DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/14/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 6 and 11 have been added. Claims 1-17 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant's argument is not persuasive for purposes of a non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting (ODP) rejection. The argument improperly focuses on a preferred embodiment of the patented claims rather than the scope of the patented claims themselves. In an ODP analysis, the question is whether the pending claims are patentably distinct from the patented claims, not whether the specification emphasizes a different implementation.
Applicant argues (page 6) that claims 1, 6, 11, and 16-17 are patentably distinct from claims 1, 15, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,054 B2 because the patent allegedly requires a "mode-matching condition," whereas the present claims do not.
The arguments are not persuasive. The obviousness-type double patenting rejection is based upon the scope of the patented claims rather than upon particular embodiments or examples described in the specification. The proper inquiry is whether the pending claims define a patentably distinct invention over the patented claims. Minor differences in terminology, implementation details, or disclosed embodiments do not establish patentable distinctness where the pending claims merely represent an obvious variation of the patented claims.
Applicant's argument relies primarily upon the disclosure describing one embodiment in which a terminal determines whether its operating mode matches an SNPN mode before determining that emergency service is available through a particular cell. However, the patented claims are not limited to the specific embodiment relied upon by Applicant. Instead, the patented claims generally relate to emergency-service handling for terminals capable of operating with stand-alone non-public networks (SNPNs) and public networks, including determining network accessibility and performing emergency-service procedures based upon the terminal's operational state and network availability.
The presently pending claims likewise concern a terminal that is capable of accessing an SNPN and that performs an emergency-service handling operation when predetermined conditions exist. The recited preset conditions—including that the terminal is capable of accessing an SNPN, is operating in a non-SNPN access mode, or cannot access a PLMN providing emergency services—merely define operational circumstances under which the emergency procedure is initiated. Such operational conditions constitute obvious design choices and represent predictable variations of the operational states disclosed and claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,507,054 B2.
Applicant further argues that the present claims do not require a "mode-matching condition." However, the absence of an express mode-matching determination does not render the claims patentably distinct. Eliminating an explicit conditional determination or broadening the circumstances under which the emergency procedure is performed would have been an obvious modification that merely relaxes one condition governing execution of the same underlying emergency-service procedure. Such a modification does not produce a different invention but instead represents an obvious variation within the ordinary skill of the art.
Applicant additionally contends that a UE operating in a non-SNPN access mode may nevertheless be capable of accessing an SNPN and that this is allegedly "completely opposite" to the patented invention. The Examiner does not agree. A terminal's capability of accessing an SNPN and the terminal's current operating mode are not mutually exclusive concepts. A terminal may possess SNPN capability while presently operating in another access mode. The patented claims likewise do not exclude terminals having SNPN capability while temporarily operating outside the SNPN mode. Accordingly, Applicant's characterization of the two inventions as "completely opposite" is not supported by the claim language.
Moreover, the pending claims broadly recite that the preset condition comprises one or more of several alternative conditions. These alternative operational conditions merely broaden or reorganize the circumstances under which the emergency handling procedure is performed and therefore do not define a patentably distinct invention over the patented claims.
Accordingly, the pending claims do not define an invention that is patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in U.S. Patent No. 12,507,054 B2. Rather, the pending claims merely recite an obvious variation of the patented invention using substantially the same terminal capability and emergency-service concepts. Therefore, the rejection based upon non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting is maintained.
The Applicant's argument is not persuasive with regard to the 102 rejection of the claims. Applicant argues (page 7) that Tiwari fails to disclose the limitation: "in a case that a terminal satisfies a preset condition and needs to initiate an emergency service, performing, by the terminal, a target operation, wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of: (i) the terminal is capable of accessing an SNPN; (ii) the terminal is in a non-SNPN access mode; or (iii) the terminal is unable to access any PLMN providing emergency services." Applicant further argues that Tiwari requires the UE to operate in an SNPN access mode before initiating emergency service, whereas the present claims allegedly permit a UE operating in a non-SNPN access mode to access an SNPN. The arguments are not persuasive.
First, claim 1 recites that the preset condition comprises one or more of three alternative conditions. Thus, the claim does not require that all three conditions exist simultaneously. Satisfying any one of the listed conditions is sufficient to meet the claim limitation.
Tiwari expressly discloses that the UE supports both an SNPN and a PLMN (¶141). Therefore, the UE is capable of accessing an SNPN, which corresponds directly to one of the expressly recited preset conditions. Accordingly, Tiwari satisfies at least the first alternative condition recited in claim 1.
