Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amended the independent claims to recite “…transmit an indication of a suggestion to switch from a single sided round-trip time positioning to a double-sided round trip time positioning method based on the receiver-transmitter time difference measurement.” (CLM 7/14/2026, OA.APPENDIX 7/16/2026).
This amendment was discussed during the Telephone Interview (EXIN 7/16/2026), where Examiner stated that a further search would be required. Examiner is now using Yerramalli et al. (US 20230198700 A1) to disclose the amended limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20210306979 A1; which has been provided in the International Search Report, NPL 10/13/2024) in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 20230198700 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an anchor user device comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 2, Target Node; wherein the anchor user device is interpreted as the target node; Fig. 9, processor 910, memory 960; [0085]), cause the anchor user device at least to perform:
- receive a first target sidelink positioning reference signal (Title & Abstract disclose sidelink positioning; Fig. 2, step 230; [0028] discloses “Specifically, the source node sends a message comprising a source PRS 230 at time t1, which is received by the target node at time t2.”; [0059] discloses “For example, where the first sidelink-enabled device comprises a source node and the second sidelink-enabled device comprises the target node, embodiments of the method 600 may further comprise sending a PRS from the first sidelink-enabled device…”);
- transmit a first anchor sidelink positioning reference signal (Fig. 2, step 240; [0028] discloses “The target node then responds by sending a message comprising a target PRS 240 at time t3, which is then received by the source node at time t4.”);
- perform a receiver-transmitter time difference measurement based on the first target sidelink positioning reference signal and the first anchor sidelink positioning reference signal ([0028] discloses “RTT can then be calculated from the difference between t4 and t1 minus the difference between t3 and t2. From RTT, time-of-flight (TOF) can then be calculated (RTT/2), as well as distance (TOF*C).”).
Choi does not disclose: transmit an indication of a suggestion to switch from a single sided round-trip time positioning to a double-sided round trip time positioning method based on the receiver-transmitter time difference measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Yerramalli discloses: transmit an indication of a suggestion to switch from a single sided round-trip time positioning to a double-sided round trip time positioning method based on the receiver-transmitter time difference measurement (Fig. 8, block 808; Fig. 9, blocks 908, 912; [0101]; [0106]; [0108]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as disclosed by Yerramalli, in the system of Choi because using double-sided round trip time positioning method would improve the accuracy of the RTT determination.
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses determine whether to switch from the first sidelink round-trip time positioning method to the second round-trip time positioning method based on the performed receiver-transmitter time difference measurement ([0028] discloses “RTT can then be calculated from the difference between t4 and t1 minus the difference between t3 and t2. From RTT, time-of-flight (TOF) can then be calculated (RTT/2), as well as distance (TOF*C).”; [0033] discloses “….enabling the source node and/or target node to identify “switching” criteria to consider when deciding whether to switch from SS-based positioning to RTT-based positioning or vice versa…”).
- wherein the indication of the suggestion to switch at least indicates a suggestion whether to switch from the first sidelink round-trip time positioning method to the second round-trip time positioning method based on the determining whether to switch from the first sidelink round-trip time positioning method to the second round-trip time positioning method (Fig. 4, steps 450 and 430 disclose “send message with indication of RTT positioning or SS positioning”; wherein the indication is in the message).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses:
- determine an uncertainty of the receiver-transmitter time difference measurement ([0040] discloses inaccuracies in the measurements and that RTT based positioning may suffer less inaccuracies);
wherein the determining whether to switch is based on the uncertainty ([0040], last sentence discloses “Thus, according to some embodiments, the functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information may comprise obtaining information regarding whether the respective local oscillator of a source node or target node has been synchronized or initialized within a threshold amount of time before RTT positioning or SS positioning is to take place”; i.e. switching is based on uncertainty).
Choi does not disclose: the anchor user device further caused to:
- transmit an indication of the determined uncertainty.
