Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ghosh et al (US 2023/0361469).
Regarding claim 1, Ghosh discloses in Figure 1, an antenna assembly comprising:
a conductive ground plane (10);
a lower layer (5, 11) of dielectric material above the conductive ground plane (9);
an upper layer (4) of dielectric material above the lower layer of dielectric material (5, 11),
wherein at least one of the lower (5, 11) or upper (4) layers of dielectric material comprise dielectric foam (“roha cell dielectric layers (5, 6)”, see par. 0051);
a conductive feed line (7) embedded within the lower layer (5, 11) of dielectric material between at least a section (5) of the lower layer of dielectric material and the upper layer (4) of dielectric material; and
a conductive patch (3) above the upper layer of dielectric material, wherein the conductive patch is configured for electromagnetic coupling with the conductive feed line (7).
Regarding claim 4, as applied to claim 1, Ghosh discloses in Figure 1,
wherein the lower layer (5, 6) of dielectric material is a first lower layer (6) of dielectric material, and wherein the antenna assembly further comprises: a second lower layer (5) of dielectric material above the first lower layer (6) of dielectric material,
such that the conductive feed line (7) is between the first (6) and second (5) lower layers of dielectric material, and
the upper layer (4) of dielectric material is above the second lower layer (5) of dielectric material.
Regarding claim 7, as applied to claim 7, Ghosh discloses in Figure 2,
wherein the conductive feed line is a first conductive feed line (7, left side of 8), and a second conductive feed (7, right side of 8) line between at least another section of the lower layer of dielectric material and the upper layer of dielectric material.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1, Ghosh in Figure 1,
wherein coupling from the conductive patch (7) to the conductive feed line (7) is free of solder joints.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamogawa et al (US 6,384,785) in view of Chen (CN 105305037).
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5, as applied to claims 1 and 4, Kamogawa discloses in Figure 13B, an antenna assembly comprising:
a conductive ground plane (11);
a lower layer (1) of dielectric material above the conductive ground plane (11);
an upper layer (2) of dielectric material above the lower layer of dielectric material (1),
wherein at least one of the lower (2) or upper (1) layers of dielectric material comprise dielectric foam;
a conductive feed line (13) embedded within the lower layer (1) of dielectric material between at least a section of the lower layer (1) of dielectric material and the upper layer (2) of dielectric material; and
a conductive patch (12) above the upper layer (2) of dielectric material, wherein the conductive patch (12) is configured for electromagnetic coupling with the conductive feed line (13);
wherein a dielectric constant of the lower layer (1) of dielectric material is at least 25% more than a dielectric constant of the upper layer (2) of dielectric material (see col. 8, lines 49-53).
Kamogawa is silent at least more than 25%. However, such difference is not patentable merit. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to select or set the dielectric constant of the lower layer being more than 25% of the upper layer based on particular application or environment of use to optimize the radiation characteristic for the antenna assembly, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Note that, Kamogawa is silent on wherein the upper layer of dielectric material comprising dielectric foam.
Chen discloses in Figure 1, wherein the upper layer (4)of dielectric material comprising dielectric foam (see page 2 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to select the material of the upper layer being dielectric foam, since selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh et al (US 2023/0361469) in view of Komura (US 2025/0260169).
Regarding claim 6, Ghosh discloses every feature of claimed invention as expressly recited in claim 1, except for a shorting structure between the conductive ground plane and the conductive patch, wherein the shorting structure is monolithic and continuous with each of the conductive ground plane and the conductive patch.
Komura discloses in Figure 4, a shorting structure (VG, see par. 0047) between the conductive
ground plane (GND) and the conductive patch (121), wherein the shorting structure (VG) is monolithic
and continuous with each of the conductive ground plane (GND) and the conductive patch (121).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of claimed invention to modify the antenna assembly of Kamogawa and Chen with the antenna assembly having a shorting structure as taught by Komura to improve isolation between feed lines. Therefore, to employ having the shorting structure as claimed invention would have been obvious to person skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/DIEU HIEN T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845