Further, Tiwari discloses that after an emergency service request is received (¶142), the UE disables SNPN access mode, selects an appropriate non-CAG cell associated with a PLMN, camps on that cell, and performs emergency registration and emergency service establishment. Consequently, during the emergency procedure, the UE operates in a non-SNPN access mode, corresponding to another expressly recited preset condition.
Applicant argues (page 90) that Tiwari requires the UE to disable SNPN access mode before initiating emergency service and therefore allegedly teaches away from the claimed invention. However, the claims do not exclude a terminal from transitioning between access modes. Nor do the claims require that the UE remain continuously in a non-SNPN access mode before or throughout the emergency procedure. Instead, the claims merely require that, when a preset condition exists and emergency service is needed, the terminal performs a target operation. Tiwari expressly satisfies this sequence. Specifically, once the emergency request is received, the UE satisfies the applicable preset condition (e.g., capability to access an SNPN and operation in a non-SNPN access mode after disabling SNPN mode) and then performs the emergency handling procedure by selecting an appropriate network and establishing emergency connectivity (¶141-¶142).
Applicant additionally asserts (page 8) that "a UE in a non-SNPN mode can also access an SNPN," whereas Tiwari allegedly requires the opposite. This argument is not commensurate with the scope of the claims. Claim 1 does not affirmatively require simultaneous operation in a non-SNPN access mode while accessing an SNPN, nor does it require maintaining SNPN accessibility without changing modes. The claim merely recites alternative conditions under which the emergency handling procedure is initiated. Tiwari discloses a UE that supports SNPN access, transitions between SNPN and non-SNPN access modes as appropriate, and performs emergency service handling based on those operational conditions. Therefore, Tiwari teaches the claimed functionality under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language.
Applicant also relies upon distinctions regarding the motivation or purpose of Tiwari's mode transition. However, anticipation requires only that the prior art disclose each claimed limitation arranged as in the claim; it does not require that the reference describe the limitation using identical terminology or for the identical purpose. Tiwari discloses a UE capable of accessing an SNPN, performing emergency service handling upon receipt of an emergency request, transitioning to non-SNPN operation when appropriate, and performing the claimed emergency operation. Accordingly, the claimed limitations are disclosed by Tiwari.
For at least these reasons, Applicant has not identified reversible error in the anticipation rejection. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-17 under 35 U.S.C. §102 is maintained.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16-17 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 15 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,507,054 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in US 112,507,054 B2 with obvious wording variations. For example, comparing claims 1, 6, 11 and 16-17 of pending application and claims 1, 15 and 20 of the U.S. Patent No. 12,507,054 B2:
Current application: 18/438,999
Patent # US 12,507,054 B2
1. An emergency service handling method, comprising: in a case that a terminal satisfies a preset condition and needs to initiate an emergency service, preforming, by the terminal, a target operation; wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following: the terminal is capable of accessing SNPN; the terminal is in a non-SNPN access mode; or the terminal is unable to access any public land mobile network (PLMN) providing emergency services.
6. A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: in a case that the terminal satisfies a preset condition and needs to initiate an emergency service, preforming a target operation; wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following: the terminal is capable of accessing SNPN; the terminal is in a non-SNPN access mode; or the terminal is unable to access any public land mobile network (PLMN) providing emergency services.
11. A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the terminal to perform: in a case that the terminal satisfies a preset condition and needs to initiate an emergency service, preforming a target operation; wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following: the terminal is capable of accessing SNPN; the terminal is in a non-SNPN access mode; or the terminal is unable to access any public land mobile network (PLMN) providing emergency services.
16. A chip, wherein the chip comprises a processor and a communications interface, the communications interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to execute a program or instructions to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1.
17. A computer program product, wherein the computer program product is stored in a non-transitory storage medium, and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor so as to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1.
1. A control method for obtaining an emergency service, performed by a terminal and comprising: obtaining access control information provided by a cell, wherein the access control information is used to indicate whether a terminal working in a target network mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service; and in a case that a network mode in which the terminal works matches the target network mode and that the access control information indicates that the terminal working in the target network mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service, determining that the cell is a cell in which the emergency service is available; characterized in that the target network mode comprises a standalone non-public network, SNPN, mode; and the access control information comprises: at least one piece of first indication information, each of which corresponding to a first SNPN, and the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal working in the SNPN mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service through the first SNPN.
15. A terminal, comprising a processor, a memory, and instructions stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, steps of a control method for obtaining an emergency service are implemented, the steps comprising: obtaining access control information provided by a cell, wherein the access control information is used to indicate whether a terminal working in a target network mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service; and in a case that a network mode in which the terminal works matches the target network mode and that the access control information indicates that the terminal working in the target network mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service, determining that the cell is a cell in which the emergency service is available-; characterized in that the target network mode comprises a standalone non-public network, SNPN, mode; and the access control information comprises: at least one piece of first indication information, each of which corresponding to a first SNPN, and the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal working in the SNPN mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service through the first SNPN.