However, Choi discloses sending messages which indicate RTT or SS positioning (Fig. 4, steps 450, 430). Hence, under Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationales E & F), also sending an indication of uncertainty is obvious to try or an obvious variation of the above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to also send the uncertainty information, as this would allow the recipient to know the accuracy of the positioning measurement.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses:
- receive a request for the indication of the suggestion to switch from the first sidelink round-trip time positioning method to the second round-trip time positioning method based on the receiver-transmitter time difference measurement (Fig. 4, step 420; [0036] discloses “Obtaining switching criteria information, therefore, may comprise obtaining data from various data sources to determine whether or not one or more switching conditions are met “; wherein the request is interpreted as obtaining the switching criteria information; [0006] discloses “The one or more processing units are also configured to send a message via the transceiver to a second sidelink-enabled device, where the message includes information indicative of the selected positioning type.”; [0043] discloses “… a message is sent by the source node to the target node, indicating SS positioning is to be performed….”);
- wherein the transmitting the indication of the suggestion to switch from the first sidelink round-trip time positioning method to the second round-trip time positioning method is performed based on to the received request ([0006]; [0043], as above).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses - transmit the switching conditions measurement for determining whether to switch from the first sidelink round-trip time positioning method to the second round-trip time positioning method (
[0041] discloses: “In some embodiments, communications sent to the source node and/or target node may cause this change from one mode to another.”;
[0046] discloses “As previously noted, the functionality at block 410 of obtaining switching criteria information performed at the source node may involve receiving information from the target node. Thus, in some embodiments, the target node may perform a method similar to method 400 of FIG. 4 to determine whether to use RTT positioning or SS positioning, and provide an indication to the source node. Moreover, this functionality may be coupled to the functionality of FIG. 4 such that both the target node and the source node may determine whether one or more switching conditions are met.“); wherein switching conditions can be determined by either the target node or the source node in Fig. 2;
and under Rationales for Obviousness (MPEP 2143, Rationales E & F) switching conditions could be time-difference measurements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to send time-difference information, as this would allow the recipient to decide whether a switch should be made or not.
Regarding claim 6, Choi does not disclose a double-sided round-trip time positioning method based on the receiver-transmitter time difference measurement and a second receiver-transmitter time difference measurement.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Yerramalli discloses: a double-sided round-trip time positioning method based on the receiver-transmitter time difference measurement and a second receiver-transmitter time difference measurement
(Fig. 9, block 908 discloses 1st RTT, block 916 discloses 2nd RTT).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as disclosed by Yerramalli, in the system of Choi because using double-sided round trip time positioning method would improve the accuracy of the RTT determination.
Regarding claim 7, Choi does not disclose the indication of the suggestion to switch comprises a request for a second anchor sidelink positioning reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, however, Yerramalli discloses the indication of the suggestion to switch comprises a request for a second anchor sidelink positioning reference signal (Fig. 9, block 912; wherein 2nd in instant application corresponds to 3rd in Yerramalli).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the method, as disclosed by Yerramalli, in the system of Choi because using double-sided round trip time positioning method would improve the accuracy of the RTT determination.
Claim 8 is similarly analyzed as claim 1, with claim 8 reciting limitations as seen from the target device side. In Choi, this corresponds to the source node side, whereas claim 1 corresponds to the target node side. The last limitation recites “…positioning of the target user device using the first round-trip time positioning method or the second round-trip time positioning method …”. This is disclosed by Choi ([0029] discloses “…This information can then be used, for example, by Kalman filter of a positioning engine of the target node to accurately estimate clock calibration and ultimately the position of the target node …”.
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the target user device is caused to determine, based on the received indication of the suggestion to switch, a position of the target user device using the first round-trip time positioning method or the second round-trip time positioning method (Fig. 4, steps 450 and 430 disclose “send message with indication of RTT positioning or SS positioning”; wherein the indication is in the message).
Claim 10 is similarly analyzed as claim 2.
Claim 11 is similarly analyzed as claim 7.
Claim 12 is similarly analyzed as claim 6.
Claim 13 is similarly analyzed as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, Choi discloses the indication of the suggestion to switch comprises an indication of a clock error of the anchor user device, wherein the determining whether to switch from the first sidelink round-trip time positioning method to the second round-trip time positioning method is further based on the indication of the clock error ([0032] discloses “….the Kalman filter of the positioning engine of the target node has to estimate more variables (e.g. location, clock bias, and clock drift) in the case of SS-based positioning 200-B, and may therefore be subject to a larger positioning error….”; [0037] discloses switching based on accuracy, which in turn is based on clock bias/drift).
Claim 15 is similarly analyzed as claim 1, with claim 15 reciting equivalent method limitations.
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
The following patents/publications are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to RTT usage and selection:
Oteri et al. (US 20260052504 A1) disclose methods for Sidelink Positioning Measurements.
Manolakos et al. (US 20260040266 A1) discloses us eof RTT for positioning ([0115]).
Yerramalli et al. (US 20250294605 A1) discloses Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal Based on Candidate Sensing Resource Configuration.
Manolakos et al. (US 20250247818 A1) discloses Sidelink Positioning Status Determination and Reporting.
Thomas et al. (US 20250227656 A1) discloses Techniques for Sidelink Power Control for Positioning Reference Signal Transmission.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ADOLF DSOUZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632