DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2010519707 A.
In regard to claims 1, 8, JP 2010519707 A discloses a contact pin 10 for a connector 12, comprising:
a contact wire extending between two ends,
an impedance adaptation element 14,
wherein the impedance adaptation element 14 is arranged between the two ends of the contact wire.
However, JP 2010519707 A discloses the impedance adaptation element 14 from three different disks instead of from a residual piece of a bandoleer strip and wherein at least one impedance adaptation element in the set of contact pins is shaped geometrically different than an impedance adaptation element of another contact pin in the set of contact pins.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of JP 2010519707 A by having impedance adaptation element 14 with different type of configurations since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the impedance adaptation element 14 are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing impedance matching A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
In regard to claims 9, 13, JP 2010519707 A discloses plug connector 12 comprising:
a contact pin 10 including a contact wire extending between two ends and an impedance adaptation element 14, wherein the impedance adaptation element 14 is arranged between the two ends of the contact wire; and
a shielding 32 receiving the contact pin 10 as an inner conductor, wherein the shielding has a cross-sectional jump between the two ends of the contact pin along a longitudinal direction of the shielding;
wherein the impedance adaptation element 14 of the contact pin 10 is arranged in a longitudinal direction of the contact wire at a level of the cross-sectional jump of the shielding 32.
However, JP 2010519707 A discloses the impedance adaptation element 14 from three different disks instead of from a residual piece of a bandoleer strip and wherein at least one impedance adaptation element in the set of contact pins is shaped geometrically different than an impedance adaptation element of another contact pin in the set of contact pins.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the invention of JP 2010519707 A by having impedance adaptation element 14 with different type of configurations since applicants have presented no explanation that these particular configurations of the impedance adaptation element 14 are significant or are anything more than one of numerous configurations a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing impedance matching A change in shape is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-17 are allowed.
Claims 2-7, 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regard to claims 2, 10-12, 14, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest the impedance adaptation element from the residual piece of the bandoleer strip comprises a holding section holding the contact wire and a mold section connected to the holding section via a material bridge. In regard to claim 15, the prior art fails to provide, teach or suggest cutting the bandoleer strip at a cut-off line in order to obtain a residual piece of the bandoleer strip fitted with the corresponding contact wire, wherein the cut-off line on the bandoleer strip runs between two contact wires arranged adjacent in a longitudinal direction of the bandoleer strip; and inserting the residual piece of the bandoleer strip fitted with the corresponding contact wire into a shielding having a cross-sectional jump.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
6/23/2026
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834