DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed on 1-30-2026 is acknowledged. Claim 19 has been amended. Claims 19-28 and 37-38 are pending. Claims 25, 27-28 and 37-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 19-24 and 26 are currently under examination. It should be noted that claims 37 and 38 have improper claim status indicators. Claims are either “withdrawn” or “previously presented”. Said identifiers need to be corrected in order for any response to this action to be considered fully responsive.
Claim Rejections Withdrawn
The rejection of claims 19-21, 23-24 and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Banci et al. (WO 2011/051893 – IDS filed on 6-23-2025) is withdrawn in light of the amendment thereto.
The rejection of claims 19-23 and 26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. (Journal of Infectious Disease Vol. 200, pages 379-389 – IDS filed on 6-23-2025) is withdrawn in lieu of the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections Maintained
35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 19-23 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murphy et al. (Journal of Infectious Disease Vol. 200, pages 379-389 – IDS filed on 6-23-2025) is maintained for reasons of record.
Applicant argues:
1. The cited reference doesn’t disclose, teach or suggest a polypeptide with at least 85% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:47.
With regard to Point 1, given that the claims limit the recitation of the percentage to 2 places the cited reference does disclose a sequence with 85% sequence identity when properly rounded (as is standard within the art).
As outlined previously, Murphy et al. disclose vaccines comprising Neisseria meningitidis Factor H Binding Proteins with at least 85% sequence identity to the sequence of SEQ ID NO:47 and a variant with the L123R substitution; a serine at residue 32 and a glutamate at residue 240 (see the alignment below). Consequently, Murphy et al. anticipates all the limitations of the rejected claims.
RESULT 228
RA Murphy E., Andrew L., Lee K.L., Dilts D.A., Nunez L., Fink P.S.,
RA Ambrose K., Borrow R., Findlow J., Taha M.K., Deghmane A.E., Kriz P.,
RA Musilek M., Kalmusova J., Caugant D.A., Alvestad T., Mayer L.W.,
RA Sacchi C.T., Wang X., Martin D., von Gottberg A., du Plessis M.,
RA Klugman K.P., Anderson A.S., Jansen K.U., Zlotnick G.W., Hoiseth S.K.;
RT "Sequence diversity of the factor H binding protein vaccine candidate in
RT epidemiologically relevant strains of serogroup B Neisseria meningitidis.";
RL J. Infect. Dis. 200:379-389(2009).
RN [2] {ECO:0007829|PDB:7NRU}
Query Match 84.6%; Score 1049.5; Length 255;
Best Local Similarity 82.7%;
Matches 205; Conservative 19; Mismatches 23; Indels 1; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 VAADIGAGLADALTAPLDHKDKSLQSLTLDQXVRKNEKLKLAAQGAEKTYGNGDSLNTGK 60
|||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 8 VAADIGAGLADALTAPLDHKDKGLQSLTLDQSVRKNEKLKLAAQGAEKTYGNGDSLNTGK 67
Qy 61 LKNDKVSRFDFIRQIEVDGQLITLESGEFQIYKQDHSAVVALQIEKINNPDKIDSLINQR 120
|||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||:||| |||: ||| |:: : : :: :|
Db 68 LKNDKVSRFDFIRQIEVDGKLITLESGEFQVYKQSHSALTALQTEQVQDSEDSGKMVAKR 127
Qy 121 SFXVSGLGGEHTAFNQLP-DGKAEYHGKAFSSDDAGGKLTYTIDFAAKQGHGKIEHLKTP 179
|:: : ||||:|::|| | | | | || |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 128 QFRIGDIAGEHTSFDKLPKGGSATYRGTAFGSDDAGGKLTYTIDFAAKQGHGKIEHLKTP 187
Qy 180 EQNVELAAAELKADEKSHAVILGDTRYGSEEKGTYHLALFGDRAQEIAGSATVKIGEKVH 239
|||||||:|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Db 188 EQNVELASAELKADEKSHAVILGDTRYGGEEKGTYHLALFGDRAQEIAGSATVKIREKVH 247
Qy 240 XIGIAGKQ 247
:|||||||
Db 248 EIGIAGKQ 255
New Grounds of Rejection
35 USC § 103
Claims 19-23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy et al. (Journal of Infectious Disease Vol. 200, pages 379-389 – IDS filed on 6-23-2025) and Pizza et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0020390).
