DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Seo (US 2021/0328248).
As to claim 1, Seo discloses fuel cell system (figure 3, discussed throughout) comprising:
a housing (figure 3, #100, [0035], discussed throughout) including a first section in which a fuel cell and a hydrogen flow passage are disposed (figure 3 #200 and #300, [0040], [0047], discussed throughout) and a second section which is adjacent to the first section and in which an auxiliary machine is disposed (figure 3 #700 is the auxiliary machine, [0047], discussed throughout),
wherein the housing has a connection part between the hydrogen flow passage and an external hydrogen flow passage disposed outside the housing (figure 3), on a wall different from a partition wall sectioning the first section and the second section among walls constituting the first section (figure 3).
As to claim 13, Seo discloses wherein a reserve tank included in a cooling system that cools a fuel cell stack of the fuel cell module is disposed in the first section, and the reserve tank is disposed above the fuel cell stack (figure 3 #530, [0054], discussed throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi (US 2010/0279184).
As to claim 1, Takeuchi discloses a fuel cell system (figure 5, [0004], discussed throughout) comprising:
a housing (figure 5, the perimeter of Hr, Hh and Hs is the housing, [0060], discussed throughout) including a first section in which a fuel cell (figure 5 #51, [0028], discussed throughout) and a hydrogen flow passage are disposed (figure 5, #2 the portion within the first section, [0031], discussed throughout) and a second section which is adjacent to the first section and in which an auxiliary machine is disposed (figure 5 the section of Hh, #4, heat exchanger [0062], discussed throughout),
wherein the housing has a connection part between the hydrogen flow passage and an external hydrogen flow passage disposed outside the housing (figure 5 #6, the portion of the gas exit passage that is outside of the housing), on a wall different from a partition wall sectioning the first section and the second section among walls constituting the first section (figure 5 the partition wall is the wall shared between Hh and Hs and the wall in which #6 is different, discussed throughout).
Takeuchi is silent to wherein the fuel cell is a fuel cell module. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to have the fuel cell be a fuel cell module or a plurality of fuel cell modules as a mere duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 2, Takeuchi discloses wherein, the auxiliary machine includes at least one of a switchboard (figure 5 the controller B, [0063], discussed throughout), an air intake unit that takes air into the fuel cell module, and a heat exchanger through which a coolant that cools components included in the fuel cell module flows (figure 5, there is a portion that cools when air comes into 4a and then leaves through #13, there is a portion where the air intake takes there air into the fuel cell #11, discussed throughout).
As to claim 3, Takeuchi is silent to wherein, the partition wall sections the first section and the second section in an airtight manner. However, it would have been obvious to have the partition wall sections the first section and the second section in an airtight manner given a finite number of options i.e. air tight or not air tight (see MPEP 2143 I).
As to claim 4, Takeuchi discloses further comprising a member disposed through a through hole provided in the partition wall (figure 5, the pipes, discussed throughout). Takeuchi is silent to wherein the partition wall is provided with a seal structure that closes a gap between the through hole and the member. However, if the sections are within an airtight manor, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to seal the location the pipes go through in order to make the sections airtight (see MPEP 2143).
As to claim 5, Takeuchi discloses wherein, an exhaust passage connected to the fuel cell module is disposed in the first section, and the exhaust passage includes a flow passage that guides exhaust gas downward from the fuel cell module (figure 5, note that there is not nothing relative to downward thus any direction can be downward).
As to claim 6, Takeuchi discloses wherein, a pipe coupling part that couples pipes constituting the hydrogen flow passage is provided in the first section, and the pipe coupling part includes an upper pipe coupling part disposed above the fuel cell module (figure 5 #7 can be the pipe coupling part as it couples pipes, [0037], discussed throughout).
As to claim 7, Takeuchi discloses wherein, a pipe coupling part that couples pipes constituting the hydrogen flow passage is provided in the first section, and the fuel cell system comprises a cover member that covers at least a part of a periphery of the pipe coupling part (figure 5, #7, [0032] can be the pipe coupling part as it couples pipes and anything can be the cover member given how vague the term is i.e. a wall or a portion of the fuel cell or other piping).
As to claim 8, Takeuchi discloses wherein, the hydrogen flow passage includes a vent passage through which hydrogen is discharged from the fuel cell module, and the fuel cell system comprises a drain part connected to the vent passage (figure 5, the portion of the pipe #6 within the housing and the drain part can be #10 within the housing as both are venting and draining the fuel cell of exhaust gases, discussed throughout).
As to claim 9, Takeuchi discloses wherein, the first section has a ventilation device that ventilates an inside of the section or a ventilation device connection part connected to the ventilation device (figure 5 #10 the portion that is outside of the housing would read on the instant claimed invention, discussed throughout).
As to claim 12, Takeuchi discloses wherein, the first section is disposed above the second section, and the ventilation device or the ventilation device connection part is provided on an upper wall of the first section (figure 5, discussed throughout).
As to claim 14, Takeuchi is silent to wherein, the auxiliary machine includes an air intake unit that takes air into the fuel cell module, and a number of the air intake units disposed in the second section is the same as a number of a plurality of the fuel cell modules disposed in the first section. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the it match the number of air intake unites to the number of fuel cell modules as a mere duplication of parts (see MPEP 2144.04).
As to claim 15, Takeuchi discloses wherein, a plurality of the fuel cell modules are disposed in the first section, the hydrogen flow passage includes a vent passage that discharges hydrogen from the fuel cell modules, and the vent passage includes a shared vent passage shared among the plurality of the fuel cell modules (figure 5, as modified by claim 1 above).
As to claim 16, Takeuchi discloses wherein, a valve device is disposed between a wall on which the connection part is provided and the fuel cell module in the first section (figure 5 #7, [0032], discussed throughout).
As to claim 17, Takeuchi discloses wherein, the first section is provided so that the first section can be filled with an inert gas (figure 5, claim states can be, an inert gas can be filled does not require it to stay filled or air tight or to even be filled merely can be, thus figure 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724