DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on 02/12/2024 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: image acquiring section, determining section, area setting section and detection section in claims 1-4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenwood (US 2016/0001705 A1) in view of Shehan (US 2016/0101730 A1) and in further view of Lu (US 2017/0001566 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Greenwood discloses a monitoring system comprising: (abstract: a view from any camera can be presented to the driver on a display)
an image acquiring section that acquires images obtained by photographing a left rear side and a right rear side of a towing vehicle, respectively; (paragraph 16: The vehicle 1 is fitted with three video cameras. A first video camera 5 is mounted on the rear of the vehicle 1 and looks rearwards towards the trailer 4. This rearward-looking camera has a zoom facility. Two door mirror mounted video cameras 6, 7 are also provided. These door mirror mounted cameras 6, 7 may be panned so that they look forwards, rearwards and to a side of the vehicle 1. All three cameras 5, 6, 7 are controlled by a camera controller 8 and the outputs from each camera are fed to an image processor 9.)
a determining section that determines whether or not a towed vehicle towed by the towing vehicle is present in the respective images; (paragraph 7: A rear-ward-looking camera may be used to detect the presence of a trailer. One method of detecting the trailer includes the steps of comparing an image from a rearward-looking, vehicle mounted video camera with stored data representing a trailer. Paragraph 36: The path can be overlaid on the rear camera's view, but will only be useful to the driver if the rear corners of the trailer are also displayed. The projected path is overlaid on to a view from one of the door mirror mounted cameras 6, 7, specifically, the camera which can see the trailer 4 at that particular moment in the maneuver.)
an area setting section that, when the determining section determines that the towed vehicle is present in the image, (paragraph 7: the camera which can see the trailer) sets a (paragraphs 5 and 36: Greenwood teaches means for predicting a path of a trailer and displaying the predicted path to the driver of a vehicle to which the trailer is attached. The path being displayed as an overlay on a view from a vehicle-mounted video camera. One method of predicting the trailer path includes the steps of determining a hitch angle, 0t, between the vehicle and trailer, determining a hitch length, H, between an axle of the trailer and a point of attachment of the trailer to the vehicle, calculating a turning radius R where R=H/0t, where the trailer is predicted to follow the circumference of a circle of radius R. A view from a video camera mounted on the rear of the vehicle or on a door mirror is utilized.) (paragraph 36: The path can be overlaid on the rear camera's view, but will only be useful to the driver if the rear corners of the trailer are also displayed. The projected path is overlaid on to a view from one of the door mirror mounted cameras 6, 7, specifically, the camera which can see the trailer 4.)
Greenwood does not specifically disclose that the curved region is a dangerous area used as an operational detection region for detecting a collision hazardous object present in the dangerous area, nor does Greenwood specifically disclose the region as extending along lateral surfaces of the towing vehicle and the towed vehicle as a detection gate. As described above, Greenwood described the curved region as a projected path overlay for maneuvering assistance. (paragraphs 5 and 36)
In related art, Shehan teaches an area having a curved shaped shape extending along lateral surfaces of the towing vehicle and the towed vehicle. (paragraphs 5-6: Shehan discloses a blind spot detection system (BSD) may be configured to receive sensor information identifying whether an object is present within a defined blind spot area that surrounds the vehicle. Further, the BSD tool may receive trailer information when a trailer attachment is attached to the vehicle. Based on the received trailer information, the BSD tool may adjust the parameters of the blind spot area utilized by a blind spot detection algorithm to take into account the added presence of the trailer. The BSD of Shehan takes on different forms and/or shapes. For instance, the blind spot detection area created by the BSD system may take on a more radial shape to correspond to a sensing range for the driver-side BSDS and the passenger side BSDS. (paragraph 18)
Shehan does not disclose the object as a “collision hazardous object”; it calls it an object in a blind spot detection area with an audio noise indicating an object has been detected. (paragraphs 43-45)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Shehan into the teachings of Greenwood to effectively warn a driver about the object within the blind spot area.
Furthermore, in related art, Lu discloses a detecting section that detects a collision hazardous object present in the dangerous area. (paragraph 55: The system may provide an alert to the driver of a potentially hazardous situation during the reversing maneuver, such as responsive to detection of an object rearward of the trailer and in the path of the trailer such as via processing of images captured by sideview cameras of the towing vehicle and/or processing of images captured by a rearward viewing camera at the rear of the trailer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lu into the teachings of Greenwood and Shehan to effectively determine an object in the rearward path of travel of the trailer and a determination that a collision may occur between the trailer and object.
Regarding claim 2, Greenwood, as modified by Shehan and Lu, discloses the claimed invention wherein when the determining section determines that the towed vehicle is not present in the images, the area setting section sets the dangerous area having a shape extending rearward on each of the left and right lateral sides of the towing vehicle and the towed vehicle. (Shehan paragraph 18: rectangular shape when no adjustment is required)
Regarding claim 3, Greenwood, as modified by Shehan and Lu, discloses the claimed invention wherein the determining section determines that the towed vehicle is present in the image, the dangerous area having a shape extending rearward is set on one lateral side of the left lateral side and the right lateral side of the towing vehicle, the one lateral side being a side where the image in which the towed vehicle is determined to be present is not photographed, and the dangerous area is smaller than the dangerous area that is set when the determining section determines that the towed vehicle is not present in the image. (Greenwood paragraph 36: the camera that can see the trailer; Shehan paragraphs 5 and 42: adjustment of blind spot detection areas; Lu paragraph 55: teaches object detection within the trailer path if needed)
Regarding claim 4, Greenwood, as modified by Shehan and Lu, discloses the claimed invention wherein when the determining section determines that the towed vehicle is present in the image, a dangerous area having a curved shape extending along lateral surfaces of the towing vehicle and the towed vehicle is set on one lateral side of the left and right lateral sides of the towing vehicle and the towed vehicle, the one lateral side being a side where the image in which the towed vehicle is determined to be present is not photographed. (Greenwood paragraphs 5 and 36-38; Shehan paragraphs 5-6; Lu paragraph 55)
Conclusion
/BOBBAK SAFAIPOUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665