Murphy et al. disclose vaccines comprising Neisseria meningitidis Factor H Binding Proteins with at least 85% sequence identity to the sequence of SEQ ID NO:47 and a variant with the L123R substitution; a serine at residue 32 and a glutamate at residue 240 (see the alignment below). Consequently, Murphy et al. anticipates all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Murphy et al. differs from the instant invention in that they don’t explicit the use of adjuvants in their compositions.
Pizza et al. disclose vaccine compositions comprising the fHbp protein of Neisseria meningitidis (see abstract and paragraph [0058] for example). Pizza et al. further disclose that their vaccines can be used in their compositions (see paragraph [0070]) and that said adjuvant can be aluminum phosphate (see paragraph [0072]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the adjuvants disclosed by Pizza et al. in the compositions of Murphy et al. in order increase the immunogenicity of the vaccine compositions.
One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as both Murphy et al. and Pizza et al. disclose vaccine compositions comprising the fHbp protein.
Moreover, given that it is well settled that adjuvants are used in a myriad of vaccine compositions (as evidenced by Pizza et al.), the addition of an adjuvant to the polypeptide compositions of Murphy et al. would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Moreover, the KSR decision sets forth “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill”. Given that Murphy et al. disclose the use of their fHbp in vaccine compositions and that the use of adjuvants in vaccine compositions is well established in the art, the use of adjuvants in the compositions of Murphy et al. is well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Hence, the requirements of obviousness under the KSR decision are met.
RESULT 228
RA Murphy E., Andrew L., Lee K.L., Dilts D.A., Nunez L., Fink P.S.,
RA Ambrose K., Borrow R., Findlow J., Taha M.K., Deghmane A.E., Kriz P.,
RA Musilek M., Kalmusova J., Caugant D.A., Alvestad T., Mayer L.W.,
RA Sacchi C.T., Wang X., Martin D., von Gottberg A., du Plessis M.,
RA Klugman K.P., Anderson A.S., Jansen K.U., Zlotnick G.W., Hoiseth S.K.;
RT "Sequence diversity of the factor H binding protein vaccine candidate in
RT epidemiologically relevant strains of serogroup B Neisseria meningitidis.";
RL J. Infect. Dis. 200:379-389(2009).
RN [2] {ECO:0007829|PDB:7NRU}
Query Match 84.6%; Score 1049.5; Length 255;
Best Local Similarity 82.7%;
Matches 205; Conservative 19; Mismatches 23; Indels 1; Gaps 1;
Qy 1 VAADIGAGLADALTAPLDHKDKSLQSLTLDQXVRKNEKLKLAAQGAEKTYGNGDSLNTGK 60
|||||||||||||||||||||| ||||||||:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 8 VAADIGAGLADALTAPLDHKDKGLQSLTLDQSVRKNEKLKLAAQGAEKTYGNGDSLNTGK 67
Qy 61 LKNDKVSRFDFIRQIEVDGQLITLESGEFQIYKQDHSAVVALQIEKINNPDKIDSLINQR 120
|||||||||||||||||||:||||||||||:||| |||: ||| |:: : : :: :|
Db 68 LKNDKVSRFDFIRQIEVDGKLITLESGEFQVYKQSHSALTALQTEQVQDSEDSGKMVAKR 127
Qy 121 SFXVSGLGGEHTAFNQLP-DGKAEYHGKAFSSDDAGGKLTYTIDFAAKQGHGKIEHLKTP 179
|:: : ||||:|::|| | | | | || |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 128 QFRIGDIAGEHTSFDKLPKGGSATYRGTAFGSDDAGGKLTYTIDFAAKQGHGKIEHLKTP 187
Qy 180 EQNVELAAAELKADEKSHAVILGDTRYGSEEKGTYHLALFGDRAQEIAGSATVKIGEKVH 239
|||||||:|||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||| ||||
Db 188 EQNVELASAELKADEKSHAVILGDTRYGGEEKGTYHLALFGDRAQEIAGSATVKIREKVH 247
Qy 240 XIGIAGKQ 247
:|||||||
Db 248 EIGIAGKQ 255
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/ROBERT A ZEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1645 June 23, 2026