DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 11,260,314) in view of Porte et al. (US 7,484,592).
With respect to claims 1, 10 and 18, Anderson et al. teach an air amplifier (Fig.1) comprising air amplification engine configured to utilize energy from a high-pressure input stream of gas to accelerate a low-velocity input stream of gas to provide a high-velocity, high-volume stream of gas (Col.2, Line 58 – Col.3, Line 32); and an air guide (Fig.1, Item 108); but fail to particularly disclose wherein the air guide comprises a first inner faceplate defining an innermost assembly of the air guide and arranged along a longitudinal axis of the air guide, the first inner faceplate being configured to shape the high-velocity, high-volume input stream of gas as the high-velocity, high-volume input stream of gas propagates through the air guide to provide a high-velocity, high-volume output stream of gas, and allow unwanted noise generated by the high-velocity, high-volume input stream of gas to propagate through the first inner faceplate, a passive acoustic absorption chamber arranged along the longitudinal axis of the air guide, configured to absorb at least some of the unwanted noise that propagates through the first inner faceplate, an active acoustic absorption chamber arranged along the longitudinal axis of the air guide, having a plurality of acoustic suppression elements that are normal to the longitudinal axis of the air guide, the plurality of acoustic suppression elements being configured to generate a plurality of noise suppression waves that destructively combine with at least some of the unwanted noise that propagates through the passive acoustic absorption chamber, and a second outer faceplate defining an outermost assembly of the air guide and arranged along the longitudinal axis of the air guide.
On the other hand, Porte et al. teach an air guide for a high-pressure stream environment wherein the air guide comprises a first faceplate (Fig.1, Item 2a) to form an innermost assembly of the air guide that is situated within the air guide along a longitudinal axis of the air guide, the first faceplate being configured to shape the high-velocity, high-volume input stream of gas as the high-velocity, high-volume input stream of gas propagates through the air guide to provide a high-velocity, high-volume output stream of gas, and allow (Fig.1, Items 4) unwanted noise generated by the high-velocity, high-volume input stream of gas to propagate through the first inner faceplate, a passive acoustic absorption chamber (Fig.1, Item 2b), situated within the air guide along the longitudinal axis of the air guide, configured to absorb at least some of the unwanted noise that propagates through the first inner faceplate, an active acoustic absorption chamber (Fig.1, Item 1), situated within the air guide along the longitudinal axis of the air guide, having a plurality of acoustic suppression elements that are normal to the longitudinal axis of the air guide, the plurality of acoustic suppression elements being configured to generate a plurality of noise suppression waves that destructively combine with at least some of the unwanted noise that propagates through the passive acoustic absorption chamber, and a second faceplate (Fig.1, Item 3) to form an outermost assembly of the air guide that is situated within the air guide along the longitudinal axis of the air guide (Col.3, Line 54 – Col.4, Line 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the Porte et al. air guide configuration as the Anderson et al. air guide because it would provide efficient acoustic damping by providing a passive acoustic absorption producing an impedance/power loss in the sound waves directed at the air guide, and an active acoustic absorption chamber that would act as resonators producing an acoustical destructive effect, in this manner exhibiting acoustic damping in a broad frequency range.
With respect to claim 2, Porte et al. teach wherein the first faceplate (Fig.1, Item 2a) comprises a plurality of perforations (Fig.1, Items 4) configured to allow the unwanted noise to propagate through the first faceplate onto the acoustic absorption chamber (Fig.1, Item 2b).
With respect to claims 3 and 11, Porte et al. teach wherein the plurality of perforations are configured and arranged to be elliptical, hexagonal, or diamond in shape (Figs.3 – 6).
With respect to claims 4 and 12, Porte et al. teach wherein the passive acoustic absorption chamber comprises one or more porous sound absorption materials (Fig.1, Item 2b; Col.4, Lines 11 – 16), one or more sound insulations, one or more acoustic fabrics, or one or more acoustic paints to absorb the at least some of the unwanted noise that propagates through the first inner faceplate.
With respect to claims 5, 6, 13 and 14, The Examiner takes official notice that it is well-known in the art to provide a passive acoustic absorption chamber being configured and arranged to have a non-uniform cross-sectional area along the longitudinal axis of the air guide; and wherein the non-uniform cross-sectional area is characterized as being tapered along the longitudinal axis of the air guide in order to conform to a desired shape and/or physical configuration, as disclosed by Herman (US 4,137,992).
With respect to claims 7, 8, 15, 16 and 19, Porte et al. teach wherein each acoustic suppression element from among the plurality of acoustic suppression elements is staggered from its one or more neighboring, adjacent acoustic suppression elements from among the acoustic suppression elements to form a two-dimensional lattice of acoustic suppression elements; and wherein the two-dimensional lattice comprises a rhombic lattice, a square lattice, a rectangular lattice, a parallelogrammic lattice, a triangular lattice, or a hexagonal lattice (Fig.1).
With respect to claims 9, 17 and 20, Porte et al. teach wherein the plurality of acoustic suppression elements is configured to vibrate at one or more resonant frequencies to generate the plurality of noise suppression waves at the one or more resonant frequencies that destructively combine with the at least some of the unwanted noise that propagates through the passive acoustic absorption chamber (Fig.1; Col.3, Line 54 – Col.4, Line 31).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7 – 11, 15 – 17, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,986,849 in view of Porte et al. (US 7,484,592) as discussed above. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they described the same invention without departing from the same scope and spirit.
Claims 1, 10 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 20 of copending Application No. 18/808,836 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they described the same invention without departing from the same scope and spirit.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Examiner still considers that Anderson et al. and Porte et al. teach the limitations described in the claims as discussed above.
Regarding the argument that Porte et al. “active acoustic absorption chamber (Fig.1, Item 1)” does not actively generate noise-suppression waves, the Examiner completely and respectfully disagrees. Col.3, Lines 60 – 64, define the “cellular structure 1” to be resonators. The Examiner considers that any person with ordinary skill in the art would acknowledge that resonators are not only extremely well-known in the art but indeed could be define to actively generate noise-suppression waves since that is exactly how a resonator of this type and in this application works. Some other examples of such are discussed by Van Ligten (US 6,167,985) and Wirt et al. (US 3,913,702).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The attached hereto PTO Form 892 lists prior art made of record that the Examiner considered it pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Edgardo San Martin/
Edgardo San Martín
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2837
April 27, 2026