Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 – 16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to teach the combination of claimed limitations present in claim 1 and does not provide sufficient motivation to make the invention obvious as a whole. Park, US20180219217A1 teaches a multilayered anode comprising the claimed mixing ratio for the first active material mixture [0039], and Wang, US20160204422A1 teaches a multilayered anode material comprising the claimed materials present in the second active material mixture [0024][0027][0029][0038]. However, Wang does not teach the claimed second weight ratio.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, US20180219217A1, Wang, US20160204422A1.
Regarding claim 17, Park teaches a method for manufacturing an anode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising:
applying a slurry for forming a first anode active material layer on at least one surface of an anode current collector, thereby forming the first anode active material layer on the at least one surface of the anode current collector [0013];
applying a slurry for forming a second anode active material layer on the first anode active material layer, thereby forming the second anode active material layer [0013]; and
drying the first anode active material layer and the second anode active material layer, thereby forming the anode [0013],
wherein the first anode active material layer contains a mixture of natural graphite and artificial graphite as the anode active material and a first binder respectively [0039].,
Park does not teach wherein the second anode active material layer contains a mixture of artificial graphite and a silicon-based compound as the anode active material and a second binder respectively, and wherein a weight ratio of the first binder and the second binder is 1 to 2:1.
Wang teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising a multilayer anode [0008] wherein the second anode active material layer contains a mixture of artificial graphite (non-limited graphite selection)[0020] and a silicon-based compound as the anode active material and a second binder respectively (silicon layer containing graphite)[0020][0024] wherein a weight ratio of the first binder and the second binder is 1 to 2:1 (1:1)[0037][0038]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Further, Wang teaches that silicon anodes have a reduced degradation in capacity [0008]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the second active material layer composition of Wang into the battery of Park to improve capacity retention.
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches the method of claim 17.
Further, Park teaches wherein a thickness ratio of the first anode active material layer to the second anode active material layer is 30 to 50:50 to 70 (1 to 3:5 to 9). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 20, combined Park teaches the method of claim 17.
Further, Park teaches wherein the weight ratio of the first binder and the second binder is 1.3 to 1.7:1 (1 to 3:5 to 9). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park, US20180219217A1, Wang, US20160204422A1, as applied to claim 17 above and further in view of Lee, KR20160087121A.
Regarding claim 18, combined Park teaches the method of claim 17.
Combined Park does not teach wherein the silicon-based compound is a silicon-based oxide represented by the following Chemical Formula 1: SiOx [Chemical Formula] wherein 0<x<2.
Lee teaches a multilayer anode material [0001] comprising wherein the second anode active material layer contains a mixture of artificial graphite and a silicon-based compound as the anode active material and a second binder respectively [0012][0013][0033] wherein the silicon-based compound is a silicon-based oxide represented by the following Chemical Formula 1: SiOx [Chemical Formula] wherein 0<x<2 [0034]. Further, Lee teaches the silicon material to have excellent processability and capacity retention [0011]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the silicon material of Lee into the battery of combined Park to improve processability and capacity retention.
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724 /BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724