20. A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium stores instructions, and when the instructions are executed by a processor, steps of a control method for obtaining an emergency service are implemented, the steps comprising: obtaining access control information provided by a cell, wherein the access control information is used to indicate whether a terminal working in a target network mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service; and in a case that a network mode in which the terminal works matches the target network mode and that the access control information indicates that the terminal working in the target network mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service, determining that the cell is a cell in which the emergency service is available; characterized in that the target network mode comprises a standalone non-public network, SNPN, mode; and the access control information comprises: at least one piece of first indication information, each of which corresponding to a first SNPN, and the first indication information is used to indicate whether the terminal working in the SNPN mode is supported in obtaining the emergency service through the first SNPN.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims include all the limitations of the instant application claims, respectively. The patent claims also include additional limitations. Hence, the instant application claims are generic to the species of invention covered by the respective patent claims. As such, the instant application claims are anticipated by the patent claims and are therefore not patentably distinct therefrom (See Eli Lilly and Co. v. Barr Laboratories Inc., 58 USPQ2D 1869, " a later genus claim limitation is anticipated by, and therefore not patentably distinct from, an earlier species claim", In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010, "Thus, the generic invention is 'anticipated' by the species of the patented invention" and the instant “application claims are generic to species of invention covered by the patent claim, and since without terminal disclaimer, extant species claim preclude issuance of generic application claims”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tiwari et al. (US 20220232670 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tiwari teaches an emergency service handling method (handling of the emergency service method of Fig. 6), comprising:
in a case that a terminal satisfies a preset condition (The UE 206 can support the SNPN 204 and the PLMN 202, [0141]) and needs to initiate an emergency service (UE 206 receives a request from the user for the emergency service, [0142]), preforming, by the terminal, a target operation (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]);
wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following: the terminal is capable of accessing SNPN (The UE 206 can support the SNPN 204 and the PLMN 202, [0141]);
the terminal is in a non-SNPN access mode; or
the terminal is unable to access any public land mobile network (PLMN) providing emergency services.
Regarding claim 2, Tiwari teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the performing, by the terminal, a target operation comprises: starting, by the terminal, operating in an SNPN access mode (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]); and attempting, by the terminal, to access an SNPN cell (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]).
Regarding claim 3, Tiwari teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the method further comprises: stopping, by the terminal, operating in the SNPN access mode in a case of satisfying a first condition (UE 206 receives a request from the user for the emergency service. In such a case, the UE 206 disables the SNPN access mode by disabling an Access Stratum (AS) layer and NAS capability related to SNPN, [0142]); wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: an emergency service of the terminal has been completed; or, an emergency service of the terminal has been released (UE 206 enters into the idle mode on the release/completion of the initiated emergency service, [0143]).
Regarding claim 4, Tiwari teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein the method further comprises: attempting, by the terminal, to access a PLMN cell (The UE 206 may select any one of the non-CAG cells that are available in the location of the UE 206, wherein the non-CAG cells can be gNBs or eNBs connecting to the 5GC or the EPC, [0142]; The non-CAG cell/RAN 202b can be a public cell/RAN, which can be accessed by the UE 206 to obtain the normal communication service (for example: IMS voice call, internet services, and so on) provided by the public PLMN, [0107]).
Regarding claim 5, Tiwari teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the emergency service comprises an emergency call service (The emergency services can support real-time, high priority total conversation services such as, but not limited to, voice calls, video calls, real-time text messages, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) emergency calls, or the like, [0095]).
Regarding claim 6, Tiwari teaches a terminal (UE 206 of Fig. 3), comprising a processor (controller 308), a memory (memory 302), and a program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (emergency mode enabling module 308c), wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform:
in a case that the terminal satisfies a preset condition (The UE 206 can support the SNPN 204 and the PLMN 202, [0141]) and needs to initiate an emergency service (UE 206 receives a request from the user for the emergency service, [0142]), preforming a target operation (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]);
wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following: the terminal is capable of accessing SNPN (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]);
the terminal is in a non-SNPN access mode; or
the terminal is unable to access any public land mobile network (PLMN) providing emergency services.
Regarding claim 7, Tiwari teaches the terminal according to claim 6, wherein when performing a target operation, the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform: starting operating in an SNPN access mode; and attempting to access an SNPN cell (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]); and attempting, by the terminal, to access an SNPN cell (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]).
