actuation direction and the deployment direction are perpendicular or substantially perpendicular to each other (actuation direction of 48 is perpendicular to the handle actuation direction).
Han does not explicitly teach wherein the push block is connected to the push rod first end via the third movable rotating shaft.
Kang teaches a similar door handle assembly having a push block (32) rotatably connected to the end of a push rod (321) via a movable rotating shaft (connection between 32 and 321 Is hinged).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Han with those of Kang in order to utilize a hinged connection between the push block and the push rod. A hinged connection allows for a smoother pushing movement in the event of any misalignment as well as allowing for expanded directional capabilities. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 13, Han further teaches wherein the non-retracted positions comprise a move-up position (fig. 15), and the handle is movable between the retracted position and the move-up position (fig. 14 to fig. 15); wherein during movement of the handle from the retracted position to the move-up position, the push block (83) pushes the push rod to move along the actuation direction (length direction of 82), movement of the push rod along the actuaition direction enables the ejector rod (86) to rotate about the second movable rotating shaft (132), and the rotation of the ejector rod (86) about the second movable rotating shaft (132) enables the ejector rod second end (end with 132) to push the handle to move (as 86 rotates around 132 it allows 86 to impart a force in the handle actuation direction from 82).
Regarding claim 15, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 14, Han further teaches wherein the handle (72) is provided with an abutting block (block to receive pin 132) having an arc-shaped surface (round hole), and the ejector rod second end (end with 132) pushes the handle (72) to move via the abutting block (through 132).
Regarding claim 16, Han in view of Kang teaches the door handle assembly of claim 15, Han further teaches further comprising: a door handle support (110); and a handle hinge assembly (84, 101) by which the handle is movably connected to the door handle support.
Regarding claim 17, Han in view of Kang teaches the door handle assembly of claim 16, Han further teaches wherein the handle hinge assembly comprises: a first rotating shaft (101); a fourth movable rotating shaft (130); and a connecting rod (84) having a connecting rod first end (end with 101) and a connecting rod second end (end with 130), wherein the connecting rod first end (end with 101) is connected to the door handle support via the first rotating shaft (101), and wherein the connecting rod second end (end with 140) is connected to the handle (72) via the fourth movable rotating shaft (140).
Regarding claim 18, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 17, Han further teaches wherein the non-retracted positions further comprise a deployed position (fig. 16), the handle (72) being movable between the move-up position and the deployed position; wherein the push block (83) is configured to push the connecting rod (82) to move during movement of the handle from the move-up position to the deployed position (83 configured to push 82 at the starting position of fig. 15 at a minimum).
Regarding claim 20, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 13, Han further teaches further comprising: an actuator (40) configured to drive the push block (83) to linearly reciprocate along the first direction.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han (US 20220074244 A1) in view of Kang (CN 114856334 B) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Toyama (US 20200392771 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Han in view of Kang teach the door handle assembly of claim 18, however do not explicitly teach a first torsion spring mounted on the first rotating shaft and configured to abut between the connecting rod first end and the door handle support to provide a rotating force to rotate the connecting rod about the first rotating shaft in a clockwise direction, thereby enabling the connecting rod to have a tendency to move from the deployed position to the move-up position and to the retracted position.
Toyama teaches a similar door handle assembly further comprising a first torsion spring (18) mounted on the first rotating shaft (pin connection of 3 to 1) and configured to abut between the connecting rod first end and the door handle support to provide a rotational bias urging the connecting rod about the first rotating shaft in a clockwise direction, tending to move the handle from the deployed position to the move-up position and to the retracted position (para. 0024; handle is urged toward the retracted position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Han and Kang with those of Toyama in order to include a torsion spring which biases the handle towards a retracted position. A bias towards the retracted position helps to prevent damage to the handle by the handle unintentionally remaining in the extended position. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1 and 9, the applicant asserts that Han does not disclose the newly amended subject matter requiring the second movable rotating shaft to be rotatably connected to the ejector rod at an interior location between the ejector rod first end and the ejector rod second end so as to serve as a fulcrum. The examiner disagrees and points to the updated rejection to independent claims 1 and 9 above which cite part 134 as the second movable rotating shaft. 134 is located between both ends of the ejector rod at an interior portion and serves as a fulcrum for the ejector rod. This meets the limitations of newly amended claims 1 and 9, please note that the change in the interpretation of Han’s invention was induced by the amendments made to the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.E.I./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675