DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 16-18, and 20-35 are pending in the application.
In Applicant’s response filed 29 April 2026:
Claims 1, 18, and 20 were amended;
Claims 2-15 and 19 were canceled; and
Claims 21-35 were newly added.
These amendments have been entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: Appropriate correction is required.
Re Claim 30: Claim 30 should be amended as follows:
--30. The device of Claim 1, wherein the fastener comprises a base to which the post is coupled, the base being couplable to the device.--
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 18, 20-31, and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamm (DE 19929083, a copy of which is attached herewith, along with a machine-generate English translation).
Re Claim 1: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), comprising:
one or more elements configured to screwlessly and removably engage a component (1; see Fig. 1) of the device with a housing (at 4a, 4b) of the device, the one or more elements comprising a fastener (15) and a retainer (7, 7; Fig. 4), the fastener comprising a post (15) with plural protrusions (16, 16) extending orthogonally therefrom, the post configured to engage the retainer (7, 7) via the protrusions (16, 16).
Re Claim 18: Hamm discloses a method, comprising:
providing a device (see Figs. 4-6), and
providing one or more elements configured to screwlessly and removably engage a component (1; see Fig. 1) of the device with a housing (at 4a, 4b) of the device, the one or more elements comprising a fastener (15) and a retainer (7, 7; Fig. 4), the fastener comprising a post (15) with one or more protrusions (16, 16) extending orthogonally therefrom, the post configured to engage the retainer (7, 7) via the protrusions (16, 16).
Re Claim 20: Hamm discloses an assembly (see Figs. 4-6) configured to engage a housing (at 4a, 4b) of a device, comprising:
one or more elements configured to screwlessly and removably engage the assembly with the housing of the device, the one or more elements comprising a fastener (15) and a retainer (7, 7; Fig. 4), the fastener comprising a post (15) with one or more protrusions (16, 16) extending orthogonally therefrom, the post configured to engage the retainer (7, 7) via the protrusions (16, 16).
Re Claim 21: Hamm discloses an assembly (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the retainer (7, 7; Fig. 4) comprises a first opening (formed by the gap between the two spring tongues 7, 7) and one or more second openings (formed by the recess 8 in each of the two spring tongues 7, 7; see Fig. 1), and wherein the retainer (7, 7) is configured to receive the post (15) via the first opening for the one or more protrusions (16, 16) to engage the one or more second openings (8) on the retainer.
Re Claim 22: Hamm discloses an assembly (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the retainer (7, 7) is configured to receive a tool (11; Fig. 6) to disengage the fastener (15) from the retainer.
Re Claim 23: Hamm discloses an assembly (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the post (15) comprises a distal end segment (at ref. no. 15 in Fig. 5) configured to engage a notch (formed between release legs 12) on the tool (11) to disengage the fastener from the retainer.
Re Claim 24: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the retainer (7, 7) comprises a first opening (formed by the gap between the two spring tongues 7, 7), a second opening, and a third opening (the second and third openings being formed by the recess 8 in each of the two spring tongues 7, 7; see Fig. 1), and wherein the retainer is configured to receive the post (15) via the first opening for the protrusions (16, 16) to engage the second and third openings on the retainer.
Re Claim 25: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), comprising a release tool (11; Fig. 6), the release tool configured for insertion into the retainer to disengage the fastener from the retainer.
Re Claim 26: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6),wherein the release tool (11) is configured for insertion into the retainer (7, 7) through the first opening.
Re Claim 27: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the release tool (11) is configured to expand (see the phantom lines in Fig. 4) the distance, while the protrusions (16, 16) extend into the second and third openings (8, 8), between the second and third openings to disengage the fastener (15) from the retainer.
Re Claim 28: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the release tool (11) comprises a distal end segment with a notch (formed between release legs 12), the notch configured to receive a distal end segment (at ref. no. 15 in Fig. 5) of the post.
Re Claim 29: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the release tool (11) is configured to, with the notch engaged with the distal end segment of the post, push the post (15) away from the retainer (7, 7) to disengage the fastener from the retainer.
Re Claim 30: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the fastener (15) comprises a base (at 32; Fig. 5) to which the post (15) is coupled, the base being couplable to the device.
Re Claim 31: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), wherein the base (32) is couplable to the housing (at 4a, 4b) of the device.
Re Claim 34: Hamm discloses a device (see Figs. 4-6), wherein one or more of the fastener (15) and the retainer are made integrally with the housing (4a, 4b) of the device.
