DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/27/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 17 and 20 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (US 12241976 B2) in view of Gavin (US 20240418881 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freeman teaches a sonar transducer[Transducers #118 in Figs 3-8]
the marine electronic device configured to operate to provide real-time marine data from the sonar transducer in a first mode, wherein the marine electronic device is further configured to change to a power-saving mode in which the marine electronic device operates by drawing a reduced amount of power from a power source and does not provide real-time marine data from the sonar transducer [Col 22, Lines 50-65 has low power mode ; Col 5 Lines 55- Col 6 Line 25 also has transducer going into standby mode meaning no real time data],
and a second device, wherein the second device uses power from a second power source[Figs 4-8 have trolling motor #104 with trolling motor battery #126 which is separate power from Cranking battery meaning trolling motor is the second device]; wherein the marine electronic device comprises[Fig 1 has #device #102]:
a display 102 has display called MFD];
one or more processors 3 Line 65 has microprocessor in fish finder];
and a memory including a computer program code configured to, when executed, cause the one or more processors to[Col 30 Line 1 has memory]:…..
and cause presentation of a representation of the second device real-time marine data on a screen of the marine electronic device based on receipt of the second device real-time marine data while still operating in the power-saving mode. [See also Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and transducer display to fishfinder #102 meaning data from the device is being displayed and Col 22, Lines 50-65 for low power mode such as reduced brightness/display during low power mode]
Freeman does not explicitly teach receive second device real-time marine data from the second device, wherein the second device real-time marine data is gathered or determined via the second device and not the marine electronic device [Though Fig 12 shows dedicated heading sensor #116 and sonar transducer #130; Fig 13 has dedicated GPS; See also Col 21, Lines 60 -Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and transducer display to fishfinder #102 it does not appear that these devices use a second power source though a person of ordinary skill would consider having batteries on them for backup as the trolling motor clearly has its own battery ];
Gavin teaches and a second device, wherein the second device uses power from a second power source[Fig3, 5, 6 and 0029-0032 have an acoustic sensor with its own battery see also 0049 and 0056-0059 meaning it's a second device with its own power] receive second device real-time marine data from the second device, wherein the second device real-time marine data is gathered or determined via the second device and not the marine electronic device[Fig 3, 5, 6 and 0029 and 0036 have data transmission and processing in the device]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the devices in Freeman with the batteries of Gavin in order to have an independent power source for remote operation.
Regarding claim 17, Freeman discloses determining whether to implement a power-saving mode on a marine electronic device, wherein the marine electronic device is configured to operate to provide real-time marine data from a sonar transducer in a first mode [Summary of invention Col 2, Lines 25-65 has various modes such as normal, standby, sweep, home where sonar is active],
and wherein the marine electronic device is further configured to change to the power-saving mode in which the marine electronic device operates by drawing a reduced amount of power from a power source and does not provide real-time date from the sonar transducer[Col 22, Lines 50-65 has low power mode ; Col 5 Lines 55 - Col 6 Line 25 also has transducer going into standby mode meaning no real time data];
…..and displaying a representation of the second device real-time marine data on a screen of the marine electronic device based on receipt of the second device real-time marine data while still operating in the power-saving mode. [See also Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and transducer display to fishfinder #102 meaning data from the device is being displayed and Col 22, Lines 50-65 for low power mode such as reduced brightness/display during low power mode]
Freeman does not explicitly teach receiving second device real-time marine data from a second device wherein the second device real-time marine data is gathered or determined via the second device and not the marine electronic device, wherein the second device draws power from a second power Though Fig 12 shows dedicated heading sensor #116 and sonar transducer #130; Fig 13 has dedicated GPS; See also Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and transducer display to fishfinder #102 it does not appear that these devices use a second power source though a person of ordinary skill would consider having batteries on them for backup as the trolling motor clearly has its own battery];
Gavin teaches receiving second device real-time marine data from a second device[Fig 3, 5, 6 and 0029 and 0036 have data transmission and processing in the device] wherein the second device real-time marine data is gathered or determined via the second device and not the marine electronic device, wherein the second device draws power from a second power source[Fig 3, 5, 6 and 0029-0032 have an acoustic sensor with its own battery see also 0049 and 0056-0059 meaning it's a second device with its own power and 0029 and 0036 have data transmission and processing in the device]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the devices in Freeman with the batteries of Gavin in order to have an independent power source for remote operation.