Regarding claim 8, Tiwari teaches the terminal according to claim 7, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to further perform: stopping operating in the SNPN access mode in a case of satisfying a first condition (UE 206 receives a request from the user for the emergency service. In such a case, the UE 206 disables the SNPN access mode by disabling an Access Stratum (AS) layer and NAS capability related to SNPN, [0142]); wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: an emergency service of the terminal has been completed; or, an emergency service of the terminal has been released (UE 206 enters into the idle mode on the release/completion of the initiated emergency service, [0143]).
Regarding claim 9, Tiwari teaches the terminal according to claim 8, wherein the program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to further perform: attempting to access a PLMN cell (The UE 206 may select any one of the non-CAG cells that are available in the location of the UE 206, wherein the non-CAG cells can be gNBs or eNBs connecting to the 5GC or the EPC, [0142]).
Regarding claim 10, Tiwari teaches the terminal according to claim 6, wherein the emergency service comprises an emergency call service (The emergency services can support real-time, high priority total conversation services such as, but not limited to, voice calls, video calls, real-time text messages, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) emergency calls, or the like, [0095]).
Regarding claim 11, Tiwari teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium (memory 302 of Fig. 3), wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions (emergency mode enabling module 308c), wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the terminal to perform:
in a case that the terminal satisfies a preset condition (The UE 206 can support the SNPN 204 and the PLMN 202, [0141]) and needs to initiate an emergency service (UE 206 receives a request from the user for the emergency service, [0142]), preforming a target operation (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]);
wherein the preset condition comprises one or more of the following: the terminal is capable of accessing SNPN (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]); the terminal is in a non-SNPN access mode; or the terminal is unable to access any public land mobile network (PLMN) providing emergency services.
Regarding claim 12, Tiwari teaches the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein when performing a target operation, the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the terminal to perform: starting operating in an SNPN access mode (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]); and attempting to access an SNPN cell (UE 206 registers with the SNPN 204 and camps onto the SNPN cells/CAG cells for accessing the 5GC 202a (i.e., configured to operate in the SNPN access mode, [0141]).
Regarding claim 13, Tiwari teaches the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 12, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the terminal to further perform: stopping operating in the SNPN access mode in a case of satisfying a first condition (UE 206 receives a request from the user for the emergency service. In such a case, the UE 206 disables the SNPN access mode by disabling an Access Stratum (AS) layer and NAS capability related to SNPN, [0142]); wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: an emergency service of the terminal has been completed; or, an emergency service of the terminal has been released (UE 206 enters into the idle mode on the release/completion of the initiated emergency service, [0143]).
Regarding claim 14, Tiwari teaches the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 13, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor of the terminal, causes the terminal to further perform: attempting to access a PLMN cell (The UE 206 may select any one of the non-CAG cells that are available in the location of the UE 206, wherein the non-CAG cells can be gNBs or eNBs connecting to the 5GC or the EPC, [0142]).
Regarding claim 15, Tiwari teaches the non-transitory readable storage medium according to claim 11, wherein the emergency service comprises an emergency call service (The emergency services can support real-time, high priority total conversation services such as, but not limited to, voice calls, video calls, real-time text messages, IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS) emergency calls, or the like, [0095]).
Regarding claim 16, Tiwari teaches a chip, wherein the chip (UE of Fig. 3) comprises a processor and a communications interface, the communications interface is coupled to the processor, and the processor is configured to execute a program or instructions to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1 (FIG. 3 depicts the UE 206 configured to perform the emergency services by camping on the non-CAG cell 202a, [0116]).
Regarding claim 17, Tiwari teaches the computer program product (UE of Fig. 3), wherein the computer program product is stored in a non-transitory storage medium, and the computer program product is executed by at least one processor so as to implement the steps of the method according to claim 1 (FIG. 3 depicts the UE 206 configured to perform the emergency services by camping on the non-CAG cell 202a, [0116]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prabhakar et al. (US 20210211975 A1): A mobile device (UE) may access standalone non-public networks (SNPNs) in various different locations as equivalent SNPNs (eSNPNs) corresponding to a home SNPN of the device. The device may obtain a list of eSNPNs corresponding to the home SNPN, and may access a second SNPN at a location different from a location of the home SNPN, in response to identifying the second SNPN and the list including the second SNPN as an eSNPN corresponding to the home SNPN of the device. The eSNPNs may include roaming eSNPNs (ReSNPNs) for accessing an enterprise NPN globally and/or at various different locations. The eSNPN/ReSNPN list may be maintained in a new network identifier management function (NMF). NPNs may be implemented as network slice instances (NSIs) via identifying data in the single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI). Multiple credentialed SNPNs of a UE may be prioritized for access by the UE.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641