Re Claim 35: Hamm discloses a method, wherein the retainer (7, 7) comprises a first opening (formed by the gap between the two spring tongues 7, 7) and one or more second openings (formed by the recess 8 in each of the two spring tongues 7, 7; see Fig. 1), and wherein the retainer (7, 7) is configured to receive the post (15) via the first opening for the one or more protrusions (16, 16) to engage the one or more second openings on the retainer.
Claims 1, 16, 18, 20, and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakayama (US Patent 11,811,081).
Re Claim 1: Nakayama discloses a device (2), comprising:
one or more elements configured to screwlessly and removably engage a component (270, 120; see Fig. 9) of the device with a housing (250) of the device, the one or more elements comprising a fastener (232) and a retainer (271b), the fastener comprising a post (232a) with plural protrusions (232b) extending orthogonally therefrom, the post configured to engage the retainer (271b) via the protrusions (232b).
Re Claim 16: Nakayama discloses a device, comprising the component (270, 120), wherein the component is a battery (see battery 110 within housing 120 of battery pack 100; Fig. 1).
Re Claim 18: Nakayama discloses a method, comprising:
providing a device (2), and
providing one or more elements configured to screwlessly and removably engage a component (270, 120; see Fig. 9) of the device with a housing (250) of the device, the one or more elements comprising a fastener (232) and a retainer (271b), the fastener comprising a post (232) with one or more protrusions (232b) extending orthogonally therefrom, the post configured to engage the retainer (271b) via the protrusions (232b).
Re Claim 20: Nakayama discloses an assembly (2) configured to engage a housing (250) of a device, comprising:
one or more elements configured to screwlessly and removably engage a component (270, 120; see Fig. 9) of the device with a housing (250) of the device, the one or more elements comprising a fastener (232) and a retainer (271b), the fastener comprising a post (232) with one or more protrusions (232b) extending orthogonally therefrom, the post configured to engage the retainer (271b) via the protrusions (232b).
Re Claim 30: Nakayama discloses a device (2), wherein the fastener (232) comprises a base (at 231; Fig. 8) to which the post (232a) is coupled, the base being couplable to the device.
Re Claim 31: Nakayama discloses a device (2), wherein the base (231) is couplable to the housing (250) of the device.
Re Claim 32: Nakayama discloses a device (2), wherein the post (232a) is configured to engage a screw hole (the central opening of annular portion 251; examiner notes that a “screw hole” need not include a screw, or even screw threads, but must only be capable of receiving a screw; see note below) on the device.
Note: Examiner notes that, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does and thus, a prior art device must only be capable of performing the stated function in order to read on the functional limitation. In this instance, the prior art discloses every structural limitation of the claim and thus this limitation fails to distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of the prior art. Please see MPEP 2114. In this case, the term “screw hole” does not require a screw, but merely requires a hole capable of receiving a screw.
Re Claim 33: Nakayama discloses a device (2), wherein the screw hole (the central opening of annular portion 251) is located on the housing (250) of the device.
Re Claim 34: Nakayama discloses a device (2), wherein one or more of the fastener and the retainer (271b) are made integrally with the housing (270, 120) of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamm (DE 19929083), as applied to claims 1, 18, 20-31, and 34-35 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US Patent 5,615,250).
Re Claims 16 and 17: Hamm, as discussed for claim 1 above, discloses a device significantly as claimed except for further comprising the component, wherein the component is a battery (as is require by claim 16); and/or wherein the component is a memory card (as is required by claim 17).
Kobayashi teaches the use of a device (1; see Figs. 2-4), comprising one or more elements (7, 9) configured to screwlessly and removably engage a component (for example, battery pack 3 in combination with IC card 2) of the device with a housing (20) of the device; and further comprising the component (2, 3), wherein the component is a battery (battery pack 3); and/or wherein the component is a memory card (IC card 2), for the purpose of connecting a battery and/or a memory card to the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hamm, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises the component, wherein the component is a battery (as is require by claim 16); and/or wherein the component is a memory card (as is required by claim 17), as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of connecting a battery and/or a memory card to the device.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama (US Patent 11,811,081), as applied to claims 1, 16, 20, and 30-34 above, and further in view of Kobayashi (US Patent 5,615,250).
Re Claim 17: Nakayama, as discussed for claim 1 above, discloses a device significantly as claimed except for further comprising the component, wherein the component is a memory card.
Kobayashi teaches the use of a device (1; see Figs. 2-4), comprising one or more elements (7, 9) configured to screwlessly and removably engage a component (for example, battery pack 3 in combination with IC card 2) of the device with a housing (20) of the device; and further comprising the component (2, 3), wherein the component is a memory card (IC card 2), for the purpose of connecting a memory card to the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakayama, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that it further comprises the component, wherein the component is a memory card, as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of connecting a battery and/or a memory card to the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection set forth in this Office Action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678