Regarding claim 20, Freeman discloses a display 102 has display called MFD];
one or more processors 3 Line 65 has microprocessor in fish finder];
and a memory including a computer program code configured to, when executed, cause the one or more processors to[Col 30 Line 1 has memory]:
operate according to a power-saving mode on the marine electronic device[Col 22, Lines 50-65 has low power mode ; Col 5 Lines 55 Col 6 Line 25 also has transducer going into standby mode meaning no real time data],
wherein the marine electronic device is configured to operate to provide real-time marine data from a sonar transducer in a first mode[Col 2, Lines 30-60 have various images being displayed],
and wherein the marine electronic device is further configured to change to the power-saving mode in which the marine electronic device operates by drawing a reduced amount of power from a power source and does not provide real-time date from the sonar transducer[Col 22, Lines 50-65 has low power mode ; Col 5 Lines 55 - Col 6 Line 25 also has transducer going into standby mode meaning no real time data];
…..and display a representation of the second device real-time marine data on a screen of the marine electronic device based on receipt of the second device real-time marine data while still operating in the power-saving mode. [See also Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and transducer display to fishfinder #102 meaning data from the device is being displayed and Col 22, Lines 50-65 for low power mode such as reduced brightness/display during low power mode
Freeman does not explicitly teach receive second device real-time marine data from a second device, wherein the second device real-time marine data is gathered or determined via the second device and not the marine electronic device, wherein the second device draws power from a second power source[Though Fig 12 shows dedicated heading sensor #1 16 and sonar transducer #130; Fig 13 has dedicated GPS; See also Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and transducer display to fishfinder #102 it does not appear that these devices use a second power source though a person of ordinary skill would consider having batteries on them for backup as the trolling motor clearly has its own battery]
Gavin teaches receiving second device real-time marine data from a second device[Fig 3, 5, 6 and 0029 and 0036 have data transmission and processing in the device]
wherein the second device real-time marine data is gathered or determined via the second device and not the marine electronic device, wherein the second device draws power from a second power source[Fig3, 5, 6 and 0029-0032 have an acoustic sensor with its own battery see also 0049 and 0056-0059 meaning it's a second device with its own power and 0029 and 0036 have data transmission and processing in the device]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the devices in Freeman with the batteries of Gavin in order to have an independent power source for remote operation.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Freeman teaches wherein the second device is connected to a second sonar transducer. [Fig 12 has sonar transducer #130 on trolling motor #104]
Regarding claim 3, Freeman teaches wherein the second device operates by drawing an amount of power from the second power source. [Fig 1 cellphone #114 meaning second device with second power source; Figs 4-8 have trolling motor battery # 126 which is separate power from Cranking battery]
Regarding claim 4, Freeman teaches wherein the second device provides at least a portion of the second device real-time marine data from the second sonar transducer. [Fig 12 has sonar transducer #130 on trolling motor #104]
Regarding claim 5, Freeman teaches wherein the system further comprises a data network. [Title, Abstract, Field of invention and Claim 1 all relate to network on a boat]
Regarding claim 6, Freeman teaches wherein the second device real-time marine data travels through the data network to the marine electronic device. [Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 have Live Sonar]
Regarding claim 7, Freeman teaches wherein causing presentation of the representation of the second device real-time marine data on the screen of the marine electronic device further includes dynamically updating the representation of the second device real-time marine data on the screen of the marine electronic device. [Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and transducer display to fishfinder #102 and Col 22, Lines 50-65 for low power mode]
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Freeman teaches wherein the representation of the second device real-time marine data is displayed on the screen of the marine electronic device without increasing the reduced amount of power from the power source past a predetermined threshold. [Col 4 Lines 30-45 and Col 22, Lines 55-65 have battery levels and screen brightness for low power mode meaning predetermined threshold]
Regarding claim 9, Freeman teaches wherein the second device is a second marine electronic device. [Figs 4-13 have trolling motor #104 which is a second marine electronic device]
Regarding claim 10, Freeman teaches wherein the second device is a trolling motor. [Figs 4-13 have trolling motor #104]
Regarding claim 11, Freeman teaches wherein the second device real-time marine data includes at least one of depth data, water temperature data, fuel data, weather data, wind data, tide data, sonar data, anchor data, or vessel data. [Fig 12 shows dedicated trolling motor battery and heading sensor #116; Fig 13 has dedicated GPS; See also Col 21, Lines 60-Col 22 Lines 10 for GPS and Live sonar display; Col 23, Lines 10-15 for fuel monitor; Col 4, lines 45-55 has temperature and depth data, Col 5, Lines 1-5 have anchoring data. etc]
Regarding claim 12, Freeman teaches wherein the vessel data includes at least one of a vessel length, bow height, a vessel draft, a minimum turn radius, or trim tab data. [Abstract and Claim 1 have trim tab data]
Regarding claim 13, Freeman teaches wherein the second device is located on a bow portion of a watercraft, and wherein the marine electronic device is located on a middle portion or a stern portion of the watercraft. [Fig 1 has trolling motor #104 at the bow and device #102 in the middle; There is also mobile #114 that can be located anywhere]
Regarding claim 14, Freeman teaches wherein the processor is further configured to receive user input indicating that the power-saving mode is desired. [Col 4 Lines 30-45 and Col 22, Lines 55-65 have low power mode based on user preferences]
Regarding claim 16, Freeman teaches wherein the marine electronic device is separate from the second device. [Display at #102 is separate from cell phone 114 or trolling motor 104].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman (US 12393386B2) in view of Gavin (US 20240418881 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Salmon (US 11173996 B2).
Regarding claim 15, Freeman does not explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to change into the power-saving mode automatically based on a predetermined amount of time having elapsed without user-interaction detected.
Salmon teaches that wherein the processor is further configured to change into the power-saving mode automatically based on a predetermined amount of time having elapsed without user interaction detected. [Col 3; Lines 45-55 has system going into standby mode after period of inactivity]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the display in Freeman with the timed standby of Salmon in order to save power if the system is not being used.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Here applicant is reading the prior art overly narrowly on pages 7-10 of the remarks. As pointed above in the present rejection Freeman having power saving or low power or changing the brightness of the display as part of the low power mode means the display is still presenting real time data. This directly reads on applicants claims as applicant has stated on page 7 as being the inventive concept of having a power saving mode. Moreover the amendment does not meaningfully further narrow the claim as it would be necessary to receive data from the second device before it can be displayed.
In response to applicant's argument that the combination has an independent power source as compared to powering a device while it gets data from a separately powered device, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645